Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Great Western Lodging LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 453-1009 Fax: (970) 453-2998 322B N Main St, Breckenridge, CO 80424 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.gwlodging.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Great Western Lodging is a vacation rental management company offering over 150 units in more than 20 Breckenridge locations.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Great Western Lodging LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Great Western Lodging LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Great Western Lodging LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 11, 2001 Business started: 05/01/1997 in CO Business started locally: 05/01/1997 Business incorporated 05/01/1997 in CO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Cospolich, General Manager & VP
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Cospolich, General Manager & VP
Business Category

Vacation Rentals

Refund and Exchange Policy
If you cancel your reservation MORE than 45 days (14 days for a summer season booking; 60 days for a Holiday booking) prior to your expected arrival date, an amount equal to your advance payment less a $100 cancellation fee will be refunded. For all cancellations made WITHIN 45 days of your arrival(or within 14 days for summer/within 60 for Holiday), all monies are forfeited. No refunds for no shows, late arrivals or early departures, regardless of road and/or weather conditions. Due to the private ownership nature of our rental properties, no exchanges or room moves allowed once within the cancellation windows.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Great Western Lodging LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 322B N Main St

    Breckenridge, CO 80424

  • PO Box 3355

    Breckenridge, CO 80424

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This business charged a fee for the security deposit, which was signed and agreed upon. The problem is they cannot provide proof of damages with time stamps of photos that they provided and I am 100% no damage was made by my party. With that being said, that argument was brought up and I made the dispute with the property management team about alleged damage to a couch cushion. At the time of damage reported, multiple requests were made for previous tenants inspection reports were requested as well as an itemized receipt for the damages repaired. Only an estimation was made, which was in my opinion, grossly overpriced for the reupholstering of a couch cushion, and this is what the charge was based off of. A request for an itemized receipt had been made. Some back story to the dispute is that they front desk attendant told us to be very careful about the damages because the previous tenants were charged their entire security deposit due to the large damages that were inflicted. This is the reasoning for requesting the damage and inspection form from the previous tenants, because if there are burn damages as well, then they are trying to pass damage onto my party from a previous tenant. They refused to provide said documentation. They did not provide any ACTUAL proof of damage and every time information was requested to validate their claim, they would not provide the information. A summary of the claim listed is the failure to provide an itemized receipt for the damages that were repaired and charged to the card. Other complaints include: customer service failed to provide assistance, the failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support, the company has failed to provide the explanation of charges and the company has unethical collection practices.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome is to A: get a refund for the damages that were not inflicted by my party, and apology from the general manager for the poor handling of the situation and confirmation of processes changes that will be implemented so that these poor business practices do not continue for others. or B: provide valid documentation that my party actually inflicted the damages to the couch cushion. This documentation required for proof would be time stamped photographs, the previous tenants itemized damage receipt and the actual inspection report from their inspectors. If the valid proof is provided that the damage was done by my party, then the dispute will be dropped, I will will apologize for wasting time. So far, no attempt has been made by the staff to resolve this dispute.

Business Response: First off, the guest issuing this complaint is not the tenant whom we have a relationship with. This is because the tenant "of record" (person whose name the reservation is under, the person who signed our check-in form and took responsibility)...in this case is a different individual. This tenant of record has not issued a complaint through the BBB, nor has he disputed the $200 credit card charge for the cushion upholstery repair. The invoice for the repair of the cushion was emailed to the tenant of record (a Mr. *******), and we did not hear back from him. I have attached it here for you as well. 

We have dedicated housekeeping inspectors who inspect the properties both before and after every departure. Our inspector is 100% certain the affected couch cushion was in proper shape and not burnt, prior to their arrival. She was in the property on the day of their departure, on January 14, 2015. At that time, since our inspection process includes checking both the top and bottom of every couch cushion, the inspector reported the burn marks on that couch cushion were present. In accordance with the signed check-in card, the tenant signed off and took responsibility for his own actions, as well of those of the occupants of the property. Therefore we charged the tenant of record (again, not this individual filing this complaint) the $200 for the repair. We do not currently use any formal property damage reports. When a staff member in the property reports damage, they email notification and we take it from there. 

The reason we have not responded timely to the individual filing this complaint is because the business relationship, and transaction for the repair of the damaged couch cushion, is not between our business and the filer of this complaint. The tenant of record who was charged has not formally lodged a complaint or disputed the charge.

I am not in agreement with this complaint, and will not be refunding the tenant of record the $200 charge. We have been in business since 1997 with an outstanding track record. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Thank you for your timely response. Attached you will find the authorization form from ******* ******* for me to be his acting agent, the original email, the original photo presented about the burnt cushion and the ONLY receipt that was sent in regards to the claim. This claim had been disputed by ******* ******* to no avail and this is when I stepped in. It frightens me that a company can do business without proper proof or validation of allegations and not keep records of these incidences and inspections. How is a property management company manage without records. This quote provided by Mr. ********* was not sent to ******* ******* or anyone from the party, this is the first time it has been seen and still not a valid proof of receipt for charging a credit card. I believe that asking for documentation from the company is fair to validate their claims and all of this documentation has been requested by ******* ******* in the past.
A resolution can be reached by either refunding the card and issuing an apology to my entire party for this claim of damage to the couch cushion or by providing valid documentation for the damages, i.e. time stamped photos, previous tenants inspection report, the inspection report from our stay and a receipt of the actual damages repaired. 

Regards,

******* *********

Business Response: I stand by my original response. The item was damaged during the time of their occupancy. The consumer claims he is certain no damage occurred during their stay. I can see how he would think that, as the cushion was most likely not intentionally damaged. However, it was left leaning against a baseboard heater, and as a result it was burnt. A receipt for the repair of the cushion was provided. A photo was also provided. Our inspectors are in the unit before and after each tenant, and are well aware of the condition of the property both before and after every reservation. I am sorry the consumer disagrees. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Great Western Lodging LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart