Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bullhide 4x4 & Auto Accessories

Phone: (970) 224-2288 Fax: (970) 407-8531 5817 S College Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80525 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.bullhide4x4.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bullhide 4x4 & Auto Accessories meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bullhide 4x4 & Auto Accessories include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bullhide 4x4 & Auto Accessories
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 16, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1996 Business started locally: 01/01/1996 Business incorporated 01/01/1998 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DORA - Colorado Public Utility Commission
1560 Broadway Ste 250, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/
Phone Number: 303.894.2904
Fax Number: 303.894.2065
cliff.hinson@state.co.us

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott Butters, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Butters, President
Business Category

Truck Equipment Suppliers Auto Air Conditioning Car Alternator and Generator Repair Stations Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Engine Repair Rebuilding Companies Car Lubrication Shops Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Tire Repair Shops Towing Companies Transmissions - Automobile Truck Repair Shops Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services Battery Supply Companies Auto Parts & Supplies - New Storage Battery Retailers Clutch Suppliers Shock Absorber Suppliers Tire Dealers

Service Area
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations

  • 5817 S College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 224-2288

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Told brake controller needs replacement (2 yrs old). Took truck elsewhere. Wired incorrectly. Power lead on truck wired to negative on battery. Controller 2 yrs old. Working fine 2010, 2011, 2012. Truck with electrical probs 9/12. Markley eval & told truck electrical ok - prob w brake controller. 9/27/12 Eval by BH, T one connector replaced by BH. 9/10/12 Towing trailer, brake controller not working at all. Took truck & trailer immediately to BH. BH checked & could not find problem. Brought truck back to BH 9/11/12 w o trailer for more in depth eval. 9/12 Told need new brake controller. Took truck elsewhere. 10/19/12 Had truck brake controller evaluated by RV America. Findings-- Power lead to brake control on truck hooked up to negative on battery. Charge wire 14 GA hooked up to 30 amp breaker, taped & hanging loose.-- Power lead hooked up to positive on battery. Installed & "mounted" charge wire to 20 amp breaker. 30 amp too much for wire & fire could have occurred by wire dangling & potentially shorting out. Brake controller now works fine. Labor to evaluate & rewire controller correctly at RV America $178.50. Did truck even need T-one connecter ($140.73).

Desired Settlement: I would like the labor costs ($178.50) reimbursed from RV America to rewire brake controller correctly. Brake controller is working fine now. I would like to know if the truck even needed a new T one connector afterall? Was one replaced unnecessarily? $140.73

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2012/10/31) */ On 6/21/2010, the customer had a hitch, brake controller, and T connector installed at Bullhide 4x4 on her Toyota Tacoma. 9/24/2012, the same customer came to our store with a complaint that her truck rear lights were not working correctly. The truck has been involved in a rollover accident and the entire cab had been replaced by a local body shop. Our diagnosis lead us to the tail light converter (T-connector) having power in but not out. We replaced the T-connector and all working fine. There was no mention of the brake controller at that time. The customer stopped by our shop again with her trailer attached and asked us to look at her lights and brake box as not all was working. Our manager spent over 30 minutes with her in the parking lot evaluating the situation and recommending an appointment to come back and have it tested for accurate diagnosis. We were full that day and couldn't make it possible for her to have one of our technicians evaluate it that day. An appointment was set for 2 days later and the customer never returned and never showed up or called to cancel the appointment. The customer then returned yet another time with complaints of the brake controller not working properly after hooking up her trailer. This was the same problem that she had when she stopped by before and we didn't have the time to look at it properly. This brake controller was one that was reinstalled for her after she had the rollover accident and was done by the body shop who worked on her vehicle. Not Bullhide4x4. She brought us the invoice from the local body shop stating their diagnosis had determined that the brake controller was now inoperable. She asked us to confirm the diagnosis. We tested, at NO CHARGE, the brake controller and VERIFIED that it had no power output as the body shop had advised her and stated. Without further testing it was difficult for us to determine why the brake controller did not have the power it needed. We can only conclude that it was the brake controller not working properly or it was wired incorrectly. The customer declined of any further work to be done. At that time, this was our free diagnosis and in no way was a guarantee repair for the problem she was having as all elements that could be causing a problem were not tested. The customer did not authorize us to test it further and to determine why it wasn't working properly. Only verification of the diagnosis and lack of power. It is the opinion of Bullhide 4x4 that the rewiring of the brake controller unit to the negative side of the battery would now be the responsibility of the local body shop who reinstalled it for her at the time of the accident and body repair. In response to the customer complaint, we do not feel the Bullhide 4x4 is responsible for the cost of labor to install a new brake controller. We do believe that it is the responsibility of the local body shop that repaired her cab after the accident and who, inadvertently, switched the wires. They installed the brake controller for her after work was done on her truck and is it by no means the fault of Bullhide 4x4 after 2 1/2 years when the work had been done correctly. We pride ourselves in honesty and integrity, and would never recommend a repair of any kind that is not one we would do to our own vehicles. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2012/11/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 6/21/10 the 4 x 4 shop installed a new brake controller in my truck. The truck was indeed in a roll-over 11/19/11. A body shop replaced the entire body & I received the truck back 2/15/12. I took the truck & pulled an 18 ft trailer 8 times since I received the truck back from the body shop in February 2012: (3/29-3/30, 4/10-4/12, 5/15-5/19, 5/25-5/28, 6/11-6/15, 6/16-6/17, 7/5-7/7, 7/10-7/12). Each time the truck brake controller worked absolutely fine. In Sept 2012 the truck brake lights were flickering & draining the battery. The truck was towed to the body shop. After evaluation of the electrical system by the body shop, they determined the brake controller had an internal fault causing brake lights to flicker. Per the body shop's invoice & labor statement "removed battery connection to aftermarket brake controller removed at battery terminal." Per my request, the body shop took my truck to the previous 4 x 4 shop for further evaluation. At this time, the 4 x 4 shop evaluated & replaced a T-one-connector (9/27/12). I then had 2 more interactions with the 4 x 4 shop: 10/9/12, 10/11/12. On 10/9/12, I hooked the truck up to my 18 ft trailer for the first time since the T-one connector replacement. The brake controller did not work at all, there was no "on" light on controller & thus no trailer brakes. I immediately called the 4 x 4 shop & they told me to come in. After my arrival to the 4 x 4 shop, a man did evaluate my truck in the parking lot (30 minutes is a good estimate). At this time, we did both notice a dangling free wire that he then hooked up to the battery. There was also another black taped dangling wire, which he left as is. He could not figure out what was causing no power to the brake controller & asked me to bring the truck back in 2 days when they had more time & the truck would not be hooked up to the trailer. I did indeed set up an appointment for 10/11/12 & returned with the truck approximately 3 PM on 10/11/12. On, 10/11/12, per the 4 x 4 shop's request, I left the original body shop invoice & labor statement of 9/18/12 at the 4 x 4 shop for the 4 x 4 shop to review the body shop's electrical evaluation & comments: "removed battery connection to aftermarket brake controller removed at battery terminal." The truck was left there overnight. I received a call on 10/12/12 telling me that I would need a new brake controller. I received no call at any time from the 4 x 4 shop to ask to further test or diagnose the brake controller. I came into the 4 x 4 shop that same day & talked to the same person that called me & asked about a warranty. He said only for a year & the brake controller was now 2 years old. I said I would wait & my key was returned to me. I asked to leave the truck until the next day but they said I may have trouble getting it out of the parking lot due to the crowd from the motorcross races. I then picked up the truck that same night, 10/12/12. I took the truck to an RV/truck service shop on 10/19/12 for evaluation. This is where it was discovered that the power lead on the brake controller was connected to negative on battery. When this was corrected, the brake controller worked absolutely fine. After wired correctly, I drove home pulling my trailer with a perfectly functioning brake controller. No new brake controller was necessary. # 1) the roll-over had nothing to do with the current problem, the brake controller functioned perfectly for eight towing episodes this year since the roll-over repairs; the brake controller worked absolutely fine until the truck tail light flickering problem in September 2012, # 2) the allegation that I did not return to the 4 x 4 shop is not even an issue. I had 2 immediate & subsequent interactions with the 4 x 4 shop: 10/9/12 (I came in with truck towing trailer without functioning brake controller), & 10/11/12 (I made appointment & returned with truck 2 days later without trailer), #3) How did the 4 x 4 shop determine a new brake controller was needed when wires were not correctly placed & the brake controller had no power? From reading the body shop's labor statement (which the 4 x 4 shop had in hand), the body shop had previously removed battery connection of brake controller when truck was brought to the 4 x 4 shop on 9/27/12. If the 4 x 4 shop did not reconnect brake controller wires on my 9/27/12 visit where they replaced the T-one connector, then the wires were still disconnected per the body shop's labor statement, # 4) I brought truck into the 4 x 4 shop on 10/11/12 to have the brake controller evaluated & repairs made, as needed. The truck was kept overnight by the 4 x 4 shop assuming they had ample time to troubleshoot, diagnosis, & call me for further testing/repairs. If the wires were previously disconnected, per the body shop, then this is what I expect the 4 x 4 shop to troubleshoot, find, & fix. But I had no call to authorize further testing, only the call that I needed a new brake controller. I would have gladly paid for any labor or parts needed to get the current brake controller functioning. This is the 4 x 4 shop's expertise. For me to take the truck to another service department, pay extra labor, & find out that the brake controller power lead was connected to negative on the battery is puzzling. How did the 4 x 4 shop even determine I needed a new brake controller when there was no power to brake controller? After hooking up power lead correctly, current brake controller worked fine. This has nothing to do with the rollover, I have pulled a trailer eight times since the rollover repairs, but everything to do with wiring disconnect/connect after the tail lights flickering. Regardless of who disconnected/connected the brake controller, I expected the 4 x 4 shop to read the body shop's labor statement prior to working on my truck, but specifically, I expected the 4 x 4 shop to find that the wires were not connected properly. They did not do what they were asked, troubleshoot, find, & fix the problem. Instead they recommended a new brake controller. Shame. Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2012/11/19) */ At this time and after reviewing your response, we feel that we failed in our communications to you as the customer. We do not accept fault for this situation. We are willing to reimburse you for the labor costs due to our lack of communication about the situation and what needed to be done. Thank you Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2013/01/10) */ This case was filed 10/26/12. The business accepted my complaint & stated they would pay me the sum I was asking for. $178.50. The case was closed 11/22/12. I have not yet received the $178.50 & it has now been > 30 days. Please respond. Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2013/01/14) */ Thank you for your communication and we apologize for delay in getting you your refund. Unfortunately, we did not receive any further instructions from BBB or you after our last response on 11/19/12. Either by our error or from the BBB. We were unclear as to if you were stopping by the store or if we should mail it. I do see the instructions now that you made on 11/21/12 and will put a check in the mail to you today. Thank you