BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Columbiana, Mahoning, and Trumbull Counties

This Business is not BBB accredited

Mr. Rooter of Youngstown

Phone: (330) 270-0195 97 Karago Ave Ste 1, Boardman, OH 44512 http://www.youngstown.mrrooter.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Mr. Rooter of Youngstown include:

  • 26 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint filed against business
  • 2 complaints filed against business that were not resolved
  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

26 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 17 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 22
Total Closed Complaints 26

Additional Complaint Information

On August 20, 2013 BBB staff met with representatives of Mr. Rooter of Youngstown to discuss concerns regarding an increase in the number and pattern of complaints BBB has received regarding pricing and service issues. The company has agreed to address these issues and work toward improving communications with their customers to avoid future issues. BBB will continue to monitor this issue.
As of August 1, 2014, when reviewing the complaint activity, BBB does not believe that the company has effectively addressed or attempted to resolve the underlying cause of the pattern or volume of complaints.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Mr. Rooter of Youngstown
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 14, 2003 Business started: 01/01/2003 in OH Business started locally: 01/01/2003 Business under new ownership as of: 06/19/2012 Business incorporated: 06/15/2013 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation Mr. Rooter of Youngstown is a Franchise business of Franchisor The Dwyer Group

Business Management
Mr. Robert A. Beall, President Jennifer M Gaudio, Administrative Assistant Mr. Joe Kijowski, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert A. Beall, President
Principal: Jennifer M Gaudio, Administrative Assistant
Business Category

Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    97 Karago Ave Ste 1

    Boardman, OH 44512 (330) 270-0195

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had contacted this company to come and assess my drains because I was having water back up in the bathtubs and washer. They came out and initially flushed the drains and opened them. This only lasted a short time and then they returned and ran the video monitor and said it would not go past a certain point. They assessed the drain and said there was a break in the line. They asked if I wanted it fixed and told me it would be approximately $***** to fix it. I am fairly new to this area and did not know where else I could go to have it fixed, and since they had assessed I told them to fix it. I was under the understanding that this was going to fix the problem entirely. They brought a contract and I signed it and they did not fully explain it to me. They hired a subcontractor who dug the hole and they attempted to flush the pipe again. At this point, they told me that there was a clog or break further down the pipe and at this point I was told in order to fix this additional area it would be an additional $*****. At this point, they stated that there was no guarantee that the problem would be fixed and if I wanted it fixed to the road (this is approximately 20 feet from my house) that it would be $******. They stated unless I paid this and fixed the entire amount they could not guarantee the problem would be resolved. They did not advise me of this prior to getting me to sign the contract. They did not come to start on the project immediately. The contract was signed on 8/4, they did not start work until the afternoon until 8/6. After going 10 feet, they stated the price was for 10 feet only. I attempted many times to contact them to let them know I could not afford this. I called several people and they didn't get back to me right away. I spoke with the District Manager and he stated that I could not get out of the contract that it was binding after 3 business days. However, they did not return my calls until after day 3 The work is not finished to date.

Desired Settlement: I have not had the work completed to date. I have contacted the Attorney Generals office and they are unsure they can help me. They did not understand the entire terms of the contract before they had me sign. They insist I have to pay for this work. I want out of my contract. I want a refund. I want them to have to change their business practices.

Business Response: Per *** ********, Youngstown Area Director, we continued the work for *** ******* and he is now satisfied. 

 
If there is anything further that we can respond to our assist with, please let us know. To the best of our knowledge, this complaint has been resolved and the work is continuing to progress.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr. Rooter just blatantly ripped me off. I called Mr. Rooter about them snaking my plumbing and they told me they would go to my house and give me a free estimate to go to my rental property in Youngstown Ohio.When they arrived they said that they recommend Hydroscrubing my line and that it would have a 3 year warranty that the line would be clear. So I said sure if you can fix it for $*** I would pay for it. They charged my Credit Card before even beginning work.They then started work on the drain and in about 1 min they made a huge over flow of wast in my basement. They called me and said that they couldn't do the work and that they recommended that I pay them $****** to dig up the basement. I told them I didn't want them to do anything, and the guy said because they can't do the Hydroscrubing that I would not be charged.I ended up flying to Ohio from California to fix the problem with another pluming company.After noticing that they did not remove the $*** charge from my account I began to call them.I called over 9 times and they kept telling me that they would remove the charges and that a manager would call me back.I never got a call from the manager and never got my money back.I contacted my Discover card and they reimburst me. But then Mr. Rooter sent them a letter saying that all the work was complete and that I never contacted them about their work, even though no work was done because they said they couldn't do it and they said I wouldn't be charged.I am so frustrated and I am now looking into taking them to court, not for the money but for the principle. It might cost me thousands to resolve a $*** issue but someone has to hold companies like this accountable.

Desired Settlement: I would like my Discover Card refunded or a check for $***.

Business Response: In response to this complaint.  First Mr. Rooter would like to ask why wait a year to submit a complaint? One thing that was not mentioned in the complaint was the fact a camera was used to determine the cause of the drain issues.  This was done at no charge.  The finding where there was a break in the drain line.  *** ******* was then notified and stated he has additional quotes to repair the drain because of on going issues from the past.  Mr. Rooter matched the price of the other contractors to do the work but ** ******* said he was flying in from California to fix himself.  Our camera technician even met with him to go over the job on site and the customer asked at that point if he dug it up if Mr. Rooter would pipe it in.  We agreed to do this and was to call us when the pipe was exposed, Mr. Rooter never heard from him again.  The first communications from *** ******* was actually from his credit card company regarding the charge back.  We answered the complaint and per Discover Card payment was for Mr. Rooter. The next communication from him was this complaint, a full year after services. 

 
 
 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am going to answer all of your questions in a itemized response.

1. The only reason that I did not pursue this further until now is because I thought this was all handled and I received my money back from Discover Card. The next month I received a letter from Discover Card that I miss took as a bill which I filed away because my bill gets paid automatically. My secretary just found the letter stating that you guys got Discover Card to reverse the refund.

2. No one ever told me that a camera was used until now. A camera was not used and could not have been used because there was 2 feet of sewage waste around the drain in the basement and you would not be able to see anything if they did try. I know because I had to spend 3 days cleaning up the mess that you made.

3. I called several times to get the same plumber back so he could explain to me what he had did and to confirm that I would not be charged. He confirmed to my face that I would not be charged because he could not fix the problem with the Hydroscrub and that he would have to dig up the basement and that would cost $******. I then told him if I dug it up myself if he could he fix it then.

4. The reason I never called back was because I didn't end up needing to dig up my basement because there was no cracked pipe. The problem was with the City of Youngstowns line. Which I worked with the city and they came down and drained the line to my house and fixed the problem.

Here is another website I found with a long list of complaints about you guys come to peoples homes and making problems worse with your Hydroscrub so that you can charge more to fix it. ***********************************************************

I have also found many other similar complaints online, and I have just started to look and prepare my evidence about Mr. Rooter.

I hired Mr. Rooter to snake my line. That was all. When they got there he recommended this Hydroscrub because he said it was better, and said it would remain clear for 3 years guaranteed, and if it didn't work I would not have to pay. That is the only reason that I agreed to let him try that.

You tried to Hydroscrub and made a big mess, it didn't work so where is your guarantee and your word.

If you refund my $*** that will be the end of this, please honor your words.

Regards,

***** *******



BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: service man arrived to open a clogged sewer drain. brfore he started he said that because my house was an older home he would probabley not be able to unclog the drain. thrr snake he used had a root cutter tip which half of the tip was broken off, i questioned him about this and he haid it did not matter. He was unable to unclog the drain after one try, he put his equipment back in the truck and wanted payment. I payed him $***** and he left. I called another plumbing company and within 5 minutes of arriving the drain was opened. I have called Mr Rooter for the last three days to file a complaint and the person answering the phone said a manager would call me but nobody has called. I don't feel i should have to pay and want my $***** returned

Desired Settlement: I would like the $***** i payed returned

Business Response: Customer was refunded today, 7/11/14.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have called Mr. Rooter of Boardman Ohio to clean up my drain pipes because the water was draining very slow.Their technician showed up and brought machine down into the basement and machine didn't work. He left my house to get another machine or fix the one he tried using. A couple of hours later he came back and tried cleaning the pipes. He was unsuccessful and not only that he didn't clean the pipes he made it worse so the water was not draining at all. There was a mess all over the floor which I had to clean up myself. He was trying to sell me to get a jet service which costs $******. I told him I will think about it. He left the house and I had to pay $***** for the service that was not completed and even made way worse and I had to clean up all the mess he created. The next day I called another local company,* ** * ********. They came over the house and advise me that I do not need jet and that they will clean the pipes with the machine. They used the same machine as Mr. Rooter and cleaned up everything in about an hour. The water was running great through the pipes, there was no mess at all, cleaned up every little thing that was there. Very professional service and job done right. After that I called Mr. Rooter to ask them to give me the refund and the secretary says nobody is available from accounting department and they will call me back as soon as they get back to the office. two days later no call. I call them again and got the same story from the secretary. Waited another 2-3 days and no call. After that, I called again and told them I will report the issue to the Better business bureau and attorney general's office. They still didn't even attempt to call me back. The fourth time I called them, they told me the secretary tells me the same thing and then I told her they (accounting department) will not call me back and they don't have to call me back and that I will report this. Here I am reporting it to the Better Business Bureau to make people aware who they are dealing with.

Desired Settlement: I believe I deserve the refund because I have been charged for the service that was not completed. The things were made worse than they were, I had to clean for two hours the mess created. Another company did the job with the same tools Mr. Rooter used which tells me that Mr. Rooter should of been able to get the job done but they only wanted to sell jet service and charge $***.I also want to report this to Attorney General Office too.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by Mr. Rooter of Youngstown regarding complaint ID*******.

Regards,

***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

11/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service