Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Scanner Master Corporation

Phone: (800) 722-6637 Fax: (508) 429-0800 View Additional Phone Numbers 260 Hopping Brook Rd, Holliston, MA 01746

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Scanner Master Corporation is a national dealer that sells scanners. The company specializes in developing radio monitoring technologies for public safety and news media.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Scanner Master Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Scanner Master Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Scanner Master Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 10, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1978 in MA Business incorporated 10/06/1983 in MA
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Richard Barnett, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Barnett, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Dave Jacome, Director of Operations
Number of Employees


Business Category

COMMUNICATIONS EQUIPMENT Other Communications Equipment Manufacturing (NAICS: 334290)

Products & Services

Scanner Master Corporation sells the following brand(s): AOR, UNIDEN, WHISTLER

Scanner Master Corporation offers the following product(s): Scanners

Method(s) of Payment

American Express

Additional Locations

  • 260 Hopping Brook Rd

    Holliston, MA 01746


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a ****** ******* ******** police scanner and at additional cost hometown programming from Scanner Master who promised the radio would work right out of the box. . When received the radio did not pick up any frequencies in my area. Scanner Master said to call ******. ****** advised the radio would not work as programmed since it needed a firmware update. Scanner Master said it did not. I called ****** again and they advised Scanner Master didn't know what they were talking about since they weren't the manufacturer. Sounds like I am getting the run around.

Desired Settlement: I will return the radio for a refund of the charge of the radio plus the programming fee and no restocking fee. Or I will keep the radio with a refund of the programming fee.

Business Response: We will refund the programming fee if the radio is kept.

Consumer Response: I refused the resolution of this complaint, which I had originally requested, in error.  I will accept the refund of the programming fee or I will return the radio to be reprogrammed at no charge.

3/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On FEB 23,2015, the "Programming Department" took delivery via U.S. Postal Service of a GRECOM model PSR-800 digital radio receiver, as well as the required information sheet printed off of the Scanner Master web-site, detailing billing info, as well as desired modifications to the firmware, software, and updated "Library" for the model listed above. Having not heard from Scanner Master, in quite some time, I e-mailed their office in mid-March and was advised that my device would be serviced and returned around March 23rd. That week of March 23rd passed, and I became concerned, when neither my debit card reflected no transaction charges, nor shipping fees, to return my repaired device. A call was placed at 10:20 AM today, and an elderly gentleman who answered, could not provide me with any details on their 1-800-SCANNER phone line. Any assistance you can provide me, would be most appreciated. Respectfully Submitted, *** ************

Desired Settlement: Having been "put off" by their representative, and no details provided, I am unsure of my devices whereabouts in their facility. This device retails in the $425-450 dollar range, on their website, so I am hoping you can "broker" a resolution, in this matter.

Business Response: Hello Mr. ************Your radio is scheduled to be looked at tomorrow April 1st. Our programming dept is swamped so we apologize for the delay. Once they are ready to start working on the scanner you will receive a call if there are any issues if not it will ship and you will receive a tracking # for the shipment around 3 pm EST.Again sorry for the delayScanner Master

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, ***** ************

6/27/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Uniden BC536 from ScannerMaster for $615.98 on 2/2/14 which was the one they suggested for my area. After receiving the unit and having trouble I contacted ScannerMaster on 2/20/14. This led to my first phone call with their technician (Sumner) that told me "it's a completely new scanner, wait and see if there are firmware updates (3 weeks). If there is something wrong will will make it right to you." After trying to reach Sumner numerous times via email and his extension, phone calls were not returned and emails not replied. I finally got someone to answer my calls at ScannerMaster and they advised me to send the receiver to ****** in Texas for testing at a cost of $20.47 to me. That was shipped from my address on 4/9/2014, including all support emails plus a CD with audio clips . It was returned to me the following week in which ****** did minor updates to the receiver. Still the receiver did not work properly for me so again I tried to contact ScannerMaster. This time I was I was told by ScannerMaster to return the entire unit to them for their attention (attn:****) which I did on 5/19/2014 at another cost of $28.79 shipping. I never received and email or a phone call from ScannerMaster again unit I called "****" on 6/4/2014. He said he had it on his desk and would get back to me in 2-3 days. Here it is another two weeks and I have heard nothing back from ScannerMaster or ****. I have all documentation to back up what I have stated.

Desired Settlement: I have returned everything to ScannerMaster and now they have that and my $616. I just want to get reimbursed for my initial purchase price. I really don't want to hear from them about a restocking fee or such, I have paid enough in shipping.

Business Response: The order has been credited in full. Transaction id # is ************
Thank you Scanner Master

Consumer Response: