Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BuyDomains

Phone: (781) 839-2850 225 Wyman Street  2nd Floor, Waltham, MA 02451 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.namemedia.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

BuyDomains sells domain names to commercial clients.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that BuyDomains meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for BuyDomains include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on BuyDomains
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 7
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 03, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1999 in MA Business incorporated 01/01/2005 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Karen L Dixon, VP, Marketing Mr. Neil Kavanaugh, Director of Market Place Sales
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Karen L Dixon, VP, Marketing
Principal: Mr. Neil Kavanaugh, Director of Market Place Sales
Number of Employees

100

Business Category

DOMAIN NAME SERVICES INTERNET SERVICES E-COMMERCE Internet Publishing and Broadcasting and Web Search Portals (NAICS: 519130)

Alternate Business Names
NameMedia, Inc.
BBB Program Participation

BBB Community Patrons
BBB Community Patrons are like-minded businesses that see ethics as the key factor in creating a stronger, healthier business community.

BBB Community Patrons' additional financial support enables BBB to pursue distinctive, mission-based programs focused on ethics that would not be possible if not for the generous backing from BBB Community Patron Sponsors.

Industry Tips
Domain Name Services Finding a Domain Name Service - 5 Tips - Video Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site - Video Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site for Your Small Business Helping Customers Find You - Video Internet Marketing Services

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

BuyDomains has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 225 Wyman Street  2nd Floor

    Waltham, MA 02451 (781) 839-2850

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is a domain name registration company. When a domain name is researched through the site AND IS AVAILABLE, they present the domain at a very high [rice. If you do NOT buy it at that price, they block out the domain so the customer cannot use a different service to secure the domain. In this caee, they now own a domain name that is representative of my business. In order to get the rights back, I have to now hire a lawyer and go to court. This is a highly unethical business practice, and is called domain name squatting.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to release the domain name so it can be registered through a service that has reasonable fees, or allow me to register for a reasonable price.

Business Response: BuyDomains is a reseller of premium domain names, and not a registrar of primary registration domains like Go Daddy, etc. who sell previously un-registered domains for prices from $8-$20.  BuyDomains registered the name in question, ******************** in 2010, as an investment to resell to interested parties.  We do not purchased trademarked names, however if ***** ***l would like to pursue this claim via our trademark complaint, he or she may do so via our trademark complaint proceedure here: *******************************************************************

?

9/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/9/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is happening for the 2nd time now. We were in negotiations for a particular domain from BuyDomains/Afternic which was listed for sale at $2488. After certain rounds of talks, they quoted us their best price as $1995, and we received a mail from BuyDomains with an unique link to purchase. We thought about it and then decided to go ahead with the purchase. We clicked the link, and then filled out the forms of purchase on their website. On the last page, it asked mode of payment. We chose Wire Transfer and closed the website. Then, we dropped a mail to their representative asking to delist the domain for 24-hours from Afternic website, as Wires Transfers may take up to a day. We received a confirmation. A few minutes later, we received a mail from them, that someone else is purchasing the name from at the full price of $2488 and he has paid by credit card instantly. When we expressed our surprise, they said sales happen on a first-come-first-served basis and that whoever pays first gets the name. Despite our requests for reconsideration and consequent offer of paying the full price, they did not agree. We find this business practice highly unethical and are dejected by it.

Desired Settlement: At the very outset, they should tender a written apology acknowledging their mistake and accepting that this was a wrong business practice. Then, they should cancel the sale with the other buyer and honor their agreement with us. Further, they should issue us a significant discount coupon which could be used on any domain at BuyDomains/Afternic.

Business Response: Our policy clearly states that all sales are on a first-come, first-servedbasis.   While the timing of this attempted purchase is certainlyunfortunate, we simply cannot sell a product we no longer have.  We doapologize for the unfortunate timing, and would be happy to offer a 35%discount off any of our Buydomain's owned domains.  We can honor thisthrough September 30th, 2013.   If they would like to redeem thediscount, please have them reach out directly to **** *********, Vice Presidentof Sales and Customer Service at 781-839-2835.

Consumer Response: There should be a provision of a lock in, for 24-hours or so, once a customer purchases a name and sends the wire. The policy which the company has right now, is not fair. Anyway, I guess there is no point in dragging this further. I'll accept the resolution.


2/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the past 30 days I have twice entered into contracts to purchase domains from Afternic/BuyDomains and, in each instance, the sale was cancelled. In both instances there was clear offer, acceptance and consideration. One domain was listed publicly at a "Buy It Now" price, which I agreed to pay via American Express and the other domain was offered and accepted via email as part of a negotiation with a broker from Afternic/BuyDomains. Two weeks have passed since I accepted the offer on the second domain and I have not received any written response from Afternic/Buy Domains as to what happened. In addition, Afternic/Buy Domains has done nothing to make it right.

Desired Settlement: There are many things Afternic/BuyDomains could do to acknowledge its mistake and make it right. The two most obvious would be to: A. Send a written explanation/apology, and B. Offer a significant discount on another domain for which I have an interest and that is owned by Afternic/BuyDomains.

Business Response: This customer did have an unfortunate situation with the initial purchase of a domain we were brokering, which turned out to be a fraudulent listing (the party did not ultimately own the domain they had listed for sale).  The complainant's funds were  immediately refunded, and the seller in question permanently suspended for their fraudulent listing. The second case was substantially different. During the course of negotiations, the seller got cold feet and opted not to sell the domain name.  The seller has the right during the course of negotiations to change their mind, and that is what happened in this case.  Either way, we do appreciate the complainant's frustrations given the close proximity of the two events. 

We'd like to extend to the complainant our apologies for these unfortunate circumstances, as well as a 25% discount on any name owned by Buydomains.com.  His salesperson will be made aware of this discount should the complainant wish to pursue this remedy, and he can assist him in locating and purchasing a suitable domain at the discounted rate.

11/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cyber Squatting: I'm a digital marketing consultant based in Sydney Australia. My Client, ****** ******* is wishing to build a consulting business based on his name and good will. With over 40 years of professional experience, ****** has retired from his last position as a CEO, and now is consulting to other businesses. When looking to but a domain for his website, based solely on his name and reputation, I came across buydomains.com, which had the name registered, in order to sell it at an inflated price. When I say inflated, I mean that godaddy.com and other domain registrars will sell domains for $1-$7 range, the .com is normally the highest in the range. Afternic sales representative on the other hand, replied to my inquiry with $1088 (!!) price tag. I believe this is extortion, and shouldn't be allowed. under US federal law it's defined as CyberSquatting, and consumers should be protected under Anticybersquatting Consumer Protection Act, (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anticybersquatting_Consumer_Protection_Act) The company claims to have A+ rating with BBB, and I wonder where the TRUST is.

Desired Settlement: I would like to buy this domain, *************.com for a reasonable domain price, as would be sold from a registrar. The company currently holding the domain has no use for it, and only has it in bad faith to sell at inflated price.

Business Response: Mr. ****** unfortunately does not seem familiar with the secondary market for domain names.  While domains can be registered for as little as a few dollars, the domain must be unregistered and available for new registration. At this point, 20+ years into the internet, many domain addresses (particularly .com's) are no longer available on the primary domain registration market and thus need to be purchased on the secondary market. Buydomains, Sedo, Moniker Fabulous (an AU company) are all active marketplaces for secondary domain names, all with solid reputations.

The governing body of internet web addresses (ICANN) does provide a dispute resolution procedure (UDRP) and Mr. ****** can certainly pursue this avenue if he wishes. Otherwise we'll be happy to discuss the secondary market purchase of the domain with him directly.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I feel the business response was condescending and didn't offer a solution to my problem

Business Response: We are not attempting to be condescending, but rather are pointing out the difference between the primary registration and the secondary domain market, which Mr. ****** did not seem to be aware of. We offered two potential solutions, reiterated here: We would be happy to discuss the sale of the domain name on the secondary market with Mr. ****** directly. Otherwise, we suggest that Mr. ****** pursues the ICANN dispute resolution procedure (UDRP).

10/17/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have have several rude experiences with this company. I have been interested in possibly purchasing a particular premium website domain name (.com) for use with a potential business venture. I had initially discussed this with a sales representative about 9 months ago. He was extremely rude and insulted my intelligence and business savvy. He used high-pressure sales techniques (which I am familiar with) and this was part of it. So I dropped it after a while. I recently saw that the domain had not sold yet. So I called today at approximately 1:30 CST and spoke with a sales representative. I was negotiating with him, and he tried to ask me some questions that he has no business asking. These included: 1) What I thought a comparable website was worth. I'm not going to answer that because I could pigeon-hole myself into a price that is above what I believe is fair. 2) What I wanted to use the domain for. That is my business only because if I have a profitable idea, I don't want that out there until the site is actually launched. Business 101. I steered things back to what we needed to be talking about. I made an initial offer, he made a counter offer, and so on, and we agreed on a price of $1200. He said it was only valid if I paid today. I told him this is digital real estate and real estate does not work that way...I have to get the Venture Capital released, and that I could pay soon. He again insulted my business experience (of which I have 15+ years before ever being in the military). I could see right through his sales techniques so he wasn't getting me with them. He got angry, and hung up saying "Call me when you're serious". It has been my experience now that this company is extremely rude, and does not engage in ethical sales practices. They try to pressure you, and if you don't cave, they insult you, and act like you don't know what you're doing. In reality, I was doing exactly the right thing for smart business.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology from the company, and for them to provide a sales representative that will not be rude, and will negotiate in a normal fashion, so we can finish this sale. I'm extremely fair person so I'm not expecting them to sell something at a price that doesn't provide a good profit for them. Also, I have very thick skin (I'm in the Infantry), so normally a little insult here and there doesn't bother me...but this was extreme, and is not acceptable behavior for anyone in business. They can't expect to try to push people around. This needs to be dealt with.

Business Response: We certainly apologize if this customer had a poor experience with a specific sales representative. We obviously want to provide a positive and professional experience to all customer and we will investigate this situation more closely. That said, often times customers may get frustrated with the direction of the price negotiations, but we cannot stray from company pricing policy based on the fact that someone has filed a complaint against us. We are happy to provide a direct line of communication with senior management, however, where the negotiation can be resumed at a higher level. If this is acceptable we are happy to  arrange this asap.

Consumer Response:

The issue is not resolved yet. That is a weak apology at best, and does not seem in any way sincere. There were multiple salespersons who behaved in the same way, indicating a culture of this kind of behavior at the company. I was not the one who got frustrated, and it had nothing to do with the company's pricing policy. It's digital real estate...you negotiate prices. The company needs to come back with a stronger offer. I do want to speak to senior management there.

8/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Basically I inquired about buying the domain name Klaphake.com which is my legal last name. Buy domains.com is squatting on the domain with no business model except for trying to get me to pay thousands for the domain. They are not trying to build a business around Klaphake.com at all.

Desired Settlement: I want the domain Klaphake.com handed over to me. It is my legal last name and I want to make a family website out of it.

Business Response: The complainant has no inherent rights to this domain name simply because it is his last name.  The fact of the matter is that thousands, if not hundreds of thousands, of other individuals share this last name and none of them can claim any specific "rights" to the domain name.   As such, we are well within our rights to own this domain as we have for the past 6 years.  As the BBB is well aware, our company has been in the domain industry and a BBB member for 10+ years and maintain the highest standards for meeting all legal and industry standards in terms of our domain ownership.   We view this complaint to be simply without merit, and see no need to seek any specific remedy with the complainant.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********

I believe that the Anticybersquatting Consumer Protection Act of 1999 gives me some legal right to the domain in question based of the fact that the business in question isn't trying to make a legit business out of the domain.  They are simple sitting on the domain and trying to sell it to make a profit. Please see the following that directly states that a persons legal name is one of the reasons for this law. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anticybersquatting_Consumer_Protection_Act

Regards,

****** ********

 

 

Business Response: Our use/ownership of this domain is perfectly valid.  As owners of nearly 1 million domains since 1999, our company is well aware of our ownership rights. If the complainant feels he has legal rights to this domain, ICANN provides a dispute resolution  platform that they can pursue. However, at this point we remain 100% comfortable with our ownership and use of the domain and consider this matter to be closed.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********

So now you are telling me to submit a grievance with ICANN on this behalf so you can just pull the same crap that you are with me through the BBB in the ICANN grievance. This whole process has shown what kind of company you are. It is crazy to think that I would like to own my last name for a domain name and create a nice family website for a affordable price. This is not something that I am planning on making money on or anything....it is just a website for my family...but you would like to sell it to me for thousands of dollars. By the way i don't really care how many domain you own or how many years you have been in business because in this case you are straight up domain squatting. This domain is the only one that is relevant to this case.

Regards,

****** ********