Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Cabin and vacation home rentals in Hocking Hills region of SE Ohio.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lazy Lane Cabins, Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lazy Lane Cabins, Ltd. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lazy Lane Cabins, Ltd.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 03, 2006 Business started: 10/01/2000 in OH Business started locally: 10/01/2000 Business incorporated 06/21/2010 in OH
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ronald Stephenson, Owner Ms. Debra Stephenson, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Debra Stephenson, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Ronald Stephenson, Owner
Business Category

Cabin, Cottage & Chalet - Rentals Vacation Rentals

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, MasterCard, Discover
Industry Tips
Vacation & Travel - BBB Tips

Additional Locations

  • 16757 State Route 664 S

    Logan, OH 43138

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We stayed in hidden cave cabin for our honeymoon we arrived April 21st we were out an about most the day. We noticed the cabin had lots of spider an spider webs even though we were told it had been exterminated a couple days before. I could handle that but that night we heard scratching in the wall we thought it was maybe a mouse. I had gotten no sleep because all I heard that night was scratching the wall. Next day while we were out we bought a couple traps we came back laid them out an sat to watch a movie we were on the couch an as I had laid my head back I looked up an in the exposed rafters in the ceiling there were at least 15 RATS. This cabin had stairs that lead up to a loft were the bedroom an bathroom was so the ceiling were very high! I know these were rats because we could see them plain as day an we were downstairs!! Disgusting!! We sat quietly to see if any would come down so we could take pictures on my phone a couple did but as we got up to take pictures they were spooked an took off into the walls! Their policy says you may occasionally get a mouse or spider in your cabin. Not you may get a bunch of rats in your cabin. Also they state their cabins are cleaned upon arrival but we found lots of rat poop on the floors. We had to pack up our things around midnight an sleep in our truck. We had called the office a couple times to get ahold of the manager they ended up giving us her email which she was very rude an pretty much said tough luck. We had asked for our money back or to stay in CEAN cabin. We even sent her pictures of all the rat poop on the floors an the hole chewed through the walls.you can tell its rat poop an not mouse poop because of how huge it is! She continued to be rude an blocked us from emailing her anymore. I'm very disappointed what was suppose to be a special time for us ended up being nasty an horrible.

Desired Settlement: A stay in a different cabin or money back.

Business Response: While we do have the occasional mice and even chipmunks and squirrels scratching in the walls of the cabins, we have NEVER had a rat, let alone 15 rats.   The issue was not reported to Lazy Lane Cabins office until the morning of check-out.   So, at  their departure we sent our maintenance crew to the cabin with 10 mouse traps and in 2 days we never caught one single mouse.  We had no prior complaints to the Hicks' stay, nor any complaints since their stay.     Yes, the cabin was exterminated just the day before their arrival, so spiders, etc were on the run.  The cabin was cleaned and prepared for their arrival and I apologize if they found some mouse droppings which most likely occurred during their stay.   The cabin is located on 25 acres surrounded by woods so mice can be an issue.  I have emailed the guests a discount certificate for a future stay, but we do find this claim invalid. 

7/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1- Cabin advertised as being on 70 acres, w/ pictures making it look as though the cabin is secluded. In reality, there is another cabin VERY close to this one & it was rented out to a family with a bunch of screaming kids. (The only way to guess this is to look through ALL 40 some-odd cabins on the site & notice that both "Damon's Den" and "Tiffany's Treasure" say that they are on 70 acres.) 2- The site claims that there are private trails, but nowhere in the cabin does it say where the trailheads are. 3- It's supposed to be "pet friendly", but there were fairly rude notices saying that if they found any evidence of our dog being on the furniture (which was already ripped and stained), we would be automatically charged extra money from our pet deposit. 4- There were also rude notices about us being charged extra money if we left garbage, smoking evidence, or pet excrement anywhere on the cabin's immediate property.... except that there was garbage EVERYWHERE when we arrived & our dog got sick within 30 minutes of arrival. She vomited up a lysol wipe or dryer sheet that she found inside. Besides cigarette butts being all over the grounds, there was also a pre-existing dog poop, miscellaneous plastic wrappers, and at least one beverage can. 5- The toilet flushed inconsistently (it needed plunging after nearly EVERY flush... even if the only thing being flushed was a tiny bit of TP) 6- They had a VCR instead of the advertised DVD player. 7- The linens on the bed in the main bedroom were horribly stained. The pullout couch in the "living room" didn't even HAVE linens to it. The mattress was covered in plastic & we would couldn't find any sheets/blankets for it. 8- The grill didn't work. It's unclear whether it was simply out of propane, or if it was actually broken... the owner didn't show up with a fresh propane tank until the next day after we left. 9- There weren't any instructions for the hot tub & even though I asked the owner to verify that it worked when she finally delivered a DVD player (without the accompanying cords or remote, however), she turned it on.... except that it only ran for 5 min increments, and when we complained to the office in the morning, they blamed me for inadvertently hitting a button to put the spa into "economy mode." We couldn't have fixed this seemingly simple issue, though, because there wasn't an instruction manual or simple notice saying that this could happen! 10- When we went up to the owner's house to complain about the garbage, the broken toilet/bbq, and the fact that the other cabin was loud & practically right on top of us, she eventually showed up & told us that there wasn't anything that they could do to "accommodate" us. She refused to refund our money & blamed all of the false advertising on her management company (Lazy Lanes, Ltd.). We were forced to spend the night at the cabin because it was a 3 hour drive home & there wasn't a phone/internet coverage with which to locate a pet friendly hotel. We returned the keys to the office as soon as it opened the next morning, and THEY both blamed us for "misinterpreting their website" and also the owner for the dirty/broken cabin. They refuse to return any money, because they don't feel that anything is their fault. They actually told me that if I had any issues, it's my responsibility to ask the owner (they own a house just up the drive. This is fine, as it absolutely WAS advertised). There isn't a phone in the cabin, however.... so the management office expects me to schlep up to the owner's house for every single issue. Even in the middle of the night. All of these factors combined made the experience SO stressful that we felt that we couldn't stay for the entire reservation without incurring damages that we weren't responsible & without the comforts that we expected when we made the reservation. What we expected was a secluded cabin near ONE house (website advertises a pool, which might have been fine. We didn't have the chance to try it out). It was supposed to be a relaxing escape from our screaming trashy neighbors.... and what we received was grounds covered in garbage,dirty/missing linens, screaming neighbors, broken amenities, and notices everywhere indicating that we'd be charged for damages that we didn't commit.

Desired Settlement: I am willing to forfeit the night that we were forced to stay, because we weren't able to make the 3-hour trip home & had no means of finding a pet-friendly hotel to stay at for the 1st night.... but I would like to have the next 2 nights AND my pet deposit returned to my credit card.

Business Response: file attached

BBB NOTE: Per BBB policy and for the convenience of the parties we have copied the attached response below:

Better Business Bureau

RE: ID# ********

  • The cabin Ms. ******** rented is called Damon’s Den and is located on 70+ acres with one other cabin that is separated from Damon’s Den by at least 2-3 acres of wooded property.   It is clearly stated on our web site under OUR CABINS /Cabin Combinations which shows the cabins that are located on properties together.   70 acres is a lot of property and with the woods separating them, you cannot see one cabin from the other.
  • The owners also live on site and are there for any issues that arise and Ms. ******** was told this by the owner herself and she was also told that she would do anything to make her stay more pleasant.   The owner informed us that she sat and cried because they weren’t alone on the property.   The owner called me at home to report that the guest wasn’t happy, but since we are in the midst of our busy season, we had no pet friendly cabins available to accommodate her.
  • The linens on the bed were changed for Ms. ********’s stay and we apologize if they were indeed soiled.  We do not provide linens for the pull-out sofa unless the cabin is sleeping 8 guests.  This reservation was for 2 guests and there are 2 additional beds available in the loft area.  I inspected the sofa today and it has no tears or stains on it whatsoever and is only about 3-4 months old.
  • The walking trails are marked with a sign as pictured on our web site and are a very easy walk from the cabin and our guests have to drive past it on their way to the cabin up the driveway.
  • The cabin is pet friendly and we do charge for any damages caused by pets, however, the fee is a non-refundable charge, not a deposit.
  • Our policies do state that you must clean up after yourself and we will charge if there are damages or excessive cleaning is required. 
  • We apologize if maintenance and housekeeping missed some things in the surrounding area, but there was no garbage.
  • The toilet is a water saver toilet.
  • The gas grill was out of propane.  When the owner was notified she apologized and said she would return with one and Ms. ******** told her never mind that they had already cooked using the kitchen facilities.  The owner delivered the new propane tank the next day.
  • A brand new DVD player was delivered to the guests.
  • The spa setting EC refers to Economy Mode and our office was not blaming Ms. ********, we were merely pointing out that a button on the spa had most likely been inadvertently pressed that put it into Economy mode.  
  • We are always available to our guests at Damon’s Den and our office is open 7 days a week and we have an after-hours number. 
  • We feel no refund is warranted as Ms. ******** chose to leave early for no valid reason and we do not issue refunds for early departure.  I have, however, sent a discount certificate good on a future stay.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: 10111060

I am rejecting this response because:

 
Please see attached document. I am providing my refutation point by point. 


BBB NOTE: Per BBB policy and for the convenience of the parties we have copied the text of the attached response below:

Better Business Bureau

RE: ID# ********

  • The cabin Ms. ******** rented is called Damon’s Den and is located on 70+ acres with one other cabin that is separated from Damon’s Den by at least 2-3 acres of wooded property.   It is clearly stated on our web site under OUR CABINS /Cabin Combinations which shows the cabins that are located on properties together.   70 acres is a lot of property and with the woods separating them, you cannot see one cabin from the other.
    •  BOTTOM OF EVERY CABIN PAGE. NOTICE THAT DAMON’S DEN & TIFFANY’S TREASURE AREN’T LISTED NEAR EACH OTHER. THERE APPEARS TO BE NO LOGIC TO IT.
    • NO COMBO LINK AT TOP
    • ALPHABETICAL ORDER…
    • SNEAKY COMBO LINK HIDDEN AT THE BOTTOM.
    •  THIS IS THE PAGE FOR DAMON’S DEN. THERE IS NO LINK ANYWHERE SAYING THAT WE SHOULD BE AWARE THAT SOME CABINS ARE VERY CLOSE TO EACH OTHER. YOU HID THE INFORMATION BY NOT BEING FORTHCOMING ON THE CABIN’S INDIVIDUAL PAGES OR OTHERWISE CLUMPING THE CABINS THAT SHARE PROPERTY.
    • THE CABINS ACTUALLY ARE FAIRLY CLOSE TOGETHER, IF NOT DIRECTLY NEXT TO EACH OTHER. THE UPSETTING BIT WAS EXPECTING TO BE ALONE & HAVING TO LISTEN TO A BOISTEROUS 2ND CABIN THAT WE WEREN’T EXPECTING.
  • The owners also live on site and are there for any issues that arise and Ms. ******** was told this by the owner herself and she was also told that she would do anything to make her stay more pleasant.   The owner informed us that she sat and cried because they weren’t alone on the property.   The owner called me at home to report that the guest wasn’t happy, but since we are in the midst of our busy season, we had no pet friendly cabins available to accommodate her.
    • THERE WAS A VACANCY SIGN AT THE OFFICE. CLEARLY, THERE WERE OTHER CABINS AVAILABLE. THE OWNER GAVE US A SOB STORY ABOUT HER SON & BASCICALLY SAID “TOUGH SHIT” ABOUT THERE BEING ANOTHER CABIN RIGHT NEXT DOOR. I WAS EXHAUSTED AND FRUSTRATED, SO YOU’RE DAMN RIGHT THAT I CRIED. WE SAVED UP FOR A VACATION MEANT TO ESCAPE THE FRUSTRATIONS FROM HOME, AND WE ENDED UP IN A CABIN-SIZED SPACE THAT HAD THE SAME ANNOYANCES THAT WE TRIED TO GET AWAY FROM. YOU OR THE OWNER COULD HAVE OFFERED TO MOVE US TO A CABIN THAT WASN’T RENTED OUT TO A FAMILY WITH A BUNCH OF KIDS, BUT GOD-FORBID OUR DOG GET HAIR ON ANYTHING.
  • The linens on the bed were changed for Ms. ********’s stay and we apologize if they were indeed soiled.  We do not provide linens for the pull-out sofa unless the cabin is sleeping 8 guests.  This reservation was for 2 guests and there are 2 additional beds available in the loft area.  I inspected the sofa today and it has no tears or stains on it whatsoever and is only about 3-4 months old.
    • IF THE ONLY RELAXABLE SPACE IN THE CABIN IS THE LIVING AREA, AND YOU ARE ADVERTISING A SLEEPER-SOFA, THEN IT WOULD BE COURTEOUS TO AT LEAST WARN GUESTS THAT THE SOFA ISN’T NORMALLY MADE INTO A SLEEPABLE BED. YOU REMOVED THE TV STAND, SO THE ONLY WAY TO WATCH TV IS TO SIT SIDEWAYS ON THE COUCH. THAT’S NOT COMFORTABLE, AND IT’S HARDLY ACCOMODATING TO YOUR GUESTS TO EXPECT THEM TO GO UPSTAIRS AND MESS UP ALL OF THE BEDS JUST TO WATCH SOME TV WITHOUT A CRICK IN THEIR NECKS. ALSO, IT’S DISGUSTING TO PUT STAINED LINENS ON THE BED. WHOEVER MADE THE BED SIMPLY DIDN’T CARE WHAT THEY LOOKED LIKE.
    • PER WEBSITE:
    • REALITY:    
  • The walking trails are marked with a sign as pictured on our web site and are a very easy walk from the cabin and our guests have to drive past it on their way to the cabin up the driveway.
    • IT WAS RAINING WHEN WE CAME IN, AND THUS WE DIDN’T SEE ANY TRAIL SIGNS. THERE IS NOTHING INSIDE THE CABIN SAYING, “HEY, IN CASE YOU MISSED IT, WALK BACK DOWN THE ROAD TO WHERE THE BASKET BALL SLAB IS, AND YOU’LL SEE A SIGN OR TWO.” IT ACTUALLY LOOKS AS THOUGH YOUR TRAILHEADS ARE SERVICE ROADS WHEN YOU DRIVE BY THEM, SO IT’S NOT OBVIOUS THAT THEY ARE TRAILS. AND THEY AREN’T ALL MARKED, BECAUSE I CHECKED WHEN WE LEFT. I HAD FOUND WHAT LOOKED TO BE A TRAIL LEADING OFF BEHIND THE “FIRE PIT” TURNED OUT NOT TO BE A TRAIL & HAD I CONTINUED TO FOLLOW IT, I PROBABLY WOULD HAVE BEEN LOST.
  • The cabin is pet friendly and we do charge for any damages caused by pets, however, the fee is a non-refundable charge, not a deposit.
    • IF THERE IS ALREADY TRASH EVERYWHERE, AND YOU LEFT DOG POOP FROM A PREVIOUS GUEST OUTSIDE, HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO BE ABE TO PROVE THAT MY DOG (OR OURSELVES) HASN’T CREATED ANY OF IT? ALSO, HOW CAN YOU CONSIDER IT PET-FRIENDLY AND THEN LEAVE NOTICES SAYIGN THAT IF YOU FIND ANY “EVIDENCE” OF MY DOG BEING ON THE FURNITURE, YOU’LL CHARGE ME MONEY…. WITHOUT CLARIFYING WHETHER YOU MEAN A LITTLE BIT OF DOG FUR OR BLATANT PET DAMAGE (LIKE MUDDY PRINTS OR CHEWING)? DOGS GET ON FURNITURE, WHICH IS WHY PEOPLE LOOK FOR PLACES THAT ARE PET-FRIENDLY.
  • Our policies do state that you must clean up after yourself and we will charge if there are damages or excessive cleaning is required. 
    • WHICH IS EXACTLY WHY WE HAD AN ISSUE AND DID NOT FEEL COMFORTABLE STAYING. I REFUSE TO GO AROUND IN THE RAIN AND PICK UP TRASH THAT I DIDN’T LEAVE. I ALSO REFUSE TO PAY FOR DAMAGES AND GARBAGE THAT I WILL NOT BE ABE TO PROVE (AFTER 4 DAYS) THAT I HAVEN’T STREWN ABOUT. BASICALLY, THE RECEPTION THAT WE RECEIVED AT THIS CABIN WAS THAT YOU’RE GOING TO CHARGE US FOR UNSPECIFIC GARBAGE, DAMAGES, AND PET “EVIDENCE”... NOT TO MENTION SMOKING EVIDENCE! IT IS ONE MORE THING TO STRESS ABOUT WHEN WE DON’T HAVE THE EXTRA MONEY IN THE BANK TO ALLOW FOR ERRONEOUS CHARGES TO SHOW UP. IT WOULD OVERDRAFT MY ACCOUNT AND CREATE A GIANT MESS. THIS IS WHAT UPSET ME SO MUCH. WE DIDN’T START OUT WITH A PRISTENE PLACE, AND WITH ONLY A BUNCH OF NOTICES TELLING US HOW MUCH WE’LL BE CHARGED FOR ANYTHING OUT OF PLACE OR DIRTY OR DAMAGED, IT WAS GOING TO BE IMPOSSIBLE TO PROVE THAT WE DIDN’T WRECK ANYTHING IF THE CHECKOUT INSPECTION WAS AS STRICT AS THE NOTES IMPLIED.
    •  THIS ISN’T PET FRIENDLY. THIS SAYS THAT I CAN BE CHARGED FOR WHATEVER YOU WANT & THAT WHILE I CAN HAVE A DOG IN THERE, SHE’D BETTER NOT TOUCH ANYTHING.
    • THIS ONE MAKES IT SOUND AS THOUGH THE CIGARETTE BUTTS CAN HELP ME INCUR A $250 CHARGE. WE DON’T EVEN SMOKE, BUT IF YOU “HAPPEN” TO FIND A BUTT TRACKED IN FROM OUTSIDE, YOU CAN USE IT AS EVIDENCE THAT WE MIGHT HAVE SMOKED INDOORS.
    •    OK, SO DON’T TOUCH ANY BUTTONS, AND MAYBE YOU SHOULDN’T EVEN WEAR A SWIMSUIT IN YOUR SPA… BUT WE’RE NOT GOING TO GIVE ANY INSTRUCTIONS & WE’LL CHARGE YOU IF YOU MESS ANYTHING UP OR MAKE US CLEAN IT. AND DON’T SIT ON THE LID, OR WE’RE GOING TO MAKE YOU BUY A NEW ONE.
    •  THAT’S A BUTT-PRINT. CLEARLY, SOMEONE HAS SAT ON THIS COVER BEFORE WE ARRIVED. IF THE COVER IS CLEANED OFF, THERE’S NO WAY FOR ME TO PROVE THAT IT WASN’T ONE OF US.
  • We apologize if maintenance and housekeeping missed some things in the surrounding area, but there was no garbage.
    • “SOME” THINGS?
    • PLEASE SEE ACCOMPANYING DOCUMENT.
  • The toilet is a water saver toilet.
    • SINCE WHEN DOES THAT MEAN IT SHOULDN’T FLUSH AT ALL? WE’RE NOT IDIOTS, AND WE DON’T TRY TO FLUSH HANDFULS OF TP OR ANYTHING LIKE THAT.
  • The gas grill was out of propane.  When the owner was notified she apologized and said she would return with one and Ms. ******** told her never mind that they had already cooked using the kitchen facilities.  The owner delivered the new propane tank the next day.
    • THIS IS TRUE. MY POINT IS THAT EVERYTHING ADDS UP. THIS PROPERTY WAS NOT READY FOR PATRONS.
  • A brand new DVD player was delivered to the guests.
    • AGAIN, THINGS THAT AREN’T AS ADVERTISED UPON ARRIVAL. THE DVD PLAYER WE RECEIVED DIDN’T EVEN COME WITH A REMOTE. I DON’T CARE, BUT IT WASN’T “NEW”. WHAT I CARE ABOUT WAS THAT MY BOYFRIEND HAD TO FIND CABLES TO PLUG IT IN BECAUSE THE VCR THAT WAS THERE WASN’T CONNECTED TO THE TV. THE OWNER DIDN’T BOTHER TO VERIFY THAT THE DVD PLAYER WOULD WORK WHEN SHE DROPPED IT OFF. SHE SIMPLY HANDED IT OVER, AND WE HAD TO FIGURE OUT THE REST. IT TURNED OUT THAT SHE HADN’T EVEN CHECKED TO SEE IF SHE’D FORGOTTEN A DVD IN IT WHEN SHE GRABBED IT.
  • The spa setting EC refers to Economy Mode and our office was not blaming Ms. ********, we were merely pointing out that a button on the spa had most likely been inadvertently pressed that put it into Economy mode.
    • THIS ISSUE WOULD HAVE BEEN EASILY RESOLVED IF THERE HAD BEEN DIRECTIONS. THE FACT OF THE MATTER IS THAT WE COULDN’T USE IT (AND WE COULDN’T EXPERIMENT WITH PRESSING OTHER BUTTONS FOR FEAR OF BREAKING IT… BECAUSE WE DON’T OWN A JACUZZI & THEREFORE DON’T INHERENTLY KNOW HOW TO FIX OR CHANGES THE MODES). 
  • We are always available to our guests at Damon’s Den and our office is open 7 days a week and we have an after-hours number. 
    • THERE IS NO PHONE IN THE CABIN, AND CONSIDERING HOW THE OWNER DIDN’T ANSWER HER DOOR FIRST THING IN THE MORNING WHEN WE TRIED TO RETURN THE KEYS TO HER, I HIGHLY DOUBT SHE WOULD HAVE LET US USE HER PHONE SHOULD WE HAVE EXPERIENCED AN EMERGENCY AT 3AM. OBVIOUSLY, THERE IS NO CELL SERVICE IN THE MIDDLE OF THE WOODS, AND IF I HAD ACTUALLY PURCHASED A PHONE CARD (AS YOU SUGGEST ON YOUR WEBSITE) THEN I WOULD HAVE BEEN MORE UPSET THAN I ALREADY AM.

        

  • We feel no refund is warranted as Ms. ******** chose to leave early for no valid reason and we do not issue refunds for early departure.  I have, however, sent a discount certificate good on a future stay.
    • FOR ALL OF THE REASONS ABOVE, I DISAGREE WITH YOU. YOUR SIDE OF THE CONTRACT THAT WE ENTERED INTO WAS THAT YOU WOULD PROVIDE A CABIN IN THE CONDITION THAT YOU WISH IT TO BE RETURNED IN. IF I DON’T FULFILL MY SIDE, YOU ARE ALLOWED TO CHARGE EXTRA MONEY FOR REPAIRS OR EXCESSIVE CLEANING…. EXCEPT WHAT YOU DID WAS START US AT A DISADVANTAGE. NOT ONLY DID WE COME IN EXPECTING CERTAIN THINGS (NAMELY, SECLUSION AND CERTAIN AMENITIES IN WORKING ORDER), BUT WE ALSO EXPECTED THAT OUR SIDE OF THIS CONTRACT WOULD BE SIMPLY TO LEAVE THE CABIN CLEAN AND ORDERLY. WE EXPECTED THAT PET-FRIENDLY WOULD ALLOW OUR PET TO LIVE IN THE CABIN FOR A FEW DAYS, AND IF MONITORED TO AVOID DESTRUCTION, TO SIT ON THE FURNITURE.
  • THE IMPRESSION WE GOT FROM THE BINDER OF NOTICES AND THE VARIOUS WALL POSTINGS WAS THAT YOUR CHECK-OUT INSPECTION IS STRICT, AND WE COULD BE DEEMED LIABLE FOR ANY UNSPECIFIED EVIDENCE OF VIOLATIONS. THIS IS NOT SOMETHING THAT WE CAN CONTROL IF THE GROUNDS ARE NOT STARTING OFF CLEAN, AND WE DO NOT HAVE THE MONEY IN THE BANK TO COVER DESTRUCTION THAT WASN’T COMMITTED BY US.

 

                                                     APPENDIX: TRASH & CIGARETTE BUTTS                                                                                                                                 

THE ONLY REASON I CARE ABOUT CIGARETTE BUTTS AND WHAT-NOT BEING STREWN ABOUT IS THAT IT’S UNSAFE FOR THE DOG & THE NOTICES IN THE CABIN MAKE IT SEEM AS THOUGH WE COULD BE HELD LIABLE FOR THE MESS OUTSIDE OR SMOKING EVIDENCE INSIDE, SHOULD ONE OF US TRACK BUTTS INTO  THE CABIN.

 

  THIS WAS FOUND & EATEN BY DOG WITHIN 30 SECONDS OF ENTERING CABIN. OBVIOUSLY, WE HADN’T SEEN THE “DOG DON’T” NOTICE YET.


  



BOTTLE CAPS AND CIGARETTE BUTTS



CIGARETTE BUTTS

THIS IS GARBAGE.


 WAD OF TRASH


THE MIDDLE ONE IS GUM. GUM IS TOXIC TO DOGS.

 


CIGARETTE BUTT



TRASH & CIGARETTE BUTT


 TRASH



TRASH


TRASH


TRASH


 CIGARETTE BUTTS

                                                                                                                                                   

 

Business Response: We provided a very nice and popular cabin that has been in the rental market for over 12 years and the owner did everything possible to try to make their stay comfortable. 
Reasons given are invalid for a refund and the guest chose to leave early.  We sent a discount on a return stay via email.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

 
10% off a future stay at a terrible cabin is an insult. There is ZERO chance I will ever stay at any of your cabins ever again. Rest assured that I'll tell every travel website that I can find about your abhorrent customer service. 

Regards,

***** ********

11/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We booked two nights at Lazy Lane Cabins in Logan, OH on October 17 and understood that the full payment was due and the card was charged in 24 hours. We understood that the cancellation policy was 14 days or more prior to arrival. We arrived in Oct 28 for a two night stay to find our cabin invested with lady bugs. It was hundreds. We asked for a new cabin and we were told none were available. We took some bug spray the only thing they offered and headed back to the cabin. We spent an hour sucking up the lady bugs with the vacuum cleaner. We were exhausted and hope to rest not work. Finally, we sat down to enjoy our dinner when a mouse ran across the floor. That was it for us. We could not stay and think that bugs and mice would be running around while we slept. We checked out the same night we checked in. When checking out, they offered no refund or credit and said, "Have a nice trip home." We did go home and then later in the week stayed at a wonderful place in Mohican State Park. Night and day in the customer service and accommodations.

Desired Settlement: We are requesting a refund for the two nights stay.

Business Response: Unfortunately it is ladybug season in Hocking Hills and we cannot control the over-population of the Asian beetle in our region. They are found in all our private homes and cabins throughout the region this time of year.  When the guests came back to the office, we offered to send housekeeping but explained that the lady bugs would most likely return. Mr. ****** threw a temper tantrum in our office and slammed the door and then Mrs. ****** said she could vacuum them up.  They then returned to the office later when they saw a mouse.  They wanted to move to another cabin, but we explained that we couldn't guarantee that they wouldn't be there also. It is explained on our rental policies page and What to Expect page on our web site www.lazylanecabins.com  that there will be insects, mice, spiders ,etc and no refunds if they are found in a cabin.  Our guests must check a box and sign in at check-in that they have read and understand our policies. We do our best to control, however, our cabins are located in the woods and fields so it is literally impossible to not find insects, mice, spiders, etc. in the cabins. The guests then chose to leave.

8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 10, 2013 a storm hit Logan before our check in to Lazy Lane Cabins. Upon our arrival the worker ***** in a stressed manner informed us that "power was out at all the cabins, the cabins have all been calling in & there is nothing I can do". As my wife & I began to talk about what we wanted to do, ***** informed us that "there are no refunds according to our policy due to power outage." I responded "then I guess I have no choice about this?" *****, then shrugged & repeated there is nothing she can do & that "the power company knows this is a tourist area & we are a priority to get the power back on, it usually is off a very short time." Based on the circumstance that we had no other options, we checked in.From the time we arrived at the Cabin until 9:15 the next morning we were without power & due to this power outage the services & amenities we contracted for were unavailable. While the policy states no refunds due to power outage, it is reasonable to infer this refers to outages during your stay. The power was out before our stay & until 1 hour and 45 minutes before our stay ended. We should have been afforded the opportunity to cancel our stay & receive a refund. The next morning at 10:15am a maintenance man showed up at our cabin, asked if we had power & proceeded to start cleaning out our hot tub. This eliminated any possibility of use of the amenity for the last portion of our stay. This clearly breached our contract agreement, we had paid for use of time at the cabin until 11:00. To resolve these issues I visited the office at 10:50 on July 11, 2013. At which time the worker told me there was no recourse due to policy & no one to talk to. At which time by chance the owner of Lazy Lane Cabins Mngmt walked in & began to talk with me. He refused my offer for a rescheduled stay "that would cost me too much money" & justified not providing a flash light when I called at 10:15pm because "it was late and you are a big boy that can handle the dark"

Desired Settlement: After what turned into a heated exchange due to the rudeness of the owner, he rudely offered "I'm not giving you more than a 10% discount, I'm not losing money because you want a free stay"Thus, I desire a rescheduled visit on a date of my choice or a full refund of the rental fee included applicable taxes

Business Response: We are sorry for the inconvenience caused by the power outage on 7-10-13.  When Mr. **** checked in, yes we did inform him of the power outage in the area, but we were unsure if his cabin was without power as our cabins are spread out throughout a wide region of the Hocking Hills area.  He checked in at 5:35PM and the power had just gone out at 4:50PM.    We do our best to prepare our guests for their arrival in the hills and for "cabin life" and our web site does suggest items to bring to be prepared such as flashlights, lanterns, etc. and  Mr. **** checked in during daylight hours and passed several general stores in the area that sell camping supplies, etc.    We do try to keep flashlights in our cabins, however, a not so honest guest must have removed it from his cabin and we were unaware of this until he called our emergency phone that rings into our home at 10:30PM.    We do not have 24 hour per day service and I told him no one was available to bring him a flashlight at this hour.   Since this outage is no fault of Lazy Lane Cabins, Ltd., per our policies we cannot offer a refund, however, my husband, *** the owner of Lazy Lane Cabins, Ltd., did offer him a 10% discount on a return stay the next day when he stopped at our office at checkout. 

Consumer Response: Subject: ID 9626260

Re: Lazy Lane Cabins
 
I would like to express that I am not satisfied with the resolution I received concerning this complaint. Please adjust this on the BBB website.
 
The owners of Lazy Lane Cabins merely restated and agreed to the facts of the complaint I filed.
 
Their response was pointless and lacked the true detail of the poor customer service offered by this company.
 
I find it a travesty that a company with this type of customer service and policy structure can be considered a Top rated Company with the BBB.  
 
The BBB offered no help in this situation other than supporting a dues paying member of their organization.  I have truly up until this moment misunderstood the value and goal of the BBB.
 
Sincerely,
****** ** ****

6/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Stayed at Shady Hollow2 cabin starting May 19 stayed for 5 nites.I beleive the cabin must have just been open for a quick clean.cubbards under sink had webs.in the one bedroom had to have either ticks or bed bugs because the day before we left I found about 3 bugs in my hair and not only that I made the bed one morning and set my pillow on the floor and went to pick it up and one of them were on it.I do not really beleive they had that cabin sprayed yet. my friend stayed in the other room and had nothing. The air cond, was just thrown in not seald,had to stuff tissue around it . picnic table and fire ring were very dirty,Hot Tub was afraid to get in ,smelt like mildew alot.Was affaid to shut shower down ,was affaid it would break.Did not leave enough towels had to stop at office to get more and was told they did not have enough wash cloths.The cabin could be nice other then these things.I called the office today and felt the lady I talked to was rude,ask me why I waited till now to say something and that I should of called them while we were there and as far as I am concerned it should of been done before we got there,it was not like it was a spir of the momment stay.I have read other complaints and I know I will Probbly the same response like we are not responcible for bugs. The way I look at it ,if the place is sprayed professionly you would not have bugs inside.

Desired Settlement: maybe some free nights in other cabins.

Business Response:

Per BBB policy  and for the convenience of the parties we have copied the attached response below:

I apologize for any inconveniences, but despite the fact that the cabin was exterminated professionally in April does not mean the cabin will be bug free.    Per our policies noted online:
  " We do professionally exterminate our cabins, but they are not bug proof.  Please remember that you are in the woods and we have invaded the woodland creatures’ habitat and you will see bugs, spiders and mice occasionally.  No refunds issued for insects or mice found in a cabin"    The cabin is located on over 100 acres of woods and pasture.  The air conditioner at Shady Hollow Cottage #2 is a window unit and unfortunately cannot be sealed off completely.   The hot tub covers are vinyl and sometimes smell like mildew from all the moisture, but the hot tub itself was cleaned and sanitized on the day of your arrival and we came on the 4th day of your stay to collect trash and to check the chemicals in your hot tub.  We have no problem at all giving you extra towels and we leave what is normally a sufficient amount and housekeeping would have delivered more if you would have let us know. When you stopped at the office, we gave you what we had on hand there, but linens and towels are kept at our housekeeping department.   Since you didn't report these issues until June 10, and not DURING your stay, we didn't know about these issues to make them right.  We are available 24 hours per day.    Also, per your check-in information sheet, it specifically tells our guests to let us know regarding any maintenance or housekeeping issues so that we may correct any issues DURING your stay.  Our guests’ comfort is our utmost concern and for your inconveniences, I have emailed a certificate for a 10% discount on a future stay good at Shady Hollow Cottage#1 or #2, Liberty or Castaway.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because I feel people don't go on vacation to oversee other peoples mainance.



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Lazy Lane Cabins, Ltd.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)