Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Auction Holdings

Additional Locations

Phone: (617) 746-9800 Fax: (617) 746-9801 38 Everett Street Suite 101, Allston, MA 02134 http://www.auctionzip.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Artfact provides web-based software, tools and services that connect 25,000 auctioneers with more than 23 million bidders in the world’s largest live auctions marketplace. With over 100,000 items for sale every day, bidders have access to a wide range of auctions types, including collectibles, art, antiques, real estate, equipment and estate sales from around the globe.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Auction Holdings meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Auction Holdings include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 22 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 22

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Auction Holdings
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 5
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 24, 2012 Business started: 12/02/2009 in MA Business started locally: 12/02/2009 Business incorporated 12/02/2009 in MA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Adrien Smith, Client Services Team Leader Ms. Stephanie Telesco, Customer Care Manager - US/CAN Mr. O'Neal Rowe, Vice President of Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Adrien Smith, Client Services Team Leader
Principal: Ms. Stephanie Telesco, Customer Care Manager - US/CAN
Number of Employees

77

Business Category

AUCTIONS ONLINE & INTERNET SHOPPING AUCTIONS-INTERNET Electronic Auctions (NAICS: 454112)

Method(s) of Payment
Visa
Mastercard
American Express
Alternate Business Names
Artfact AuctionZip Invaluable
Industry Tips
Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site - Video Online Shopping Online Shopping - 5 Tips - Video

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Auction Holdings has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    113 W Pitt Street Suite C

    Bedford, PA 15522

  • 38 Everett Street Suite 101

    Allston, MA 02134 (617) 746-9800

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As the overseer of a small, relatively new online gallery with a handsome collection of valuable inventory I was initially very interested in the services that a purportedly 'high-end' auction hosting site like Invaluable/Auctionzip could offer. I spoke with them repeatedly about the scope of their services and the chances of success of the particular type of inventory I was offering for sale (authentic rare artworks and antiques of desirable quality) and was assured that these items had a very good chance of success in selling through their platform. I repeatedly asked for marketing statistics on average sell-through rates and was told that they could not provide this information. The only selling statistic they could offer me was that sales rates improved after multiple auctions where held on their site. After much coaxing from sales representatives and a variety of unsolicited phone calls I decided to register an auction with them for the fee of $550. I listed 33 items in this auction that ranged in value from $50-$300,000 and provided extensive and well-worded descriptions and as many as ten photos showing varying flattering angles of each item. I had wanted to list my auction as a timed auction (where items could be bought at any time) as this was much more convenient for me because I was traveling internationally at the time but I was convinced, after further unsolicited phone calls from Invaluable staff to list my auction as a live auction because, I was told, this would lead to much higher sales values and buyer competition for my items. I also repeatedly contacted Invaluable to request statistics as to the best dates and times of day to run an auction to ensure good attendance and ideal sales. This request was repeatedly forwarded to the marketing department which never got back to me. Roughly a dozen people registered for my auction and a handful showed substantial interest, however, I knew this was not enough to create reasonable bidding competition or even a sale (turn out rate for an auction tends to be about %20 of registered parties). I contacted Invaluable to discuss this predicament and they began to describe the advertising services they offered for an additional charge. In the end they sold me $1500 worth of advertising in their newsletters, which they claimed went out to more than 100,000 active buyers in my market and would ensure higher attendance at my auction. However, after these newsletters went out NOT A SINGLE additional auction attendee registered to bid at my event. In the end, the auction I listed with Invaluable at a total fee of $2,050 failed to sell even a single item. This resulted in a huge loss for our business that led to us closing. On top of of that, having been instructed to run a live auction by Invaluable staff because it would make higher sales - as opposed to a timed auction which I would've preferred - I accrued $500 in travel and accommodation fees in order to ensure I had the appropriate DSL high speed internet connection to run the live auction software (this amenity was very difficult to find in the country in Asia I was traveling in at the time). In the end I spent over $2,000 of our very limited funds as a business to attempt to facilitate sales through Invaluable. During the entire 6 month process in which I considered their services and ended up registering with them, I was repeatedly led on by a variety of over-the-phone sales staff to believe that their service alone would provide me with reliable sales leads. At no point was I warned that their service was only really functional for those bringing an existing client base to the system. I am seeking to recover costs that led to the closing of our small business because of the misleading sales tactics of Invaluable staff.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of $1,500 in newsletter advertising fees in order to account for the substantial losses incurred by my business that resulted in 0 improvement in auction attendance or sell-through rate though I was repeatedly told that advertising with their extensive network would lead to improvements in both. I would also like the $550 original auction listing fee refunded due to the failure to alert me of the substantial chances of zero sell-through rate even though I repeatedly asked for this information prior to registering with their company.

Business Response: Dear ******, I apologize that you feel you were misguided during the process of coming onboard with us and posting your first sale. I do see that ******** ********* ran another auction at the end of April, and we hope that Wunderly continues to work with us in the future. New auction houses do gain more traction as additional auctions are posted and their bidder base on our platform continues to grow. To increase interest in a sale, we do offer a variety of optional advertising options that houses can take advantage of. I understand that you are frustrated with the results of ******** *********’ first auction in December, but we are not in a position to offer compensation for the listing fee or advertising which was purchased, as these are fees for services which were provided. In Section 12 of the MSA that was signed, you agreed to the disclaimers, limitation of liability, and indemnification clauses that were set forth. We cannot guarantee monetary results from your auction and cannot be held liable for damages of any kind, including perceived lost profits or lost revenue. Regards,Customer CareInvaluable | AuctionZip************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  Hello, Due to a family emergency I was not able to submit my reply to Auction Holdings through the better business bureau website within the 10 day deadline. Therefore I have included my response herein: CLARIFICATIONS- As of January 1, 2016 I was no longer affiliated with ******** ********* and any and all activity on my invaluable account (****************************) was unsanctioned by myself. Such activity is in no way relevant to this complaint. - I was acting as a sole proprietor and at sole risk for loss of property from the auction ******** ********* held with Invaluable Auctions in December 2015.  COMPLAINT- I routinely asked for specific information about the success [and sell-through] rates of new auction houses on invaluable and was repeatedly denied this information. I was met with great resistance by customer service staff when I inquired about it and instead was repeatedly told only that sales rates multiplied exponentially in second and third sales events. Despite asking for it on 5 separate occasions, the Auction House Growth Acceleration, Case Study was withheld from me until the sale I ended up listing with Invaluable was already set and running. This was an unfair and deceptive practice according to the Massachusetts Consumer Protection Law which states such a practice is unfair or deceptive if “a business fails to tell you relevant information regarding their product or service or misleads you in any way." - Multiple members of Invaluable’s training and representative staff were insistent that I setup my auction as a live event. Though I brought up repeated objections to this method of auction there was still substantial and repeated pressure from Invaulable’s representatives to pursue this method. It was repeatedly stated by different parties that high sale prices were note likely with a timed sale event, so - at great inconvenience and financial loss to myself [the staff] - we pursued the format of a live event though it failed significantly upon running. I was party to substantial financial losses [loss of property] due to the misleading advertising of Invaluable customer service staff which stated that higher prices would be achieved by a live auction event [where no such escalation of prices occurred]. Because I was led to believe that higher prices would be achieved, when I did not see substantial indication that this greater success was eminent [as implied] several days before the event, I assumed there was something wrong with my business model and invested heavily in Invaluable advertising to attempt to recoup an attendance threshold that would be more likely to achieve these purported results. Invaluable’s staff assured me that I was doing the right thing when I invested in such advertising, however when the live auction finally ran no higher sales WHATSOEVER occurred. Our event would’ve been more likely to financially succeed with a timed auction as was my initial intention which was repeatedly discouraged by Invaluable customer service staff over a 4 month period. According to Massachusetts Consumer Protection Law this was an unfair and deceptive practice which led to substantial loss of property to myself as a sole proprietor acting on behalf of ******** ********* for June-Dec 2015.  Regards, ****** ****    

Business Response: Dear ******, I again apologize that you feel you were misguided during the process of coming onboard with us and posting your first sale.  As your account manager and/or advertising representative may have expressed to you, new auction houses do gain more traction as additional auctions are posted and their bidder base on our platform continues to grow. While they may have offered suggestions as to the pros and cons of a running a live or timed auction, it is at the discretion of each auction house which type of auction they feel confident running. Some auction houses may not be in a position to run live auctions due to the additional work required to clerk the auction on sale day and run only timed auctions, while some opt to run a mix of both. I understand that you are frustrated with the results of ******** *********’ first auction, but as previously expressed, we are not in a position to offer compensation for the listing fee or advertising which was purchased, as these are fees for services which were provided. Regards,Customer CareInvaluable | AuctionZip************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  [While I understand that your company cannot be held responsible for the results of new auction houses you need to take responsibility for your high-pressure and unethical sales tactics which were coercive and not in keeping with the standards of US consumer protection laws. As a new client my position was exceedingly vulnerable and largely dependent on the advice of your training staff which was evasive and misleading in response to multiple concerns and requests I raised. I am willing to waive the advertising fees but I would like my auction fee refunded in full because, while the service was rendered, the product delivered was not in keeping with what was marketed to me by your staff.] Regards, ****** ****    

6/20/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** ******** co charged my credit card account $431 over the amount of my purchase. I have left 2 voicemails and have emailed the company twice. There has been no action!!!

Desired Settlement: Credit $431 minus shipping costs to my **** account.

Business Response: Dear *****,I understand that you won an item in an auction with ***** ******** **., and I can confirm that they are one of our auction house partners. Invaluable and ********** are platforms for auction houses around the world to make their sales available for online bidding. We are not directly involved in any post auction transactions, including payment and shipping. If there is a dispute as to the amount charged for a transaction, you will need to work with the auction house to resolve this.I was unable to locate an account in our system with the email address sash@bloomer.net, is there another email address that you may have created an account with? I also reviewed all of ***** ******** Co.'s online sale results from 2016 and did not see any winning bidders with your name, email address, or phone number. If you did win items through our online auction platform, please contact our Customer Care team by calling ************ or emailing ***************************. We'd be happy to search for your account using other information that you may have signed up with, and can reach out to the auction house on your behalf to facilitate a resolution if they have been unresponsive to you.Sincerely,Customer Care********** * ********** ************************** * **************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  [If you are rejecting the business's response please enter your rejection comments here.]I have contacted ***** ******** and ******** which is who my account is with. Your company was listed on ******** website and was the only way to contact Better Business on that site. Please encourage them to resolve this by refunding the $431 minus shipping costs.  Regards, ***** ******    

Business Response: Dear *****, We are unable to assist you with a resolution in this matter since you did not participate in this auction with ***** ******** **. through our website. Since you do not have an account with us and this transaction was not completed through ********** or **********, I would recommend that you follow up with the auction house and ******** directly as they would have details of your activity and transaction history. It does appear that ******** has an account on BBB as well.Sincerely,Customer Care********** * ********************** ************** * **************

5/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I won 3 online auction lots with ****** **** Auctions on Auction Zip. I paid for the items on April 20, 2016 and I never received my items. No one returns my calls or e-mail messages. Unable to speak to a live person.

Desired Settlement: I won 3 online auction items which I paid for on April 20, 2016 and never received my merchandise. No one returns my e-mail messages or my phone messages that I leave. Unable to speak with a live person. I would like to be credited the money I paid.

Business Response: Dear *******,I apologize that you've been having trouble reaching ****** **** Auctions to discuss shipping the items you won in their 4/20 sale. I can see that you contacted our Customer Care team last week and we reached out to the house on your behalf. As our team may have already expressed, as a platform for auctions, we are not directly involved in any post-auction transactions including payment and shipping. As you had not received a response from ****** ****, we reached out to request an update and facilitate communication. It looks like we did hear from **** at ****** **** Auctions, she thanked us for bringing the matter to her attention and confirmed she would take care of shipping the items. I will ask *****, whom you spoke with here at AuctionZip, to follow up with you directly.Sincerely,Customer CareAuctionZip************customercare@auctionzip.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, ******* *******

5/17/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Invaluable Auctions sold me a fraudulent piece of art represented to be an original **** ***** drawing which it is not. Then they charged me an additional $90 for a Certificate of Authenticity. When the COA arrived it was from a company banned by **** for fraudulent documentation and the COA only stated my drawing was in the characterization of the artist, not that it was genuine or by the artist, or did it have any chain of ownership or history. I also gave Invaluable proven examples of other sales by this same auction house, ***** ****, which they represent now, in the past and continue to represent that are proven forgeries. I sent them documentation by the artist's representative and in addition offered to have the artist speak with them as well proving they are selling forgeries not by him. They continue to give their Invaluable name to this forgery operation and collect fees on the sales. They charged me extra money for a phony COA and offer me no recourse whatsoever. They claim they aren't responsible yet their name, Invaluable, is right on the auction, they're making money on it, and they play a big part in the operation. I'm left with a worthless fraudulent drawing. Furthermore, as well as being fraudulent, the drawing arrived to me with red paint on both the drawing and the envelope it was enclosed in. This was not disclosed in the auction's listing. The supposedly original drawing I purchased through Invaluable Auctions is nothing more than a recently done poor tracing of a **** ***** drawing and I'm more than happy to let any reputable authority in the United States verify that it's a complete and poorly done fraud. I'm tired of Invaluable's phony excuses that they're not a part of this when the auction is called Invaluable Auction and they're making money on it.

Desired Settlement: I would like my total costs of $458.29 I paid for a fraudulent Invaluable Auctions piece to be completely refunded back to me so I can avoid higher future litigation costs.

Business Response: Dear *******,I understand that this message is in regards to an item that you won in ***** ****'s 3/6/16 sale, a **** ***** drawing of Uncle Scrooge. I can see that you have been speaking with our Customer Care team since the end of March, and have most recently been communicating with our Fraud and Protection Specialist. Throughout our communication we have been reaching out to the auction house on your behalf to help facilitate a resolution. I understand that you have received a COA which was requested after receiving the delivery of the item, but are displeased with the company that provided the certificate and are not convinced of the item's authenticity.I do apologize for the frustrations from your experience with ***** ****, and that thus far, they have not provided a fully satisfactory resolution. As a platform for auction houses, we are not directly involved in any transactions. We do not collect any funds for won items nor do we have any items in our possession. We did not provide the COA that you received after the auction, nor did we collect payment for it. We are unable to provide you with a refund since we did not collect any payment from you, but we do hope that we can assist you with getting this matter resolved. We appreciate your feedback and concerns in regards to other online postings about ***** **** in addition to your personal experience. We are in the process of completing an internal review of their account and will be taking appropriate action.Sincerely,Customer CareInvaluable | AuctionZip************customercare@invaluable.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below. Your company is called Invaluable Auctions and the fraudulent drawing I purchased was widely listed on the Internet under Invaluable Auctions and still is listed there under your name to this day. All the advertising I saw on the Internet for it and the emails regarding the auction I received came from Invaluable Actions. Invaluable Auctions plays a major part of the auction I participated in and collects fees for themselves coming from my purchase. Your company, Invaluable Auctions, has been involved with this transaction in every way from day one right up until the present. In addition, when the obviously fraudulent drawing I purchased arrived your employee, ****** ********, was the one who told me to pay $90 to receive a certificate of authenticity. I never, ever, would have done that or even known how if it wasn't for your employee representing I would receive a genuine COA. Instead I received a document from a company on ****'s banned list (for providing phony documentation) that only states my drawing is in the character of the artist. I paid for and purchased an original drawing by **** *****, not something in the character of a **** ***** drawing. That's not a certificate of authenticity. A COA should state this is an original drawing by **** ***** and/or provide a chain of history of the piece. The company you represent is obviously selling fraudulent drawings without any question and providing phony COA's. Furthermore, the worthless forgery I received from the auction that was listed and advertised under Invaluable Auctions arrived with a spot of red paint on the envelope it was in and on the drawing itself. Even if the drawing were legitimate I would return it for this reason alone as it was not advertised that way. I want my money back and since I made my purchase through Invaluable Auctions your company is 100% responsible for all my costs of $458.29. In addition, I sent you two documented cases of other fraudulent drawings, ***** ****, who you completely represent, has misrepresented and sold. The Internet is full of many other examples as well. The fact that you continue to let clients become harmed through your advertised auctions and your representation of this company as well as your own actions and involvement with them and collecting fees from them makes you very much a part of this action.I have spent hours and a great many days on the phone trying to get this matter resolved with Invaluable Auctions. Your auction may have been called Invaluable but I certainly had no intention of buying and paying my hard earned money for something "Invaluable". Currently a refund to me of $458.29 would put an end to this matter. I really dislike having to pursue this with the state attorney general, and of course, major litigation costs will start incurring. I feel like I've been out right cheated, Invaluable without question played a significant part in this, and I will continue to not let it go. You know as well as I do how easily $500 in the courts can easily end up beening several hundred thousand dollars. It's time for Invaluable to admit I bid in an Invaluable Auction, paid for the piece and what was to be a legitimate COA in a timely way as I was instructed by your company, and now for Invaluable to stand by your name and do the right thing. Finally, I do not like receiving emails forwarded by your company where as a customer who has done everything right and in a timely matter is called both "stupid" and a "liar" by your ***** **** partner in this auction. If Invaluable stands for anything whatsoever it should see I'm refunded my money immediately and stop trying to pass the the buck. If you continue to let costs mount this it will become a fortune for you in the future as I'm not a person who likes to be cheated, called "stupid" or a "liar" as I try to get what I purchased, or one who lets people take my money and then step on them. Please stop with the double talk and refund my $458.29  Regards, ******* *******    

Business Response: Dear *******, We are not in a position to process a refund for any amount that was paid to the auction house, as we did not collect these funds. We have completed a review of their account and have decided to end our relationship with ***** ****. You will notice that they have been removed from the list of auction house partners in our directory and all sales have been removed from site. We do apologize for the frustrating experience you had with this auction house. If there is any additional information that we can provide regarding this auction house and your transaction with them to assist you in other pursuits for resolving this matter, please do not hesitate to contact us. Sincerely,Customer CareInvaluable | AuctionZip************customercare@invaluable.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below. Let's please be completely clear. I participated in an Invaluable Auction advertised as an Invaluable Auction. It was listed on the Internet as an Invaluable Auction and the results were listed as Invaluable Auctions and continued after the auction to be published on the Internet under Invaluable Auctions. I receive approximately 25 emails each week from  you advertising your Invaluable Auctions. During the Invaluable Auction I was given even more information and emails all through Invaluable Auctions and told to contact Invaluable Auctions. In addition, your name and endorsement, Invaluable Auctions, facilitated the auction and additionally collected transaction fees from this Invaluable Auction. Invaluable Auctions also runs the Invaluable Auctions fraud department. Invaluable Auctions should live up to their part of the bargain because Invaluable Auctions name was on the auction. If I buy a toaster from a department store and after paying the department store I find the box they hand me is empty, then the department store is liable and they don't try to blame it on some manufacturer in some other country. It was made 100% clear to me that I was involved in an Invaluable Auction just like the many email advertisements I receive every day from Invaluable Auctions state: "Invaluable Auctions"  Invaluable Auctions further acknowledges your relationship to ***** **** Auctions by severing it and therefore you are liable. Invaluable Auctions also told me to pay $90 for a COA that isn't a certificate of authenticity at all and is completely worthless as previously noted. I find it very hard to believe you want to tarnish your reputation by denying me my claim against this unscrupulous activity that was all unquestionably apart of Invaluable Auctions. I feel you should refund my $458.29 for the fraudulent auction you represented and endorsed with ***** ****. I feel because of Invaluable Auctions I received a fake drawing which you verify by severing your relations ship with ***** **** because they were wrong. Until you pay me my $458.29 I will continue to pursue you by every means possible and hold you accountable for all additional and no doubt substantial costs as they arise.      Regards, ******* *******    

5/16/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm a registered user of invaluable.com. I recently saw some items advertised, which I collect. I used invaluable.com to bid on the items and won two bids. I then paid $100 for the items, however, after paying the auctioneer and asking for the bill to ship, he then stated that he didn't ship items (despite advertising that shipping costs were $40) and his friend contacted me to say that he would ship the items for $200. I objected to this as it was more than advertised and he said that he would ship for $120, again it was more than advertised and this time he suggested that the items might not get to me safely. I contacted invaluable.com as I had bought through them, but they state that the problem is nothing to do with them. My situation is that I've been defrauded and invaluable don't accept liability for this, even though they set up and advertised the deal. I feel that invaluable.com have been negligent in not ensuring that the auctioneer was bona fide, and by not ensuring that the auctioneer could deliver the items advertised.

Desired Settlement: I now wish for a refund as the auctioneer got a friend of his to contact me and say that he'd ship the items for $200 and when I refused (because there was no guarantee of delivery), he then offered to ship them for less money but suggested that the items might not get to me safely. This was intimidation and fraud, but as I live in the UK, its a problem to resolve this issue.

Business Response: Dear *****,I understand that this complaint is in regards to two items that you won in ******* ******* ** **** *****'s 3/13 sale. I do apologize for any confusion or frustration from your experience with this auction house. Each auction house that lists sales on Invaluable has their own set of terms and conditions which you agree to when registering to bid in the sale. It is important to review the terms and conditions of each sale since you are agreeing to abide by these terms, and they include important details about bidding policies, payment, and shipping.You can view the terms for ******* ******* ** **** *****'s 3/13 sale at the following link: ******************************************************************************************************************* Section 13 includes information about shipping, and the house states that "Shipping fees listed with each lot pertain to domestic shipping only. International bidders are subject to higher shipping fees. Please inquire about shipping to a particular country before the start of the auction."As we are not directly involved in any post-auction transactions, we do ask that bidders communicate with auction houses directly to make arrangements and resolve any disputes about the sale. Invaluable does not collect payment for any won items nor do we have the items in our possession, and shipping policies do vary by auction house. This auction house's account is currently in good standing with us and it does not appear that they falsely advertised their post-sale procedure, though we will continue to monitor their activity on our platform based on this feedback.Sincerely,Customer CareInvaluable | AuctionZipNorth America ************Europe *** *** **** *** ***Australia ********** ****customercare@invaluable.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, ***** ****

4/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For 2 weeks I have asked to have my email removed from their contact list. It has appeared on my computer email daily for years and I cannot get it removed because they offer no way to disable it. Is there not a law that requires a way to remove your email, if you so choose?

Desired Settlement: Removal ASAP

Business Response: Dear ******,Please be assured that we at AuctionZip and Invaluable take your privacy very seriously.  We have unsubscribed you from all mailings per your request, and have added you to our email suppression list. It appears that you had a few searches saved in your AuctionZip account, these alerts can be managed by signing into your account and adjusting the settings within your member home. Rest assured that we have taken care of this on your behalf. Please contact us as customercare@auctionzip.com if you receive any additional emails, or have any further questions for us.Thank you,Customer CareInvaluable | AuctionZipNorth America ************Europe *** *** **** *** 850Australia * ***** **** ****

3/7/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I subscribed online to their 1-day professional subscription to find historical prices of an artist. I then received a bill from ******** ******* showing several days billing. When I went to the site, I found my subscription still active. I had to search for my subscription and found that the company had put my 1-day subscription on AUTO-RENEWAL.

Desired Settlement: Bill me only for the 1 day that I subscribed to the 1-day subscription, and return my money for the other days during which time the company had put me on AUTO-RENEWAL without my consent.

Business Response: Dear ********, Thank you for contacting us, and I sincerely apologize for the frustration and inconvenience of your one day subscription auto-renewing. When purchasing a subscription on Invaluable, the order confirmation page does state that the subscription will be automatically renewed and this can be changed in account settings. I understand that you only intended to purchase this for one day's use and have not been actively using the subscription since. We will be processing a refund for the five auto-renewals, for a total of $149.75. Please don't hesitate to contact us at customercare@invaluable.com with any further questions you may have.Sincerely,--­­­ Customer CareInvaluable | AuctionZip * ** *** *** ***** *** **** *** **** *** *** ****invaluable.com | auctionzip.comThe information transmitted is intended only for the person or entity to which it is addressed and may contain confidential and/or privileged material. Any review, retransmission, dissemination or other use of, or taking of any action in reliance upon, this information by persons or entities other than the intended recipient is prohibited. If you received this in error, please contact the sender and delete the material from any computer.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, ******** ****

1/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service
9/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I get daily span emails from this company, and I have contacted them several times to get them to stop but they don't correct the situation. They refer to a link that you can use to unsubscribe, and the link doesn't exist. I never signed up for their emails and would have NO reason to do so,

Desired Settlement: I want to be removed from ALL email lists of this company AND ALL OTHER COMPANIES THAT THEY DO BUSINESS UNDER.

Business Response: Dear *******,Thank you for contacting us. I am sorry that you have had an issue with receiving emails you do not want! I have checked our system and ensured that you are on all suppression lists and should not receive any further emails or advertisements from AuctionZip. You should no longer receive any notifications from us regarding auction alerts or item advertisements.  Please do not hesitate to let us know if you have any further questions or concerns by emailing customercare@auctionzip.com or by calling us at ************. Best Wishes, Invaluable | AuctionZip

6/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I won 3 fine jewelry items on ************** sold by the Affordable Luxury Auctions in Feb 2015 and early Mar 2015, By mid March, I paid $4045 for all the items I had won - by cashiers check. By the end of Mar - the owner of Affordable Luxury, Ms **** **** told me that she had received the payments and will process the items. I did not receive anything by mid April and contacted her as well as Invaluable Customer service and Ms **** said she was still processing the shipment. She sent a Fedex tracking number at the insistence of Invaluable. However, it was a bogus number with nothing shipped even by May. So I asked for my money back and she said she will send a check in the mail.I did not get anything for 3 weeks after she said she had mailed it out, so I complained again and when Invaluable asked her to send another check with a tracking number, she created another bogus tracking number more than a week ago. It is June 2015, and I have not seen my items nor my money. I consulted an attorney in June and he charged me another $1700. Now, I need Ms **** to pay me my refund worth $4045 and my attorney fees of $1700. Product_Or_Service: Fine Jewelry Order_Number: ****** ; ******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Refund of $4045 for items not delivered plus attorney fees of $1700.

Business Response: Dear *******,I sincerely apologize for the frustration you’ve experienced in seeking a resolution for your transaction with Affordable Luxury Auctions. I can see the lots you've won in their February and March sales, as well as the communication you have had with our Customer Care team. We have spoken with **** at Affordable Luxury several times by phone and email in attempts to obtain valid tracking numbers and status updates. I apologize that we have not yet been able to bring this to resolution. It appears that the last update we received from the auction house, which you were copied on, is that the checks she had sent initially were returned to her and that she would be sending them again after confirming availability of funds, and would share a tracking number with us. I understand your frustration in this situation, and appreciate your patience as we have been working to facilitate communication between yourself and the auction house.  Please be assured that the feedback we receive from buyers is truly valued and considered as we review our relationships with auction houses. We are taking action on Affordable Luxury's account until this matter is resolved. We will continue to keep you updated on any further information we receive, and encourage you to continue communicating with ourselves and the auction house.Thank you,Customer CareInvaluable | AuctionZipo *** *** ****f *** *** ****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  This auction house is responsible for the inaction on their part in getting this matter resolved by now. I will give you an example. If ******* sells an item made by ******* *** ******* on their website, but the item is never delivered to me, then ******* is the responsible party. Not ******* *** *******.I bought an item on Invaluable's website, made by Affordable Luxury. If I am not getting my item delivered, it is the responsibility of Invaluable to get me the item or the refund. Why would you let an auction house who has a reputation of being late in delivering items sell anything through your website? And if you took the risk of hosting them, you need to be more proactive in resolving a matter that involves your customer. After all, you do charge a premium to all your customers.I am not happy with y our answer and I hold you responsible for not getting this resolved earlier. You need to have some controls in place to avoid this headache for your customers. This is not good customer care - this is called a lax customer care - just like ****. You keep accepting her lies and not taking any action against her. I need my money back right now - it does not matter to me how you get it done through your vendor.The answer you have given me makes no difference in the situation you have created for your customer. Regards, ******* *****    

Business Response: Dear *******,Again, I do apologize that this matter has not been resolved sooner. As Invaluable is a platform, we do not have in our possession any of the items listed on the website and are not directly involved in any post-auction transactions such as payment or shipping. If we are notified by either a bidder or an auction house that one of the parties is being unresponsive, we are ready to step in and facilitate communication to work towards a resolution, and take escalated action as necessary. As I stated in my previous message, please be assured that we have taken action on Affordable Luxury's account until this matter is resolved and will continue to work with Anna on sending checks to you for a refund. I have shared your concerns with her as you've outlined in this complaint as well.Thank you,Customer Care ManagerInvaluable | AuctionZipo *** *** ****f *** *** ****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  In that case, I would like to know why your company hosted more auctions by ****'s company Affordable Luxury, even when this issue was not resolved? That just indicated to me that you are still promoting and hosting her when there an active dispute going on. And if you say you have taken action against Affordable Luxury, I would like to know what action has been taken by higher management to help resolve this issue. All the responses I have received in emails and by phone from your customer service representatives indicate that you keep believing her lies - asking for more tracking numbers every time, when she clearly generates a bogus number every time you ask. You fail to acknowledge the fact that she is lying after providing bogus numbers three times in a row and bogus copies of checks that she has never mailed. Please educate me as to what action has been taken against her company. And if you really want me to get a refund, then provide me with a good address for her company as well. Thank you Regards, ******* *****    

1/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Subscribed while considering buying and selling various items. Site was useful but now I no longer am buying or selling. Tried every avenue indicated on website to stop near daily e-mails from invaluable.com but unable to get the e-mails stopped Wish to unsubscribe. Please help.

Desired Settlement: The business has responsibility to allow unsubscribe.

Business Response: Good Morning,

I sincerely apologize for any frustration caused by the emails you’ve continued to receive from Invaluable. Please be assured that we take your privacy very seriously. I can confirm that your email has been unsubscribed and you should not receive any further emails from Invaluable. Please note that it may take up to five days for this opt out to fully process. The email address unsubscribed is:*******@aol.com.

Please don’t hesitate to contact us should you receive another email, or with any further questions or concerns. You can contact us by emailing customercare@invaluable.com or calling ************.

Thank you,
--
Customer Care
Invaluable | AuctionZip 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

Regards,

* **********

1/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchase a item and paid for the item but the company never had the item and has not issued a refund for the item.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back since the company sold a item it didn't have

Business Response: Dear ******,Thank you for your patience as we worked with Universal Live towards a resolution. As expressed in our previous discussions, AuctionZip is a venue and is not directly involved in any post-auction transactions including payment/shipping. We are always happy communicate with the auction house on your behalf to express concerns and urge them to resolve transactions or disputes. Per our most recent conversation, the auction house has assured us that a refund was processed through ****** this morning for the item you won and paid for from their August 7th sale. I would encourage you to check the status of this within your ****** account, and please do not hesitate to contact us should there be any further problems.Sincerely,Customer CareInvaluable | AuctionZip*** *** ****

12/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 11, 2014 I placed a bid on an auction and I won the total winning bid was over $2, 000.00. I supplied credit card information immediately. However, apparently my credit card accepted a charge of $2500.00 and did not accept $425 in additional related charges according to Auction house. I received confirmation that my charge went through from the auction house so I thought everything was good. I did not realize that $425 had not gone through. Today I logged onto my credit card and saw that $2708 was charged to my account. I was never made aware that there was any problem. Had I not received confirmation from the auction house that there was a problem, I would have taken care of it.

Desired Settlement: Either allow me to pay whatever balance I owe or give me back my money.

Business Response: Dear ******,Please note that AuctionZip is a venue for auction houses to list sales on, and we are not involved in any post-auction transactions including payment processing. It appears that the lot you won was from Government Auction. You will need to contact this auction house directly to discuss any problems that have occurred with payment and work towards a resolution. You can reach this auction house by calling ************ or emailing *******@governmentauction.com. I do apologize for any confusion or frustration caused by this situation. If you are unable to contact the auction house, please let our customer care team know and we would be happy to reach out to them on your behalf. You can contact us directly by emailing customercare@auctionzip.com or calling ************.Thank you,--Customer Care Invaluable | AuctionZipformerly Artfacto *** *** ****f *** *** ****The information transmitted is intended only for the person or entity to which it is addressed and may contain confidential and/or privileged material. Any review, retransmission, dissemination or other use of, or taking of any action in reliance upon, this information by persons or entities other than the intended recipient is prohibited. If you received this in error, please contact the sender and delete the material from any computer.

9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying since August 2013 to be removed from AuctionZip.com's mailing lists and yet I still get emails everytime ** ***** ********** and ******** *** lists a new auction. I emailed customer support on August 16, 2013 and May 29, 2014 asking to be removed from all mailing lists. Both times I was told I was. I still am receiving this email at least once a week.

Desired Settlement: Removal from all email lists and a cessation of emails from AuctionZip.com.

Business Response: Dear *****,I sincerely apologize for any frustration caused by the emails you’ve continued to receive from AuctionZip. Please be assured that we take your privacy very seriously. We have checked with our technical team and confirmed that your email has been unsubscribed and added to our suppression list. The email address unsubscribed is: *******************Please don’t hesitate to contact us should you receive another email, or with any further questions or concerns. You can contact us by emailing customercare@auctionzip.com or calling ************.Thank you,--******** **** **********

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, ***** ****

9/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a newcomer to the Invaluable Web site, an Internet auction platform which connects bidders with Seized Assets Auctioneers (SAA). I called Invaluable 7/4/14 6:30 a.m., but it was closed. I tried to used the Live bidding site, but was confused and could not figure out how to enter a bid. An absentee bidder is allowed to place a set price, but for the Live bidding, there is no way for anyone to enter the price one wants. On the Invaluable site, I asked for my husband's help. He did not realize that I had already registered. He clicked around the Bid Now area several times without any response, but then suddenly it showed that I won Lot***,*****, a ring, at $3,500 which I have no interest in. I called Invaluable ASAP and spoke to Riley who advised me to e-mail and left message with SAA. On 7/7/14 got email from **** **** at SAA asking me to pay a (1) 18.5% buyer's premium fee of $647.50 plus a 15% restocking fee of $525.00 for a total of $1,172.50 or (2) pay in full $4,452.95 and take it as a credit for future bidding. Later on 7/4/14 2 p.m., I proceeded to bid on the item I wanted and was shocked. On 7/7/14 I called Invaluable to find out details of the bidding history, ******, gave the following: Starting bid was $2,250, two absentee bids of $2500 (one was mine), next bid $11,000 was erroneously attributed to me, others at $12,000, $13,000, $14,000, $15,000, sold at $16,000. ****** said it was sold, but "pass" on the record. My actual absentee bidding before the live bid was $1,000. Because of the bad experience with the ring, I was careful to click only once at $2500 during the Live bid. In short, the Invaluable site is inaccurate and has dangerous glitches that attributes very high bids to bidders which they never submitted. On 7/7/14 I told ***** from SAA about the horrible experience on the 2nd bidding. He located the bidding history and admitted that he was aware that Invaluable has a software glitch. He said that in that case if I had won, they would not have charged me.

Desired Settlement: I request that SAA cancel the first auction and remove all charges on my account because the Live bid auction site of Invaluable is confusing and error prone, putting consumers at risk for charges and fees that they are not aware of without protection against computer glitches.

Business Response: Dear ****,Thank you for contacting us. I'm sorry to hear that you have had a confusing experience on our site. To be able to place any kind of bid in an auction that is listed on our site, a user must first request approval to bid from the auction house holding the auction by agreeing to the auction house's terms and conditions. This is mandatory before any bids can be placed on site, either through our live platform of through the absentee bid system. Seized Asset Auctioneer's terms and conditions state that should a winning bid be cancelled after the sale they do request either the Buyer's Premium and re-stocking fee or the full price for a future credit. I understand that you bid in error, and that you have been in communication with the auction house regarding this error. While Invaluable does not have the final say over the cancellation of a sale, which is the right of the auction house, we are happy to help in any communication we can. Please let us know if you require further assistance in communicating with the auction house to cancel the sale of Lot ***, and which option from their terms you would like to pursue. Based on our system records, I can see on your account that your only other recorded absentee bid with Seized Assets was on lot *** in their 07/04/2014 auction for $50.00 USD (Lot ***: 14KT White Gold 35.00ctw Ruby and Diamond Necklace FJM3442). Based on the bidding history for this item, our records show that the auction house did begin the live bidding on the item at a low value of $6, at which point your bid was submitted on increment up until $8. At this point, the auction house clerk changed the requested price for the item to $1500.00 and the bidder proceeded from here and the item was ultimately sold to another bidder on a different platform. In reference to your description, this does not sound like the lot or situation you have described, however it is the only other lot that we have record of you placing an absentee bid on with Seized Assets. So that we can further assist in explaining the bidding history for the lot you described, could you please provide us with the lot number from the auction?We have had our technical team confirm that no technical errors or glitches with live or absentee bidding have occurred on our site during the time frame you have described. However, I would like to provide further clarity into what may have occurred during your experience on our site, and assist in a better future bidding experience for you. Could you please provide the other lot numbers and sale date for the items in your initial inquiry? Most Sincerely,Invaluable Customer Care***************************************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below. Thank you for your prompt response and your offer to help, but the information you have is wrong.  The auction in question is not Lot***, but is Lot***, item no:******.  The Invaluable customer service rep will not tell me the bid history over the phone as she previously did.  Instead, she asked me to go into my account to view it.  But I have not been able to access my account because I have been locked out ever since I reported this incident to BBB.   In any case, I was wondering, how is it possible that the Seized Assets Auctioneer (SAA) house clerk was able to change the requested price on the lot from $8 to $1,500 during the auction?  Isn't that kind of unfair to the auction process? Others on the Internet have complained about SAA selling the same over-appraised items week after week with the same starting bid of  $1. I called SAA on 7/3/14, the day before the auction, to inquire about how to bid.  ***** told me there is no on-site auction at SAA. He advised me to call Invaluable and participate in the Live Bidding online because absentee bidder will always be outbid.    I request that SAA cancel the first auction and remove all  charges on my account because the Live Bid auction site of Invaluable is confusing and error-prone, putting consumers  at risk for charges and fees that they are not aware of, and without protection against computer glitches or house clerk changing the bidding price.   Finally, what is your name and your position at Invaluable?? Regards, **** ***  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********.  On 7/25/14 Fri.,1:45pm ******, Invaluable, ************** customer rep called and wanted to know the ****** bag, lot number***.  She found it and told me that I bid. $11,000 (see detailed in original complaint, different from ******, another rep's quote), I told her that was incorrect.  She was to send me email about the bid history of Lot *** for the ring I won. On the phone she told me the bidding on lot *** start from $1, floor started $2250, $3250, and ended at $3500. I finally received email from her at 3:21 pm on the bid history. She typed and ADDED in $250 bidding increments of: $2250, $250(her typo for $2500), $2750, $3000, $3250, $3500. (See separate email forward to you.).  I asked her who wrote the response to my BBB complaint.  It was written by her superior ******, director of customer service. She refused to give me ******'s last name. There is no resolution of my complaint and  I am waiting for further written response. Sincerely yours, **** *** Regards, **** ***    

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********.  In response to your reply dated 7/30/14, it seems that ****** ******, operation manager at BBB did not forward the following message to you.I do not understand why in your response you can only find lot*** and lot***. I am going to REPEAT the following information. On7/25/14 Fri.,1:45pm ******, Invaluable customer rep called and wanted to know the ****** bag, LOT NUMBER***.  She found it and told me that I bid $11,000. I told her that was incorrect. She would send me email about the bid history of Lot*** for the ring I won.On the phone she told me the bidding on lot 295 started from $1, floor started $2250, $3250, and ended at $3500. I finally received email from her at 3:21 pm about the bid history. She added in $250 bidding increments of: $2250, $250(her typo for $2500), $2750, $3000, $3250, $3500.  You claim there is no technical error in your system, but you are unable to find all this information now. Perhaps you can ask ******.  On 7/5/14 I spoke to ****** at Invaluable to report my shocking experience.  She said their site can be very fast and thanked me for my feedback. On 7/7/14,  I called Invaluable again, because I want to know details of the bidding history, and got the following bidding history information from ******.   I  asked her how to "view history" for lot 372 on 7/4/14. She gave me the step-by-step, but I still  could not view the "bid history."   On the phone, she verbally told me the following info, but could not  email me the bidding history.  She said I start bidding at $2,250. $2500 didn't get accept, because two absentee bids at $2500. Then she said I bid $11,000.  (I did not), others bid  $12,000, $13,000, $14,000, $15,000, and the item was finally sold at $16,000. But  when I review the sell status of this item, it said, "Pass,"  which means it was not sold.  My actual bidding before Live was $1000.  Because of the bad experience with the  ring, I made sure that I clicked ONCE on the Live bidding at $2500.  It did not respond, but the next second the Live bid number was $2750.  Then it showed that my bid was $11,000.  I was shocked, but the bidding kept going and luckily did not finalize at $11,000.  Please ask ****** about this one to help you find it.At this time SAA does not have any communication with me or BBB in ***** *******, *****. despite several requests from BBB. As you stated in your response, Invaluable does not have the final say over the cancellation of the sale, which is the right of the auction house, YOU ARE HAPPY TO HELP IN ANY COMMUNICATION.  You can help me by letting the owner of SAA, **** *****, know that I wish to cancel the transaction.  Your prompt attention and cooperation will be greatly appreciated.Are you ******, director of customer service? Regards, **** ***    

Business Response: ****** ***** 2:02 PM (1 minute ago) to me  Hi ******,   Thanks for taking the time to speak with me just now.   As I mentioned on the phone, our company provides the web platform and software for auction companies to list their sales on our site and for users like **** *** to bid and participate in those sales. However, the entire post-sale process of dispute resolution, payment, shipping, and coordination on won items or cancelled sales is entirely through the auction house.   Our business does not have any way to track whether payment has been processed for a user, or whether the auction house the ability to cancel the auction. We are happy to confirm if there were any technical issues and help a user communicate with an auction house, but ultimately the resolution will need to happen between the buyer and the auction house.   Please let me know if you need any more information on this, or anything else.   Sincerely,   -- ****** *****

6/22/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have just opened an account with Auction zip and was advised by Auction Zip that I could use Square Up, I already had an account with square up and it has been 2 years since the last time I used square up before this week. I was advised by an ****** ***** and ***** ******* from Auction zip that we could take payments over the phone with Square Up. We used the Square Up payment process the way that Auction Zip Representatives advised. I had to go back and have all my customers pay thru pay pal, because Square Up would not honor payments and currently still holding buyers payments, The problem that arose is, the one payment that supposedly could not pay with pay pal happen to be for over $4600, which Auction zip charged a 3% commission on regardless if I actually got the money or not. When I explained to auction zip that it is not fair that they charge me 3% for auction that I did not get paid on, they simply stated that they can only give me credit toward the expense of another Auction. Why would I want to have another auction if I am having too many problems collection money. But they seem to have people who act like they are going to pay you so that they make their percentage on the sale and then, give you advice on a payment option that did not work and allowed the payments to be cancelled. So that they make a big commission on a payment that does not exist.

Desired Settlement: Change policy, so that they can monitor which auction bidders pay and don't pay like, **** does, so that the sellers are refunded appropriately and not trapped into paying for another auction. Why would I want to pay for another auction when I am only losing money?

Business Response: Dear*****,

Thank you for getting in touch with us regarding your concerns. We're sorry to hear that you have had trouble processing payment through Square Up. I do apologize if there was any mis-communication, but AuctionZip is not affiliated with nor integrated with Square Up so any use of this separate service would have needed to be done completely outside our system. My apologies if your interpretation of any conversations had regarding collecting payment turned out differently. 

In your AuctionZip Live! agreement you did agree to pay the AuctionZip listing fee and commission the first business day after the auction, which is why we collected payment when we did. As both ****** and ****** on our Customer Care team have gone through with you to date, if you are having trouble collecting payment from a bidder we offer a dispute process against the buyer which allows you to receive the 3% commission collected as a credit towards your account. Of course, we are always happy to assist you in reaching out to any buyers you are having trouble contacting for payment. Please do let us know if we can help you reach out to a particular buyer to resolve payment. 

Again, I do apologize that you have had a poor experience with payment collection. Please let us know if we can assist you in contacting any buyers. 

Best Wishes,
Invaluable and AuctionZip Customer Care

Consumer Response:

 

 

 

Business Response: Hi *****,

Thanks for reaching out again. We didn't see any text or message that came with your rejection of our response to you. To date I believe multiple Customer Care representatives have reached out to try and assist with your concerns in addition to my response. If you are still upset we'd like to make sure that we can assist with your concerns in whatever way possible. An account manager will be reaching out to you shortly. 

Best Wishes,
Invaluable and AuctionZip Customer Care

6/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i signed up for an account and now they send me daily emails. i have contacted the company on several occasions over the past few months to stop the emails and they assured me they did but they keep coming. i then asked for my account to be closed and remove from their system and they again assured me they did and i would no longer receive emails and they still keep coming. i have no issues with the company other than they will not stop sending emails daily.

Desired Settlement: i want emails to stop coming to my email account

Business Response: Dear ****, Thank you for contacting us. I am sorry that you have had issue with receiving emails you do not want! I have checked our system and ensured that you are on all suppression lists and should not receive any further emails or advertisements from AuctionZip. I also ensured with our technology team that there was no hold-up preventing this functionality, and they confirmed with me that you should no longer receive any notifications from us regarding auction alerts or item advertisements.  Please do not hesitate to let us know if you have any further questions or concerns by emailing customercare@auctionzip.com or by calling us at ************.  Best Wishes, Invaluable | AuctionZip

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

5/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an item through this online platform. The item was represented as an original item but was a reproduction/copy. I asked this company for help in obtaining a refund and was ignored and then banned for life.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the reproduction item and for the State Attorney General to investigate this practice of selling reproduction items as original.

Business Response: Dear Mr. ***********,Prior to bidding on this item, you registered to bid with the auction house J James Auctions and Appraisals through the Invaluable website. In this process you agreed to the auction house's terms and conditions which expressly state:4. All property is sold AS IS/WHERE IS and all sales are FINAL.  Announcements made the day of the sale take precedence over online descriptions and printed matter.  There are no warranties, expressed or implied, with regard to age, condition, quality, functionality, value, rarity or provenance of the property offered for sale by J. James Auctioneers & Appraisers  or any representative thereof.  All valuations are considered estimates, and in no way constitutes a warranty or guarantee of any kind.5. It is the responsibility of the bidder to fully examine the property prior to placing a bid and judging the item(s) for his or her own protection.  Condition Statements are provided as a courtesy to our clients and represent the general observations of J. James Auctioneers and Appraisers.  Under no circumstances should a condition report be interpreted as a warranty or guarantee of any kind. J. James Auctioneers and Appraisers shall be held harmless for any error or omission. The absence of a condition statement does not imply that the lot is in perfect condition or completely free from wear and tear, imperfections, or the effects of aging.By agreeing to these terms and conditions prior to bidding, and then placing a bid you agreed to the understanding that if successful with your bids you would be legally obligated to pay for the item and understood the auction house's statements on condition. The auction house has reported that they have no record of you attempting to obtain more information on the condition of this item prior to the auction, and our system also holds no record of this. We also have on file from the auction house that after you received the item, making no attempt to receive additional condition information prior to the sale, you attempted a refund and when the auction house referred to their terms and conditions which state that they do not provide these you became verbally abusive and threatened bodily harm to the auctioneer. At Invaluable and AuctionZip we strive to provide a safe and productive environment for our auction houses and our bidders. It is our company policy to deny access when threatening and aggressive behaviour from any of our members (auction house or buyer) occurs and we are supplied a police report, which the auction house has provided to us. Sincerely,Invaluable |AuctionZip

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. Thank you Invaluable-AuctionZip for your reply. I did agree to the terms and conditions by default by bidding on these items.  However, the rules on a website do not preclude state fraud statutes.  There are laws to protect consumers and these should be adhered to.   You have made an issue of this police report that **** ***** of the said auction house has filed.  This report was not a matter that the officer felt should have been followed up on hence he never contacted me as it was not taken seriously.  I only learned about it through your company.  This was an attempt by an auction house that you represent to discredit me and my business. Also, I may add that the auction house that you represent filed a non-payment report for this item, while I have proof that can be provided that I paid fully for my lots prior to them being shipped to me.  I think this can attest to the who is filing reports that are truthful and non-truthful.  Once I learned of the report, oddly not through the police but through a third party I immediately contacted the police to clear my name so to speak and answer any representations on the report that were not factual.   The police officer also added to the report that your company had banned me for life with no right of appeal based on this incident.   I add there was no threatening or aggressive behavior on my part. I have contacted the States Attorney Generals of New York and Mass. to pursue this further as you have treated me unjustly and I will pursue this.

Business Response: Dear Mr. ***********, Thank you for your reply. As mentioned in our previous response, it is company policy to take police reports provided to us very seriously and to disallow any users involved in such interactions from using the site any further. Regarding the condition of the item, it is the responsibility of the buyer to inquire as to the condition of the item for auction prior to bidding on the item. It is at our attention that the auction house filed a non-payment report on your account only after you had contacted PayPal to withhold the submitted payment on the items after you were already in possession of them. Bidding on an item after agreeing to our terms and conditions of service is a binding contract that you agree to pay for the item as won, and that you understand and are in agreement with the condition of the piece. The auction house believes the item in question to be of unquestionable authenticity and has had several professionals review the item at hand prior to offering it for auction. Please also see our company’s terms and conditions of service regarding transactions, bids, and the valuation of items: 1.7 Invaluable not involved in auctions/release. We are not involved in actual transactions between users of the Sites or any "External Sites" as defined in section 5.1 below (whether such users are auction houses, appraisers, art or antiques dealers, trade members, curators, educators, antiques professionals, collectors or other third parties affiliated with Invaluable). We have no control over the quality or legality of the items displayed on our Sites or the truth or accuracy of the descriptions of such items, upcoming auction events or auction results displayed on our Sites. In the event that you have a dispute with any parties arising out of your use of the Sites you hereby release Invaluable from claims, demands and damages (actual and consequential) of every kind and nature, known and unknown, suspected and unsuspected, disclosed and undisclosed, arising out of or in any way connected with such disputes.  2.1.02 Release. Notwithstanding section 1.7 above, because we are not involved in the actual transaction between buyers and AHs, in the event that you have a dispute with an AH, you release Invaluable (and our officers, directors, agents, parent, subsidiaries, joint ventures, and employees) from claims, demands and damages (actual and consequential)of every kind and nature, known and unknown, suspected and unsuspected, disclosed and undisclosed, arising out of or in any way connected with such disputes. If you are a California resident, you waive California Civil Code Section 1542, which says: "A general release does not extend to claims which the creditor does not know or suspect to exist in his favor at the time of executing the release, which if known by him must have materially affected his settlement with the debtor."  We reserve the right to remove any user we see fit from using the site, in regards to dispute, non-payment, and company policies. Please note that due to your refusal to pay for the item, as well as the legitimate police report on file we have removed your access from our site and suspended your accounts. Most Sincerely, Invaluable | AuctionZip Support

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I can see that nobody at your company seems dealing with my complaint in an objective manner.  It would seem that an intern or outsourced employee is reading from a script and is replying to the issue here.  The message you are sending is that buying through your company is no better than buying an item on craiglist where it is buyer beware and that is unethical.  I understand that ebay and your company plan to combine in online sales and I do not feel this will be a good fit as while ebay provides a high degree of buyer protection your platform provides none and seems to portray anyone who complains as a crackpot and conveniently bans them from your site. It would be nice if I could get an intelligent response from upper management and not somebody cutting and pasting terms from your site.  

1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on Auction Holdings
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart