Love Being Tagged in Facebook Photos? Beware of Email Notification Malware!

Everyone is always curious when they receive notification that they’ve been tagged in a Facebook photo. Could it be a friend’s tag from last weekend’s night out or a family member’s photo from the summer reunion?

Think twice before clicking on any links contained in email notifications because they may not actually be from Facebook and you could be under a malware attack!

According to SophosLabs, a spammed-out email campaign takes users to a website hosting malicious iFrame script that puts your computer at risk of infection by malware.

If you receive such an email notification, check for red flags, such as misspellings or grammatical errors, and hover your mouse over the link to verify it is taking you to the genuine Facebook site. You can even change your account settings to not receive notifications via email, since you will be notified as soon as you login to your actual account anyway.

For more helpful tips and information, visit www.bbb.org!

Related Posts:

avatar

About Caitlin Driscoll

I have been the Public Relations Director of the Better Business Bureau of Western PA since November 2011.