Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The Vermont Country Store, Inc. is a traditional country store that also serves customers via catalog, online, and mail order. The company offers household products, clothing, sleep wear, toys, books, and hobby items. They also carry specialty items such as cheeses.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Vermont Country Store, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Vermont Country Store, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on The Vermont Country Store, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 10, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1946 in VT Business incorporated 01/01/1961 in VT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Tracy Lambert , Customer Service Supervisor
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tracy Lambert , Customer Service Supervisor
Number of Employees

292

Business Category

MAIL ORDER & CATALOG SHOPPING GENERAL STORES DEPARTMENT STORES ONLINE & INTERNET SHOPPING Electronic Shopping (NAICS: 454111)

Industry Tips
Buying by Mail Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site - Video Mail Order and Catalog Shopping Online Shopping Online Shopping - 5 Tips - Video Shopping by Phone or Mail

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Vermont Country Store, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5650 Main St

    Manchester Center, VT 05255

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered products from this company in October 2015, I have never received my order but they cashed my check..I contacted them gave them all the information they needed and have yet to hear from them, I have no idea where my order is, or have heard from them with a refund..so I'm out of money, no order received, and they act like they could care less..poor customer service..

Desired Settlement: I would either like to have my order that I ordered or a refund..simple as that..I haven't heard anything from them..

Business Response: We apologize for the problem with your order. We will ship this order again overnight. The order will go out on Thursday 12/17. Order should be delivered on 12/18/15. Thank you.

12/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: herI ordered a white ceramic Christmas tree. On opening the box and removing the tree, glitter went all over. Every Time the tree was touched or moved, glitter dropped at will causing a hard to get up mess. I contacted the vendor to return. As this was obviously a defect either in manufacturing or a production issue, I expected a full refund. Instead my refund was shorted $14.90 on a $33.00 product for shipping both ways. No where in the description of the tree does it list glitter: This little ceramic Christmas tree—in your choice of classic green with white frosted branches or holiday white—has been popular for generations. A bulb inside illuminates the tiny lights, casting a cheerful glow. The tabletop tree stands approx. 13" tall, just the right size for any small space that needs a festive touch. Each tree comes with colorful plastic bulb-shaped lights that can be easily removed when storing the tree away until the following year. Some of our customers have chosen to glue the bulbs in place. Includes a standard 15-watt bulb and bag of plastic lights. 6 ft. cord. Ceramic Christmas tree in green with white frosted branches or all white The included 15-watt bulb inside illuminates the tiny lights Just the right size for tabletop or sideboard Plastic bulb-shaped lights are removable for storage Stands approx. 13" tall

Desired Settlement: Refund of all shipping charges $14.90

Business Response: A refund has been issued in the amount of $14.90.  The customer should see this refund on his account in two to three business days. Thank you.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.] Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, ***** ******

7/12/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vermont Country Store markets this product as being "constructed in Germany." However, ************ Glue is one of the materials, which is evidenced by the off-gassing when the product is taken out of the box. The box itself, is a "Vermont Country Store" box, and they have provided no manufacturer information. When I contacted them with my concerns, they bluntly informed me that this is made Germany (************ Glue is banned in the EU, so how is this possible?), and refused my request for manufacturer information. Basically, their response was: We have been in business since 1946, how dare you question us? I question you, as a consumer, I feel that we have the right to know where products are being made, and if you knowingly misrepresent this, that is fraud. If they have nothing to hide, why are they unwilling to give me manufacturer information? I won't even get into the fact that neither the thermometer nor the weather reading mechanism work. Alarmed by this, I decided to post my experience on their website as a review of the product. They then refused to publish my review. *******************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: I want Vermont Country Store to be transparent about this item. Advertising something that was so cheaply made in China as having been "constructed in Germany" is false advertising. If they are unable to provide manufacturer information and contact info to support their claim, then they must remove "crafted in Germany" from their item description OR stop selling this. This was a very simple request, but Vermont Country Store refuses to comply.

Business Response: Dear Mr. ********, We apologize for any concerns you have with the glue used in the Weather Haus we carry. We have checked with the manufacturer on your concern.After speaking with the manufacturer this is the information they shared with us: The glue used in our weather houses as well as in all our cuckoo clocks and has been certified with certificate M-1.The glue we use for decoration purposes is made in Germany and we have been using this glue for all our clocks for years now.Varnish and paint are also made in Germany and are even allowed to be used in toys.Our products all have the certificate of origin EU.All our clocks and weather houses are produced  at our factory here in Villingen.I hope this answers all of your questions. We have refunded you in the amount of $42.35 for the return of this item. I'm so sorry this did not meet your expectations. If we can be of further assistance please let us know. Sincerely, ***** *******Customer Service SupervisorThe Vermont Country Store

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  No, obviously, you did not answer all of my questions. I asked you for the name of the manufacturer as well as their contact information. Why are you not able to provide this? If you can contact them, surely so can other people. I believe this is now the third time I have asked. I can only come to the conclusion that there is no manufacturer in Germany, and the item you are fraudulently claiming as such comes from China. As evidenced by the fact that the weather haus is held together with formaldehyde glue, which is banned in the EU.  Again, all you need to do is provide contact information for your manufacturer. After I have had an opportunity to verify, and if you are telling the truth, I will publicly apologize. At this point, however, your continued unwillingness to cooperate with this most simple request from a consumer is not putting you in a good light.   ***** ********  

4/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/18/2015 Delivery Issues
1/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have previously tried in good faith to resolve a privacy issue with Vermont Country Store (VCS). Specifically, on or about December 13, 2013, and, yet again, on December 21, 2013 I requested VCS to REMOVE my personal information from ALL marketing lists in their possession, i.e. electronic and U.S. mail. On each occasion, I was assured that it would be taken care off. Unfortunately, as recently as January 2, 2014, VCS has been hell-bent on sending me their junk mail. In short, they have not taken me seriously. I am considering filing a lawsuit against this company, but first want to give them a FAIR opportunity to honor my request. My motivation for requesting that VCS quit their communications with me was a direct result of their poor customer service practices including their glaring misstep of failing to respond to customers email inquiries.Accordingly, I respectfully request your intervention in this matter.

Desired Settlement: Opt out of all marketing lists IMMEDIATELY.

Business Response: I emailed the customer as I do not have her phone number.  I apologized that she had to contact us several times in order to not receive emails from us.  That should not have happened and I am sorry.  Our marketing department has assured me that she will receive no more emails from us.  We never sent her a catalog.  I offered to call the customer and follow-up via phone if she would like to provide me with her telephone number.  Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

1/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charged me $5.95 for shipping one lipstick from Vermont to Boston. Consistent with their policy, but seems excessive. When I contacted customer service, they said that was the policy and nothing could be done (not their exact words, but that's what it boiled down to). I think it's exorbitant.

Desired Settlement: I think they should refund part of the shipping charge. How much can one lipstick cost to ship? I realize the charge also covers handling, but how much can it cost to handle a tube of lipstick?

Business Response: I left a message on the customer's answering machine that I appreciated her letting us know of her concerns.  I let her know that the shipping charge also includes packaging.  I made an exception and credited her back for the shipping. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.

Thanks to Vermont Country Store--I would gladly have paid something for shipping and handling, just not $5.95, but they refunded the entire $5.95.  That's too generous of them.  Thanks for intervening for me.

9/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Store provided return shipping label of FEDEX/USPS, which I used. Item was sent from zip code ***** on August 24 and did not arrive at merchant until Sept 4 2013. After making multiple calls to FEDEX to trace pkg, I was informed by FEDEX, that it can take up to 14 days for merchant to received pkg sent by this method. I could have walked the item from *****, MA to No Clarendon, VT in that time. USPS priority mail would have taken two days to go the distance of 100 miles. After finally finding the actual delivery date of Sept 4 on the FEDEX web site, I called the store to inquire when the credit would be issued. I was informed "in a few days". On Saturday Sept 7, I had a "live chat" with another customer service rep at merchant who informed me that it could take several weeks! During this extended time frame, all this while, the merchant had the free use of my money. Is this delay contrived to allow the merchant to use customers funds like this? Seems so. I want my refund, NOW!!!

Desired Settlement: Refund to my credit card and elimination of the prepaid return label. This is no service to customer if it deliberately delays returns. Customer is better to pay for their own return either by USPS priority mail or by UPS.

Business Response: Thank you very much for letting us know about Ms. ****'s concerns.  I left her a message to let her know that she has been credited $139.80.  I shared with her  that there is no delay involved by using our postage paid label and that our customers are welcome to send items back via US Mail, FedEx or UPS without using the return label.  We do appreciate Ms. ****'s business and hope she follows up if she has any other questions.

8/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I AM PHYSICALLY HANDICAPPED. AND ITS VERY HARD FOR ME, TO GO TO A STORE . AND PURCHASE THE ITEMS, I PURCHASE FROM THIS FIRM . I ONLY HAVE GOOD THINGS TO SAY GOOD THINGS TO SAY, ABOUT THIS FIRM. THE ALLOWED ME TO KEEP BOTH ORDERS AND THEY TOTALLY REFUNDED MY FUNDS , TO MY B OF A CREDIT ACCOUNT . I WOULD LIKE TO CONTINUE , BUYING FROM THIS FIRM. BUT I LIVE OFF DISABILITY INSURANCE , AND IF I DID NOT GET HELP FROM MY BROTHER. I WOULDN'T OF BEEN ABLE TO MAKE MY HOUSING PAYMENT. I WOULD LIKE TO KEEP DOING MY SPECIALTY GIFT SHOPPING WITH THIS FIRM. I AM AFRAID , OF BEING DOUBLE BILLED AGAIN. GO TO THE SECOND SHEET OF PAPER , FOR I HAVE MORE TO SAY.

Desired Settlement: THE VERMONT COUNTRY STORE GAVE ME A TOTAL REFUND. AND ALLOWED ME TO KEEP BOTH OF THE PACKAGES. I AM GOING TO KEEP PURCHASING FROM THIS FIRM. AND PRAY TO ‘ GOD OLE MIGHTY' THAT THE VERMONT COUNTRY STORE , DOESN'T EVER BILL ME TWICE. I HAVE MORE TO SAY . IN REGARDS TO THE STAFF, AND HOW THEY TREAT THEIR CUSTOMERS , ON THE SECOND PAGE.

Business Response: I  called the customer to confirm that he did not need anything more from us since I was unable to view page 2 of his note.  He just wanted to thank us for our service and he will be ordering again soon.  We appreciate his continued business.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

7 Customer Reviews on The Vermont Country Store, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart