BBB Announces Award Winners at Annual Dinner


The Better Business Bureau held the 51st Annual Dinner and Awards ceremony on Tuesday, October 16, 2012 at Skyland Pines Banquet Facility...

Diana Rossetti (award accepted by Scott Brown) and Don Detore, both of the Repository were receipients of the 2012 Ranson Andreas Individual of the Year Award. The Ranson Andreas Award is named after Ranson Andreas; founder of Andreas Furniture located in Sugarcreek, OH, and is given to an individual who is dedicated to humanity and ethics in business. Diana and Don have worked with the Better Business Bureau to help educate consumers in Stark County in a number of capacities. Don has been instrumental in establishing the BBB’s weekly news article called “Straight Talk”. Diana has helped promote ethical business practices by featuring businesses in her weekly article “What’s Your Business”.

This year’s recipient of the Better Business Bureau Customer Service Award is Lavery Chevrolet. The Better Business Bureau Customer Service Award is presented by the BBB to a company that exhibits outstanding service quality to its customers. The company was chosen based on positive letters received by the BBB from consumers who have dealt with the business. Lavery Chevrolet has been an Accredited Business of the BBB since 1971.

Special guest speaker was John Werren. John is a Canton native and graduate of Lehman High School, Grove City (PA) College (cum laude) and Case Western Reserve University School of Law. In addition to John's distinguished legal career, he has made quite a name for himself in the Stark County community as an amateur historian, speaking to hundreds of civic, educational and community groups about the history of Stark County. John incorporated the history of the BBB celebrating its 100 anniversary into his history of Stark County presentation.

Board Chair, Jim Kling recognized outgoing board members John Abel, Nancy Sampson, and Russell McAlonie for their dedication and service. More photos of the evenings events below...

Annual Dinner