BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Diesel Services of Northern Colorado?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Diesel Services of Northern Colorado

Phone: (970) 221-9280 Fax: (970) 221-9286 1828 E Mulberry St Unit D, Fort Collins, CO 80524 http://www.dsnc.biz

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Diesel Services of Northern Colorado meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Diesel Services of Northern Colorado include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Diesel Services of Northern Colorado
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 04, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1998 Business started locally: 01/01/1998 Business incorporated: 01/01/1998 in CO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. MaryBeth Snyder, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. MaryBeth Snyder, Manager
Business Category

Truck Repair Shops Forklift Repair Companies Heavy Duty Equipment Repair Services Diesel Engine Suppliers Bus Repair Shops Compressors - Repair

Alternate Business Names
Northern Colorado Diesel LLC

Additional Locations

  • 1828 E Mulberry St Unit D

    Fort Collins, CO 80524 (970) 221-9280

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 7.3l Excursion into Diesel Services because it was running extremely poorly. They did a ton of diagnosing and figured out that it was gasoline in the diesel. It needed all new injectors, so they replaced those as well as my glow plugs, which were also bad. When I got it back, whenever I would steer to the hard left, it would make a grinding noise. This absolutely was not an issue when I brought it into the shop, so I brought it back for them to look at it. They told me that one of my hubs was locked, and stuck in that position. I have absolutely no clue why the four wheel drive would've been touched while it was there, but it NEVER did that when I brought it in. Also, very quickly after I got it back, the engine began to run very rough. Diesel services was extremely hard to work with, while dealing with these issues, and never stood behind there work. Now, because of the locked hub, I'm having worse and worse grinding issues. Overall, I am EXTREMELY dissatisfied with the customer service and repairs I received there, and wish I would've gone somewhere else.

Desired Settlement: Fix the wheel hub that was locked while the vehicle was in their possession. See if there are any issues with the repairs that were completed that are causing the engine to run rough.

Business Response: January 29, 2014
***** ****** **** ********* ** **** ******** ** *****

RE: BBB Business concern # *******

Good Day to You,

This letter is for the purpose of responding to your concern filed with the Better Business Bureau. We are a reputable truck repair shop, in business for 16 years with an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau. We stand behind our parts and workmanship upon notification from the customer. This is a response to your two concerns: the engine runs rough and the front end grinds when turning left.

To review your circumstance: On May 24, 2013 you brought your Excursion in to us for repair. Your complaint was that the vehicle: “has a bad idle, lags until you get to 2500 RPM.” You also reported “the glow plugs may be bad. If parked where it can’t be plugged in, it won’t start.” We verified that it wouldn’t start, and once we got it to start, it ran poorly, backfired and smoked heavily. Our computer diagnostic process indicated 6 of the 8 glow plugs were bad. We recommended the replacement of all 8 glow plugs and the controller. Only the glow plug replacement was approved. Then we found the fuel filter to have gasoline in it. It turns out the diesel fuel system was contaminated with gasoline. As we informed you at that time, gasoline can cause numerous engine problems. We have a warning on our bulletin board for our customers which say, “Should you discover that gasoline has been introduced into your diesel fuel tank, do not so much as even start your engine.  Gasoline can create so much heat in the fuel system that injectors can melt.  Call us and we can send a tow truck.  We will drain the contaminated fuel out of your tank, clear all fuel lines, change the fuel filter, and fill with fresh fuel.  It’s not worth the risk to run your engine on gas.”

Since your engine actually ran on gasoline-contaminated fuel, we suggested we do a compression test to make sure the cylinders would hold compression.  All the cylinders had acceptable compression. We then removed the bad fuel from the tank, flushed out the fuel lines, replaced the fuel filter and added fresh diesel fuel. The computer testing showed that 2 injectors were damaged. We recommended replacing all 8 since they had likely gotten too hot and would soon fail. We replaced all 8 injectors, the glow plugs, performed a level I service and ran the engine and took it for a test drive.  The engine ran well, no check engine light came on. We rechecked our work.  The vehicle did not have any grinding sounds or steering problems and it started right up. 
 We did note, however, that the horn is inoperable, the air cleaner housing, box and base is cracked and was allowing dirt and debris into the turbo.  The turbo impeller is damaged from the dirt intake and was at risk of coming apart. Turbo impellors spin at about 70,000 to 80,000 r.p.m. Should the turbo fall part while spinning that fast, it would cause severe engine damage.  We provided an estimate for the additional critical repairs. You declined and signed our typed warning.  See the attached Repair Order #300909 with your signature.

All along the way, we worked with your insurance company, Farmer’s, and they agreed to pay all but $250 of the $5195.60. You picked the truck up on June 8, 2013.

On June 20, 176 miles after the engine repairs, you brought the truck back for us to diagnose “when turning all the way to the left, feels like the tire is rubbing” and “the battery light is on in the dash”.  We tested the charging system: the batteries were good but the alternator was completely inoperable. We put the truck on a lift and inspected the front end.  We found the right front wheel hub is not disengaging. In automatic-locking hubs, particularly on Ford trucks, often the spring-loaded release can break and cause the hub to lock in. It cannot be released because it’s broken.  The hub needs to be replaced. We provided an estimate and you declined both repairs. We did not charge you for the diagnostics.

To address your “engine runs rough” concern:
1. As we informed you at the time we worked on your engine problems, there can be internal damage to a diesel engine that ran on gasoline-contaminated fuel. Hidden internal engine damage could include piston, ring, valve and cylinder damage.  There is no way to confirm the condition of the internal engine components without taking the entire engine apart. Any of these problems could be the cause of the engine running rough.
2. Your engine had been operating with a broken air cleaner assembly. Your engine could very well be “dusted”, causing it to run rough.
3. The engine is equipped with an after-market performance (power-up) chip which can cause turbo and engine damage, computer problems and run-rough conditions.
4. We could have installed a defective injector.

To address your “grinding noise when turning left” concern:
1. We already determined the right front hub assembly is broken and needs to be replaced.  Until that repair is made, it will continue to grind. We had no reason to touch your chassis or suspension while performing the engine work. These things break. Your truck is over 12 years old with 95,000 miles on it.  Rarely do the Ford automatic locking hubs last this long before breaking. 

I would like to suggest you bring the vehicle back to our shop. We will hook up the scanner and check for injector codes and follow the related testing procedure. There will be no charge for this service.  If we find defective injector(s), we will gladly replace it (them)  under our warranty.  Please call ahead so we can reserve a time to perform these diagnostics. We would like you to be happy with your truck.

Sincerely,
******** ******, Manager
Diesel Services of Northern Colorado

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my Dodge 3500 in for AC repair, it was not blowing cold. I left the vehicle for a day and a half. I stated that the system was virtually brand new. They completed repairs replaced the orifice tube and got the ac to blow cold. I then drove and in Florida it was not blowing cold air. It was doing the same thing. They just patched the problem and did not fix the problem. I paid $438 in labor, it takes 1 hour to replace orifice tube, should be $89 labor charge. Not sure what the rest was for. They did not diagnose the issue and I had to pay another $500 in Ft Myers, FL and $700 in Clear Lake City, TX to have it properly fixed.I tried to go to them directly and they will not stand by their work. They say I waited for the repairs which is not true. I had someone pick me up and drive me around for a day and a half

Desired Settlement: I would like a partial refund of the labor for the repair. The total labor is $438 and installing a orifice tube is one hour labor at $89. I will be happy with $250 I just want what is fair and go away.

Business Response:

Good Day to You, Mr. ****, 

This letter is for the purpose of responding to your above referenced letter. I have interviewed the Service Consultant who conferred with you, the Technician who worked on your truck, the diagnostic procedures for the complaint you voiced and have carefully considered all the aspects of this Repair Order # 301379. We here at Diesel Services are more than happy to refund customers if our workmanship or parts are bad, and that warranty is responsible for a good portion of our stability and success over the last 16 years. We are A+ rated with the BBB. However, in this case, I cannot find bad workmanship, a bad part or any other error made by staff. I believe under the rushed circumstances we were in due to your urgency to leave town, we provided good service. 

When you brought your truck here, you stated "the air conditioning doesn't blow cold; everything on the AC system is new". Your signature on the bottom of the write-up sheet is attached. With that information, we went about testing why the AC was blowing warm air. We found the AC system to be void of freon. Freon is what chills the AC system; without it the AC will not blow cold. We tested to find a leak, which is an industry standard in AC diagnostics: where did the freon in a brand new AC system go? We applied a vacuum to the system, it would not hold vacuum. We pressurized the system with nitrogen, listened for a leak, sprayed down the AC lines. No leaks were evident. We applied a black light and found some freon residue around the compressor connections. At your suggestion, we removed and replaced the O-rings, retested. The system still would not hold vacuum. You told the Service Advisor you were in a hurry and asked us to just fill it with freon so you could leave. Upon adding freon as requested, the system would not take even half of the capacity, an indication of a restriction in the system. We determined there was a restriction in the orifice tube. It needs to be replaced and the system needs to be flushed out to remove the contamination. We removed the battery box, the inner fender and the freon line. We replaced that orifice tube, reassembled the components that had been removed, recharged the system with 1.5 lbs. of freon. We tested the AC and it was blowing 40 degree air. Due to the fact that you were in a hurry, you declined flushing the system. 
 
You did not tell us the problem was intermittent, you said it was "not blowing cold". The complaint on the invoice from Terry Wynter Auto Service Center says, "AC system will stop working intermittently, after he turns system off for a while system will start working again." Perhaps that was your "overall main issue." 

Lastly, Mr. ****, you were here waiting while we worked and approved the labor time as we progressed. 

I sympathize with you and the frustration over your AC problems, but I can't honestly agree with you that Diesel Services of Northern Colorado did not serve you well. We fixed your reported problem: your brand new AC system no longer had a leak and your AC was blowing 40 degree air from the vents when you left. Therefore, your request to receive a refund for services rendered are being declined. 

Sincerely, 

******** ******, Manager 
Diesel Services of Northern Colorado 


Attachment: Signed write-up sheet 20130805
 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I guess my next step is the Attorney General of Colorado.

Regards,

**** ****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1