BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming

This Business is not BBB accredited

Summit Vacations (old owner)

  View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Summit Vacations (old owner) include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Summit Vacations (old owner)
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 06, 2006 Business started: 03/01/2005 Business started locally: 03/01/2005 Business incorporated: 03/01/2005 in CO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Daniel Spencer, old Owner Ms. Nancy Millard, Manager Mr. Jeff Zallats, New Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Nancy Millard, Manager
Principal: Mr. Daniel Spencer, old Owner
Business Category

Vacation Rental Companies Vacation Time Share

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses


Complaint Detail(s)

11/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Summit Vacations does not offer refunds when forcing a guest to move to anothe r unit and the guest says no. Summit Vacations notified us via voice mail (from ***), 30 days after our reservation of a specific condo unit, that it was no longer available. We made the reservation on 10/08/2012 and the voice mail was left 11/9/2012. It stated the unit was sold and they we could not lodge there. They offered another unit in a different building on the 2nd floor. The voice mail asked if this was ok with us. The date of reservation is 11/21/12-11/25/2012, Thanksgiving. We called back and spoke with ***, a reservation agent, and said no it is not ok for us to be moved. We requested a full refund. *** proceeded to say that he could not do that because they have the right to move a guest anytime, for any reason. I told him that was against consumer protection, and we wanted a refund. He said he would get back to me in a few days. I said call me in 1 hour. He called back and left a voice mail of another unit available and said that his manager would not authorize a refund. We called back and said no this was not ok and asked for the managers name, ****** ******. Asked to speak with her and she was now gone until Monday, 11/12. *** said I would need to speak with her as she has been there longer and dealt with these issues. There seemed to be no concern this was Thanksgiving, we had a history/tradition of staying at this specific unit on Thanksgiving for many years. No urgency to resolve.

Desired Settlement: A full refund of $1263.55, what we paid in advance for the unit.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2012/11/15) */ Guests who book online must agree to the term of our Rental Agreement, including item #4 copied here: 9) Unit Availability can change without notice, due to unforeseen circumstances. Summit Vacations reserves the right to move any guest, at any time, for any reason, to comparable accommodations, at no extra charge to the guest. The specific property in question did indeed become unavailable and we immediately contact the guest with this information and offered another property. We apologize for any confusion as to who was promised a call back and when. Happily, we were ultimately able to satisfy this customer. Once again, we apologize for any communication breakdown.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/8/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Comments: Last yr I rented a condo through Summit Vacations. They sent me an email of 5% off for repeat Bus. Now they won't allow it for this Jan. Comments: Last winter I rented a condo through Summit Vacations. After I returned home, they sent me an email offering a 5% repeat business discount on my next rental. Last Fri., 11/2/12, I rented a condo in Breckenridge through them for Jan. 1/22/13-1/29/13 and now they won't allow the discount. The advertised cost on their website was $1470.10 for that condo, ****************, and week. So I expected a 5% discount on that. At first the said they would allow it and then they said because I received a 7 day discount they won't allow the additional 5% discount. No where in their 5% offer or on their website did they mention this exception. Their word cannot be trusted. Can you help? Thanks, ******

Desired Settlement: I would like the 5% discount applied to the $1470.10 cost.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2012/11/06) */ We do not offer doubled up discounts, however we will contact the customer and refund 5% from the standard rental rate. Consumer Response /* (-5, 7, 2012/11/06) */ From: ****** ****** (mailto:*****@yahoo.com) Sent: Tuesday, November 06, 2012 9:39 AM To: *****@bbb-email.org Subject: Fw: Thanks for staying with us in Breckenridge! Here is the offer they sent me. Case #XXXXXXXX. It doesn't say that it doesn't apply to a 7 day reservation. Thanks, ****** ----- Forwarded Message ----- From: Summit Vacations <*****@SUMMITVACATIONS.NET> To: *****@yahoo.com Sent: Thursday, April 12, 2012 1:12 AM Subject: Thanks for staying with us in Breckenridge! WE APPRECIATE YOUR BUSINESS! Customer Service, Great Prices & Large Selection of Properties 1.866.SKI.BRCK (1.866.754.2725) http://mail.blazeletter.com/link.php?M=XXXXX&N=10&uid=4335&L=1&F=H Thanks , For choosing Summit Vacations for your lodging needs. I hope you enjoyed your stay at Breckenridge. Your satisfaction is our highest priority. We aim to please and want to earn your repeat business. To show our appreciation, we are offering a 5% repeat customer discount. Use coupon code REPEAT in your shopping cart when checking out. Thank you for your business, Summit Vacations

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/2/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1