BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Second Home Vacation Rentals?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Second Home Vacation Rentals

Additional Locations

Phone: (719) 836-7039 Fax: (303) 964-0106 View Additional Phone Numbers 29 S Main St, Alma, CO 80420 http://www.secondhomesecondchance.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Second Home Vacation Rentals meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Second Home Vacation Rentals include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Second Home Vacation Rentals
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 26, 2009 Business started: 06/01/2007 Business started locally: 06/01/2007 Business incorporated: 06/13/2008 in CO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Susan Bigham, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Susan Bigham, Owner
Business Category

Vacation Rental Companies

Alternate Business Names
Second Home Second Chance Real Estate & Property Mgmt LLC

Additional Locations

  • 29 S Main St

    Alma, CO 80420 (719) 836-7039 (720) 371-2763 (719) 836-0124

  • PO Box 426

    Alma, CO 80420

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (719) 836-0124(Phone)
  • (720) 371-2763(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We rented a home called *** *** and have been repeat customers for SHSC. We stayed at *** *** for the weekend of 3/21. On our second night, the heat stopped working. We tried to start a fire, but the instructions for the wood pellet heater were not accurate. Furthermore the hot tub malfunctioned and would not stay on. I notified ***** and she offered a refund for the night. I let her know we would bundle up and power through; we had 3 kids and a dog and that I would and that, if it got too cold, we would call. Moving would have been tough. It was 50 degrees when we woke up and we scooted out for our trip home. ***** promised us, in writing, a discount on this or any other home we wanted to rent in the future. Less than 3 weeks later, I contacted her about renting another home. She reneged on her commitment. She claimed that nothing was wrong when she got there. She claimed she could only offer a discount on that same house. She claimed no one else had ever had a problem. She claimed that she could only offer a discount on the same house. I'm not a nitpicker, but it's also worth mentioning that the house was pretty dirty when we arrived. The cleaning fee is not cheap and so I think it's fair to expect that it will be clean when a new guest arrives.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the $250 for that night, plus the taxes and credit card fees for that charge.

Business Response: The customer called in the evening and I offered to move him if the heat was not working. He did not want to move so I walked him through getting the pellet stove going which he said was working as we were on the phone. I told him if there was a problem with  the heater that I would give him a refund for the night. When the maid  arrived right after his arrival the next morning, the temp on the thermostat was on 70 degrees and it was so hot that she had to turn it down before cleaning the home (email from the maid is attached). The pellet stove had been used as well and was still warm. I sent Him an email explaining that the pellet stove will warm up the house so warm that the heater will not kick on because the room where the thermostat is would not be cold enough. The homeowner was there 2 days prior this rental and had absolutely no problems and the renter after him had absolutely no problems.

After speaking with the homeowner and explaining what happened, we decided to go ahead and still offer him a free night even though there was nothing wrong with the heater. He later emailed me and wanted a free night at a different home. I explained that the free night had to be at the same home as the homeowner had agreed to it even though there was really nothing wrong with the heater. In anger he started threatening to do this and that to retaliate against not getting what he wanted. I believe in customer satisfaction but only if honesty is involved. I do not believe in giving into scams where someone is trying to get something for nothing with threats. I do think he was cold but it is because he had the pellet stove on and it warmed the room with the thermostat and made the other rooms cold. If you have no experience with fireplaces or wood stoves, it can happen. For that reason, I still stand by the offer of a free night with a stay at this home where the homeowner has agreed to allow him to stay for free. This is a $250 value good only for this home. He also had the option to move to a different home no questions asked but he elected not to. I have also attached his email with the text message stating that the home was warmer than 50 and he did not want compensation. The home had just been cleaned prior to his arrival. She cleaned after the homeowner left 2 days earlier. No mention of the home being dirty was made until he did not get his way. Again - Honesty  goes a lot farther than trying to get something by threats.

Business Response: The offer made to give the renter $250 was based on the fact that he said the heater did not work. We know that it did and it was in fact because they had the pellet stove on. We have offered the free night at *** *** and are still willing to give him that but that it our last and only offer. If you refer to the text he himself said the house was much warmer than 50 degrees. He elected not to move and there was nothing wrong with the heater. Three different people as well as the owner and the next renter confirmed that.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
The owner is not honoring the offer that they said they would honor and the owner is not being honest with the facts.  We're stuck in a he-said, she-said situation here and all I can appeal to is the owner's own words.  She offered us an option without qualification and the changed her tune.  We had 9 people in the house that evening that can verify my story. I can provide countless character references that will vouch for my honesty and integrity. 

It seems pretty simple to me.  The heat didn't work.  She offered something to which I agreed.  She changed her mind without having told me that that was a possibility.  She is lying (about the pellet stove) to cover herself.  

I am not interested in staying a night at that house again.  I need a refund to consider this resolved.

Regards,

**** ********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

5/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unprofessional service. Refusal to refund due to an emergency situation. We rented a home from this business for the dates of January 26 - Feb 3, 2013. Upon arrival at the home, we learned that we were misinformed about the property and the issue of many stairs. The lock box was problematic and we were not informed prior to our stay that we would be required to sweep and vacuum daily on our vacation. We had no internet service, as we were promised. Furthermore, there were no open restaurants within a 25 mile radius and we had to travel treacherous roads to get there. We were given terrible directions and got very lost in very cold weather and darkness upon us. When we contacted the owner for resolution, we were treated rudely and without compassion. We received a phone call from a bill collector for the owner of the house during our stay. The home had a beautiful fireplace but in order to use it, we were required to completely clean it at the end of our stay. This was our vacation - the time to not clean but to rest and relax. We were also without cell phone reception. This was a nightmare experience. Due to the stair issue my Delta Certified Therapy dog tore both his ACLs. He is my emotional support dog as I have Barrett's disease. I became quite ill over the anxiety caused by all of this and we ultimately ended up vacating the home after only 2 days and 1 night. We paid for 7 days, in advance of our stay. This was a true emergency in that we needed to get our dog home for medical assistance and me home for rest and healing. The owner of this company refused to refund any of our hard earned money for time not spent at the rental. There is nothing in the contract regarding emergencies and how they are to be handled with regards to refunds. In addition, we were charged a credit card fee even though we paid by check. I have asked for information for her attorney in an attempt to resolve this issue. I have not heard from her in response. This company did not behave professionally in any sense. Our vacation was a disaster and we were not compensated in any way.

Desired Settlement: We stayed a total of 2 days of the 7 days that we paid for at $200.00 per day. It would stand to reason that we would receive compensation for the days that we were not there. That would come to $1,000.00. However, since I understand that we did commit (although under false pretense), I am willing to consider half of that - $500.00. In addition, we should be refunded the credit card charge of $49.65 since we paid by check. In regards to the internet service - $50.00 per day for the 2 days equals an additional $100.00. The final settlement should be no less that $649.65.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/02/21) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@secondhomesecondchance.com ****** ****** signed a contract on January 6th, 2013 to stay at one of our homes. She signed a contract that states the following with regard to refunds (a file with the signed contract was submitted: All requests by the Tenant to cancel this lease must be made in writing to Owner or Agents within 60 days of the check-in date, and are subject to the property re-renting or acceptance by the Owner. All deposit money will be retained until the property is re-rented at full price. IF the property is not re-rented for full price, the rent and applicable fees (tax and processing) will be kept and the security deposit (if collected) will be refunded. The Tenant stayed at this home 2 nights so there was no refund. We did open up the calendar so that it would have a chance to re-rent but this is a very slow time of the year and thus did not re-rent. The home had to be cleaned after their stay as we clean all homes after rentals and thus the cleaning fee was not refunded. The Tenant called when she initially booked the home and asked very detailed questions about the layout. I told her exactly how the home was laid out. I told her it was 3 levels from the very start. As per the lockbox, it is one of the easiest types to open. You merely turn the dial to the 4-digit code and pull it open. It is very simple and there has never been a complaint about it. I am unsure why she felt she needed to sweep and vacuum daily. The book in the homes only states to sweep upon departure so that rocks and mud tracked in do not ruin the floors (attached is the page in the book with regard to check in and check out). The internet was not working and because of that I offered her $50 per day to compensate them for this fact (I also attached a file with the e-mail and this offer of $50 per day). I also offered to move them to a different home if they would like to move. She just said they were going to leave. There were many restaurants within 5 miles. Here are the following ones which were open and less than 5-7 miles from the home: Brown Burrow (Mexican and American)Highway 9-Fairplay The Valiton (fine dining)Highway 9 - Fairplay McCalls - Hamburgers, etc. - Front St. Fairplay Milonzi's Italian (fine dining) - Front St. Fairplay. Pizza Hut - Intersection of Hwy 9 and 285 Fairplay Subway - Highway 285 - Fairplay Mason's High Country BBQ - (BBQ) Fairplay Grub n Stuff - Highway 285 (Fast Food) Fairplay Park Bar - (Burgers & Sandwiches)Fairplay Dorothy's Homemade Tamales - Highway 285 Fairplay Java Moose (Breakfast Lunch and Dinner) FAirplay - Highway 9 In Alma which was also 5 minutes from the home there were the following restaurants: South Park Saloon (highway 9) - Wide variety including Mexican and Pizza and salads. Buckskin Joe's Pizza - Fairplay Highway 9 Alma Coffee House - Alma - Highway 9 - Breakfast and sandwiches. AOB - full variety menu - Alma, Highway 9 I have also included a file with a google map showing the distance to Fairplay and Alma. I also verified that all of these restaurants were open during their stay. Brown Burro is closed Tuesdays so that is the only exception. The roads are all county maintained and plowed daily. The driveway is maintained by a local company whose name and number has been provided. He plowed the day they checked in and plows any time there is an additional snow. As per my being rude to them. They called at 9:00 the night of check in and I stayed on the phone with them until they got to the home. I was nothing but courteous. I also helped the husband get back from the grocery store. He went to Breckenridge which is 25 minutes away because of their late arrival. I have also enclosed a file which is a copy of the driving directions. It has turn by turn and mile by mile instructions and states to pick up groceries , toiletries, and paper goods on the way to the house. It states that the Prather's grocery store in Fairplay closes at 8:30. All of our homes require the fireplace to be cleaned out upon departure. Normally it takes only 5-10 minutes. You would need to do so each day any way because of the ash and old wood build up. It is not anything unusual for those who have a fireplace. If they didn't want to use it, there was a gas fireplace in the game room. There is no cell phone service at the home and this is why the homeowner has provided a land line for the renters' use. As for the dog, the Tenant stated that he was stressed because of the stairs. He did not tear his ACL until later in their trip. I have enclosed an e-mail where the Tenant states that she does not know where or how he was injured. I gave them the name of the local veterinarian in Fairplay who sees injured animals at any time day or night. She complained that her knees hurt but the Tenant admitted to skiing each day for a half day. As an avid skiier , I know that if your are able to ski, you are able to walk up a staircase. The issues with the dog came after I confronted them with this. She stated that the dog was very old and had cancer. If this was the case, the dog should have been left with a friend or boared at a reputable dog kennel. The dog did not have to go up and down stairs. The home has a very nice game room downstairs with a fireplace. He could have stayed in the lower level. You merely have to open a sliding door or the main downstairs door to let a pet out. The renter states that she because ill due to anxiety. She told me that the DOG was ill due to anxiety and was throwing up. I have also enclosed a file with this e-mail that shows this statement. She never said she was ill a single time (not that that releases you from a contract anyway). They state that they only stayed two days and one night. I have the e-mail also showing that they stayed 2 nights. The then went and rented another home closer to Breckenridge which I feel is the real reason that they want their money back - to pay for them changing their minds on a home. If this had been a "true emergency" they would have taken the dog to the vet or left to go home after the two night stay. Instead they continued to ski and found another home closer to Breckenridge. They left to find another cabin and continue skiing which the text (enclosed) states. I have also enclosed an e-mail from the tenant that states they have left and are halfway home. That e-mail is dated February 1st which was the Friday after the Sunday they arrived. They did not leave to get emergency help for them or the dog. This is the same e-mail that first states that the dog tore an ACL (after they had vacated our home 4 days prior). It also states that she does not know when or where he tore it. We are very sympathetic to renters with emergencies and we try to deal with them case by case. This particular case could have been avoided all together or handled much differently. We also offer trip cancellation insurance which covers emergencies. Travel Guard does not even offer compensation for dogs that are sick or injured. The Tenant stated that they were paying by credit card initially and thus the contract was sent that way. They did send a check and it is correct that they should be refunded $49.65. This was the firs time that I had heard this or they had requested a refund. We would have gladly refunded this amount and the $50 per day for the internet. I offered to meet the Tenant at the office and write them a check for the internet or mail it. I also have enclosed the e-mail to this effect. The rental is however NOT refundable as the contract states. There were many options available to the Renter to handle the dog situation. It was also never mentioned that she had a disease - only that the stairs hurt her knees (after skiing). The Tenant states that I refused to offer them any refund. I did offer them $50 per night for the internet not working so that too is not true. The e-mail is again enclosed showing this. I was totally professional and always nice to them in spite of their temperament. I am willing to offer the Tenant $50 per night stayed for the internet not working as well as the refund of the credit card fee since they ended up sending a check. The total would be $149.65. Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/02/26) */ From: ****** ****** (mailto:*****@sbcglobal.net) Sent: Tuesday, February 26, 2013 9:31 AM To: 'Better Business Bureau' Subject: RE: BBB Complaint Case#XXXXXXXX(Ref#REDACT39*****@secondhomesecondchance.com38*****@secondhomesecondchance.com3130REDACT) REJECT business response for the following reasons: The real issue has yet to be addressed. We had an emergency and had to leave. The crux of matter is not the restaurants, nor all of the annoyances we suffered, but that we had an emergency. We were treated poorly by Miss ****** and received inadequate customer service. In the business owner's response, there are countless untruths, as I will now confirm. Fact: I called ****** to ensure that there would not be unduly stair climbing involved in this property. I was assured that we could live on the main floor and thus not do a lot of stairs. That is true if you do not want to watch TV or go to the master bedroom or even enter the house. Fact: Lockbox was very difficult. I am not a liar. We entered the 4 digit code multiple times and in reverse order just in case. When you look at the reviews on the Second Home Vacation Rentals website, there is a very specific complaint about the lockbox. It was cold and dark. No lights were left on for our arrival. Fact: The book stated that we were to sweep and vacuum daily. It appears as though that page has been changed since our visit. We paid $150.00 cleaning fee and still we were expected to clean. Again, I am not a liar. Fact: We were offered to move to another home with the same issues. Not a resolution. Fact: As in regards to the restaurants, ****** ****** has gone to great lengths to be misleading once again. Brown Burro - hours 6am to 2pm. We tried to go to dinner Monday night only to find that they were closed. The Valiton - again, we tried for dinner - they are closed on Mondays McCalls - is a bar and we do not frequent bars Park Bar is the same as McCalls above Milonzis Italian - again closed on Mondays Grub N Stuff - a gas station, yummm Southpark Salloon - again a bar and limited menu Buckskin Joes - closed on Monday As is very clear here, most restaurants were closed on Mondays. Monday was our only day there. We arrived late Sunday afternoon and left early Tuesday morning. Fact: We were not told that there would be no cell phone access and we were told that there would be internet access. Fact: We have a fireplace and burn many fires and do not find it necessary to clean daily. Fact: We did not find out until later in the trip that my Delta Certified Therapy dog had torn his ACL's. Fact: We did not wish to see a vet in Breckenridge. This is our God given right. To choose whom and where to seek medical advice. Fact: I had a total knee replacement last March and did not know if I would be able to ski or not. We were going to give it a try and hope for the best. Climbing stairs is painful and for this reason, we were unsure of my ability to ski. Fact: I never said that the dog is old and has cancer, as this is an absolute lie. I, the dog owner, (the human) have a rare and incurable form of cancer and was trying to tell her this. She was so busy not listening that she did not even hear me. Again, bad customer service. Fact: This is my therapy dog and accompanies me everywhere and I told her this prior to renting. Fact: We did not rent another home closer to Breckenridge and did not spend one minute skiing. This is simply not true. Fact: I found a reputable animal chiropractor in Crested Butte, Colorado. We drove 3 hours to Crested Butte on Tuesday and sought chiropractic and veterinarian care for our dog. Our dog, Bentley, was treated by the chiropractor on Wednesday. We did not ski, not on the entire trip. We were only caring for our dog and for my health. We were hoping to leave Thursday morning but he was worse so we took him to the vet. That is when we learned that he had torn his ACLs. He was heavily medicated and we packed up and started home on Friday after another trip to the vet for medication to make the 1,000 mile trip home. We stayed in Dumas, Texas Friday night and went to yet another vet on Saturday morning for more pain meds to make the last leg of the trip. Fact: Miss ****** was not courteous or sympathetic in any manner. Again, I am not a liar and do not appreciate being accused of doing so. Fact: This was a true emergency and we were treated so unsympathetically and rudely that ****** ****** did not even hear that I have cancer, not the dog. ****** ****** states that I never "said I was ill". Not true, she just did not hear me and somehow misconstrued that the dog has cancer. I have cancer and the anxiety and stress of this unfortunate mess made me very ill. Fact: On the morning of our departure, we received a phone call from a bill collector for the owner of the home. Extreme unprofessionalism. Fact: The response given by the business is false. This was an extremely unpleasant situation and a true emergency in nature and we were not given respect, consideration or sympathy, let alone professionalism. I am not going to argue or be subjected to Miss ******'s false statements. This business has the opportunity to see this as "an exception to the rule" as pointed out by the owner, herself and to do the right thing as such. I truthfully presented facts pertaining to this case. ****** ****** ******************** ********************** ********************************************************** XXX XXX XXXX *****@sbcglobal.net Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/03/04) */ I believe that I stated all of the FACTS in my response and provided legal documentation and proof that every statement was untrue with the exception of the internet not functioning. The tenant signed a legal document which very clearly stated that there are no refunds within 60 days of the check in. They could have purchased trip insurance but even that does not cover sick dogs. Unfortunately there are always people who will try to get money for any change or whim. A sick dog is an emergency for the person owning the dog but it is not a considered an emergency by any insurance or other lodging companies. With regard to the stairs she had called and asked very detailed questions so she knew exactly how the house was laid out and the pictures show that as well. Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2013/03/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) In Miss ******'s response she states that she is very sympathetic to renters with emergencies and deal with them case by case. This was an emergency and she has no sympathy. When a dog owner's dog is injured, it is an emergency for the dog owner, as well as the dog. There are so many untruths stated by her that I cannot possibly name them all here. She states that she verified all the information she sent to the BBB. Totally not true. I called each and every restaurant and verified that they were closed on the monday that we were there. The restaurants are not the issue, just pointing out that she lies and I can absolutley prove that. This is a poorly run, unprofessional business with no sympathy for it's clientele. We, the clients, deserve a partial refund. We, the clients, deserve to be treated with respect and to be told the truth. Consumer Response /* (3000, 24, 2013/04/04) */ From: Wanda Eastwood Sent: Monday, April 01, 2013 3:37 PM To: 'Better Business Bureau' Cc: Susan Bigham Subject: RE: BBB Complaint Case#46030727(Ref#38-46017671-46030727-20-8000) I understand that you have made your determination and I respect that. I don't understand how you could've overlooked the lies that were stated by Miss Bigham (i.e. that my dog is old and has cancer - when in fact, I am the one with cancer and told Miss Bigham that and that she stated that she had verified that all the restaurants that she listed were open on that Monday, when in fact, I verified that they were closed). Other facts stated by Miss Bigham were untruths, as well and I can prove that. This is a matter of being honest and showing respect to a client - not about the dog, the stairs, the restaurants or anything else that she cares to throw out. Emergencies happen to everybody and should be given reasonable consideration and compensation. In her response, Miss Bigham offered to provide us with a refund for no internet service and the fact that we did not pay by credit card and therefore deserve a refund for that. We want to know if Miss Bigham is going to issue us a check of in the amount of $149.65. This will, in no way, make up for all the untruths but we should certainly have, at the very minimum, those funds delivered to us. Wanda Eastwood Wanda Eastwood Child Care by Design Owner/ Lead Instructor Teaching the Elite of Nannies and Child Care Professionals 512 663 8484 childcarebydesign@sbcglobal.net Business Response /* (4000, 27, 2013/04/08) */ I have already provided the concrete proof of all of my statements and provided the files to back everything up that I said. The only thing I would like to add it that this entire incident was about a dog and how sick it was. The renter having cancer was never brought up at any time. I provided the emails and text messages about the dog. Nothing else was ever said until well after the rental. As the contract states, there are NO refunds inside of 60 days unless the home re-rents for the same price and number of days. The customer knew this and signed the contract with this statement. It is a legal document and contract that was entered into by both parties. A copy of that signed contract has been provided.I am willing to refund the money for the internet not working which was $50 per each day stayed at the home (2 days)as well as the $49.65 for the processing fee. This is a total of $149.65. Please let me know if they are in acceptance of this offer. Regards, Susan Bigham Consumer Response /* (3000, 24, 2013/04/04) */ From: Wanda Eastwood Sent: Monday, April 01, 2013 3:37 PM To: 'Better Business Bureau' Cc: Susan Bigham Subject: RE: BBB Complaint Case#46030727(Ref#38-46017671-46030727-20-8000) I understand that you have made your determination and I respect that. I don't understand how you could've overlooked the lies that were stated by Miss Bigham (i.e. that my dog is old and has cancer - when in fact, I am the one with cancer and told Miss Bigham that and that she stated that she had verified that all the restaurants that she listed were open on that Monday, when in fact, I verified that they were closed). Other facts stated by Miss Bigham were untruths, as well and I can prove that. This is a matter of being honest and showing respect to a client - not about the dog, the stairs, the restaurants or anything else that she cares to throw out. Emergencies happen to everybody and should be given reasonable consideration and compensation. In her response, Miss Bigham offered to provide us with a refund for no internet service and the fact that we did not pay by credit card and therefore deserve a refund for that. We want to know if Miss Bigham is going to issue us a check of in the amount of $149.65. This will, in no way, make up for all the untruths but we should certainly have, at the very minimum, those funds delivered to us. Wanda Eastwood Wanda Eastwood Child Care by Design Owner/ Lead Instructor Teaching the Elite of Nannies and Child Care Professionals 512 663 8484 childcarebydesign@sbcglobal.net Business Response /* (4000, 27, 2013/04/08) */ I have already provided the concrete proof of all of my statements and provided the files to back everything up that I said. The only thing I would like to add it that this entire incident was about a dog and how sick it was. The renter having cancer was never brought up at any time. I provided the emails and text messages about the dog. Nothing else was ever said until well after the rental. As the contract states, there are NO refunds inside of 60 days unless the home re-rents for the same price and number of days. The customer knew this and signed the contract with this statement. It is a legal document and contract that was entered into by both parties. A copy of that signed contract has been provided.I am willing to refund the money for the internet not working which was $50 per each day stayed at the home (2 days)as well as the $49.65 for the processing fee. This is a total of $149.65. Please let me know if they are in acceptance of this offer. Regards, Susan Bigham Consumer Response /* (3000, 35, 2013/04/24) */ We will accept the check in the amount of $149.65 due to us. The main issues have yet to be properly addressed. I have done all I can to resolve this matter. We will forever have a bad attitude about this business. Business Response /* (4000, 37, 2013/04/29) */ I have agreed to send the renter a check for $149.65. This check was mailed on 4/29/2013. This covers a refund for their cash payment (refund of credit card processing fee) and a partial refund for the internet not working for the 2 days they were there. This completely covers the company's financial obligation and is a fair resolution as we do not refund cancelled rentals within 60 days as per the signed contract.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1