BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central, Northern and Western Arizona
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers pet daycare, grooming and pet boarding services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pete & Mac's Recreational Resort For Pets meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pete & Mac's Recreational Resort For Pets include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Pete & Mac's Recreational Resort For Pets
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 10, 2002 Business started: 11/01/1999 in AZ Business incorporated: 04/18/2000 in AZ
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Maricopa Enviromental Service Department
1645 E. Roosevelt Street, Phoenix AZ 8500885006
http://www.maricopa.gov/envwebapp/type_search.aspx

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Gay Barwald, President Mr. Ron Butler, CEO Ms. Chris Flanagan, Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Gay Barwald, President
Related Businesses
Pete & Mac's Avondale
Business Category

Pet Boarding & Kennels Pet Exercising Service Pet Grooming Pet Shops

Alternate Business Names
Pete & Mac's Pet Resorts, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 13034 W. Rancho Santa Fe #103

    Avondale, AZ 85392 (623) 536-2303

  • 321 E. Elliot Road

    Gilbert, AZ 85234

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (480) 633-3384(Phone)
  • (480) 970-6166(Phone)
  • (480) 421-6404 (Fax)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My first encounter with Pete and Mac's establishment, was on the week end of the Labor Day week-end. I took my pet there for boarding on Thursday, August 29, 2013.1 picked my pet up on Tuesday September 3, 2013. On picking my pet up I was advised "he had a scratch on his testicle".

1 took him home and watched him, and then called Pete an Mac's, and asked what had happened? They could not give me a definite answer. Someone a male, called and told me," I could bring him in to get an antibiotic cream to apply to him". I told that person I
would watch him, and it healed sufficiently I thought it was just a mishap. I again took him back on December 20, 2013., for a shampoo and a nail trim. I picked him up about an hour and a half later, and was shown a cut on his right hind foot.

A female, one of the workers called me and asked how did I like the service? I advised her, my pet smelled the same way he did, before I brought him to them. She said "she would tell the person who had groomed him. Or as I say the one who supposedly
groomed him. I was advised that I could bring him back. My reply was, I wouldn't be bringing him back, because I didn't know what else would happen to my pet.

I then spoke to the office manager, ******, I related to her what had happened when I brought him in for a shampoo and nail cutting.
Also, I told her about the cut on his foot and I told her that I didn't know if what had happened was intentional or carelessness. ******, advised me "she would have to do an investigation.". I then called back on January 14, 2014,1 called between 9:15 and 9:30AM. They
open at 6:AM. No one answered. I left my name and phone number. I have yet to get a response. In my estimation they have very poor customer service skills! Pete and Mac's, need to be mindful of who they hire, because their help has given them a terrible name as far as I am concerned.

This is the reason I am issuing a complaint against them. Also, I could not tell if my pet's nails had been trimmed or not. I would like the forty dollars back that was paid to them. As far as I'm concerned, this was payment for non-service.
The name of this establishment is; Pete and Mac's, ***** ******** ***** *** Avondale AZ. 85392- *** ********. www.***********

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: Dear Ms. ******,
My sincerest apologies that your experiences with Pete & Mac's have fallen below the expectation level of you as a customer and of us as a company.  I was disappointed to read your comments and hope all is well with your pup.  We will, of course, issue a refund and mail you a check.

With regards to when our phones were not answered I am not offering an excuse but it was a day when we were having phone upgrades that took much longer than expected.  We attemted to notify clients via our facebook page and putting flyers up in the lobby and I apologize again for your inconvenience.  Your message unfortunately was not received due to the change.
 
I appreciate you taking the time to let us know of our shortfall.  We will be discussing with our staff the importance of following the customer service protocol and exectations we set as a company so that no other client feels the way you do.

If you would like to give us another opportunity to prove what we can be I would like to offer a free grooming service or a free day of daycare.  We would love the chance to gain back your trust.

Best regards,

*** *******
Operations Manager
Pete & Mac's Pet Resorts
************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Regards,

****** ******


 I do not accept the response because, ******, the office manager explained to me "she would do an investigation and she would get back to me". I spoke with ****** January 30, 2014.
I explained to her I was waiting for a call from her about the investigation, that she was doing. I never found out what she uncovered. ******, then advised me "she would be cutting me a check the next day, Friday January 31, 2014. ******, was apologetic. Yet I have not received a check from Pete and Mac's as of yet. I called them, they didn't call me. I would not bring my pet back to them because, I am apprehensive about what would happen to my pet the next time. Surely they can understand this! I know they may be apologetic now, yet as I've said before their customer service needs to be overhauled.

 

Business Response: It is my understanding that the manager, ******, spoke to Ms. ****** this morning (2/20/14) to follow up on the incident and to confirm the check was received, which I understand it was.  I believe the conversation went well and the offer of a free day of daycare was extended if Ms. ****** should decide to allow us to care for Toby again.

I know that this has served as a learning experience for the staff members and again we appreciate the issue being brought to our attention.  

Please let me know if there is any further follow up needed.

Thank you.

*** *******
Pete & Mac's Pet Resorts 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/16/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1