Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ski.Com

Phone: (970) 925-9500 Fax: (970) 429-2587 View Additional Phone Numbers 210 Aabc Ste AA, Aspen, CO 81611 http://www.ski.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ski.Com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Ski.Com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Ski.Com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 26, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1971 Business started locally: 01/01/1971 Business incorporated 07/20/1984 in CO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Kris McKinnon, VP Marketing Ms. Becky Belefski, Manager of Customer Service
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Becky Belefski, Manager of Customer Service
Principal: Ms. Kris McKinnon, VP Marketing
Business Category

Vacation Rentals Ski Tour Companies Tour Promoters Travel Agencies & Bureaus Hotel Reservation Companies

Alternate Business Names
S & L Travel Partners Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Ski.Com has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Booked a 'three bedroom deluxe' vacation rental through ski.com and made full $6,000 payment in advance. Upon arrival the third bedroom did not have beds, but rather four bunks. The bunks were extremely uncomfortable for the adult guests. A complaint was made to management upon arrival but there was not follow up from them (despite promises that they would do so). We then contacted American Express (the credit card used to book the reservation). We finally received a response from ski.com that the unit we rented was privately owned and the owner did not properly inform management that they changed out the beds in the room to bunks. While ski.com apologized, they refused to make a partial refund or seek out alternate accommodations for us because ski.com claimed that 'the configuration of beds' was not guaranteed. 1) The invoice we made full payment against in good faith to Ski.com does not state that the 'bed configuration is NOT guaranteed'. It DOES state that if the accommodation is not available, that it can be changed to EQUAL or BETTER at ski.com's discretion. Ski.com did not provide the accommodation we paid for, will not make a refund, and will not find us alternate accommodation of any kind. We believe we were fraudulently induced to book the rental. We believe that Ski.com failed their contractual duty (stated on invoice) to find us equal to or better than the accommodation we booked. 2) Bunks are not an issue of 'configuration'. No reasonable person books luxury 'deluxe' accommodation (at over $1,000 per night) with the expectation that there are no beds but rather bunks. 3) Management on arrival was very much aware of the bunks in the rooms. The argument that they were not informed is dishonest. 4) Management was aware of the SPECIFIC unit (***) that was reserved months ago. They were also are that the guests would be five adults. No attempt was made to contact us to say that the third bedroom would not have beds but rather bunks.

Desired Settlement: A refund for the 3rd bedroom that was not 'deluxe three bedroom' we paid for. The difference between a 3 & 4 bedroom accommodation at the property is $630/night (there are no 2 bedrooms units to compare). We would nonetheless be receptive to a settlement that breaks the total rental amount into thirds. Since we paid $6207, one third of this (for one of three bedrooms) equals $2069. We also request a written note that ski.com will not mislead future guests as they did us.

Business Response: We are terribly sorry the customer was not happy with her accommodations.  This unfortunately was something completely out of our control at Ski.com.  **** ****** Lodging did honor our request for the specific unit #*** at ***** *****, which they also had stated to us had a king, queen, 2 twins (and photos on their website also showed this bedding).    On the lodging voucher that we sent to the clients  there is a notation of  “Request for king/queen/2 twins” .  Never used the word  “guarantee”. 
 
I don’t know what we could have done any differently?  And – without **** ****** Lodging offering some type of refund or compensation there is nothing we can do.
 
The only email correspondences that we have is from the travel agent on this one shows the following input from the clients.  *** had told us over the phone that they wanted a 3 bedroom unit for the 2 of them, and that they then had other people coming and going during their stay.  So, having 2 beds in the 3rd bedroom was definitely what they wanted (but we really don’t know how having 2 twins vs 2 bunks is such a huge issue if only 2 people were ever going to be in that room in the 1st place)?  
 
Again everything we offer the customer is on request and we never, because we can't guarantee bedding. 

***** ********, Director of Customer Service

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

**** ****** Lodging management says that ski.com was aware that the unit did not have beds in the third bedroom....and that it only had bunks.....for over a year.  Ski.com has an obligation to its customer.  Their response indicates that they want to pass the buck.....**** ****** lodging's relationship with it's vendor (**** ****** Lodging) is of absolutely no interest to the customer.  And if they really had an issue with their vendor handled this,  why didn't they deal with it, while we were still in residence?

The customer's contract for lodging is with ski.com, not with deer valley lodging....per the agreement we attached with our original complaint. We made all payments to Ski.com, not deer valley lodging.  Ski.com needs to honor the terms of their agreement.  To date, all they are doing is 'passing the buck'.

Ski.com's excuse rests on the ludicrous notion that they do not need to honor a reservation because our use of third bedroom (they claims)  was not clearly defined.   Using this same logic,  if we liked a four bedroom unit but indicated that only one person would occupy it, then ski.com would only have to furnish a one bedroom unit for a single occupant. Common; this is just plain out dishonest,  disingenuous  and lacking in any integrity.  We paid for a luxury three bedroom unit with bunks--not beds.  There is no standard in the hospitality industry throughout the world where a room with bunks is acceptable, especially when paying thousands of dollars.

******* *********

Business Response: Once again we are very sorry Ms. ********* was not happy with her accommodations.  As you read through the comments from both ski.com and ***** ***** below you will see we have never “passed the buck”, or been “disingenuous, dishonest and lacked integrity”!  
Ms. *********’s original request was for a 3 or 4 bedroom unit.  We had found a couple of 4 bedroom options, but then the she inquired specifically about ***** *****.  **** ****** Lodging had a 3 bedroom/3 bath ***** ***** unit available with the bedding of a king/queen/2 twins/sofa sleeper- Unit #***.  We looked at unit specific photos on their website and the 2 twin beds are clearly shown.  (***These photos and the bedding stating 2 twins which happen to still show on **** ****** Lodgings website this morning for ***** lodge #******).
We made the reservation with ******** at **** ****** Lodging on October 9.  ******** offered unit #*** as he showed this unit with the specific bedding of a king/queen/2 twins plus a sofa sleeper.  They even put a “Do Not Move Request” on their notes. We then stated in all the paperwork that we sent to the travel agent – “REQUEST UNIT WITH KING/QUEEN/2 TWINS” so that verbiage shows up on the confirmation and the lodging voucher.   **** ****** Lodging was able to honor the request for Unit #***, but as ***** *****, our travel agent liaison, found out in her discussions with the company, somewhere along the line the homeowner had switched from 2 twins in the 3rd bedroom to 2 sets of twin bunk beds.  While this is obviously unfortunate and not what anyone had expected (including ** Lodging obviously), the 3rd bedroom still functions as a true bedroom and twin bunk beds are still definitely real beds.  
The client booked and stayed in a deluxe 3 bedroom/3 bath unit, just one with 2 sets of twin bunk beds, instead of a unit with 2 twin beds.  There are a vast number of very high end, deluxe to luxury residences in all of ski country that offer at least one bedroom with bunk beds.  And, as these units are all individually owned, the homeowner has the right to purchase and put in the bedding of their own choice.  It is very unfortunate that the bedding change had not been relayed to the property management company.  But, it is obvious from the **** ****** Lodging website that they only knew of the bedding of 2 twin beds.  And – Ski.com certainly never had any way of having this information (particularly since 2 twin beds still are shown in the photos of Unit #***).
I know that if they had any other 3 bedroom units to move them to, The ***** ***** would have done so.  But, this was over Sundance Film Festival when the area is virtually sold out.
 BBB-here is the response from the ***** ***** regarding this customer service issue:  ***** ***** *** was requested for this guest with a Do Not Move, and it never was. Unfortunately, the owner changed the bedding sometime after this reservation was booked and never notified anyone. However, it went from being 2 twins to two sets of bunks, one being a twin/twin bunk, and one being a full/twin bunk. So the room had 4 beds instead of only two. This made the guest extremely unhappy for some reason. We did not know the bedding had been changed until this guest made us aware of it. There were no other units to move them to because everything was sold out. Bunks are still real beds, and there were still two bottom beds, one a full and one a twin. There was certainly nothing dishonest about this. They still received two beds, plus two extra beds in the 3rd bedroom. Also, all of our confirmations state that bedding and units are not guaranteed, and this is one of the reasons why. Second Response:  Hi *******,
I also looked at guest history for this guest because that name sounded familiar. She booked with us directly last year, (well, actually her assistant booked it for her with us), and they tried claiming that they had requested 2 beds in the fourth bedroom, when they had been told that the only condo left had 4 kings. I pulled the call and let them know the conversation was recorded, and they were specifically told there would be 4 kings. They had to drop their argument on that one. 

Lastly Ms. *********, – we do actually have this wording on our confirmations – which states that  “photos and descriptions are “representative” and furnishings may vary”, and that the providers have the right to change assigned accommodations.   We might want to get more specific wording in the future, but at least we do have something in our verbiage.  This info is directly from the ********* confirmation:
**** ****** Resort - ***** ***** Three Bedroom Deluxe- Request King/Queen/2 Twins/Sofa Sleeper 
Discount of $1345.00 included in price. Click here for property details. Photos and descriptions are representative of the property in general. Interior finishes and furnishings may vary by room and unit type.
Lodging sales tax included
The price MAY NOT include all applicable service fees, regulatory surcharges or charges for optional incidentals such as parking, minibar snacks or telephone calls. The lodging facility will assess these fees, charges and surcharges upon check-out. Accommodations providers want us to remind you that they reserve the right to change 'assigned' accommodations with the equivalent or better in their reasonable discretion.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The contract was with Ski.com and the $6,000 payment was made to ski.com.  Ski.com has a responsibility to the consumer which they are 'passing the buck' on.

I appreciate that Ski.com is acknowledging that the condo we rented was misrepresented on the website.  Now I have to ask, why they are not doing something about this except blaming the consumer?

I disagree that bunks are the same as two beds in a very expensive luxury rental.  Please see attached photo depicting the manner in which this 'furniture' has been crammed into the room.  This is not  a 'standard'  hospitality industry accommodation.

Finally,  I am attaching the invoice we paid against which clearly indicates 2 beds in the third bedroom.  There is not a single mention of the bedding not being guaranteed....only that the accommodation provided will be the same or better.  Ski.com did absolutely nothing to find us alternative lodging. 

Regards,

******* *********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Ski.Com
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart