Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Pike's Auto Care Center

Phone: (970) 686-8473 Fax: (970) 686-6124 500 Main St, Windsor, CO 80550 http://www.pikesautocare.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pike's Auto Care Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pike's Auto Care Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pike's Auto Care Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 25, 1998 Business started: 12/01/1996 Business started locally: 12/01/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Business Management
Mr. Sean Pike, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sean Pike, Owner
Business Category

Tire Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Engine Repair Rebuilding Companies Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services

Alternate Business Names
Pike's Goodyear LLC
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations

  • 500 Main St

    Windsor, CO 80550 (970) 686-8473

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I set up an appointment for my 2004 Dodge Neon with Pike's Auto Care Center because my car would intermittently not start, and typically make grinding noises during these periods. It was not disclosed to me that there was a diagnostic fee of $119.50 when I made the appointment.I dropped off my car for the appointment and again, no mention of the diagnostic fee. After the technician had evaluated my vehicle, I was called and quoted $580 for the repair. The repair included replacing the starter and tightening the battery cables. I had researched online and a starter for my car is approximately $150 and labor is generally around $90/hour. I expected the repair to be less than $300. I asked the gentleman how much the cost would be to just replace the starter: $580 minus $25 for the cables to be tightened. The gentleman notified me that if I chose to not have any work done, I would only need to pay the $119.50 diagnostic fee (that I did not know existed). I decided to have the battery cables tightened for $25 because I expected the surprise diagnostic fee to be waived if work was performed on the vehicle.When I arrived to pick up my vehicle, I was told the price for repairs was $25 in addition to the $119.50 diagnostic fee. I said that I was unaware that the diagnostic fee applied if I had work done and he immediately offered to split the fee with me. I told him that splitting the fee would help. His quick offer to halve the price of the fee made me feel like the business surprises customers with this fee regularly.

Desired Settlement: I would like the business to make a practice of disclosing the diagnostic fee prior to charging a customer for it. I would also like a refund of $59.75 for the remaining half of the diagnostic fee I paid. I would not have taken my vehicle to Pike's Auto Care Center in Windsor had I known of this fee up front.

Business Response: March 20, 2014

Better Business Bureau Complaint ID *******

The owner received a copy of the customer’s complaint and was extremely annoyed with both the inconsistencies of her claim and the false assumptions she made.  This is the type of customer that gives the automotive repair industry a bad name as well as the type of customer that shops like us should be protected from by the BBB.  She states in her claim that she was never told of a diagnostic fee.  She also must not have read the fee clearly posted on the menu board behind the counter.  She then “assumed” that the “surprise” diagnostic fee would be waived if she had any work performed.  So she chose the cheapest item that had been recommended and believed she would only owe $25 when she picked up her car. When she picked up her car and seemed surprised at the total charge, my manager Mike who was helping her, treated it as a possible misunderstanding or miscommunication.  Instead of insisting that she pay the full fee, he wanted to compromise and come to an agreeable understanding for both parties.  She apparently saw this offer as some type of regular deceptive business practice.  I cannot recall anything like this happening at my shop since we opened in 1996.  It sounds to me as if she is trying to get something for nothing by taking advantage of an honest, well established, reputable repair shop.  I feel sorry for the next shop that is unfortunate enough to work on a vehicle for her.  I only wish the Better Business Bureau could keep a record of undesirable customers for other businesses to be aware of.