Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Chocolate.org

Phone: (210) 920-4438 303 Wyman St., North Waltham, MA 02451 http://www.chocolate.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Chocolate.org is an online retailer of various types of chocolate. The company sells the confections of many chocolate makers in the United States.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chocolate.org meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chocolate.org include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Chocolate.org
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 12, 2008 Business started: 03/01/2004 in MA Business incorporated 12/15/2004 in DE
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Mark McInnis, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark McInnis, CEO
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

CHOCOLATE & COCOA ONLINE & INTERNET SHOPPING Electronic Shopping (NAICS: 454111)

Industry Tips
Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site - Video Online Shopping Online Shopping - 5 Tips - Video

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Chocolate.org has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 303 Wyman St.

    North Waltham, MA 02451

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/21/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered an emailable gift certificate for the amount of $10.00 from chocolate.com on 10/16/13 to be delivered as a gift for someone. The website stated that a receipt would be emailed to me. The order went through and the funds were debited from my checking account. However, I did not receive a receipt emailed to me, as promised. Also, the recipient did not receive the emailed gift certificate. I emailed customer service twice and called and left a message. None of the contact attempts were acknowledged or answered, even though the website says that the average response time for online contact to customer service was 19 minutes.

Desired Settlement: I would like the purchased emailable gift certificate to be sent to the recipient and a receipt sent to me OR for my money to be refunded. Thank you. ****** ******

Business Response: Dear ******,  I am so disappointed to hear that you did not receive what you ordered. I think there may be a problem with your server rejecting emails from ours. I sent a response to your initial inquiry on Wednesday (Wed, 16 Oct 2013 16:00:32 -0700 (PDT)) and then another one on the following day to see if you received my response. 

You and your gift certificate recipient have email addresses with the same domain (ppdi.com). Our system sends notification to the recipient and confirmation to the buyer. The fact that you did not receive these emails from your purchase and did not receive my responses indicates that there is a technical issue with our email communication. It is most likely a spam filter.

I will be happy to provide you with a refund and you may still use the gift certificate. When placing an order, I recommend using a different email address (not a ppdi.com email). I will process the refund now. Here are the details of your gift certificate:

AMOUNT: $10.00
CODE: ********
EXPIRES: 10/16/2014

Thank you for being a Chocolate.com customer.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

4/22/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2013/03/21 I paid $243.46 for a box of chocolates to be delivered as a birthday present on 2013/04/16. On 2013/04/16 at nearly 3 PM I noticed that the package was scheduled to be delivered on 2013/04/17, so I wrote immediately a direct complaint that was answered almost 20 hours later (2013/04/17 at 11:22 AM), with the following message: "We are not sure why this shipment was held up in customs. We provide all the necessary information electronically and UPS customs is looking for more information. I will make sure that the shipment gets clearance. I am so sorry that your shipment will not arrive on the special date. Would you like to receive a $100 refund? Please let me know". On 2013/04/17 at 9:01 AM, before I received the last answer, I insisted on my complaint with the following message: "I am very disappointed, I understand the gift has not arrived, it was a birthday present for a close friend of mine, her birthday was yesterday (2013/04/16). // I bought the present with enough time to be delivered on April 16th."

On the same date, at 1:17 PM, I got the following message: "Please see my prior message regarding a refund. So sorry that the package did not arrive for the special day.". On 2013/04/17 at 12:34 PM I wrote: "Thank you for your answer, it reliefs me a little. // I don't understand what happened, if it was a UPS's fault they should refund the shipping fee, could you please talk with them? If nothing can be done with them I would accept the refund you kindly offer. // But please, have in mind this, I contracted with your company because I wanted to be sure the gift would be received on time, it was very, very important for me. // Now nothing can be done to get past back. // I had several options I found yours the most trustworthy.". I received no more answers from chocolate.com. So, on 2013/04/18 at 3:53 PM I wrote: "Do you know what happened with the gift? It appears an non delivered. // Do you have more information from UPS?". At almost 16:30 PM I decided to talk through a live chat with UPS and they told me they were waiting for some data from the recipient. At this exact time (2013/04/18 18:09 PM) I don't know if chocolate.com is doing what was promised: "I will make sure that the shipment gets clearance", or if I have to tell the recipient that I had a surprise for her that didn't arrive on time and that -as UPS says- she has to phone them and give some data.

I fell chocolate.com is not doing the best effort to solve the problem, they could have advised me on time to ask the recipient to fulfill some customs requirements but didn't. The package has not arrived yet. It seems to me they are doing nothing. They just sent the package but offered to give it on time, which requires attention and care.

Desired Settlement: Chocolate.com offered to deliver the birthday gift on time, offered to work to get the shipment clearance, has the duty to pay close attention to the delivery process and advice me and the recipient what to do, but nothing has been accomplished. So I think chocolate.com owes me a full refund, not just $100.

Business Response: Dear ******,
I am sorry that you did not receive a response from us on Friday. Our office was closed due to the Terrorist activity here in the Boston area. I have not been able to determine why UPS is holding this package in customs. We have contacted them again and expect a response today. I will make sure that the package is released. We know that the delay is not acceptable to you. I have refunded your shipping charge in full. If you would like to receive a refund of the product total, please contact me at help@chocolate.com. Thank you.

**** *******
Chocolate.com

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.