BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of SimpleTuition, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

SimpleTuition, Inc.

Phone: (617) 630-6100 Fax: (617) 630-1104 268 Summer St  Suite 502, Boston, MA 02210 http://www.simpletuition.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

SimpleTuitions  goal is to make it easier for students and their families to afford a higher education. The offer tips, advice, interactive tools, and deals to ensure students plan better for the cost of college, pay less for college-related expenses, and are smarter about how they manage and pay back their student loans.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that SimpleTuition, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for SimpleTuition, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on SimpleTuition, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 30, 2006 Business started: 01/01/2005 in MA Business incorporated: 01/18/2005 in DE
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Division of Professional Licensure
1000 Washington Street, Boston MA 02118
http://www.state.ma.us/reg
Phone Number: (617) 727-3074 or Consumer Line: (617) 727-7406
Fax Number: (617) 727-1944
The license number is 22352.

Type of Entity

Private Limited Company by Shares (LTD)

Business Management
Mr. Patrick Kandianis, EVP/Co-Founder Mr. Kevin Walker, President Mr. Brian Mazzoli, Director of Customer Service
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Patrick Kandianis, EVP/Co-Founder
Customer Contact: Mr. Brian Mazzoli, Director of Customer Service
Principal: Mr. Kevin Walker, President
Number of Employees

35

Business Category

COMMERCIAL LOANS ADVERTISING-DIRECTORY & GUIDE Commercial Banking (NAICS: 522110)

Industry Tips
Read Before You Sign

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/8/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 09 2014, I did a sell back with ***********.com a company owned by Simple Tuitions inc., one of my books Campbell Essential Biology (quoted for $61) was cancelled on January 16, 2014 because it was damaged. On January 17, 2014 I received an email stating they will send my book within 30 days. I waited a month, on February 17th I emailed once again they said again they told me I will receive my book in 30 days. I called about 10 times to find out about my book if they lost it or sent it out, they kept telling me someone would contact me within 24-48 hours. Now it's March 17th and I called, no one has emailed me since. It's very frustrating being a college student and the customer service cannot help me.

Desired Settlement: I want ***********.com to send my book back to me or send me the $61 they quoted me for to my PayPal account.

Business Response: Hello *********, I believe our customer service department has been in touch with you regarding this matter and we have worked out a solution to the issue. Thanks and have a great day.

*******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company uses an image of the international version of ISBN: ************* Introductory ************ ************** ******* *******) on website ad and quotes $2.99 as sell back price. Everything was printed on the receipt and packaging slip. After receiving my book the company denied it and refused payment. My book never came back. This must be what the company does to get books for free and sell them through another channel; denying customers' sell back items and keeping them.

Desired Settlement: Ship my book back to me, you pay for everything, or pay the $2.99 as your website quoted.

Business Response:
Our customer service department has tried unsuccessfully to reach you regarding this matter. They have pro-actively processed a payment for the $2.99 in question (vs. attempting to have the buyer return the book) and that payment will be sent via check to the address on file.

I hope this resolves your concerns.


Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint ********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

Regards,

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently tried to sell two textbooks to ***************. One of the books was processed successfully and I have no complaints. As to the other book, the website gave me only one price estimate for the item and stated that the item must be be in a certain condition, but did not state the criteria of that condition. Before shipping my books I sent an email on Jan 25 and did not receive a response. After the books were processed and I was told that one of my books, the one that had a much higher sell back rate, was not accepted. I sent another email on Feb 11 inquiring as to what happened to the book and I received no reply. I sent another email on Feb 28 and received no reply. With the lack of response to my emails, I attempted to find a contact number, but could not find one of the website.

Desired Settlement: I would like either my book back or for my original estimate to be honored because of the lack of communication.

Business Response:
I believe that our customer service department has contacted you and made arrangements to process a payment for the book that was rejected as it has not yet been returned by the buyer.

Thanks for your patronage.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 3rd, 2014 I used the internet to decide on which book service to use to sell back textbooks that are no longer in use. A company I have not used before, Valore Books, offered the best estimate on my books, so I selected this company and chose to sell back seven (7) books which an estimate offer of $135.64. However, once Valore books accepted these books, they e-mailed me back stating that they would not pay me anything for two of the books: Church History From Christ To Pre-reformation by ******* ******** with a sell back quote of $8.85 and Social Work and Social Welfare by *********, and ********* with a sell back quote of $70.87 This amount totaled $79.72 that they refused to pay me for books I sent them in good faith. Both books were in excellent condition. I have no idea why they refused to accept the first book with a sell back quote of $8.85. The second book was an instructor's edition. While I know it was a different edition that a student's edition, most students actually prefer to buy an instructor's edition and I have sold these back several times to different booksellers with no issues whatsoever. After reviewing the information they sent, I tried to find out when they would send my books back to me and discovered that they stated that they will not return them and instead "recycle" them. It is my belief that Valore Books has a certain percentage of books they refuse to pay for but then sell them back to other customers anyway.

Desired Settlement: My first choice for a desired outcome is for Valore Books to provide payment for the books they stated they would purchase from me. I am sure they would not allow any of their own customers to keep books sent to them without paying for them. However, if they refuse to pay for them for whatever reason, then I want those two books sent back to me. If they refuse to purchase them then that is my property and I want them returned.

Business Response: Mr. *******, I believe our customer service department has contacted you to resolve the issue. Sorry for the inconvenience. *******

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. Had this company NOT changed their policy to allow return of unaccepted books, I would feel they would require additional investigation for unscrupulous business practices. However, since they now send these books back I am thusly satisfied. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 13 January I placed an order to rent a textbook from Valore Books, order number ******* (a subsidiary of SimpleTuition) for a US Student Edition textbook. When I received the book on Monday, Jan 20 it was the International Edition. On Tuesday, Jan 21 I notified Valore books that I had been shipped the wrong book and that I needed the correct one shipped and that I needed to return the wrong one that I had been sent. On Thursday Jan 23 a representative of the seller contacted me back stating that I should contact Valore Books Customer Service, which I did. The customer service department replied telling me to contact the follow a specific link on the website to return the book, which I did. This link only prompted me to send yet another e-mail requesting specific instructions to return thee book, which I also did (this all happened on Friday, Jan 24). When I did not receive an e-mail back within the 48 hours as promised by Valore Books on their website, I started e-mailing requesting the instructions to return the book daily. I still have not gotten a reply or an acknowledgment that I am having a problem with the order.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that Valore Books ship me the correct book via expedited overnight shipping and supply me with the proper return instructions and free return shipping for the book that I already have. I would also like for Valore Books to honor their websites claim to reply to questions/issues within 48 hours.

Business Response: Dear ********, Our customer service department reached out to you yesterday and twice today but have not been able to reach you or heard back. Please respond to customer service and we will get the matter resolved on the wrong item as soon as possible. Thanks, *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sold back my books to Simple Tuition through Valorebooks. com I sold them book for 27.84 (ISBN *************) and according the UPS tracing # ****************** it has been delivered Delivered On: Monday, 12/30/2013 at 10:00 A.M. I don't know why it is taking so long for them to pay me for the book? here is my Order #: ********* I have contacted them through the website but the there was just the automated response and I couldn't reach anyone (Ticket #: ******)

Desired Settlement: Please pay me the price of the books I sold you online.

Business Response: Hello Mr. ****, I researched your order with our customer service department. Unfortunately, the book you sold back and sent (that was in fact received) has been rejected by seller (on 12/31) based on the condition of the book. The purchaser does have the right to reject the purchase if they are unable or unwilling to resell the inventory. The purchaser will be sending the book back to you directly and you should receive it within the next 30 days. Sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused but it is the nature of a marketplace sale. *******

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

The website never asked about book condition or anything. When entered the ISBN, it gave me the price and a packing slip to send to Valorebooks.com. It didn't mention anything about any contingency. You bought it from me it is know ur responsibility to pay me. I didn't sell it to 3rd party.  And if Why it is taking so long for you to return the book. You might have rented it out and get paid for it and will return it when you get it back after 2-3 months.  

Business Response: ********, Just wanted to clarify that ValoreBooks is a marketplace that unites customers selling textbooks with buyers from across the country. Therefore, the items are not sent to us. The reason Valore started the program is to offer customers higher prices by having multiple companies compete to buy back your books. Once the product is received and verified and accepted, we send the money to you. Your book was purchased by a buyer who rejected the book when it was received because it was in sub-standard condition. Normally, this would mean the book would be sent back to you or recycled (which is what is in process now). I will instruct our customer service group to contact you directly regarding your request. Thanks, *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a new book (Order # *******, on 1/9/14). Received a USED book instead. Have not heard from the seller or *************** AT ALL even though I have emailed them and called them. Their customer service is non-existent. Will never use *************** again. If you would like the book back, then please send a PREPAID shipping label to my email and I will sent it. However, I should not have to wait for the item to arrive and for someone to "have the time" to process it to received my refund. I will only be satisfied if I have my full refund immediately ($48.93)

Desired Settlement: Full refund immediately.

Business Response: Sorry that the seller delivered the wrong book. I have asked our customer service group to look into this immediately. They will contact you as soon as possible.

Consumer Response: :

The business has already credited the total amount back to my credit card and sent over a prepaid shipping label.  I wish they would have had better customer service from the beginning so I would not have to waste time by filing with the BBB.  I hope they significantly improve their customer service in the future.
(I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.)

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In August of 2013, I received an email advertisement to my university email account sent by a ValoreBooks, a subsidiary of SimpleTuition, offering to purchase old mobile phones. On September 17, I completed the online purchasing form and received a quote for my old mobile phones at $364.00, in addition to a shipping label and instructions on how to package the phones. On October 4, I packaged the mobile phones and sent them via USPS. I received an email from ValoreBooks that the package was received by USPS and the order number of *******. On October 9, ValoreBooks sent an email confirming receipt and processing of the mobile phones. The email went on to explain that a check would be sent in the full amount of $364.00, would be sent out within the next 2 days, and may take 7 to 14 days to finally arrive. The check never showed, but I continued to wait. On November 29, I opened a customer support ticket explaining that the check never arrived. The ticket number is ******. I received a reply stating that the check would be sent out November 30 and that it would take 7 to 14 days to arrive. The check didn't arrive. On December 30, I again used their ticket system to complain that the check had not arrived. I provided my address and personal phone number. The customer support did not write back. On January 7, 2014, I opened another ticket and complained that I had not received any reply from their customer support and that the check still had not arrived. I added that I am suspicious that they will actually fulfill the agreement, that I am worried about having been scammed, and if I do not hear back within 48 hours than I will begin pursuing claims for fraud against them. I am using the BBB as a last step for the company to make good on their agreement before I then file a complaint with the police.

Desired Settlement: I want ValoreBooks and SimpleTuition to honor the contract and agreement. I do not want any more promises that the "check is in the mail". If they agree to send the money, then I want it sent with a tracking number and require a signature.

Business Response: I have forwarded the information to our VP of Operations....we'll dig into it and get back to you right away.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/2 I submitted for a quote for a book sellback. I took the package to the post office on 12/6 and the package was scheduled to be delivered on 12/10. On 12/10 the package was "out for delivery." According to Valore books they did not receive the book until 12/16. They emailed me on 12/20 that said it was received 12/16 and they would process it within 7-10 days and the payment would be sent in 2 days or less. It is 14 days later and still the order has not even been processed. When I check the status online it says "Received" which it has said since 12/16. I have submitted the list of the different statuses which is on their website. Order Status PendingWe have yet to receive your sell back order. ReceivedThe sell back order has been received. Please allow up to 7 days for your order to be processed. Received (Awaiting Payment)The sell back has been received and payment will be issued. Received (Rejected)The item did not meet our Sell Back Policies and has been rejected. Received (Paid)Payment has been issued for the item. CompleteThe order has been processed.

Desired Settlement: I have waited long enough. The payment needs to be sent, now. I emailed them on 12/28 and have yet to even receive a response. The check is for $83.10 and I need it to be sent overnight. I should receive this check by no later than 1/6/2013. (1 month after it was mailed.) I sold books back to two other companies on the same day and received those checks 3 and 2 weeks ago.

Business Response: We are reviewing this matter. As I understand it, out customer service group has tried to contact ******* multiple times to discuss the issue. The account status is "Received-Awaiting Payment" and we are checking to see if the check has already been sent.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

The hours in which the representative is available are the same as my work hours and I have been unable to get back in touch with him.  I need the check, I will not consider this resolved until I receive the check.  It has been over a month - I lived up to my end of the deal and this is unacceptable.  

Business Response: Dear Ms. *******, I checked with our controller and our check processor cut and sent the check on Jan 7th. We had unexpected and overwhelming consumer demand in mid-December and some buyers of books did not "clear" the transaction to allow payment after receipt. This caused a big delay which was further hampered by the holiday period. We're sorry for the delay but the check has been sent. Thank you for your patience.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sell back my books to Simple Tuition through Valorebooks. com on Dec 2. The total amount quote was 435,35. I received a partial payment of #351.50 on December 27.2013. I took the check to the bank to cash but was informed by the bank that they would put a 10 day hold until the check is cleared. I ask for the check and I went on line to the verify that this was indeed the routing number. The routing number was invalid. I sent a email on facebook asking for a rep to call me. I received a call from ***** and he insisted that I deposit the check. I told him I was not going to because I did not want to go to jail for check fraud. I want them to send all my books back or issue a check that is not fake. The routing number of that check is *********. I also have not received payment of shipment 1 and 3.

Desired Settlement: I want all my books back or the company must send me a check that is valid.

Business Response: Hello, I have looked into this matter with our customer service department (who has also spoken with you directly as you indicated). The check is a valid check, the routing number is a valid routing number drawn on an account we utilize for customer payments. If your bank's policies require a hold for a period of time for the check to clear, that is a bank issue...not a check issue. We do not issue replacement checks...it would come from the same bank with the same routing number. I'm sorry, but we have no other option other than to say the form of payment is valid. Please deposit the check to complete the payment. Thanks.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. 

I am rejecting the business respone because the routing # on the check for (*********)351.5o is different from the check (*********) for 83.76. Both Check is drafted from the same bank, therefore the routing should be the same. I was able to validate the check for 83.76 . The one for 351.50 is invalid. I want my books or my money.

Business Response: Ms ******...the checks are valid. This note comes directly from my controller who issue the checks. We are constantly fighting fraudsters who try to copy checks and make false deposits so there are additional numbers on our checks. It's a process called controlled disbursement. Please deposit the checks and they will clear. If we reissued you checks they would look exactly the same so we will not do that. Hello all Order # ******* has 11 items, total payment:  $435.26 2 payments were issued (they were probably purchased by different partners) (1) Check # *********: $351.50 (2) Check # *********: $83.76   Both checks are legitimate.  She may be looking at “Check #” at the bottom of the checks, not routing #s.  I have attached a sample of our checks. There are 3 sets of numbers at the bottom of the check Check #: Routing #:  ********* –which is the same on all checks Account #: ******** (it looks different because we used “Controlled Disbursement” account to pay these buyback checks, so the fraudsters out  there cannot “cash” fraudulent checks they created)

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.   

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was charged for an unacceptable rental return with no supporting evidence, book back, and tried contacting seller 2 times with no response.

Desired Settlement: Looking for refund of all but rental cost and or return of the book in question. I can provide proof of the 2 times I tried to reach the company DBA valorebooks.com

Business Response: We are looking into it and will respond with more details shortly. Thanks

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent this company the book American Democracy in perfect condition and they are rejecting it and they will not send the book back.

Desired Settlement: I would like my quoted 96.00 dollars or my book back.

Business Response: Dear Ms. ******, I am checking with our Customer Service Department on the history and status of your order. I will respond again shortly. Thank you, *******

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Okay, I am a college student and I sold my text books back to ValoreBooks.com. I completed everything on my behalf including the packaging and mailing. The quote or my 4 textbooks was 1009.49. I have received confirmation they my book were received and that was placed on the 8th of August 2013 and I yet to receive any of my money.

Desired Settlement: I WANT my money, its not my problem that you deal with a third party. You gave me a quote of 109.49 so, I want my money.

Business Response: We have contacted Ms. ******* and researched the matter. We have discovered that the check was sent, but not received by Ms. *******. She had agreed to give it an additional week to see if it arrived. I am checking with our customer service group now to see if the matter was resolved or requires a new check to be cut and sent.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/22/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a book from their website, ValoreBooks.com, for 2-day shipping. It was ordered on September 3, 2013 and today's date is September 11, 2013, and I still haven't received my package. The tracking number said it was delivered to my building on September 6, 2013, however, my apartment building shows no record of the USPS (whom they shipped the book through) coming to our location that day. I emailed customer support and was informed that the book would "return to sender" and I would receive a full refund, except shipping and handling. But, the refund never came and I received another email from ValoreBooks.com informing me my "package has been shipped!" on September 10, 2013. The tracking number on the package - online it said it never left Denton, TX so I'm not sure how it got back to Boston without being tracked. I don't want the book anymore. I've already been forced to buy another book for the class since this company took so long to NOT send it. There's no way I can cancel my order since the website said they go through a third party and I've already contacted the seller for a refund and cancelation, but I have received no response.

Desired Settlement: I want my book order to be canceled and a full refund, including shipping & handling and the 2-day shipping charge, because this was terrible service. I want a complete reimbursement of $40.51.

Business Response: Dear Ms. ******,  It is my understanding that our customer service department at ValoreBooks has reached out to you directly and resolved your concerns regarding this transaction and refunded the purchase.

Thanks,
******* *********
Co-Founder

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/1/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They send out spam emails to every email address at the University of Minnesota. That is unethical and illegal. The emails do not provide a mechanism to unsubscribe.

Business Response:


The complaint registered is not true, all emails that SimpleTuition sends out are to our customers, who have opted-in to receiving our correspondence.  ALL, I repeat, ALL,  of our emails contain the required mechanism to unsubscribe.

 

I believe the consumer, Mr* *************** is confused as to who sent him these spam emails.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******.

The spam email, sent from EmailDirect, had several links that landed on SimpleTuition's website.  Who else is paying EmailDirect to send out these spams on behalf of SimpleTuition.com?

Regards,

**** **************

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has been sending me advertising e-mails for the last two months. I never went to their site nor did I opt into any mailing list. I have asked numerous times for the e-mails to stop, with no contact back, no verification that my request was received, and no action to stop this junk mail from coming to me.

Desired Settlement: I'd like this company to stop contacting customers who never asked to e contacted. I'd also like someone to investigate these practices for full legality and compliance with federal regulations.

Business Response: This letter is in reference
to complaint #******* filed by Mr. ****** ********

Our records show that Mr.
******* opted in to receive emails from us on 5/20/2011, after conducting a search
for student loans on SimpleTuition.com or an affiliated partner site. He was
sent emails as a part of our ongoing communication plan from that point onward.
All emails we send out contain a link to unsubscribe from our mailing list.

Mr. ******* unsubscribed on
08/01/2011 and was removed from our mailing list and all electronic
communications at that time. We apologize if there was some level of
misunderstanding regarding our opt-in and unsubscribe policies. We hope this
clears up any confusion and that our service helped provide Mr. ******* with
important information on potential choices for a private student loan.

Sincerely,
******* ********** Co-Founder

 

We hope this clears up this
matter and assure you that we make every effort to clearly communicate our
email opt-in policy and to honor our customers' unsubscribe requests.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******.





 

Regards,

****** *******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

1