Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Buffalo Lodging Company

Phone: (740) 808-3714 View Additional Phone Numbers 24825 Miller Rd, Rockbridge, OH 43149 http://www.buffalolodgingcompany.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Buffalo Lodging Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Buffalo Lodging Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Buffalo Lodging Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 14, 2010 Business started: 10/01/2009 in OH Business incorporated 11/29/2010 in OH
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Jenel Bentley, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jenel Bentley, Owner
Business Category

Cabin, Cottage & Chalet - Rentals Banquet Facilities Party Facilities Event Center Conference Centers Event Planners Event Planners - Corporate Vacation Rentals

Alternate Business Names
Buffalo Lodging Company, LLC
Industry Tips
Vacation & Travel - BBB Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Buffalo Lodging Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 24825 Miller Rd

    Rockbridge, OH 43149 (740) 808-3714 (855) 442-2246

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We rented an efficiency cabin though this business for 3 nights: 11/25; 11/26 and 11/27/15. Our cabin was switched to a small efficiency cabin when we learned the first cabin could not accommodate a person taller than 5'7". Buffalo Lodging did not disclose this efficiency cabin lacked running water from the kitchen facet or heat in the one bath cabin. I requested a refund on the fireplace wood which was not provided but paid for in full. We also demand 2 days of full refund. We never would have rented a cabin for Thanksgiving to find out we had no running water from the kitchen sink. Buffalo's staff blame "us" for not calling to inform them of the problem. I do not believe the owners or cleaning crew had no knowledge of these issues. I would not be surprised if the owners are actually those who clean the property. We had no cellphone reception to make a call and their offices were closed at 5 pm on 11/25 about 10 minutes after we checked in. We left a day early and drove to their office to inform them Friday morning on 11/27, but again their offices were closed contrary to the office hours or company voice message. What is most aggravating is the fact Buffalo staff claimed this was a nice new built cabin. This facility was like camping outdoors and not worth the charges billed when disclosure of the condition was not provided. Sincerely, Rita ********

Desired Settlement: Refund for 2 full nights and refund on firewood. We checked out early a full day and would have left to our beautiful home in Worthington on Thanksgiving had Buffalo been open so we could complain regarding the lack of disclosures on running water and heat. Try cooking a Thanksgiving dinner without a facet in the kitchen. Buffalo Lodging should also have to disclosure lack of heat in the bathroom on the website for future renters. Thank you, Rita

Business Response: Ms. ******** check in to our office for her stay on 11/25/15 and immediately demanded to be moved to a different cabin because of the height restriction in the cabin that she had originally booked online. The ceiling height restriction is clearly displayed in bold red lettering on our website, but Ms. ******** or whomever booked the cabin, failed to note this disclosure and made the reservation despite the details on our website. Because our properties are owned by separate individuals, moving her to the cabin that was open would have been equal to a cancellation of the actual property she booked. This should have resulted in her paying separately to stay in the new property, per our cancellation policy. However, we were doing our best to accommodate Ms. ******** for the holiday and allowed her to move with no additional charge. 


The cabin that she moved to is a beautiful new construction studio-style cabin. The structure, mechanicals, and furnishings are brand new. Because of its size, the multiple baseboard heaters in the main room are more than enough to heat the unit, especially with the mild temperatures that we had on those days. We were also not aware that the water was only working out of the sprayer and not the faucet. There was running water in the cabin, but apparently the faucet screen was blocked with debris because of the new well. 

Our offices were closed for Thanksgiving on Thursday and Friday but my personal cell number is listed on the office voice mail and I had staff members on call both days. Had we been notified of the issue/s, it could have been remedied in a very short amount of time. The cabin itself is 7 miles out of the City of Logan and there are various spots along the way where cellular service is available. While I'm not "placing blame" on Ms. ******** because she encountered these minor issues, I certainly would have traveled the 5 minutes to a location that had cell service rather than waiting until the last day of my trip to notify someone that there was an issue and then "demand" a 2-night refund. 

We even have verbiage in our rental agreement that states: 
Refunds: We do not give refunds for power outages or bad weather. In addition, from time to time, electronics, hot tub mechanicals, telephone and internet service, television service, and other luxuries may become inoperable during your stay due to conditions beyond our control. Once notified of such issues, we will send a technician to address them, but no refund will be given for minor malfunctions of the above listed items. 

I received a voice message from Ms. ******** on Friday afternoon that they had checked out ahead of schedule. She also listed various issues (a burned out light bulb, no hand towel holder, the water from the faucet, heat in the bathroom, and no firewood-the firewood had already been delivered to her original cabin). After corresponding by email for the next couple of days, I offered Ms. ******** a $100 credit for her early departure (she was scheduled to leave by 11 am the following morning and the nightly rate was $175 plus tax) as well as the credit for firewood. The amount of $119.42 was credited to her account on 11/30/15. 

I feel that this compensation is more than fair. I'm not disputing the fact that not having water coming out of the kitchen faucet was an inconvenience, despite the fact that there was water coming out of the sprayer, and even though the baseboard heaters were more than adequate, we would have brought an additional heater to the cabin to make her comfortable. I just feel that the issues could have been remedied easily, even the day of her arrival, had she notified us that she wasn't happy. We went against our cancellation policy allowing her to move properties at the last minute. I would have even been happy to relocate her to the original cabin, as it never did get re-booked. 

My staff members and myself pride ourselves in providing excellent accommodations and also being fair with all of our guests in cases like these. Unfortunately, its impossible to please everyone, regardless of how hard we try. Please let me know where we go from here.

Jenel B. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Buffalo Lodging Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart