Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Champion Windows of Fort Collins?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Champion Windows of Fort Collins

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 612-0811 Fax: (970) 667-3550 View Additional Phone Numbers 5850 Byrd Dr, Loveland, CO 80538 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.championwindow.com/ftcollins/ View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We manufacture our own windows right here in Colorado. Local sales, installation and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Champion Windows of Fort Collins meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Champion Windows of Fort Collins include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Champion Windows of Fort Collins
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 30, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1953 Business started locally: 01/01/1953
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Woodward, Division Manager Mr. James Mishler, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Woodward, Division Manager
Business Category

Windows Door Repair Stores Home Improvements Patio & Deck Builders Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Roofers Siding Contractors Remodelers Window Installation Companies Doors Siding Material Suppliers Storm Window and Door Suppliers

Refund and Exchange Policy
All of our products are custom built to fit your home perfectly. No middle man we handle everything from order to installation.
Service Area
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Alternate Business Names
Champion Windows & Patio Rooms Champion Windows and Home Exteriors
Products & Services

We install windows, doors, sunrooms, siding, decks, and roofs. All of our products are backed by our lifetime warranty.

Industry Tips
Tips for Hiring Roofing Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 1300 Venture Way #102

    Casper, WY 82609 (307) 234-0222

  • 5850 Byrd Dr

    Loveland, CO 80538 (970) 612-0811

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 221-0770(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with Champion in August to build a sunroom and replace windows. They agreed to complete the sunroom by the end of October since we were also completing new flooring and painting and wanted to complete that after the sunroom was complete. Champion was late providing information for HOA approval and late submitting permits. There was no communication regarding any of this and now it is mid-December and the current expectation is that the room will not be done until early January. They finally started it and agreed to call us every day with updates. This has not happened (we are not yet living on site). We heard that the initial inspection did not pass since Champion incorrectly laid the base on top of a concrete patio. They had told us they did not need to cut into the concrete to lay the posts, but then they had to do that. I have never received the screens they took to fix. There is zero confidence in their work.

Desired Settlement: I will hire a structural engineer to review the work being done and Champion will deduct the cost of this from the bill.

Business Response: I am sorry for the late response.   I have been in contact with the Mr. &
Mrs. ********** and they are going to be in Fort Collins on Friday December 19,
2014.  I will be meeting with them and
will work out a resolution.  However I
will address a couple of the issues now.

 

“They finally started it and agreed to call us every day
with updates”.

-         
I was unaware that the lead installer had made
that commitment until I spoke with Mrs. ********** on the 15th.  I have no excuse and I apologized to the **********s
and made sure the he is calling and giving daily updates.

“We heard that the initial inspection did not pass since
Champion incorrectly laid the base on top of a concrete patio”.

-         
We have not failed any inspections at the
**********’s project.

-         
 “Champion
incorrectly laid the base on top of a concrete patio” This would be referring to
the rough track inspection.  This
inspection was not even scheduled until Tuesday Dec. 16th and we
passed the inspection.

-         
I spoke to ***** and it sounded like there was
some miscommunication between the City of Fort Collins and the **********s.  When Mr. ********** inquired about the
inspections it showed we had a “partial” pass. 
Partial doesn’t mean you have passed some and failed others.  It is referring to the fact that you have
only passed the portion of the project that you have completed. 

-         
When you build a Sunroom you have five separate inspections.  Caisson/Footers, rough deck, rough track, rough
hanger (where the room’s roof attaches to the home), and the final inspection.

-         
As of Dec. 18, 2014 we have passed all
inspection outside of the final inspection.

“They had told us they didn’t need to cut into the concrete
to lay the post, but then they had to do that”

-         
This is referring to the Caisson/Footers.  We have to put caissons per the engineering
and local building code.  A standard
concrete slab is not designed to carry the load of the sunroom.  On some jobs you can dig out the caisson from
the side of the slab and not have to cut the concrete and others you have to
cut the concrete and go straight down.  I
do not know if this was relayed to the **********s or not at the point of sale.  Either way I have addressed it with the sales
person and the Sunroom Install Mgr.

Screens               

-         
I have talked to ***** about the screens.  Two of the four screen frames were damaged.  We were only going to just rescreen
them.  Now I am having the two damaged
screen frames replaced.

At this point I am not willing to cover the cost of a third
party engineer to review the sunroom. 
The city building inspectors inspect the sunroom four times during the
building process and once at the final completion.  The job is inspected per the site specific engineering
prints and local building code.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** **********

11/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed a contract on 06-23-14 for soffit and gutters when **** ***** took contract he told us that all existing soffits would be taken down and replaced on or around the 10th of Sept they sent a company to do work when questioned why they were not taking existing soffits down and cutting chunks away they were sent away and I contacted rep and he in turn had another person tell me that the company was no longer coming out here, and that we would have to wait once again while I have all siding and material along the house both out front and out back. We have waited 15 weeks witch they said would take 6-8 weeks. Also we have repairs that have never been addressed from a 3-20-13 install.

Desired Settlement: Finish the job and do it in the way they said they would, by removing existing soffit or fascia board and replacing it with correct material not pressed wood for the outside. ASAP Fix and or repair existing siding problems.

Business Response: **** is referring to the fascia board not the soffits and I have enclosed a copy of the ***** work order.
 
1. As you can see there is nothing noted that we were going to replace the fascia boards.  The work order only calls for custom wrapping the existing fascia board with ***** ***** ****.
2. The reason we would only replace portions of the fascia boards is due to the fact that only portions were rotted, you cannot see the cut lines when it is wrapped, and it’s not a common work practice to replace wood that doesn’t need replaced unless otherwise noted in the work order.  
3. We started the project on September 19, 2014.  Mrs. ***** got so upset that the fascia boards were not being replaced with new board we shut down the job until my installation manager could get to the job.  She then proceed to come uncorked on my manager.  She was yelling at him so loudly that the neighbor started to come out of their homes to see what was going on.  At that time the crew packed up and told us they would not return to work at her home.  The crew was a subcontractor and due to labor laws I cannot force them to work on her project.  As subcontractors they have the right to turn down or take any job they choose. 
4. I then contact Mrs. ***** and told her the crew would not be returning and we would be back as soon as I have a crew ready and even though they didn’t pay for the fascia board to be replaced I would replace them .  (I did not tell her the crew was refusing to work on her home due to the way she was acting.) 
5. Roughly ten days ago I contacted Mrs. ***** (prior to receiving notice of this complaint) to walk the job with her and Mr. ***** to make sure we were on the same page and get a new crew back out on the job.  Mrs. ***** told me they had family in town and we agreed we would reconnect on Oct. 27th we would have to schedule the project the first of November.

As far as the repairs for the job from last year, we have no records of any outstanding services on the job.  If there are any services to the prior install we they would be covered under the warranty.  However, we have not records indication any open services. 

 

10/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered the installation of 9 Windows in our. house. It was supposed to take 1 maximum 2 workdays for the installation. . They started working on Thursday 25th. They worked Friday 26th, Saturday 27th and for about 3 hours on Monday 29th. of September. Monday morning, the Manager, Mr. ***** ****, arrived at the scene to confirm the damage the workers did. Our roof got damaged. the siding of the windows got damaged, wood pieces on the frames are damaged and got covered up with aluminium covers, which we according to our order did not want installed and did not order. The caulking from the inside of the house has not been done since then. We cannot put up our blinds yet and noise and air comes through the windows. Mr. ***** confirmed all the damage and agreed that it was Champions fault, that the aluminium covers never should have been installed and that it caused a lot of damage. He said that they would take care of it and would let us know how they would proceed. Today is Wednesday October 8th and we have not heard a thing. Phone calls from our side go to Mr. ******* answering machine and nothing gets returned. We live in a construction side for more than 10 days with no answers how they fix the damage and when they are going to install the windows right. We can not get a hold of anybody to talk to . I have to say that we are happy with the quality of the windows. Not happy with the 2 workers that left the work place for hours on and off and for that one day it originally should take to have the windows installed we had 3 1/2 days of workers in the house and nothing but damage accomplished.

Desired Settlement: Install the new windows according our contract, fix the window sidings with wood like it was, paint it, have the roof repaired, do it fast

Business Response: We just received the notice my mail today 10.22.14.  Everything on the desired resolution has already been completed except the roof.  We have ordered a new piece of interior trim for the shaped window and as soon as we get it in we will get it installed ASAP.  

In order not to void the ******** roofs warranty the original roofing company needs to fix the damaged shingles we have been in contact with the roofing company and we will be paying for any cost associated with the roofing damage.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ******