Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Risto Sports, LLC

Phone: (207) 319-7607 384 Harold L. Dow Highway Unit 19, Eliot , ME 03903 http://www.ristosports.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Risto Sports specializes in the On-Line and retail sale of Weightlifting Shoes and accessories including Belts, Singlets and Wraps and Straps. Risto Sports also offers Training Seminars for National and International Roanked Lifters.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Risto Sports, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Risto Sports, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Risto Sports, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 03, 2012 Business started: 01/01/2008 in ME Business incorporated 07/26/2010 in ME
Type of Entity

Series LLC

Business Management
Mr. Ivan Rojas, Owner/Coach
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ivan Rojas, Owner/Coach
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

SHOES-CUSTOM MADE SPORTING GOODS-RETAIL SPORTSWEAR-RETAIL ONLINE & INTERNET SHOPPING PERSONAL TRAINER SPORTS PROGRAMS SPORTS CONDITIONING Shoe Stores (NAICS: 448210)

Service Area
Risto Sports, LLC provides their services in ALABAMA , ALASKA , AMERICAN SAMOA , ARIZONA , ARKANSAS , CALIFORNIA , COLORADO , CONNECTICUT , DELAWARE , DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA , FLORIDA , GEORGIA , GUAM , HAWAII , IDAHO , ILLINOIS , INDIANA , IOWA , KANSAS , KENTUCKY , LOUISIANA , MAINE , MARYLAND , MASSACHUSETTS , MICHIGAN , MINNESOTA , MISSISSIPPI , MISSOURI , MONTANA , NEBRASKA , NEVADA , NEW HAMPSHIRE , NEW JERSEY , NEW MEXICO , NEW YORK , NORTH CAROLINA , NORTH DAKOTA , OHIO , OKLAHOMA , OREGON , PENNSYLVANIA , PUERTO RICO , RHODE ISLAND , SOUTH CAROLINA , SOUTH DAKOTA , TENNESSEE , TEXAS , UTAH , VERMONT , VIRGIN ISLANDS , VIRGINIA , WASHINGTON , WEST VIRGINIA , WISCONSIN & WYOMING.
Industry Tips
Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site - Video Health Clubs Online Shopping Online Shopping - 5 Tips - Video Shoes - Retail

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Risto Sports, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 384 Harold L. Dow Highway Unit 19

    Eliot , ME 03903 (207) 319-7607

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/19/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order with Risto Shoes for one pair of Olimpico Blanco squat shoes on June 30, 2014. I have not received my order and have asked the owner for order status repeatedly and have never been provided with either the order status, tracking information or a refund.

Desired Settlement: A full refund of $164.50

Business Response: Dear BBB;

Right on 06/30/2014 Mr. ****** indeed placed an order for a MADE TO ORDER OLIMPICO PAIR OF SHOES IN SIZE 10. As posted on our website the lead time for this entirely hand made product is 6-8 weeks. On 07/19/2014 Mr ****** requested the size to be 10.5. We had to stop making the size 10 we were working on and prepared a pair in size 10.5. On 08/07/2014 and only 5 weeks after the purchase and 3 weeks before lead time we shipped via UPS Mr. ******** order. The same day a complaint was issued with Pay Pal and the BBB. Literally the second we got the complaint we issued a full refund to the Customer's pay pal acct. UPS was notified and the shipment returned.
We have done nothing wrong as we did everything to accommodate the request to change the size of the original order and finish the MADE TO ORDER product before lead time.

**** *****

4/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: was charged 15% for a restocking fee!!!!

Desired Settlement: 32.00

Business Response: The customer was notified at the time of sale as well as at the time of the return of our return policy.  Our policy states " Returns:15% restocking fee for all returns. Seller to reimburse purchase price less shipping and less restocking fee. All items must be returned in new, unworn condition.Purchaser must notify Risto Sports LLC of return with in 2 weeks of receiving items; purchaser is to contact Risto Sports prior to sending items back. Restocking fees cover credit card fees assessed at the time of the sale as well as other expenses to process the returns. All custom items, including shoes and singlets, are NON-returnable. All shoes with personalized straps are NOT returnable." Despite the fact that our return policy was clearly posted on our site prior to his order, emailed to him, and discussed with him over the phone prior to returning the product; the customer made terroristic threats to Risto Sports for processing his return in accordance to our policy. The customer sent the following email containing threats: " listen you thief !! my order was $151.50 you took 32 dollars for a ******* restocking fee ??? don't worry I \m gonna give you a bad review,this will be the demise of your company and I will get my moneys worth outta you !!! you should be ashamed stating you are a non-profit ******** company,I got your name and number and I'm gonna report you ****** ***** ** **** !!!!" .  An image is attached showing the actual email. Risto Sports treated the customer per our agreed to terms of sale.  As to the customer calling us a "thief" and "non-profit ********", Risto Sports sells fair trade made weightlifting shoes, and, as we have very little mark-up in our shoes, we charge a restocking fee for returns to cover: credit card processing fees that we pay for every returned item, costs of transacting inventory. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.    

Business Response: Dear BBB, We have done nothing wrong except treat this sale according our policies that were known to the customer. We will not issue any refund. Best **** *****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.    

9/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order for a pair of shoes from Risto Sports on 14 March 2013. I paid $138.98 for the shoes and $11.50 for the shipping. I based the size of my order on information from the Risto website and on advice from Risto staff via email. When the shoes arrived, they were significantly too large and the interior shoe length did not correspond to the length listed on Risto’s sizing chart on their website. (http://www.ristosports.com/index.php?main_page=page&id=11) I returned the shoes to Risto at my own cost (the return shipping cost was $10.67) and asked to exchange the shoes for a pair that was a half-size smaller. When the second pair arrived, they were significantly too small. According to Risto’s sizing chart, the difference in length between the two pairs of shoes should have been 0.7cm, but it was substantially larger -- closer to an inch. The length of the second pair of shoes also did not match the stated length on Risto's website. One or both of the pairs of shoes was clearly sized incorrectly. I returned the second pair of shoes, again at my own cost (the return shipping cost was $14.82) and asked for a full refund, given the fact that one -- or both -- of the pairs of shoes that Risto shipped me were incorrectly sized. Risto refused to refund my order in full, because their return policy states that there is a 15% restocking fee for all shoes. If the mistake had been my own, rather than Risto’s, I would be happy to pay the restocking fee. But because Risto sent me defective shoes, I believe that I am due a refund in full, plus the money I spent on shipping.

Desired Settlement: Risto refunded me $118.14. I spent a total (the cost of the defective shoes plus three shipping fees) of $175.97. I will be happy to provide the receipts for all these transactions. Therefore, I request that Risto reimburse me for $57.83. I feel strongly that I should not have to pay nearly $60 for a defective transaction.

Business Response: We process this customers order in accordance to our website terms and conditions.

Here are the facts:
1- We sent the customer the size requested
2- The customer indicated they needed a different size
3- To go the extra mile for this customer, we requested that she send a tracing of her foot, such that we can match her to the best she for her foot
4- The customer sent back the original pair of shoes with the intent of an exchange
5- As we did not have that size in stock at the time (we carry over 20 sizes in 3 colors), again, we went the extra mile by making a shoe to her requested exchange sizing details
5a- In other words, we made a second pair of shoes to her exact exchange instructions
6- We processed the customer's refund in accordance to our website.
6a- Our Restocking fee policies are posted on our website. We impose this fee to partially recoup losses due to a return. Many customers do not realize that businesses lose money every time an item is returned. These losses include: cost of carrying additional unforecasted inventory, recoupe credit card processing fees for the initial sale ,  additional man hours to service returns (emails, etc), and refreshing returned shoes.
6b-Our return and exchange policies are clearly posted on our website ( http://www.ristosports.com/index.php?main_page=shippinginfo) and are as follows:

"Returns: 15% restocking fee for all returns.  Seller to reimburse purchase price less shipping and less restocking fee. All items must be returned in new, unworn condition. Purchaser must notify Risto Sports LLC of return with in 2 weeks of receiving items; purchaser is to contact Risto Sports prior to sending items back.All custom items, including shoes and singlets, are NON-returnable. All shoes with personalized straps are NOT returnable.

Exchanges: Items may be exchanged in new, sellable condition with in 2 weeks of receipt of item.  Purchaser is responsible for all shipping associated with exchange, no restocking fees."

Summary: Clearly, we expended an abnormal amount of resources  to make the customer happy. We processed the order following posted terms and conditions, despite the fact that this was an unprofitable order.  We believe the customer simply needed to break-in the second pair of shoes to get the correct fit as the shoes are all leather.  

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

The business made no attempt to resolve the issue in their response. Further, a number of his assertions were incorrect. As I stated in my complaint, the business did *not* send me a correctly-sized pair of shoes. The business does not stamp the shoe size on each pair of shoes. They merely place a sticker on the shoe. Unfortunately, while the shoe I received had the correct sticker, it did not correspond to the measurement listed on the business website. Therefore, the shoe was not correctly sized. Further, the business certainly did not expend an 'abnormal amount of resources' on my attempted purchase. It was very difficult to get the business to respond to me. For example, when I tried to return the first pair of shoes, I found that the business does not list their address on their website. I called and left a message asking for their address, and I received no response. I emailed, and received no response. I emailed again, and finally received this response: "Please ship them to: Risto Sports LLC." They provided no address. Eventually, I had to look up the business in the phone book. It's too bad that they messed up my order and that it has cost them resources, but it's not my fault and I shouldn't have to pay for their incompetence.

Business Response: We sent the shoes the customer requested. The customer isn't right. Check for the disputed amount is in the mail.

**** *****

2/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At the end of Nov 2012, I ordered a pair of shoes from Ristos. In the beginning of Dec, I received an email saying they thought that I needed to order a different size based on my notes and they were out of that size of the shoe I ordered but for $20 more I could have a pair of different shoes. I authorized the extra $20 to my credit card, and about 2 weeks later I got my shoes. They were extremely too big. I emailed on a Tuesday, called on a Wednesday, then emailed again on Thursday. After 3 attempts at contacting Ristos, I finally got a response. We decided what I needed to do in order to get the right shoe, so I returned the shoes I had received that were too big. That was in the middle of Dec 2012. By the beginning on Jan 2013 I had not received any shoes nor had heard anything about my order so I emailed. I had to email multiple times to get a response, and the response was simply "We will be receiving a shipment of shoes soon." After waiting over a week more, I emailed again. I needed to send multiple emails to get a response. They had received an order of shoes but were filling other orders so could still not replace mine. I voiced my frustration and told them to just go ahead and cancel my order if they could not fill it within the next 10 days. **** (the guy who handles all orders) said he would, and on Jan 31st, I got a refund of $76.42. I had paid $120.40 total, so I emailed to ask about the rest of my refund. No answer. Emailed again, and after a third or fourth email, **** said he would get back with me as soon as he got into the office. That was last Thursday morning. No response by Friday evening, so I emailed him AGAIN and told him that I was very disappointed in his lack of communication and customer service skills and that I needed him to refund the additional $44.98 he owes me. He very snidely responded, saying "Don't you know there was a big snow storm in New England. I will deal with your issue when as soon as possible." I responded, telling him that again, his lack of communication is horrendous and that even if he couldn't physically make it into his office, he could've sent me an email to let me know what was going on. That has been the issue all along. (Well, that and the fact that I NEVER received the shoes that I originally ordered at the end of Nov 2012.) As of today (Tuesday) I have not heard anything nor have I received the $44.98 refund to my credit card that he still owes me. I ordered a pair of shoes in a specific size at the end of November that I never received, and I have tried to resolve this issue with **** but have had no success. He is almost impossible to get in touch with, and he obviously doesn't care to improve his customer service skills and take advantage of the growing number of people who will be in the market for weightlifting shoes. I have tried to tell him that the sport of weightlifting is growing due to the popularity of ******** and that with better customer service skills, his sales should increase. Of course I have received no answer to that.

Business Response: A check was mailed to teh customer.

Best
**** *****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

However, I am wondering when I should expect to receive this check.  In ****'s response, he stated that a check was mailed to me, and the picture of the check showed it was dated 2/9.  It is 2/18 now, and I still have not received the check.  Based on my experience with ****'s poor communication and customer service skills over the last 2 1/2+ months, I would not consider this case to be closed until I have received my check and have been able to cash it.