Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

ComFi.com

Phone: (800) 219-6993 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 81362, Wellesley, MA 02481 http://www.comfi.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

ComFi.com is an on-line communication company specializing in on-line prepaid phone (calling) cards.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that ComFi.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ComFi.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on ComFi.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 09, 2005 Business started: 03/01/1998 in MA Business incorporated 03/02/1998 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Tanya Miller, Financial Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tanya Miller, Financial Manager
Number of Employees

15

Business Category

PREPAID PHONE CARDS-RETAIL CALLING CARDS PREPAID PHONE CARDS-WHOLESALE Telecommunications Resellers (NAICS: 517911)

Method(s) of Payment
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
PayPal
Refund and Exchange Policy
The business states their refund & Exchange Policy is as follows; If at any time you are not happy with a phone card purchased online at Comfi.com, we will work hard to remedy the situation.

If you are experiencing technical difficulties with your international calling card – we will gladly contact the provider of your card on your behalf to resolve the issue.

FOR REFILLABLE CALLING CARDS:

You will always have the option to transfer a remaining balance from your calling card to a different type of calling card from a separate calling card provider.

If you purchased a refillable calling card and your PIN number expires –please contact us within 30 days of expiration to restore the balance of your card. We are unable to reactivate cards with PIN numbers that
have been expired for more than thirty days, or were given out free of charge.

If you find that you are not satisfied with your calling card – we will gladly issue a full refund within 30 days of any refillable card purchase if the card’s PIN is unused. Partial refunds may be made on a case-by-case basis within 30 days of purchase, for refillable cards only.

FOR NON-REFILLABLE CALLING CARDS AND PREPAID CELL PHONE REFILLS:

Calling cards that cannot be refilled online and prepaid cell phone refill cards adhere to a strict “NO REFUND” policy and cannot be returned.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Once you make a purchase you are bound to this refund policy regardless of whether your purchase is flagged for verification or not. A purchase which is flagged for verification by our system may be accepted without further verification, at any time, after it is reviewed by a member of our customer service department, if it meets our security requirements. A purchase which is flagged for verification by our system may also be
refunded, at any time, after it is reviewed by a member of our customer service department, if it does not meets our security requirements.
Service Area
ComFi.com provides their services in ALABAMA , ALASKA , AMERICAN SAMOA , ARIZONA , ARKANSAS , CALIFORNIA , COLORADO , CONNECTICUT , DELAWARE , DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA , FLORIDA , GEORGIA , GUAM , HAWAII , IDAHO , ILLINOIS , INDIANA , IOWA , KANSAS , KENTUCKY , LOUISIANA , MAINE , MARSHALL ISLANDS , MARYLAND , MASSACHUSETTS , MICHIGAN , MINNESOTA , MISSISSIPPI , MISSOURI , MONTANA , NEBRASKA , NEVADA , NEW HAMPSHIRE , NEW JERSEY , NEW MEXICO , NEW YORK , NORTH CAROLINA , NORTH DAKOTA , NORTHERN MARIANA ISLANDS , OHIO , OKLAHOMA , OREGON , PALAU , PENNSYLVANIA , PUERTO RICO , RHODE ISLAND , SOUTH CAROLINA , SOUTH DAKOTA , TENNESSEE , TEXAS , UTAH , VERMONT , VIRGIN ISLANDS , VIRGINIA , WASHINGTON , WEST VIRGINIA , WISCONSIN & WYOMING.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

ComFi.com has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 81362

    Wellesley, MA 02481

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am buying cards on Comfi.com because of their cheap phone call rates to Croatia. Recently, in April 2015, the rate of the card I was using was suddenly increased without warning. While $20 would last for at least 1 month, that refill lasted for only 10 days. The rate for that card went up so I bought a different one with a rate of 1 cent per minute, still at Comfi.com. In July this rate went up from 1 cent a minute to about 10 times more and still no warning. I sent a message to Comfi.com, I called their costumer service and I was told the rate went up and that was it. Now I bought yet another card with a fill of $18 on it and when I tried to call, I got a message saying that I have no money left on the card. Knowing how poor the costumer service is, I decided to file a complaint with BBB.

Desired Settlement: I want to be refunded for the cards that had a rate change without warning as well as the card that I was not able to use although I had filled it.

Business Response: The rate to call to Croatia had been increased for the calling card this customer was using as of July 3, 2015. Providers in this country increased the price to call to Croatia and therefore we at Comfi.com were forced to increase the rate accordingly. As stated on our website at ******************************************* “Please read the disclaimer about additional provisions. Rates and fees are subject to change without notice.” This customer did call our customer service regarding this rate change and one of our representatives told her that we would find out more details about this issue and would contact her when we had more information. We contacted this customer back by the next day explaining that the rate had gone up on July 3, 2015 and that we had credited her back $16.38 for the calls that she had made when she was not aware about the rate increase. At the customer's request, we have also refunded her back the three purchases of $10 each that were made after the rate increase. If there are any more questions or concerns that this customer has then we would like her to contact our customer service at ###-###-####.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********.  It has been a couple of days since I received the reply and I still do not see the amounts Comfi.com says were refunded to me, neither on the credit account I used to fill the calling cards, nor as credit on my Comfi.com account (which I do not want since I decided to use a different phone service). Regards, ********* ********    

Business Response: $30 were refunded back to customer's credit/debit card (last 4 digits ****) on 07/22/2015. There were 3 separate refunds that were issued for 3 separate purchases: 1) Invoice#******** - $10.00 Refund Transaction ID:******************************** 2) Invoice #******** - $10.00 Refund Transaction ID:******************************** 3)Invoice#******** - $10.00 Refund Transaction ID:********************************Customer's current account balance on the calling card is $0, as we were asked by the customer to refund all of the purchases that were made since the rate increase. If customer has any further questions, she can contacts us at ###-###-####. Kind Regards,ComFi.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********.I still don't see any of the refunds in any of my bank accounts and it is not surprising since the last 4 digits do not correspond to any of my accounts (I am ready to send proof) but also they do not correspond to any account registered on their website. I vaguely remember, a few years back, these 4 digits to be an old account number that was canceled because someone might have stolen the card information. They might have had this card information at some point but it is not valid anymore. The refunds were most likely returned to them because the account number is not valid anymore.Please find attached the screen corresponding to the list of the last 4 digits of the accounts I currently use to fill my Comfi phone cards. The correct one to use is the one ending with ****. **** is not valid for the same reasons, information might have been stolen.  Regards, ********* ********    

Business Response: The ******* *** credit/debit card that was used for the last three transactions that customer made with us is ******...**** and we can process refunds only back to the credit/debit cards that were used to make initial purchases from our website. In the attachment you can see the Transaction processing report from our merchant that is showing the purchases (invoices) that customer made on our website and the same purchases that were refunded back to her account. In addition, we attached the screenshot from the customer's account that shows her name, invoice numbers and last 4 digits of the credit card that was used to make these purchases. If customer has any problems finding this transactions, she needs to call her bank for further details or call our Customer Service Department with her bank on the other line. Our phone number is ***********. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********.  On the file 17.png, it is clear that it is not my name, not my phone number, not my address, not the phone card I have. Comfi.com is clearly dealing with a different person. My name is ********* ********, not ****** ********, my address is not in ********, it was in ***** ******* until 06/20 and then I moved to Los Angeles where I currently live, my phone number is ###-###-####, my phone cards are ***** ******* and ******, that I purchased through *******.com, who is affiliated to Comfi.com. And I do not have any ******* **e account!Please find MY file with MY information! You sent the refunds to the wrong person or you are confusing me with somebody else! Regards, ********* ********  

Business Response: The rate to call to Croatia with our calling cards had been increased f as of July 3, 2015. Providers in this country increased the price to call to Croatia and therefore we at Comfi.com were forced to increase the rate accordingly. As stated on our website at https://www.comfi.com/Phone-Card/Lucky+Minutes “Please read the disclaimer about additional provisions. Application of surcharges and fees has the effect of reducing total minutes on the card.” Since July 3, 2015 customer made only one $18.00 purchase on July 8, 2015 of a Lucky minutes calling card and has used up the whole balance calling to Croatia for total of 153 minutes. As a courtesy, we have decided to refund this $18.00 purchase back to customer's credit/debit card **************. The refund transaction ID is  -********************************. n the attachment you can find a screenshot of customer's purchase history.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********.  I received the $18 refund, thank you for that but I don't see how this is courtesy. When I called the customer service, the representative told me that they haven't updated the website with the new prices yet when I purchased a new card, ***** ********com, and I don't call that good business.If you actually read my initial complaint, this has happened twice before and I decided to file a complaint with BBB at the third occurrence. Prices of phone calls to Croatia were increased on two other cards I purchased before July 3rd.Prices were increased without warning when I refilled my Saturn card (invoice ********) on Apr 21, 2015 with $20.00. After using these $20, I purchased another card, ***** ******, with a lower rate (invoice ********) on Apr 30, 2015 and I put $20.00 on it. This card stayed at the rate it had when I bought it until July 3rd. Then the rate increased, so I used all the money I had on it and purchased the Lucky Minutes card, with $18 on it. This is what was refunded to me.As you can see, this has been going on for a while and with several calling cards. I want the money I spent on these other cards when the rate was increased to be refunded as well. Regards, ********* ********    

7/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a international calling card (the card's name is Everest)for $100 in Jan 2013. I have been using the card without any issue until July 6 2013 when Comfi wipe out my account completely and told me that there is no phone card on my account. I made a call on July 4 2013 and there were still around $53 on my account. I also found that the initial order statement was not accurate. The billing statement showed that I purchase $1 while I actually bought $100 (there is no $1 option to purchase the phone card)

Desired Settlement: I would like Comfi to issue a new Everest Card to my account with my unused $51.28 balance.

Business Response: All of our cards are unlimited but do carry an expiration if not refilled in 6 months. This is clearly written on our web site as well as the original invoice. The reason the invoice shows as $1.00 is that a balance transfer was made from another card to the Everest Card. In order to issue a new brand of card, a $1.00complimentary card is given and the balance is then transferred. The balance has been restored and in the future, a call to customer service or a refill every six months is all that is needed to extend expiration.I have attached the original invoice as well as a link to the expiration notice.http://www.comfi.com/Phone-Card/Everest


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on ComFi.com
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart