BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Thanks Mama?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Thanks Mama

Additional Locations

Phone: (617) 965-6262 Fax: (617) 209-1333 49 Border St, Newton, MA 02465 http://www.thanksmama.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Thanks Mama is a cloth diaper specialty store offering cloth diapers, diaper covers, potty training pants, swim diapers, baby carriers, toys, bibs, nursing products, and accessories.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Thanks Mama meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Thanks Mama include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Thanks Mama
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 07, 2009 Business started: 11/01/2002 in MA Business incorporated: 07/23/2008 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Helena Shumakin, Vice President Mr. Kosta Shumakin, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Helena Shumakin, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Kosta Shumakin, President
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

BABY ACCESSORIES-RETAIL DIAPER SERVICE Children's and Infants' Clothing Stores (NAICS: 448130)

Products & Services

Thanks Mama sells the following brand(s): Babykicks, bumGenius, Bumkins, Bummis, Ergo, FuzziBunz, Imse Vimse, Kissaluvs, Kushies, Moby Wrap, OsoCozy, Snappi, Thirsties

Thanks Mama offers the following product(s): Baby Carriers, Baby Toys, Bibs, Cloth Diapers, Diaper Covers, Diapering Accessories, Nursing Products, Potty Training Pants, Swim Diapers

Method(s) of Payment
MasterCard
Visa
American Express
Discover
PayPal
Online Payment

Additional Locations

  • 49 Border St

    Newton, MA 02465

  • PO Box 351013

    Brighton, MA 02135

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/7/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Thanks Mama on July 3, 2012 regarding cloth diapers that developed holes that I had purchased from Thanks Mama on November 25, 2011. The diapers were advertised as covered by a 1 year warranty on the product page. The customer service representative replied on the same day that the diapers were still under warranty and asked me to identify which colors had developed holes so they could send replacements along with a postage paid label to return the defective diapers. I responded on October 15, 2012 that all diapers had holes and I would need to return them all. The customer service representative replied that they would not be able to honor the warranty since the diapers were purchased "so long ago." I replied reminding customer service that the diapers were purchased on November 25, 2011 and the warranty should be valid until November 25, 2012. Customer service replied confirming that was correct but I needed to send the diapers back to the manufacturer since more than 90 days had passed. I replied that on July 3, 2012 the same customer service representative told me I only need to identify the diapers that had holes and replacements would be send. July 3, 2012 was greater than 90 days of the original purchase so that reasoning did not seem valid. Further, on the site the 90 day return policy state that item must be unworn in new condition. Obvioulsy, diapers that had been worn and developed holes would not meet that criteria either, nonetheless, the customer service representative stated that the diapers would be replaced and I would be provided with a postage paid label on July 3, 2012. Throughout several responses with the customer service representative and someone that stated they were the owner of the company, ******, this retailer refused to honor the July 3, 2012 offer to replace the diapers. My last e-mail was ignored.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome is for them to honor the July 3, 2012 and replace some (4-6) or all of the diapers. However, I am negotiable. I am willing to accept them covering the cost for me to ship the diapers to the manufacturer in two batches so that I have diapers on hand until I receive the replacements.

Business Response: Purchase was made in November of 2011. We are in October of 2012. It is beyond our 90 days return policy. Customer was advised to contact manufacturer directly for further warranty issues. This is our policy with defects over 90 days.  Please contact us if you have any questions we would be more than happy to help you.  Best regards!

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

The e-mail from customer service on July 3, 2012 stating that the diapers would be replaced at no charge was beyond the 90 day window as well.  It is irrelevant to use that as the excuse for refusing the return at this point.  The response from  customer service said the diapers were still under warranty and would be replaced.  That fact remains true.  

Further, the 90 policy is for new, unused products.  Obviously holey diapers are not new or unused
.  The company is not consistant in their response and stated on July 3, 2012 that they would replace the diapers that I purchased on November 25, 2011 at no charge because they were still under the 1 year warranty (until November 25, 2012).  Those facts have not changed.  The only thing that has changed has been this retailers response.

They also initially stated on October 16, 2012 that the reason they could not accept the return is because the diapers were now out of warranty.  When I pointed out that was not true they replied with the 90 day window excuse which is contrary to the July 3, 2012 offer to replace the diapers from customer service even though 90 days had long passed at that point.

Business Response: Products you purchased are still under warranty. Please contact manufacturer and send them proof of your purchase. They will handle your warranty issue. We would be happy to send you copy of your receipt if needed.  If have any questions please feel free to contact us.  Best regards

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I have already contacted the *** ****** and to return the diapers to them, I would need to incur shipping costs to return the diapers FIRST (what will I use on my child in the meantime?), then replacements would be sent. 

I understand the product is still under warranty which is why I contacted customer service.  The e-mail I received on July 3, 2012 from your customer service states - "Hi **** !  I am sorry about that! Yes, they are under warranty still.  Please let me know which ones are defective.  We have all colors in stock right now except for white which is on back order for us. We will then send you replacements with a prepaid label and envelope so you can then send us back the defective ones.
Thank you!  *****"

90 days is not mentioned in this e-mail (it was sent more than 90 days after I purchased), the diapers are obviously used, which pertains to the 90 day policy stated on the ThanksMama.com site (obviously that policy does not apply here), there is no timeline given for my response (other than the warranty period - which has not expired) and it clearly states that I will receive replacement diapers and THEN receive a label to return the defective diapers. 

I am requesting for this written offer for warranty exchange to be fulfilled. 


BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1