BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In The Snake River Region

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides motor sport vehicles including ATVs, Dirt Bikes, Boats, Street Bikes, Watercrafts, and Snowmobiles.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Action Motor Sports, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Action Motor Sports, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Action Motor Sports, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 13, 1995 Business started: 08/01/1989 in ID Business incorporated: 08/09/1989 in ID
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kris Wright, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kris Wright, President
Business Category

MOTORCYCLES-DEALERS SNOWMOBILES ALL-TERRAIN VEHICLES BOAT DEALERS GARDEN & LAWN EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES

Alternate Business Names
Action Motor Sports Motorcycle Mall

Additional Locations

  • 1355 E. Lincoln Rd.

    Idaho Falls, ID 83401 (208) 522-3050 (208) 529-3410

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (208) 529-3410(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information

Complaint Detail(s)

5/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2010 Polaris razor 800 s from ****** ***** ****** in april 2012 my sales guy was ***** ****** I got the atv home and noticed that it was over heating and that it was haven problems starting I called ****** ***** ****** and ask to talk to ***** ****** the guy I bought it from I told him the problems I was havin and what was goin on with it he asked if I could bring it back but I was not able to do to work he told me no big deal I have a guy coming down that way tomorrow ill have him pick it up let me call ya right back with what time he'll be down well two hours went by and no call back from ***** so I called him and got a voicemail I went ahead and left him a message so a couple days go by and still no callback so I once again called ***** well after 20 calls to ***** and in witch him never returning my calls the atv stop running all together in July 2012 After I had only put 500 miles on the atv in a 4 months time from the original miles when I bought it I had started going throw a divorce so now the atv became last thing on my mind after everything was done and over with the divorce In April 2013 a year after I bought the atv I took the atv to a Polaris dealer in my hometown to have the computer read they looked into the motor as well they told me that the motor had dirt in it and that it's shot so I loaded it back up and called ****** ***** ****** bein that it only had 500 miles on it from day that I bought it I talk to *** and *** told me that he would have some one down the next day and that they could pick the atv up they picked it up and took it to ****** ***** ****** in Idaho falls were they took it apart and found what the problem was and how much it would be to fix I called and left a message for the owner of ****** ***** ****** of Idaho falls ***** ****** witch just happens to be ***** ****** brother well after havin a call into ***** he to would not return my call to talk about the issue I had from day one with my atv my grandpa don Mayes and his friend **** ***** buy a lot if atvs from action my grandpa said he will not do business with action no longer as well as myself I will go to ******* ***** ****** for now on not happy with the service of the owner ***** ****** and as well as the sales guy ***** ****** *****'s brother I was told there is a reason ***** is no longer there do to problems like this now I'm stuck payin 1073.20 dollars for some new parts that I fell should not be coverd up by ***** for his brother if your running a business and something happens like this you should not cover stuff up to save someone else's butt you should fix the problem because maybe just maybe if ***** would have called me back this problem could have bein prevented and I now would not have to be comin up with money to fix it when the problems was there to begin with on it and only took a turn for the worse when it hit the 500 miles.

Desired Settlement: I put on it 9800 for a atv from action and ya only get 500 miles out of it for 9800 and then a year latter ya got to dump 1073.20 into it do to a stupid sales guy not doin his job

Business Response:

In response to the customer complaint ID *******
    The customer purchased a used 2010 Razor on April 23rd, 2012. At the time of purchase, he was offered an extended warranty but declined and signed the as-is declaration on his bill of sale. We have no record in our phone messages from April 2012 until one phone call to **** ****** in April of 2013, which was returned by ** McKnight , the General Manager, because **** was out of town. When **** returned, he talked with ** about the customer and what they should do. ** had already spoken with the customer and had in fact sent a technician to pick up his Razor. It was obvious upon inspection that the Razor had not had the air filter serviced or cleaned since it left Action the previous year.
    In the owner's manual it states that the air filter should be cleaned after every ride to avoid engine damage. We have included pictures of the filter, intake and throttle plate showing excessive amounts of dirt that had entered the engine through a completely dirty air filter. While we regret that our customer had this problem, it was in no way a result of anything done at Action Motor Sports.
    ***** left his employment with Action Motor Sports in 2012 to pursue his own business. He was one of our best salespeople and had an impeccable reputation for taking care of his/our customers. I can only speculate that there was either no problems with the Razor for the first 500 miles and then after not properly servicing the Razor, our customer started having problems and tried at the time to call ***** on his personal cell and was unable to reach him. We never received a call or had the Razor in our service department until this spring when we received the call and immediately responded by picking it up the following day. We have offered our customer a significant discount to repair the motor on his Razor as a goodwill gesture to help him with the repair. He is having us repair the Razor now and seems very satisfied with our help. We hope that this will resolve this customer complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In mid July, my Honda motorcycle broke down near Arco, ID. I had AAA transport it to Action Motor Sports, the nearest large Honda dealership, for repairs. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, and it became apparent that the fuel pump was dead. Because American Honda did not recognize a Canmodel I as it is not sold in the US, Action could not get parts. I left the bike and flew back to Canada. None of this is Action's fault - but rather a Honda issue.I came back the following week with the new fuel pump, and my car and trailer. Because the Action technician had the bike apart, I asked to have the job finished with the new pump. Several hours later, the technician working on the bike came out of the shop to tell me that the new pump leaked, and that he would require a new gasket to seal the leak. I had been told by the parts department manager in Edmonton that the gasket was reusable, and hadn't brought one with me.The technician put a small amount of gas in the tank, and showed me the leak -- which was along one edge of the pump. I asked to have the bike put together, and we loaded it on the trailer for the 15 hour drive home.My dealer was busy, so I took the new gasket (which looked exactly like the old one)and reinstalled the pump at home -- a simple job. The pump still leaked, so I took the motorcycle back to my dealer (Honda Extreme in Edmonton) and left it. They called me the following week. The tank still leaked, and they found that the mating surface on the tank was dented. Someone, their technician said, tried to pry the pump out and dented the tank. TanksThere was only one tank available in Canada, so that was ordered, installed, and the bike runs like new.My issue with Action Motor Sports is that I paid 1 1/2 hours labor for the work they did, and then another $ 840.00 (CDN)for the new tank and its installation.I have emailed Action Motor Sports, and sent a letter, but have had no response. The tank did not leak when the bike came in, and did when I left.

Desired Settlement: I would have liked to have been contacted by Action Motor Sports. I would also like a refund on the bill from them, as essentially I paid to have my motorcycle damaged. As for the cost of the further repairs, I would at least like some kind of compensation.It's a shame that my contact with this firm, largely staffed by friendly, helpful people ended in such an expensive and unnecessary repair.

Consumer Response: Ths k you very much for your reply.  I hope that you noticed in my letter and report to the BBB that I was very pleased with the friendly, helpful, nature of your staff and all that they did for me.  That was never the issue, and the problem with parts was an American Honda / Honda Canada issue, and nothing to do with either your dealership or Honda Extreme in Edmonton.
 
As I stated in my letter, when I got back to Edmonton, and put in the new gasket, the tank leaked exactly as it did for your tech; and there was no apparent damage to the original gasket.  It could have been boxed and sold as new.
 
When I couldn't stop the leak, I took the bike to my dealer (they were in the middle of a summer rush of work) and left it with them.  The Service Manager showed me the tank and the small dent just between two of the studs on the tank, and his comment was "someone tried to pry the pump out of the tank."
 
We discussed getting the tank fixed, and he said that it might be possible, but that it was hard to find people willing to work on tanks, and that it would likely need painting after the repair.  As there was no guarantee that a repair was possible, and I'd already lost a number of weeks of riding time, we opted to get a new tank. This was also necessitated by the fact that there was only one tank available in Canada, and if that one was purchased by another dealer, a new one would have to be shipped from Europe, where the bike is made.
 
I have the tank -- planning to sell it "as is" on kijiji - and can take a picture of the dent and forward it to you. I think it's important to reiterate that the tank did not leak when the bike came in -- the problem wias the fuel pump. The new gasket was identical to the old one, and the tank still leaked when it was installed at home.
 
You run a very good business; and I must admit that when several weeks had passed and I had no reply to my initial email and the followup letter, I was becoming quite frustrated, as you can understand.  That's when I decided to contact your local Better Business Bureau; mostly because I was disappointed in not having had a reply to my email/letter.
 
I am on a trip to Victoria with my bike, and won't be home for 10 days or so.  When I get back, I will forward a picture of the damage (it's not a big dent, but in just the right place to cause a leak) and hopefully we can talk.
 
I'm not expecting that you should pick up the whole cost of the new tank, partly because I am so appreciative of your treatment of us while we were in Idaho Falls. However, there was some damage done to the tank.
 
**** *********

 

Business Response:

Hey David,
 
Mike at Action Motor here. I have a copy of an email here from you that troubles me. If you honestly feel you have been wronged by my shop and or technicians work I would love to hear from you. It sounds like you have had quite the ordeal after you left here, which is truly unfortunate and saddening to hear. I honestly thought we tried very hard to make your visit here as painless as possible, as we dropped everything to try to help you when you arrived and when you came back with parts. If I am wrong, or could have done more I am always open to honest criticism. As for the problem with your tank.....is it possible my tech damaged your tank...sure. no one is perfect and accidents do happen. But I honestly and truly am doubtful as my tech is very, very good at what he does and has had to due this repair on multiple road bike of all makes and models. But however this being said does not make it impossible. Is it possible to get a picture of the damage?? I would at least love to have a phone conversation or reply to this email. You have a fantastic bike and I am glad to hear it is running well for you. thanks again so much for stopping by on your trip.
 
regards,
 
Mike Davis
Action Motor Sports
208-522-3050

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1