8/17/2015 What a mess. Contracted this company to move us from Philadelphia, PA to Jacksonville, FL. They were recommended by ***. I now seriously doubt the judgment of *** as well. Arpin was an absolute mess from start to finish. Background: We talked to about 5 different moving companies, including the majors (******, *********, etc). Arpin was recommended by *** and also offered replacement cost for the move at no additional charge - A nice feature considering the other movers all charge extra for this type of coverage. The salesman's initial appointment was made in my wife's name. He eventually met with me (she was busy). I had several follow up questions. In an omen of the kind of professionals we were dealing with, every time I called the guy, he could not remember who I was or what I was calling him about. Usually, if you are the salesman, it pays to remember your main point of contact. This guy just could not remember who I was - It's like I was bothering him. On the other hand, he was able to answer most of my questions on the phone, which was sort of reassuring. Anyway, move day comes and the crew shows up. I have everything packed except for a few items I think it best for professionals to do. These being: (1) My glass TV stand (2) Our glass-top dining room table. Bear in mind they charge extra for packing these things, so it pays to do it yourself if you can. In fact, I packed a large (2ft x 6ft) glass top for our dresser myself. This matters later on in the story. The guys are moving and at one point they tell me there is a problem disassembling my daughter's bed - It uses an allen wrench (you know - The hexagonal wrench you get from Ikea for example). It's in every tool box, but not theirs. My toolbox is by then packed and on the truck, so they ask me to go to the hardware store and buy one for them. OK. What am I going to do? I run to the store & spend the $1 it costs for a complete set of allen wrenches. Problem solved. So far pretty good. Just a couple annoying little things. I figure this can happen to anyone, but I was wrong. Unpacking day arrives. The crew arrives and first the notice that the glass table top they packed is completely shattered. It's insured, and the driver admits that they broke it so imagine it's not going to be a problem. Next comes the driver who cannot put my tv stand back together (the one I paid them to pack). There are pieces missing, and/or he just can't figure it out, so he just quits. Then the same with our sectional sofa - It can't be done he says. Then, I find my lawnmower has been damaged (the dented the frame somehow - Not easy to do - It seems they must have dropped/thrown the thing from some height on the ground. Not only that, but I later find my guitar thrown against the wall in such a way that it damaged not only the guitar but also the wall against which it was thrown. So, after all this I have to 1) File a claim for damages 2) Get them to send a different company back out to complete assembling the stuff the driver could/would not do. All this led to more appointments, lost time etc. They finally assembled the tv stand after 3 weeks. They never fully assembled the sectional couch (I caved in and did it myself) Now, 1.5 months later, they still have not paid for the claim because the company they use does not have enough claims adjusters to come out in a reasonable amount of time. In sum: AVOID THIS COMPANY. They are cheaper, but they aggravation is not worth the few bucks you might save. *** - Why would you recommend a company that does business like this?
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by David C. on 8/17/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
BBB Verified Reviewer
X

Comments

Comment from the Business Hi ****** We're sorry to hear about the damages that happened with your move. If you have not been contacted by a Claims representative yet, please let us know at "********************. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Sincerely, Arpin Van Lines by on 8/20/2015

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1 person found this review helpful .
7/29/2015 This company is deceitful and a massive headache from start to finish. Their driver, *** *****, falsely listed extensive damages on many of my belongings. I ignorantly signed the release paperwork thinking he explained it to me fully. Many of my belongings had damages listed that didn't seem to exist when I examined them upon delivery. One of my big ticket items (antique dresser that has been kept in pristine condition for three generations) was damaged from the truck crashing on the freeway, but they won't pay beyond a minor repair fee. Also, their communication is a joke. No one was able to give me an ETA for my belongings, so I rushed to the delivery location. Weeks pass and my stuff is put into storage after the crash and then they wait for another driver. After several possible delivery dates, I called and asked for another ETA. They said it was in transit and I would receive a call back with a better idea. No more than a minute passes before the new driver calls to tell me he is outside my leasing office because he doesn't have my address. Right after I was told he was in transit?? This company was a nightmare to deal with.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Kristen W. on 7/29/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
12/18/2014 We are a military family and have moved 4 times in the last 3 and 1/2 years. We have never had to file a claim with a company until our last move. We went through the process of documenting any broken or missing items and submitted a claim. The settlement offer was 1/3 of what it will cost us to repair or replace all of the damages that the moving company caused. Even damages that were noted and witnessed by the movers they are unwilling to pay for. They claim that they will not pay for anything that we do not still have for them to see and take their own pictures of. One of these items was a glass lamp that was shattered. We moved four months ago and are expected to keep boxes of broken things around our house? One of the broken items was in a box that they did not put an item number on, which was noted by the movers when we moved in, and they are unwilling to pay for any items in that box because there isn't an item number. The general state of the items that we received was also upsetting. Most of the boxes were half empty and filled with packing paper. Some of these boxes had fragile items and nothing to protect them expect a lot of packing paper that was crammed into the box on top of the fragile item. Many of these items were broken because of the way that they were packed. We opened boxes that had the movers' garbage at the bottom. They also used wardrobe boxes to hold other smaller boxes. The smaller boxes had there sides caved in because of someone cramming them into the larger box. We had to cut open the wardrobe box to get out the smaller boxes. One of the items that was broken was our dyson vacuum. They sent us picture of a part that they thought would fix the vacuum without considering any other costs associated with fixing the vacuum or without knowing that this was indeed the part that might fix the problem. While trying to reach a more reasonable settlement with this company they are extremely rude and unwilling to work with us. I urge anyone that is looking at this company to find another moving company. Our experience has caused much more emotional distress and time to our move.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Jacqueline Y. on 12/18/2014 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business Hi ****** We're sorry to hear about the damage that occurred during your move and we're in the process of informing all parties involved. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Sincerely, Arpin Van Lines by on 12/18/2014

Comment from the Business We intended for this to be directed to *********** We apologize for the typo. by on 12/18/2014

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
3 people found this review helpful .
12/10/2014 Claim process was very poor. Arpin took every opportunity to avoid responsibility for damaged and missing items. I do not recommend using them as a carrier for personal or business moving needs. Many other, better carriers available who care and will stand by their responsibilities.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Brad F. on 12/10/2014 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business Hi ****, We're sorry to hear about what happened with your claim. We'll contact all parties that were involved to let them know of your complaint. Thank for for bringing this to our attention. Sincerely, Arpin Van Lines by on 12/11/2014

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1 person found this review helpful .
12/8/2014 I think this company is quick to take your money, but when there is a problem such as lost articles they do NOTHING... They are the first to say they are not liable and that they checked with the warehouse the boxes are not there so to bad.. I would not recommend this company to anyone. Not only were they over a week late in the delivery of my things, but they had lost or some one had stolen six boxes .
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by DANIEL J. on 12/8/2014 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business Hi ******, We're sorry to hear that you are unhappy with our agent's service. All items were checked off the inventory at the time of delivery and there was no indication that anything was missing. Also, your delivery spread was 8/21-31, with your actual delivery taking place on 9/2. We apologize that it was two days late, but it was not over a week. We wish you all the best and hope that you're settled into your new home. Sincerely, Arpin Van Lines by on 12/10/2014

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
3 people found this review helpful and 1 person did not find this review helpful.
1 2