This business is not BBB accredited.

Mr. Rooter of Youngstown

Phone: (330) 270-0195 2755 Salt Springs Rd, Youngstown, OH 44509 http://www.youngstown.mrrooter.com ! There is an alert on Mr. Rooter of Youngstown !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Mr. Rooter of Youngstown include:

  • 41 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved
  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints

Factors that raised the rating for Mr. Rooter of Youngstown include:

  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

41 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 32
Total Closed Complaints 41

Additional Complaint Information

On August 20, 2013 BBB staff met with representatives of Mr. Rooter of Youngstown to discuss concerns regarding an increase in the number and pattern of complaints BBB has received regarding pricing and service issues. The company has agreed to address these issues and work toward improving communications with their customers to avoid future issues. BBB will continue to monitor this issue.
As of August 1, 2014, when reviewing the complaint activity, BBB does not believe that the company has effectively addressed or attempted to resolve the underlying cause of the pattern or volume of complaints.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

12 Customer Reviews on Mr. Rooter of Youngstown
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 11
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 12

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 14, 2003 Business started: 01/05/2003 in OH Business started locally: 01/05/2003 Business under new ownership as of: 06/19/2012 Business incorporated 06/15/2013 in OH
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC) Principal The Dwyer Group

Business Management
Mr. Robert A. Beall, President Mr. Joe Kijowski, Operations Manager Leesa Klemz, Administrative Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert A. Beall, President
Customer Contact: Leesa Klemz, Administrative Assistant
Business Category

Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2755 Salt Springs Rd

    Youngstown, OH 44509

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service
11/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
8/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Business provided substandard service that took many times longer than promised.

Desired Settlement: We want the new invoice promised to us on the phone by Joe (who said he was the owner) on 7/15/05, that would be $****.**. We asked for a reduction in the charge of $**** because the work was badly done and had to be corrected; the work also took much longer than we were told. He agreed. The salesman, ***** ******, was supposed to come with this new invoice the next day, 7/16/15; he never showed up.We have yet to receive the final bill, so we don't know the amount we are being billed

Business Response: We at Mr. Rooter have addressed this situation with *****.  Also Mr. *** ******** would like to speak with you directly to help get this situation resolved.  His direct cell number is************.  After a phone call resolution with *** ******** we at Mr. Rooter will consider this complaint closed.

Best Regards,

Mr. Rooter Plumbing

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

We were promised a check for $***.  Until we get that check, and it clears the bank, we consider this matter unresolved.

Regards,

***** ******



Business Response: Mr. Rooter of Youngstown made an offer to resolve this complaint.  The details are as follows:

Date that proposal was made: 8/21/2015 Value of proposed resolution (USD): *** Description of proposed resolution: Mr. Rooter Plumbing in good faith sent check # **** in the amount of $***.** out in the US mail on August 17th. Please close this complaint once the check is received. On behalf of all of us at Mr. Rooter Plumbing we consider this complaint closed. Best Regards, Mr. Rooter Plumbing




Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

We received the check on Friday and will deposit it on Monday.  Until it clears, we consider this complaint to remain open.

Regards,

***** ******



8/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: may 14 man came over to replant grass which was torn up when they replace my sewer line he then spread bags of dirt to cover the seeds, which didn't cover the seeds he needed a truck load the ground was as hard as the road as result no grass grew, I took picture of the yard and sent to *********** ****** who works for Mr. Rooter and he said he will take of it, I also called Mr. Rooter 13 time. they said they e-mail the people to do it I ask to talk to their boss they refuse. I would appreciate your assistance in resolving this service for which I paid for. I look forward to hearing from you,

Business Response: Mr. Rooter has regraded the yard at this location as well as planted grass seed.  Mr. Rooter has also returned a second time to replant the grass seed.  Please keep in mind Mr. Rooter can not be responsible for properly watering the grass seed in order for it to grow properly.  In good faith Joe Kijowski will call to set up a time to return and evaluate.  Once Joe returns to this location we at Mr. Rooter will consider this complaint closed.


Best Regards,
Mr. Rooter Plumbing


8/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a sewage backup in the basement and called Mr Rooter. They came out and I authorized a Hydro Scrub to clear the problem as that was what the Underground Utility Specialist, ***** ******, recommended. The cost of this service was $***. Supposedly, the Hydro Scrub was so powerful it would cut through anything up to the size of an adult finger. After attempting to clear the drain for 30 minutes, I was informed there was an "impassible obstruction 59 feet into the drain, three feet beyond the basement wall, under the family room". He said he suspected a broken line that was allowing dirt to fall in and block the line. The quoted repair was to cut a hole in the basement floor to access the drain line, remove the obstruction, and install a Perma Liner. The cost was going to be over $****. At this point, the problem was not corrected, I paid the $***, and the "Specialist" left. The cost of the Hydro Scrub was to be deducted from the cost of his recommended repair. Because this affected the house, I contacted my homeowners insurance company who strongly recommended a second opinion and even provided the name of a reputable, reasonable plumber. The second plumber snaked out the drain from the cleanout that was supposedly three feet from the problem. He removed a mass of hair-like tree roots from 80 FEET BEYOND THE HOUSE and the problem was immediately fixed. The cost was $***, 1/6 of what Mr Rooter charged for not even fixing the problem. I called Mr Rooter and, naturally, the managers were out. I asked for a full refund because I paid for a service that was not performed, the miss-diagnosis aside. I also asked for a return telephone call telling me the credit was issued and an apology for what they did. I do not fully expect them to call - I do not believe them to be that reputable of a company after my experience.

Desired Settlement: A full credit of the credit card charge. I paid for a service that was not performed. There was not a line break, there was not any dirt or "impassable obstruction", and the Hydro Scrub should have cleaned the line by cutting the roots and flushing the drain line. The fact that the second plumber was able to do this with a snake in 15 minutes proves that.

Business Response: February 24, 2015

 

Complaint ID # ********

 

**** ***** ** **** ***** ***** *********** **** *****

 

In response to *** ******* complaint, ***** ****** did
hydroscrub the drain line. *** *****
told ***** to jet through a drain in his basement even though ***** wanted to
jet through a clean out.  After hydro
scrubbing the drain line ***** noticed more water coming up and used the camera
and locator to find where the problem was. 15-20 minutes of location work
outside, ***** found the issue was under the new addition to the house.   *** ***** asked ***** how much it would cost
to repair the line, ***** recommended a PermaLiner so the new addition would be
spared.   ***** offered to hydro scrub
the drain line again and called *** ***** but ***** did not receive a return
call to schedule at time to come out. 

 

Regards,

*** ******** ..

Consumer Response: The response from Mr Rooter is untrue in virtually all respects. #1 - I did not ask for a hydro scrub. I asked that the blockage be removed. ***** recommended a Hydro scrub and I agreed IF that was the method he recommended to remove the blockage. HE is the "plumber", not me. #2 - I pointed out the kitchen cleanout when he came into the basement as that is the cleanout that Mr Rooter had used seven years before to remove the blockage WITH a hydro scrub. I did not tell him to go through it. He did not even ask about trying another cleanout nor did he ask if there were any other cleanouts. #3 - ***** said the issue was approximately three feet under the family room. He suspected a broken pipe because he could not get the Hydro scrub any further. At this point he was staring right at the main cleanout and he SAID NOTHING ABOUT TRYING TO CLEAR THE BLOCKAGE FROM THERE. #4 - A second plumber, recommended by the insurance company, arrived on Monday, February 1, to assess the problem. Not only did he FIRST ask to see all cleanouts, but asked WHY ***** went through the kitchen cleanout versus the main. I could not answer because I did not know. After I mentioned a Hydro scrub, the second plumber said that was a LAST RESORT method and used a snake. The blockage was NOT under the family room, but 80 FEET beyond the house and consisted of fine hair tree roots. In 10 minutes total, the blockage was removed with the snake. #5 On 02-04-15, 1:00 PM EST, I received a call from a female stating she was from Mr Rooter. She not only would not identify her name nor would she identify WHICH Mr Rooter she was from even though I asked three different times. After I complained to her, she said she would have a Manager call. I NEVER RECEIVED ANOTHER CALL FROM MR ROOTER, ***** OR ANYONE ELSE ASSOCIATED WITH MR ROOTER. She did ask if I wanted to file a complaint and I said "Yes". The telephone number she called from was 330-617-8146. I also know that other than the girl who would not identify herself or which Mr Rooter she was representing, neither Mr Rooter nor ***** ever called me back and left a message or anything. I have caller ID and I review all incoming calls. I have a recorder and I have saved all incoming messages since February 1, 2015 because I suspected something like this would happen and I will be more than happy to play all of them for a court if necessary. For ***** to say that he called and I did not return his call is a bald face lie. #6 - I contracted with *****/Mr Rooter to remove the blockage. I did not put any stipulations on how he did it although I agreed to the Hydro scrub. I AM NOT A PLUMBER NOR WILL I EVERY PRETEND TO BE. ***** DID NOT remove the blockage I contracted for. I had to hire a second plumber to do that. The only reason I paid the $*** to begin with is that ***** said it would be deducted from the $**** of the cost of the pipe repair. THE PIPE WAS NOT BROKEN AND DID NOT NEED REPAIR! Also, ***** said the blockage was approximately 3 feet beyond the main cleanout. The blockage was 80 FEET FROM THE MAIN CLEANOUT - 60 FEET FROM THE HOUSE: not three feet as ***** stated.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******9, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Responses from Mr Rooter are beginning to get so far off of the facts that I, personally, would be embarrassed to send them. The March 6 response states the following: ***** offered the cleaning options and I chose the hydro jet. True A cleanout was found in the family room after looking outside and in the garage area for the main cleanout, ***** was never told there was one in the house. TOTAL FABRICATION #1. There are no cleanouts in the family room. They are all in the basement. #2. ***** attempted to use the hydro jet from the kitchen cleanout IN THE BASEMENT. He never asked if there were any other cleanouts and I did not have the plumbing knowledge to know that he should have. Who is the plumber here? #3 The only time we were outside and in the garage was when ***** was trying to find the end of the camera with his locator. The camera end was approximately 55 feet into the line FROM THE BASEMENT and stopped at the "impassable blockage". Neither of us knew which direction the pipe went. Again, I am not a plumber and I don't claim to be. There appears to be other people who are not plumbers either. You stated that ***** said the camera was 74-80 feet into the drain line. I was looking at the camera with ***** and it went black at approximately 55 feet. Now that we know which direction the line goes, you are more than welcome to come measure the distance to where he said he found the camera end if you wish. Regardless, the "impassable blockage" was stated to be three feet beyond the basement wall. You stated that when ***** returned from outside the locator went off showing the drain line was in fact inside. FALSE ***** was locating the end of the camera: NOT the drain line. Had he asked about any other cleanouts beside the kitchen cleanout, I would have shown him the other three. ***** jetted through the cleanout located where the basement was flooding. TRUE ***** was hired to remove the blockage. ***** DID NOT do that. I was forced to hire another plumber to remove the blockage. I was told by ***** that there was an "impassable blockage" three feet beyond the basement wall. The second plumber found the blockage 80 feet beyond where ***** said the "impassable blockage" was. I was told the "impassable blockage" repair would be $****. What if I had not gotten the second opinion? I would have paid Rooter $**** for a fictitious blockage plus had the aggravation of having my basement torn up. The permaliner would have gone 25 feet, but the roots were 80 feet away. What good would that have done? On 12-06-07 Mr Rooter performed a Hydro scrub for the same blockage from the exact same cleanout ***** used and they went a distance of 150 feet. Why were they able to do that and ***** could not? I still have the invoice in case it is needed. There are a lot of things wrong with this entire scenario including the diagnosis of an "impassable blockage three feet beyond the basement wall" and a $**** quote for the repair of that. I want a full refund of the $*** I paid. If you wish to continue this banter, I will. I promise that I will do anything within my power that I need to do to get my refund. I will not pay for a service I contracted for but did not receive. Nor will I bow and go away. I contracted for ***** to remove the blockage. He did not. I had to call a second plumber to do that. Why is that? If you wish for me to go public with this or to go civil, just state that in your next response and I will take it from there.

Business Response:

 

Complaint ID:

********

 

Based on Mr. ******'s statements; we have documentation which proves our statements to be correct.  Mr. ****** states he is considering this complaint closed.  As does Mr. Rooter.

On behalf of all of us at Mr. Rooter; we consider this complaint closed.

Best Regards,

Mr. Rooter Plumbing

 

8/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Around **:**pm on */28/2***, I had a service man from Mr. Rooter Plumbing at my residence to address a backed up sewer line. The serviceman determined I needed to replace a collapse in the line at 60 feet. This would require excavation outside in my front yard 7.5 feet down, which would replace ** feet of clay pipe. He also determined that the inside cast iron line needed replaced as well. He scheduled the outside portion to begin that following Monday and explained the process as an extensive job. This cost would be $*,***. Knowing I didn't have the funds to pay this, he called a loan company that night on the spot at **:**pm and told me it needed done. I was under the impression I had no other option than to proceed with this job. The following Monday, I took off work to be present. Nobody showed up, and when I called several times, it kept getting postponed until later in the day. The job was not started on Monday as planned with no upfront notice, costing me work hours. The following day, the crew arrived to my house between 8:**am and 9:**am. I had my grandfather present to oversee the process. From the explanation previously given to me, I expected this job to take a few days. The crew finished up and left my residence by *:**pm that same afternoon. The 2 employees involved were using a rental excavator from ***** ***** and finished the job in roughly 6 hours, to my surprise. The amount of pipe replaced was roughly * or 6 feet. It was brought to my attention that the amount of work done was not even close to being worth $*,***. I reached out to Mr. Rooter regarding this, but they ensured me it was. Having no prior experience or knowledge of plumbing, I contacted two other plumbing companies to quote the same job and received quotes significantly less. Both of these companies informed me that I was being taken advantage of because, it was clear I had no knowledge of the actual worth of the job. They also came out and advised the inside portion did not actually needed replaced, as Mr. Rooter was suggesting. The first written quote I have is from ***** ***** *** *****, an accredited plumbing company in Salem, Ohio. They provided me an estimate to replace my entire front yard (much more than Mr. Rooter actually did) for $***. The second quote I have is from ***** *** ***** *****, another accredited plumbing company in Columbiana, OH. They quoted the same job between $*** - $***. Both companies agreed Mr. Rooter was out of line to charge me so much more. I asked the Operations Manager, Joe, from Mr. Rooter to provide me with a breakdown of the costs so I could fully understand where the additional charges are coming from. He refused to offer this to me unless I paid. Having no other choice, I broke down the costs myself as the following to come up with a fair price in which Mr. Rooter would still be making a good profit above the average value: Rental for Excavator at $***/day with %*** mark up = $*** Supplies with mark up = $** * employees @ $**/hr. ($***k salary each) = $*** Total = $**** The price Mr. Rooter provided is drastically higher than the average. I am very disappointed and feel taken advantage of, due to my previous lack of knowledge. I want to pay for the services provided by Mr. Rooter, but at a fair price. With how quickly they called a lender that late at night and also told me my inside line needed replaced, it's evident I was being taken advantage of, especially when the inside line is in fact fine as is.

Desired Settlement: Using the calculations I listed and comparing with other accredited plumbing companies, a fair settlement would be no more than $****. This is above both the other companies and my own cost breakdown analysis.

Business Response: A Mr. Rooter technician did arrive at this job at
approximately 10:30Pm as shown on the attached report.  After the technician evaluated what work
needed to be completed; an invoice describing work to be completed as well as
the total cost was given to you.  The invoice
was signed, thus approving the work to be completed by Mr. Rooter at the agreed
upon cost.  The technician never stated
it would take 2-3 days to complete the work.

In regards to the amount of pipe installed; Mr. Rooter would
be more than happy to come out and camera the line to validate 10 feet of pipe
was installed.

*** ***** (one of the owners of Mr. Rooter) spoke to you and
offered $***.** in good faith to pay your “other company” to repair the rest of
the line.  This offer was refused.

In conclusion, Mr. Rooter has not received any payment towards
the work which was completed.  At this
time Mr. Rooter has instructed counsel to file suit to collect payment in full
for services rendered.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear:

I appreciate the response, but cannot agree to this offer. The information provided in Mr. Rooters reply is not accurate in the following ways:
- The job was definitely described as extensive work and would take a few days.
- The amount of pipe has already been evaluated with a camera to be less than 10 feet. Also the hole is less than 10 feet long making it physically impossible for the pipe to measure that length. A Salem Police Officer was at my residence yesterday and agreed as well. 
The signed paperwork was explained differently to me in person. It was very clear I had no idea what was going on or the worth of the job. The fact that the serviceman tried pushing me into repairing the inside too at an additional $**** (which has been determined to be false information) and that he had a credit company agree to pay the services at 11:30pm on the spot, it's clear I was being taken advantage of due to my lack of knowledge. This is proof that Mr. Rooter was intentionally overcharging me, as well as trying to get me to pay even more. 
The offer of $*** to replace additional pipe that does not need replaced doesn't make practical sense to pursue. The issue here is the value of the work that was performed by Mr. Rooter. Where Mr. Rooter obtained this $*** figure is from ***** ***** *** ******* offer to perform the same job as Mr. Rooter. They also stated that at that price they could have done my entire yard, which emphasizes even more that the job was not worth $*,***.
I remain in the same position by offering $****, which is above the area average and my own cost analysis. *** ***** informed me over the phone yesterday that the cost was higher to pay for Mr. Rooter's advertising. I cannot agree with this, as I should be paying for the service and not their marketing. Mr. Rooter should be responsible for their own marketing costs.
I am fully prepared to pay Mr. Rooter for their services. I am not refusing to pay them in any way. I feel they should be paid for the worth of the job performed. With estimates from local experts on the matter, my offer is more than practical. I would like to resolve this issue immediately so Mr. Rooter can be paid and both parties can get past this issue. 
I have attached the physical quotes from both ***** ***** *** ***** and ***** *** ***** *****. Both are $*** or less. My offer stands at a generous $****. 
Regards,

****** *****



Business Response: Mr. Rooter of Youngstown made an offer to resolve this complaint.  The details are as follows:

Date that proposal was made: 7/6/2015 Value of proposed resolution (USD): Description of proposed resolution: There has been no payment made towards the agreed upon completed contracted work; and the offer of $***.** in good faith was refused. Therefore, Mr. Rooter is moving forward with filing suit *********** ** ******* ***.




Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Again, the resolution of $*** does not make sense to pursue. I have contacted the Ohio Attorney General regarding this issue of fraudulent overcharging. There is sufficient evidence that I was being taken advantage of in this case. My offer stands to settle at $****, which is above the average cost for the job completed. 

Again, I have not refused to pay Mr. Rooter for their services. I am simply requesting a practical and fair price.  
Regards,

****** *****



Business Response: Mr. Rooter has not been paid for services provided.  Unfortunately, we have not been able to come to an agreement therefore, this will be handled completely though our attorney.

Best Regards,

Mr. Rooter Plumbing

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Unfortunately, this is not how I was hoping to resolve this issue. I am still more than willing to pay Mr. Rooter for their services, but need a fair price. The market value of the job performed is around $***. Mr. Rooter has overcharged by more than ***% of this average figure.

These fraudulent charges are not fair to me, especially as a previous loyal customer of Mr. Rooter. My offer to resolve at $**** still stands. I feel this is more than generous.
I feel very taken advantage of in this case, and I hope we can still resolve this issue.
Regards,

****** *****



7/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/20/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Mr.Rooter of Boardman, Ohio replace my main drain in my basement November of 2014.Work included breaking up the concrete floor, replacing the broken clay pipe with new PVC pipe. Also the stationary utility tub was replaced. One of the workers threw the part of the utility tub legs away. The part of the legs that bolt to the floor so the tubs do not move . I was told at the time they would get new parts to repair this situation or order me a new tub.. Nothing yet! I have called and complained numerous times . I get the same story from the one underground utility manager " I am so sorry we have been so busy, I will have someone there to fix it". This is now JUNE OF 2015! I paid $*,***.** for this job TO BE DONE CORRECTLY ! If they can not replace the legs on the utility tubs and bolt them down so they won't move, what kind of service will I get if I need them to repair the main line again? I have also called and left messages with the owner of the business and have not received a return call. I just want the job done correctly. I just want what I paid for!

Desired Settlement: I just want the utility tubs bolted to the floor or a new set of tubs if they can not get the part for the legs.

Business Response: Our technician*** ****** has called to schedule a time to come out and repair the leg as well as bolt it to the floor free of charge.  After the work is complete; we at Mr. Rooter consider this resolved.

6/26/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/9/15 our toilet began backing up into our bathtub, rendering our only bathroom useless. We called Mr Rooter, and they came out to our home in*** ******* **. They suggested running a water jet to unclog the line, costing $*** up front. My husband wrote a check, and the technicians attempted to jet the stack in our upstairs bathroom. They were unable to jet the line, telling us it was completely clogged and would need replaced. The technician/salesman ***** ****** then proceeded to outline the inside excavation needed in our house to achieve the repair, which involved tearing out the portion of my bathroom floor around the toilet, and the wall next to the toilet, and tearing out the corner kitchen ceiling, cabinets top and bottom and the counter top. This excavation was necessary to access the stack pipe that was inside the wall. The large amount of excavation necessary to access the pipe required*** ****** to call his boss *** ********, and discuss the amount we would be charged. We heard the discussion as he made this call on his cell phone while standing in my kitchen. He gets off the phone and says "Good news! We usually don't touch a job like this for less that $****, but my boss said we can do it for $****!The result was a bill written up for $****, with a Member rate of $**** The final result was a cost of $**** for the repair (less the $*** for the jet they couldn't complete) for a bill of $**** to be paid up front before they would make the repair. Desperate as we were with no working bathroom, we agreed, wrote another check, for $****, and they said they would be out the next day to begin work. Our understanding was that the $**** would cover the cost of the repair and the restoration of the damage caused in accessing the pipe. Later that evening, my husband and I discussed the amount of demolition necessary to access the pipe, which would have destroyed our kitchen, and I suggested that they access the pipe from the outside of the house. We made this suggestion to the plumbers when the began the work a couple of days later, and they agreed it would be easier, and made the repair by accessing the stack pipe from the bathroom and going thru the outside wall of the house, sparing the kitchen. Thank God. When they finished the repair and left, we had raw plywood only on the bathroom floor, bathroom wall replaced with rough cut drywall that was NAILED into the studs, a hole covered with plywood only on the outside of my house, and a pile of garbage in my backyard. The result of the work they did was worth HALF of what they charged us! We made several attempts to work with this company to get some of our money back, to no avail. They made an offer to jet the line, as we paid for the jet but never received it, and admitted they were in breach of contract, also offering the $*** dollars back. But we asked for $**** MORE back, because the initial quote/contract was made with the excavation/demolishing being done from the inside, requiring the demolition of our kitchen, which they ended up not doing because the accessed it from the outside. This resulted in an entire day LESS WORK. So, we would like $**** of our money back for work that was initially quoted but NOT DONE, and for restoration work that was our initial understanding when we signed the contract, that was NOT DONE. I requested that Operations Manager *** *** ******** call me himself so that we could discuss the issue, but he never called. We will be seeking legal action against this company

Desired Settlement: That we receive half of our money back, $****, and that this business be closed down (although that won't happen, it should).

Business Response: Our Youngstown manager*** ********, informed me that he went to this customer’s house this morning.  The customer and *** have come to a mutual agreement.  There will be
additional work done by the end of the week.  Also, the customer agreed to close the complaint. 


Please see the attached complaint which was submitted to the Younstown office.  I have addressed it though them as well.

Please let me know if I need to do anything else to close this complaint.

Thanks!  

*****
 

1/15/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear BBB, We employed Mr. Rooter located in Boardman, Ohio to repair a drain that was backing up. To their credit they were very responsive and were able to look at the issue the same day we called. The initial inspection was 11/19, the plumber came, put his power auger in the drain for about 30 seconds pulled it out and stated he hit something so hard it bent the auger tip. He said he could not do any more and for fear of damaging his equipment and sewer lines. The plumber stated he needed to bring in the video scope informing me there would be a $****** charge. We agreed and paid him $***** for the visit. The next day the Underground Utility Manager ***** ****** came with the scope, did his thing, quickly identified the problem, a blockage and according to ***** nothing serious, a routine, relatively easy repair. ***** stated one day of work to complete the repair, a half-day the next to fill in the hole and cement. My wife and I had a trip to ******** **** scheduled Friday the 21st and wanted to start the repair on Monday. This was when ***** put the sales pitch on, went into gyrations about getting it done now, it was a quick 1 ½ day job it would be finished by the time we got back. He even discounted the project $****** if we agreed to the next day repair. That feeling of being set up returned so we told ***** we needed to think about it. He tried his hardest to seal the sale but we declined. We agreed to discuss the matter and get back to him in a few hours. Certainly had a bad feeling about being pressured but with local plumbers not available and our son coming home on Friday from college and *****’s assurance it was an in and out job we agreed to the Friday 11/21 start date. Time Line: Wednesday 11/19: Initial call to unplug drain cost $***** - plumber ran an auger into line, hit a blockage, stated blockage bent the auger tip, was not willing to attempt a second time stating he was afraid in damaging his equipment and possibly damaging tile piping making matters worse. Stated he would need to call his boss ***** ****** who had a viewable camera to inspect the line to determine the extent of blockage. Scheduled the line inspection for the following day at a quoted cost of $******. Thursday 11/20: ***** inspected the line with the video viewer, stated he found the source of the blockage four foot in and attributed the blockage to a broken pipe. Stated this was an easy fix, needed to dig up a small section of the floor and replace 10 foot of clay pipe. ***** unequivocally stated the job would be completed in 1.5 days, one day to dig and replace the pipe and a half-day to cement the excavation and clean up. Stated this was a common problem and a routine repair. Provided a work order and insisted in prepayment up front and immediate scheduling of the job, costing $********. We were hesitant as we were going out of town for the weekend leaving the crew with our son who was home from college on Thanksgiving break. ***** stated experienced and licensed plumbers would complete the job and reassured us this was a routine in and out repair and offered several hundred-dollar discount to $******* if we scheduled, we agreed. Friday 11/21: Crew showed up did the excavation, no other work completed. Spoke to ***** and he informed me while excavating they broke a section of clay pipe and severed an old gas line, told me it was a dormant gas line that his crew “capped off”, stated they would be back Saturday to complete the job Saturday 11/22: No work of note completed (Promised Completion Date) Monday 11/24: A small crew showed up and replaced a section of piping with PVC that they had broke during their excavation. The replaced PVC was to unrelated to the contracted repair and was discovered later to leak profusely. ***** showed up later in the day and stated the blockage is now in a different location 10 to 12 foot away from his initial work order. Stated this is a now a major repair job with two options one costing an additional $4,600.00 one costing an additional $5,700.00 on top of the $******** already paid. When asked why he was so sure of a routine repair on the initial work order and why he stated this was a routine, easy one and on-half day job, ***** offered a confused, incoherent explanation. He again pressured us to prepay and schedule the work. We declined asking for time to consider the repair, ***** left visibly agitated. Tuesday 11/25: No work crew, no calls from *****, calls and text to ***** during business hours are not returned. Called ***** in the evening, he answered, we asked for a complete explanation of why his initial work order was totally inaccurate, why PVC was installed were it was not needed, why the gas line and ductwork were damaged and the reason why the additional repair needed done, ***** hung-up on us. Wednesday 11/26: No work crew, no calls from *****, calls and text to ***** are not returned. Called Mr. Rooter asked to speak to someone in charge, and spoke to “***”. Explained the dissatisfaction of no actual repair completed as promised, the pre-payment, the PVC that was replaced for no reason, the leak coming from the PVC his crew installed, the severed gas line and the hole in the ductwork. *** stood by ***** assessment of the problem and the work completed but did commit to send his best crew to review the situation, scheduled for Friday 11/28. Asked *** to come and inspect the work, stated he was out of town Friday but would try to stop later in the day, he did not show. Friday 11/28: Two plumbers showed up, *** ****** was the lead plumber and a **** who refused to give us his last name appeared to be his helper. **** began to fill in the hole with the leaking PVC pipe with gravel in preparation to cement. We told him to stop and informed he and *** about the leak in the installed PVC, the severed gas line, and a hole in the furnace ductwork and reminded that the blockage was not even remedied. The lead plumber *** was sympathetic, stated he was doing what he was told to do. He had **** dig up the gravel, reinstall the PVC and repair the leaking elbow. We informed *** that the “Dormant” gas line the first crew severed was actually the line to our gas fireplace that was now not functioning. He patched the line but stated he thought it was not usable and could not guarantee the line would not leak. *** recommended we not turn it on, as there was a risk of a gas explosion. In addition, the initial crew put a hole in the furnace ductwork when excavating the floor. Both were informed and their fix was to shoved an empty cement bag into the hole and proceeded to cover the area with gravel. We photographed the bag for reference. Again, we had to prevented the plumbers from cementing the excavation, as the blockage was not taken care of. *** was cooperative and said he would have to call ***** for further instruction. It was decided ***** would bring the auger back and attempt to break the blockage. ***** showed up with the auger and proceeded to auger the line until the blockage was broken through. This method of forcing the auger through until the blockage was removed was not used by the initial plumber on 11/19 due to his assertion with *****’s agreement that equipment could be damage and potential of damaging tile drainage lines. We have no clue if ***** broke through the clog properly remedying the situation or if he damaged/broke though a good line and the water is draining into the ground. ***** would not look at us nor speak to us. He left and his plumbers filled the excavation with gravel and cemented the hole. We had no communication or follow-up from with Mr. Rooter since Friday 11/28. Please Note: On Friday 11/28, The lead plumber *** ****** apologized for Mr. Rooter’s business practices and openly commented we were overcharged for the work on the repair order and that the work completed was unnecessary and substandard. *** stated ***** is rewarded as he brings in a lot of work and money, and commented he is “Untouchable”. *** openly admitted the installed PVC pipe was not necessary and that the pipes replaced were in good condition and worked properly. He also informed us that 10 feet of PVC pipe was not used. Only 47inches of pipe was replaced. He offered to talk to ***** and recommend that some of our money be returned. The plumbers also replaced a large copper septic pipe that had no blockage or damage. This pipe was totally unrelated to the repair job. We were told by the *** that Mr. Rooter is continually reported for their unethical practices and he thought the Attorney General or other regulating agency had fined them. He recommended pursuing this matter further as in his words “We were ripped off”. Issues: 1) If the Friday 11/28 repair was the proper course of action, i.e., auguring through the blockage, why did the initial plumber state on 11/19 this was not advisable and refuse to continue attempting to auger the blockage in fear of damaging equipment and drainage pipe? 2) On 11/20, why did ***** agree with his plumber that auguring was not an option and potentially could cause more damage? 3) On 11/20 why did ***** bring a video camera complete an inspection of the lines, state the blockage was four foot in and would require excavation and ten feet of new PVC piping to repair at a cost of $********? Why was excavation not done near the blockage? 4) On 11/28, why did the plumber crew attempt to gravel and cement to complete the job when issues were not remedied? 5) The severed gas line was not repaired rendering our gas fireplace unusable 6) The damaged ductwork was not properly repaired and cemented over 7) Was the blockage repair done properly or was damage done to existing, working piping causing water to draining into the ground? We would like a substantial refund for Mr. Rooter’s substandard work. We paid the initial fee of $***** for the clogged drain to be fixed. We were told this would not remedy the problem and were charged an additional $******** for supplies that were not used and for work that was not done. After the frustration of the repair not being done, the inconvenience of no plumbing for a week, torn up floor, dust, mess, ongoing damage to our gas line and damage to the ductwork, the actual repair completed on 11/28 was unclogging the drain with an auger. The service Mr. Rooter stated could not be done on 11/18. Respectfully, **** *** **** ********** *** ********* **** **** ********** ***** ***** ***** ********

Desired Settlement: We would like a substantial refund for Mr. Rooter’s substandard work. We paid the initial fee of $***** for the clogged drain to be fixed. We were told this would not remedy the problem and were charged an additional $******** for supplies that were not used and for work that was not done. After the frustration of the repair not being done, the inconvenience of no plumbing for a week, torn up floor, dust, mess, ongoing damage to our gas line and damage to the ductwork, the actual repair completed on 11/28 was unclogging the drain with an auger. The service Mr. Rooter stated could not be done on 11/18.

Business Response: *** **********,

In regards to your issues addressed in your complaint, I would like to respond to them one by one, in accordance to the numbered list you provided:

1) One of our Journeyman plumbers, ****, was the initial plumber on site. He attempted to cable the drain three times and was unable to get to the desired depth to clear the clog. Due to this, he advised to proceed with a camera, following proper company protocol. The camera was completed at NO CHARGE.

2) Due to the state that the pipe was in and the excessive buildup in the sewer line, we were unable to get a clear view of the sewer line and blockage. At that time, we left an estimate on 11/19/14 for $******* to start at the point that our camera was able to reach and we were able to inspect. After 1 day, the customer called in and decided to go with the work for the pricing given. It was scheduled based upon the customer's schedule for us to complete the work.

3) The pricing that ***** left for you was for "UP TO 10 FEET" of PVC piping, which includes the blockage area of 4 feet.

4) Our crew started the work, repaired the sewer line; due to the sewer line running in a different direction that we were unable to see prior to digging due to blockage. At that point, ***** completed a camera inspection of the rest of the line after it was replaced. 

5) The gas line was leaking, as it was encased in and under concrete. Being the professionals that we are, we refuse to turn gas on to a leaking line, as we will not be responsible for a potential disaster knowing what could happen. 

6) If there is any damaged duct work due to anything that Mr. Rooter Plumbing has done, we will be more than willing to fix this matter.

7) *** ********** had a conversation with the area manager, ***, and *** ********** stated that he would have his own Journeyman inspector on site to do an inspection to ensure it was done properly IN ADDITION to our own Journeyman plumber on site throughout excavation to ensure all work was done to code and in the correct manner.





Also, a few points that I would like to address with you:

1) Anyone stating to this customer that ***** is "untouchable" is an irresponsible and false accusation. This statement was never made, nor has it ever been discussed with any customer. It is a fabrication and poor interpretation of a conversation that may or may not have ever taken place. 

2) From the start of this job, *** ********** had it in his mind, due to past experiences with other companies, that he was being taken advantage of this time as well. Therefore, we believe it puts us in the same position due to bad practices of other companies and other services. We diagnosed this job properly, as we would any other job of this type in the past and/or future. We went above and beyond to satisfy this customer's needs, including working after hours and on weekends. 

If there is anything further that we can address or resolve, please let us know.


Thank you,

Mr. Rooter Plumbing

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Mr. Rooter’s response is not unexpected.  My response is below.

 

Sincerely,

**** **********

 

*** **********,

In regards to your issues addressed in your complaint, I would like to respond to them one by one, in accordance to the numbered list you provided:

1) One of our Journeyman plumbers, ****, was the initial plumber on site. He attempted to cable the drain three times and was unable to get to the desired depth to clear the clog. Due to this, he advised to proceed with a camera, following proper company protocol. The camera was completed at NO CHARGE.

 

Response: A falsehood, **** placed the cable in the drain one time, stated he hit a blockage, stated blockage bent the auger tip, was not willing to attempt a second time stating he was afraid in damaging his equipment and possibly damaging tile piping making matters worse.  Stated he would need to call his boss ***** Graham who had a viewable camera to inspect the line to determine the extent of blockage. If Mr. Rooter would like to contend there was no charge, so be it, however $******** was paid that evening. 


2) Due to the state that the pipe was in and the excessive buildup in the sewer line, we were unable to get a clear view of the sewer line and blockage. At that time, we left an estimate on 11/19/14 for $******* to start at the point that our camera was able to reach and we were able to inspect. After 1 day, the customer called in and decided to go with the work for the pricing given. It was scheduled based upon the customer's schedule for us to complete the work.

Response: A falsehood, please refer to your own Contract/Retail Installment # *****.  This is not an estimate nor is estimate written or implied.  The Mr. Rooter form clearly delineates the Diagnosis of the problem and Description of Products and Services. 


3) The pricing that ***** left for you was for "UP TO 10 FEET" of PVC piping, which includes the blockage area of 4 feet.


Response: A falsehood, please refer to your own Contract/Retail Installment # *****.  Nowhere on the form does it state “Up to 10 Feet”.  Just the opposite the Mr. Rooter form clearly states “Replace 10ft of clay pipe.


4) Our crew started the work, repaired the sewer line; due to the sewer line running in a different direction that we were unable to see prior to digging due to blockage. At that point, ***** completed a camera inspection of the rest of the line after it was replaced. 

Response: A falsehood, please refer to your own Contract/Retail Installment # ***** for the Diagnosis and Description of Products and Services for work that was supposed to be completed.  The  repair work referenced above was not done as described, perfectly good copper drains were removed that was  not remotely related to the blockage.

 


5) The gas line was leaking, as it was encased in and under concrete. Being the professionals that we are, we refuse to turn gas on to a leaking line, as we will not be responsible for a potential disaster knowing what could happen. 


Response: A falsehood, the line was damaged during jack hammering and excavation. While in ********,  I spoke to *****, he informed me while excavating they broke a section of clay pipe and severed an old gas line, told me it was a dormant gas line that his crew “capped off”.  As a result, my gas fireplace is no longer functioning.


6) If there is any damaged duct work due to anything that Mr. Rooter Plumbing has done, we will be more than willing to fix this matter.

 

Response: Thank you, I have a photo to validate this should you need visual evidence.  Please call me to arrange fixing this damage.

7) *** ********** had a conversation with the area manager, ***, and *** ********** stated that he would have his own Journeyman inspector on site to do an inspection to ensure it was done properly IN ADDITION to our own Journeyman plumber on site throughout excavation to ensure all work was done to code and in the correct manner.

Response: Not a accurate representation of the discussion with ***.

Also, a few points that I would like to address with you:

1) Anyone stating to this customer that ***** is "untouchable" is an irresponsible and false accusation. This statement was never made, nor has it ever been discussed with any customer. It is a fabrication and poor interpretation of a conversation that may or may not have ever taken place.

Response:  This irresponsible person making the false accusation is Mr. Rooter employee *** ******.  I quite assure you the statements as described were made by Mr. ****** and very accurately restated and I may add in front of three persons.   If I may make a suggestion to the author, take this matter up with Mr. ******.   From my perspective he was the most professional and honest Mr. Rooter employee we dealt with.   


2) From the start of this job, *** ********** had it in his mind, due to past experiences with other companies, that he was being taken advantage of this time as well. Therefore, we believe it puts us in the same position due to bad practices of other companies and other services. We diagnosed this job properly, as we would any other job of this type in the past and/or future. We went above and beyond to satisfy this customer's needs, including working after hours and on weekends. 

 

Response: Utter nonsense, I have no clue where this comment is coming from however I appreciate the analysis although uninformed and inaccurate.   I certainly don’t feel taken advantage by anybody and had no predetermined views of Mr. Rooter.  I can tell you with 100% certainty Mr. Rooter did not go above and beyond to satisfy this customers needs. 

If there is anything further that we can address or resolve, please let us know.


Response: Nothing was resolved with the exception of committing to repair the duct-work your employees damaged.




Regards,

**** **********
10/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Job started in February,not complete yet,stopped answering my calls.I have sewer gas in my basement and my driveway and yard are still dug up.It's hard to use the toilet being a foot off the wall(Iguess they forgot a tape measure that day)And on top of that,every time it rains the basement floods.Before the work 50 years dry.

Desired Settlement: Fix what is wrong

Business Response: Per *** *********

 
Mr. Rooter went above and beyond our due diligence and discounted every aspect of work performed for this customer. *** ***** expressed to us that he was unable to pay the amount originally quoted to get the work completed.
 
The customer initially agreed to the discounted price. *** ***** told our technicians that he would complete the excavating on the inside of his home and we would do the underground pipe repair at a discounted rate. In regards to this, Mr. Rooter ended up doing the inside excavating as well as the piping as a courtesy to *** ***** and to further assist him. We did this 100% out of courtesy for *** ***** and charged him absolutely nothing for the additional work performed.
 
We completed all work at the customer's home as agreed upon and also completed the clean up of the job to our high company wide standards.
 
After the extremely discounted work was completed, *** ***** had further demands upon our technicians. He requested that we put in a sump pump for free, including the jackhammering , full installation, and all labor. This request was made after all of the discounts we provided for *** ***** and went far above and beyond to satisfy the customer and assist the customer in every possible way. 
 
*** ***** made this request for free sump pump installation when he still owes Mr. Rooter Plumbing $**** for final payment. *** ***** has refused to make this final payment until we give him a free sump pump, full installation, and all labor at no charge to *** *****. 
 
At this time, we are not completing any further work for *** ***** unless there are any issues with the work performed and agreed upon on the signed, authorized invoices. 
 
There will be no refunds made, as *** ***** has received a significant amount of financial courtesy throughout this process.
 
If there is any further action needed regarding this, please let us know.
 
Thank you,
Mr. Rooter Plumbing

10/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had contacted this company to come and assess my drains because I was having water back up in the bathtubs and washer. They came out and initially flushed the drains and opened them. This only lasted a short time and then they returned and ran the video monitor and said it would not go past a certain point. They assessed the drain and said there was a break in the line. They asked if I wanted it fixed and told me it would be approximately $***** to fix it. I am fairly new to this area and did not know where else I could go to have it fixed, and since they had assessed I told them to fix it. I was under the understanding that this was going to fix the problem entirely. They brought a contract and I signed it and they did not fully explain it to me. They hired a subcontractor who dug the hole and they attempted to flush the pipe again. At this point, they told me that there was a clog or break further down the pipe and at this point I was told in order to fix this additional area it would be an additional $*****. At this point, they stated that there was no guarantee that the problem would be fixed and if I wanted it fixed to the road (this is approximately 20 feet from my house) that it would be $******. They stated unless I paid this and fixed the entire amount they could not guarantee the problem would be resolved. They did not advise me of this prior to getting me to sign the contract. They did not come to start on the project immediately. The contract was signed on 8/4, they did not start work until the afternoon until 8/6. After going 10 feet, they stated the price was for 10 feet only. I attempted many times to contact them to let them know I could not afford this. I called several people and they didn't get back to me right away. I spoke with the District Manager and he stated that I could not get out of the contract that it was binding after 3 business days. However, they did not return my calls until after day 3 The work is not finished to date.

Desired Settlement: I have not had the work completed to date. I have contacted the Attorney Generals office and they are unsure they can help me. They did not understand the entire terms of the contract before they had me sign. They insist I have to pay for this work. I want out of my contract. I want a refund. I want them to have to change their business practices.

Business Response: Per *** ********, Youngstown Area Director, we continued the work for *** ******* and he is now satisfied. 

 
If there is anything further that we can respond to our assist with, please let us know. To the best of our knowledge, this complaint has been resolved and the work is continuing to progress.

8/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr. Rooter just blatantly ripped me off. I called Mr. Rooter about them snaking my plumbing and they told me they would go to my house and give me a free estimate to go to my rental property in Youngstown Ohio.When they arrived they said that they recommend Hydroscrubing my line and that it would have a 3 year warranty that the line would be clear. So I said sure if you can fix it for $*** I would pay for it. They charged my Credit Card before even beginning work.They then started work on the drain and in about 1 min they made a huge over flow of wast in my basement. They called me and said that they couldn't do the work and that they recommended that I pay them $****** to dig up the basement. I told them I didn't want them to do anything, and the guy said because they can't do the Hydroscrubing that I would not be charged.I ended up flying to Ohio from California to fix the problem with another pluming company.After noticing that they did not remove the $*** charge from my account I began to call them.I called over 9 times and they kept telling me that they would remove the charges and that a manager would call me back.I never got a call from the manager and never got my money back.I contacted my Discover card and they reimburst me. But then Mr. Rooter sent them a letter saying that all the work was complete and that I never contacted them about their work, even though no work was done because they said they couldn't do it and they said I wouldn't be charged.I am so frustrated and I am now looking into taking them to court, not for the money but for the principle. It might cost me thousands to resolve a $*** issue but someone has to hold companies like this accountable.

Desired Settlement: I would like my Discover Card refunded or a check for $***.

Business Response: In response to this complaint.  First Mr. Rooter would like to ask why wait a year to submit a complaint? One thing that was not mentioned in the complaint was the fact a camera was used to determine the cause of the drain issues.  This was done at no charge.  The finding where there was a break in the drain line.  *** ******* was then notified and stated he has additional quotes to repair the drain because of on going issues from the past.  Mr. Rooter matched the price of the other contractors to do the work but ** ******* said he was flying in from California to fix himself.  Our camera technician even met with him to go over the job on site and the customer asked at that point if he dug it up if Mr. Rooter would pipe it in.  We agreed to do this and was to call us when the pipe was exposed, Mr. Rooter never heard from him again.  The first communications from *** ******* was actually from his credit card company regarding the charge back.  We answered the complaint and per Discover Card payment was for Mr. Rooter. The next communication from him was this complaint, a full year after services. 

 
 
 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am going to answer all of your questions in a itemized response.

1. The only reason that I did not pursue this further until now is because I thought this was all handled and I received my money back from Discover Card. The next month I received a letter from Discover Card that I miss took as a bill which I filed away because my bill gets paid automatically. My secretary just found the letter stating that you guys got Discover Card to reverse the refund.

2. No one ever told me that a camera was used until now. A camera was not used and could not have been used because there was 2 feet of sewage waste around the drain in the basement and you would not be able to see anything if they did try. I know because I had to spend 3 days cleaning up the mess that you made.

3. I called several times to get the same plumber back so he could explain to me what he had did and to confirm that I would not be charged. He confirmed to my face that I would not be charged because he could not fix the problem with the Hydroscrub and that he would have to dig up the basement and that would cost $******. I then told him if I dug it up myself if he could he fix it then.

4. The reason I never called back was because I didn't end up needing to dig up my basement because there was no cracked pipe. The problem was with the City of Youngstowns line. Which I worked with the city and they came down and drained the line to my house and fixed the problem.

Here is another website I found with a long list of complaints about you guys come to peoples homes and making problems worse with your Hydroscrub so that you can charge more to fix it. ***********************************************************

I have also found many other similar complaints online, and I have just started to look and prepare my evidence about Mr. Rooter.

I hired Mr. Rooter to snake my line. That was all. When they got there he recommended this Hydroscrub because he said it was better, and said it would remain clear for 3 years guaranteed, and if it didn't work I would not have to pay. That is the only reason that I agreed to let him try that.

You tried to Hydroscrub and made a big mess, it didn't work so where is your guarantee and your word.

If you refund my $*** that will be the end of this, please honor your words.

Regards,

***** *******



7/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: service man arrived to open a clogged sewer drain. brfore he started he said that because my house was an older home he would probabley not be able to unclog the drain. thrr snake he used had a root cutter tip which half of the tip was broken off, i questioned him about this and he haid it did not matter. He was unable to unclog the drain after one try, he put his equipment back in the truck and wanted payment. I payed him $***** and he left. I called another plumbing company and within 5 minutes of arriving the drain was opened. I have called Mr Rooter for the last three days to file a complaint and the person answering the phone said a manager would call me but nobody has called. I don't feel i should have to pay and want my $***** returned

Desired Settlement: I would like the $***** i payed returned

Business Response: Customer was refunded today, 7/11/14.

6/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have called Mr. Rooter of Boardman Ohio to clean up my drain pipes because the water was draining very slow.Their technician showed up and brought machine down into the basement and machine didn't work. He left my house to get another machine or fix the one he tried using. A couple of hours later he came back and tried cleaning the pipes. He was unsuccessful and not only that he didn't clean the pipes he made it worse so the water was not draining at all. There was a mess all over the floor which I had to clean up myself. He was trying to sell me to get a jet service which costs $******. I told him I will think about it. He left the house and I had to pay $***** for the service that was not completed and even made way worse and I had to clean up all the mess he created. The next day I called another local company,* ** * ********. They came over the house and advise me that I do not need jet and that they will clean the pipes with the machine. They used the same machine as Mr. Rooter and cleaned up everything in about an hour. The water was running great through the pipes, there was no mess at all, cleaned up every little thing that was there. Very professional service and job done right. After that I called Mr. Rooter to ask them to give me the refund and the secretary says nobody is available from accounting department and they will call me back as soon as they get back to the office. two days later no call. I call them again and got the same story from the secretary. Waited another 2-3 days and no call. After that, I called again and told them I will report the issue to the Better business bureau and attorney general's office. They still didn't even attempt to call me back. The fourth time I called them, they told me the secretary tells me the same thing and then I told her they (accounting department) will not call me back and they don't have to call me back and that I will report this. Here I am reporting it to the Better Business Bureau to make people aware who they are dealing with.

Desired Settlement: I believe I deserve the refund because I have been charged for the service that was not completed. The things were made worse than they were, I had to clean for two hours the mess created. Another company did the job with the same tools Mr. Rooter used which tells me that Mr. Rooter should of been able to get the job done but they only wanted to sell jet service and charge $***.I also want to report this to Attorney General Office too.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by Mr. Rooter of Youngstown regarding complaint ID*******.

Regards,

***** *******

11/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable