Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Boyd Lake Veterinary Center

Phone: (970) 593-1717 Fax: (970) 593-1737 3850 E 15th St, Loveland, CO 80538 http://www.boydlakevet.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Boyd Lake Veterinary Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Boyd Lake Veterinary Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Boyd Lake Veterinary Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 21, 2006 Business started: 01/02/2002 Business started locally: 01/02/2002 Business incorporated 01/02/2002 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Colorado State Board of Veterinary Medicine
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
Phone Number: (303) 894-7800
Fax Number: (303) 894-7764
DORA_VeterinaryMedicineBoard@state.co.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Patrick Doherty, President
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Patrick Doherty, President
Business Category

Veterinarians Pet Sitting Services Pet Day Care Retail Pet Suppliers Animal Hospitals Pet Boarding & Kennels Pet Boarding - Dogs Pet Grooming Pet Training Pet Training - Dog

Industry Tips
Pet Sitter or Boarding Facility? Tips on How to Choose

Additional Locations

  • 3850 E 15th St

    Loveland, CO 80538 (970) 593-1717

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Boarded my dog there and was required have a flu vaccine which they did not give until 6 days after he was dropped off. Returned to me sick/lethargic This clinic insisted on an unnecessary vaccine in order to be boarded there. My regular vet refuses to even give this vaccine, but we did so bc we needed boarding to go out of the country. The vaccine, however, was not given until 6 days after the dog was dropped off. When I picked him up he was lethargic and began vomiting within minutes of getting him home. I called and left them a message about 1 hour after getting him home (and him vomiting 6 more times and refusing food and water) that something was wrong and asked them to call me the next day which they did not. My boyfriend called THEM the next day and they agreed to see him that afternoon to check him. At this "check" they said he definitely looked like he didnt feel good but didnt think anything was wrong but they could do IV fluids, run tests etc all at MY COST. THIS DOG WAS DROPPED OFF COMPLETELY HEALTHY. They also reported that he was female aggressive and wouldnt allow any of the female handlers to work with him, HOWEVER, he was taken from me by a female-no problem, RETURNED to me by a female-again no problem, and when I went back for the BOGUS "check" a female vet student came into the room with the vet-AGAIN NO PROBLEM. I got complete attitude and comments from the vet about my recent trip to jamaica that were unprofessional. My dog was poorly taken care of while at this veterinary center and returned to me unhealthy. It cost $550 dollars for my 2 dogs to be boarded there and they were returned sick. I would NEVER recommend this facility for boarding to anyone. They house way too many dogs, give bogus, unnecessary vaccines( I was told this beforehand by my regular vet as well, however, we couldnt get reservations in time for the place she recommended) and they have poor customer service. When I called and said my dog was sick The vet at the boarding facility/vet clinic suggestively asked if my dog had gotten carsick, or chewed and swallowed a toy and said "He was perfectly fine when he left here". However, when I put him in the truck he immediately laid down in the back....not normal for this dog, and immediately started vomiting within minutes of being home so I called and left them a message. He has NEVER gotten carsick, rode in the car to get there and wasn't carsick, rides in the car all the time and NEVER has gotten carsick. In fact, until my dog was boarded there he had never even vomited. And it has now been over 24 hours and he still cant keep anything down.

Desired Settlement: I did not sign any waiver stating that I knew it was possible for my dog to be returned sick. My boyfriend did, however, though had I been aware of this I would not have agreed. If I have to incur any medical expense to get my dog healthy again or to find out what is wrong the LEAST they could do is pay for that, however, I do not trust in the care that he would receive there. Therefore, I would like half of my money back so I can afford to take him to my regular vet.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/01/24) */ A 97# American bulldog boarded with us while his owner was in Jamaica.After being placed in his run,he became very cage aggressive.He growled,barked,and banged the gate as if trying to attack.We worked with him by talking to him and laying on the floor outside his cage and petting his feet.He did settle down but was skittish around some female staff.We let him outside by himself.He ended up doing well and by the time I vaccinated him on Jan.17th he was very friendly to me.He ate well,had zero vomiting or diarrhea and was happy.The owner picked him up Jan.21.She called and left a message after hours that he was vomiting.I could not call back right away Jan.22 so they called later in the morning and set a 4:40 appt.He did seem listless and maybe slightly dehydrated but alert.He did not have a fever.I recommended subcutaneous fluids, bloodwork and x-rays which she declined due to cost.I reminded her her boyfriend had signed and initialed the statement "Pets also, by their very nature, are not as concerned with cleanliness as humans.For example they defecate and urinate on the ground.Although the staff of BLVC picks up waste as quickly as possible, sometimes pets race over to sniff it and sometimes touch their nose to and (rarely) consume it.They also lick each others mouths and anal areas and chew on toys that other pets have been chewing on.I understand that some diseases are airborne and do not require direct contact with other pets and that infectious pets are often not obviously infectious.I understand that my pet is in a social situation much like a human day care and that infectious problems are impossible to eliminate.I will not hold BLVC responsible for any infectious disease my pet might pick up while in the care of BLVC".I also asked her that if she got sick from another hotel patron on her vacation would she ask the hotel to pay for treatment.Or if her child got sick at school would she ask the school to pay for it.Canine influenza is a severe,potentially pneumonia-causing disease,much like human influenza.The normal vaccination reaction usually occurs within hours and consists of a swollen face.I believe he got sick from a bug he had never encountered before since he is not usually in a social setting.I also believe that if your child got sick,the thought of asking someone else to pay for treatment would be ludicrous.People are not used to their dogs being around other dogs and getting sick just as they do at work and their kids do at school.