Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Ski.Com?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ski.Com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ski.Com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Ski.Com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 26, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1971 Business started locally: 01/01/1971 Business incorporated: 07/20/1984 in CO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Kris McKinnon, VP Marketing Ms. Becky Belefski, Manager of Customer Service
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Becky Belefski, Manager of Customer Service
Principal: Ms. Kris McKinnon, VP Marketing
Business Category

Vacation Rentals Ski Tour Companies Tour Promoters Travel Agencies & Bureaus Hotel Reservation Companies

Alternate Business Names
S & L Travel Partners Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Ski.Com has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 525-2052(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Booked a 'three bedroom deluxe' vacation rental through ski.com and made full $6,000 payment in advance. Upon arrival the third bedroom did not have beds, but rather four bunks. The bunks were extremely uncomfortable for the adult guests. A complaint was made to management upon arrival but there was not follow up from them (despite promises that they would do so). We then contacted American Express (the credit card used to book the reservation). We finally received a response from ski.com that the unit we rented was privately owned and the owner did not properly inform management that they changed out the beds in the room to bunks. While ski.com apologized, they refused to make a partial refund or seek out alternate accommodations for us because ski.com claimed that 'the configuration of beds' was not guaranteed. 1) The invoice we made full payment against in good faith to Ski.com does not state that the 'bed configuration is NOT guaranteed'. It DOES state that if the accommodation is not available, that it can be changed to EQUAL or BETTER at ski.com's discretion. Ski.com did not provide the accommodation we paid for, will not make a refund, and will not find us alternate accommodation of any kind. We believe we were fraudulently induced to book the rental. We believe that Ski.com failed their contractual duty (stated on invoice) to find us equal to or better than the accommodation we booked. 2) Bunks are not an issue of 'configuration'. No reasonable person books luxury 'deluxe' accommodation (at over $1,000 per night) with the expectation that there are no beds but rather bunks. 3) Management on arrival was very much aware of the bunks in the rooms. The argument that they were not informed is dishonest. 4) Management was aware of the SPECIFIC unit (***) that was reserved months ago. They were also are that the guests would be five adults. No attempt was made to contact us to say that the third bedroom would not have beds but rather bunks.

Desired Settlement: A refund for the 3rd bedroom that was not 'deluxe three bedroom' we paid for. The difference between a 3 & 4 bedroom accommodation at the property is $630/night (there are no 2 bedrooms units to compare). We would nonetheless be receptive to a settlement that breaks the total rental amount into thirds. Since we paid $6207, one third of this (for one of three bedrooms) equals $2069. We also request a written note that ski.com will not mislead future guests as they did us.

Business Response: We are terribly sorry the customer was not happy with her accommodations.  This unfortunately was something completely out of our control at Ski.com.  **** ****** Lodging did honor our request for the specific unit #*** at ***** *****, which they also had stated to us had a king, queen, 2 twins (and photos on their website also showed this bedding).    On the lodging voucher that we sent to the clients  there is a notation of  “Request for king/queen/2 twins” .  Never used the word  “guarantee”. 
 
I don’t know what we could have done any differently?  And – without **** ****** Lodging offering some type of refund or compensation there is nothing we can do.
 
The only email correspondences that we have is from the travel agent on this one shows the following input from the clients.  *** had told us over the phone that they wanted a 3 bedroom unit for the 2 of them, and that they then had other people coming and going during their stay.  So, having 2 beds in the 3rd bedroom was definitely what they wanted (but we really don’t know how having 2 twins vs 2 bunks is such a huge issue if only 2 people were ever going to be in that room in the 1st place)?  
 
Again everything we offer the customer is on request and we never, because we can't guarantee bedding. 

***** ********, Director of Customer Service

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

**** ****** Lodging management says that ski.com was aware that the unit did not have beds in the third bedroom....and that it only had bunks.....for over a year.  Ski.com has an obligation to its customer.  Their response indicates that they want to pass the buck.....**** ****** lodging's relationship with it's vendor (**** ****** Lodging) is of absolutely no interest to the customer.  And if they really had an issue with their vendor handled this,  why didn't they deal with it, while we were still in residence?

The customer's contract for lodging is with ski.com, not with deer valley lodging....per the agreement we attached with our original complaint. We made all payments to Ski.com, not deer valley lodging.  Ski.com needs to honor the terms of their agreement.  To date, all they are doing is 'passing the buck'.

Ski.com's excuse rests on the ludicrous notion that they do not need to honor a reservation because our use of third bedroom (they claims)  was not clearly defined.   Using this same logic,  if we liked a four bedroom unit but indicated that only one person would occupy it, then ski.com would only have to furnish a one bedroom unit for a single occupant. Common; this is just plain out dishonest,  disingenuous  and lacking in any integrity.  We paid for a luxury three bedroom unit with bunks--not beds.  There is no standard in the hospitality industry throughout the world where a room with bunks is acceptable, especially when paying thousands of dollars.

******* *********

Business Response: Once again we are very sorry Ms. ********* was not happy with her accommodations.  As you read through the comments from both ski.com and ***** ***** below you will see we have never “passed the buck”, or been “disingenuous, dishonest and lacked integrity”!  
Ms. *********’s original request was for a 3 or 4 bedroom unit.  We had found a couple of 4 bedroom options, but then the she inquired specifically about ***** *****.  **** ****** Lodging had a 3 bedroom/3 bath ***** ***** unit available with the bedding of a king/queen/2 twins/sofa sleeper- Unit #***.  We looked at unit specific photos on their website and the 2 twin beds are clearly shown.  (***These photos and the bedding stating 2 twins which happen to still show on **** ****** Lodgings website this morning for ***** lodge #******).
We made the reservation with ******** at **** ****** Lodging on October 9.  ******** offered unit #*** as he showed this unit with the specific bedding of a king/queen/2 twins plus a sofa sleeper.  They even put a “Do Not Move Request” on their notes. We then stated in all the paperwork that we sent to the travel agent – “REQUEST UNIT WITH KING/QUEEN/2 TWINS” so that verbiage shows up on the confirmation and the lodging voucher.   **** ****** Lodging was able to honor the request for Unit #***, but as ***** *****, our travel agent liaison, found out in her discussions with the company, somewhere along the line the homeowner had switched from 2 twins in the 3rd bedroom to 2 sets of twin bunk beds.  While this is obviously unfortunate and not what anyone had expected (including ** Lodging obviously), the 3rd bedroom still functions as a true bedroom and twin bunk beds are still definitely real beds.  
The client booked and stayed in a deluxe 3 bedroom/3 bath unit, just one with 2 sets of twin bunk beds, instead of a unit with 2 twin beds.  There are a vast number of very high end, deluxe to luxury residences in all of ski country that offer at least one bedroom with bunk beds.  And, as these units are all individually owned, the homeowner has the right to purchase and put in the bedding of their own choice.  It is very unfortunate that the bedding change had not been relayed to the property management company.  But, it is obvious from the **** ****** Lodging website that they only knew of the bedding of 2 twin beds.  And – Ski.com certainly never had any way of having this information (particularly since 2 twin beds still are shown in the photos of Unit #***).
I know that if they had any other 3 bedroom units to move them to, The ***** ***** would have done so.  But, this was over Sundance Film Festival when the area is virtually sold out.
 BBB-here is the response from the ***** ***** regarding this customer service issue:  ***** ***** *** was requested for this guest with a Do Not Move, and it never was. Unfortunately, the owner changed the bedding sometime after this reservation was booked and never notified anyone. However, it went from being 2 twins to two sets of bunks, one being a twin/twin bunk, and one being a full/twin bunk. So the room had 4 beds instead of only two. This made the guest extremely unhappy for some reason. We did not know the bedding had been changed until this guest made us aware of it. There were no other units to move them to because everything was sold out. Bunks are still real beds, and there were still two bottom beds, one a full and one a twin. There was certainly nothing dishonest about this. They still received two beds, plus two extra beds in the 3rd bedroom. Also, all of our confirmations state that bedding and units are not guaranteed, and this is one of the reasons why. Second Response:  Hi *******,
I also looked at guest history for this guest because that name sounded familiar. She booked with us directly last year, (well, actually her assistant booked it for her with us), and they tried claiming that they had requested 2 beds in the fourth bedroom, when they had been told that the only condo left had 4 kings. I pulled the call and let them know the conversation was recorded, and they were specifically told there would be 4 kings. They had to drop their argument on that one. 

Lastly Ms. *********, – we do actually have this wording on our confirmations – which states that  “photos and descriptions are “representative” and furnishings may vary”, and that the providers have the right to change assigned accommodations.   We might want to get more specific wording in the future, but at least we do have something in our verbiage.  This info is directly from the ********* confirmation:
**** ****** Resort - ***** ***** Three Bedroom Deluxe- Request King/Queen/2 Twins/Sofa Sleeper 
Discount of $1345.00 included in price. Click here for property details. Photos and descriptions are representative of the property in general. Interior finishes and furnishings may vary by room and unit type.
Lodging sales tax included
The price MAY NOT include all applicable service fees, regulatory surcharges or charges for optional incidentals such as parking, minibar snacks or telephone calls. The lodging facility will assess these fees, charges and surcharges upon check-out. Accommodations providers want us to remind you that they reserve the right to change 'assigned' accommodations with the equivalent or better in their reasonable discretion.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The contract was with Ski.com and the $6,000 payment was made to ski.com.  Ski.com has a responsibility to the consumer which they are 'passing the buck' on.

I appreciate that Ski.com is acknowledging that the condo we rented was misrepresented on the website.  Now I have to ask, why they are not doing something about this except blaming the consumer?

I disagree that bunks are the same as two beds in a very expensive luxury rental.  Please see attached photo depicting the manner in which this 'furniture' has been crammed into the room.  This is not  a 'standard'  hospitality industry accommodation.

Finally,  I am attaching the invoice we paid against which clearly indicates 2 beds in the third bedroom.  There is not a single mention of the bedding not being guaranteed....only that the accommodation provided will be the same or better.  Ski.com did absolutely nothing to find us alternative lodging. 

Regards,

******* *********

4/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I booked a trip did not take travel insurance . Daughter got pneumonia wanted to reschedule they wouldn't but in their terms it sAys i can Tried to reschedule tri

Desired Settlement: Rescheduled trip

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/04/16) */ Customer called to cancel a completely non-refundable trip 60 hours before trip was to begin. We spoke via email and phone many times over the next few days working to refund what we could for him even though it was clear it was non-refundable. We told customer we would try to reschedule the trip for him once we received a note from the doctor regarding his daughter's pneumonia. The customer never responded to that request and did travel as originally planned. Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/04/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) they did not try to reschedule for me it is an out right lie! nor did they ask me for a doctors note which I can and will supply to you if you would like it. we tried many times through calls and e-mails to reschedule and the would do nothing . in their terms of agreement it states you can reschedule and they would not . they also tried scaring me buy saying they were going to turn it over to their lawyer's we had to go minus are daughter because they wouldn't reschedule which is an option in their terms of agreement Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/04/18) */ We are terribly sorry the customer does not feel we tried to help. By canceling on a Friday night at 5pm it made it very difficult for us to get definitive answers for him on his lodging component until Monday when his trip was to leave. I not only left a voicemail message with him requesting a letter from the DR. regarding his daughter's illness but you will see in the attached email string that I also requested it in writing on 3/23 at 803p. We felt that if we could provide this to the lodge on Monday morning they would be more likely to allow a credit for future stay the next season. This is something that ski.com could not promise until we spoke with the property. When we didn't hear back from the customer by 3pm on Sunday as we requested we checked his airline reservation and it showed that all three in his party including his daughter checked in for the flight. After another message to the customer which was never returned we assumed they had decided to take their vacation. Once again ski.com is extremely sorry the customer doesn't feel like we were willing to help. We spent hours over the weekend responding to emails and voicemails from the customer trying to get this resolved. Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2013/04/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Once again is says right in there terms that you can reschedule they said they couldn't guarantee the room so how did they try to help me ? I wanted to reschedule and they would not help. Me .I called all the vendors involved and the said they would do it as long as ski . Com contacted them since the booked it . They made absolutely no effort to reschedule it as I was allowed in the terms in there e- mails Business Response /* (-10, 19, 2013/04/24) */ I never received the ability to attach documents so I am sending a fax to include these as promised.

11/23/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Possible bait and switch I was booking online and had a question about a difference in room size. suite versus regular. Agent tried to up sell me into a more expensive lodging. I declined the up grade and then Agent asked me to allow them to book the lodging as they would get a commission and I understood they would match the price ($557 including resort fees) of webpage I was looking at. I was told the total price and sent an agreement to sign that quoted the price correctly but mis-quoted the insurance for cancellation and characterized the lodging as a package. The direct website had resort fees and taxes included and I was sent an agreement that was ambiguous in regard to these fees. Better stated that I had to read into it. I then received a call at my residence from the Agent requesting me to sign the agreement as they were off soon and didn't want to hang around. I signed the agreement and slept on the issue. I requested clarification from this Agent as to what exactly was included in the total as related on the ******. They responded with a terse email that they were uncomfortable and the owner of the Company told them to give me a full refund. I thought that was in order as well and I informed them to tell the owner that there are laws about bait and switch and our business was concluded and to remove my personal information from their records and not to contact me anymore. I then received another email insulting me. While the refund remedied the immediate situation I feel compelled to tell others of the poor Customer Service and heavy handed tactics and want the Company to acknowledge that they ****** remove my personal information and have the Agent stop sending me emails!

Desired Settlement: Have this Company acknowledge that they ****** remove my personal information, they ****** not to disseminate my personal information and to not contact me in any way.

Business Response: Consumer Response /* (-5, 2, 2012/10/20) */ To clarify: I was online (keystoneresort.com) on the webpage and then called the number on that webpage to get questions answered. Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2012/11/15) */ Der Sirs, This complaint centers around the customer not recognizing that resort fees and taxes were an additional dollar amount. We do acknowledge that in some areas of the website it is not prominently displayed that a resort fee ****** apply to the reservation and ****** show on the confirmation, however it is there. We believe that Mr. ****** may have overlooked and did not notice the fee advisory. We try to make sure that the booking process is trouble free and easy for our customers to use. We regret that Mr. ****** had difficulty with our booking process. We do try to learn from these types of issues and we have made changes to our website to make the fact that resort fees are more prominently displayed. We did acknowledge that Mr. ****** had difficulty with our booking process and did refund all monies that he had paid. We hope that Mr. ****** ****** give us another try in the future. Thank you, Sincerely, ****** ****** Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2012/11/16) */ SKI.COM has removed Mr. ******'s name from all future e-mail correspondence and his mailing address as well as requested. Thank you, ****** ******

7/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service