BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Align?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Align

Phone: (877) 322-5446 Fax: (307) 772-3943 View Additional Phone Numbers 1401 Airport Pkwy  Ste 300, Cheyenne, WY 82001 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.thealignteam.org View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Align's mission, and our passion, is to help others achieve success. We bring over 30 years of strategic management and organizational development experience to the table, to help organizations and employees thrive.

Request a Quote

Request a Quote from Align

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Align meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Align include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Align
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 05, 2004 Business started: 12/03/2003 Business started locally: 12/03/2003 Business incorporated: 12/03/2003 in WY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Mona Lee Pearl, EVP & COO Mr. Bill Benskin, CFO Ms. Kathy Cathcart, VP Operations Mr. Phil Van Horn, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Mona Lee Pearl, EVP & COO
Business Category

Training Program Companies Loans Financial Services Business Consultants Educational Consultants

Service Area
Wyoming, Northern Colorado and Western Nebraska
Alternate Business Names
Align Planning/Consulting/Training/Business Services Loan Servicing Western States Learning Corp, dba Align
Business Management

Align History Western States Learning Corporation was incorporated as a nonprofit (501 (c)(3)) corporation in Wyoming in December 2003; and it opened for business April 1, 2004. Its purpose is to provide products and services related to awareness and access to higher education, workforce development and organizational and career development. In November 2006, it filed with the Wyoming Secretary of State to do business as Align going forward. The founding directors of Western States/Align were Randy Dancliff, Wyoming banker; Daniel Baccari, retired Vice President, University of Wyoming; Anna Marie Hales, owner, Wyoming Hereford Ranch; Phil Van Horn, President and Chief Executive Officer of Western States/Align; and Mona Lee Pearl, Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer of Western States/Align. Each of these directors brought years of experience in and commitment to education. Prior to forming Western States/Align, each of these directors, with the exception of Pearl, served for a number of years on the board of directors for Wyoming Student Loan Corporation. Van Horn and Pearl were, respectively, the CEO and COO of Wyoming Student Loan Corporation until March 30, 2004. (Wyoming Student Loan Corporation currently has no employees. Its affairs are entirely managed by Western States/Align.) Hales, Pearl and Van Horn remain on the board of Western States/Align, serving along with Ed Boenisch, Wyoming Adjutant General (ret) and James "Murph" Murphy, owner, AVI Engineering. The executive management team for Western States/Align today consists of Phil Van Horn, President and Chief Executive Officer; Mona Lee Pearl, Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer; Bill Benskin, Chief Financial Officer; Kathy Cathcart, Vice President; Brittany Ashby, Principal Consultant; and Jody Shields, Principal Consultant. This team collectively has more than one hundred years' experience in educational assistance, corporate finance, management, leadership and organizational development. Van Horn, Pearl, Cathcart and Benskin have, as a team, led first Wyoming Student Loan and now Western States Align for a combined total of 21 years - since Pearl's arrival at Wyoming Student Loan Corporation in 1991. (Van Horn joined Wyoming Student Loan in 1983; Benskin in 1986; and Cathcart in 1989.)

Products & Services

Services to Align Your Organization: Strategy, Leadership, Process, People, Organization


Additional Locations

  • 1401 Airport Pkwy  Ste 300

    Cheyenne, WY 82001 (800) 999-6541 (307) 638-0800 (877) 322-5446 (307) 772-9100

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (307) 638-0800(Phone)
  • (307) 772-9100(Phone)
  • (800) 999-6541(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to work with Align Student Loan Services for about 3 years. They have been completely unhelpful the entire time. They currently sold my loan to another company which I understand they can do, but it was without any notice. They also did not inform me of how to get a hold of this company. Any action to talk to someone at Align has been to no avail. They did leave a message about which company bought the loan which I found after hitting the right number sequence to get to it. Once I discovered who picked up my loan I called them and set up an account. After looking over the loan amounts I have noticed that a loan that I payed off in March was still open on the new loan system. When I talked to to a customer service representative he stated that it showed when they amount was applied. It also showed that at first the company applied my payment how I asked them to. Then it showed later that the payment was pulled back out of the account, and dispersed in a different way that I specified how I wanted to to be.

Desired Settlement: I am going to do more research about how my money was handled, and about how my account looks. If there is a possibility of pressing charges I will.

Business Response: Align's client, Wyoming Student Loan Corporation, did indeed sell its student loan portfolio to the **** ****** ********* ********** *********. That organization chose to move the loan servicing functions to their location in **** **** ****. We regret that  Mr. ******* had trouble with his loan and that he continues to have trouble. As a first step, we would like to have our CEO, **** *** ****, contact Mr. ******* by telephone, if that is acceptable. We hope to help resolve Mr. *******' concerns and in this case would be willing to have a three-way conversation - one of our associates, a **** associate and Mr ******* - in order to assure Mr. ******* we are doing what we can to correct any errors Align made while servicing the student loan on Wyoming Student Loan Corporation's behalf.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1