BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Family Tire Pros?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Family Tire Pros

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 686-2239 Fax: (970) 686-6015 1490 Main St, Windsor, CO 80550 http://www.familytireandautoservice.com/windsor.htm View Additional Web Addresses

View BBB Rating for Family Tire Pros's headquarters.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Tire dealers, auto-service, oil and lube.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Family Tire Pros meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for Family Tire Pros. BBB of Denver / Boulder Colorado has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for Family Tire Pros.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 19, 2010 Business started: 06/01/2005 Business started locally: 06/01/2005 Business incorporated: 07/07/2005 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Butch Hammett, General Mangaer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Butch Hammett, General Mangaer
Business Category

Tire Dealers Auto Repair & Service Tire Repair Auto Services - Oil & Lube

Alternate Business Names
Automotive Operations Group LLC Family Tire and Auto Service Tire Operations Group LLC
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations

  • 1130 Eagle Dr

    Loveland, CO 80537 (970) 622-0040

  • 1490 Main St

    Windsor, CO 80550 (970) 686-2239

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told ALL my fluids were full, needless to say the mechanics were not trained that a differential is a VITAL FLUID for transmission. 3/16/13 I took my car in to find out why it was not running well, asked for an oil change, check ALL fluids, check ALL belts, check engine. My car was in the shop 5 hours, I picked it up and went over check list. I was told ALL FLUIDS were FULL, there was an oil leak that I already knew about and that I should come back in the near future to get transmission fluid flushed, no hurry. I asked if they checked the engine, belts and fluids once again and was told "the car is full of FLUIDS, ready to go and we did everything but test drive it. Two weeks later the transmission blew while I was driving home from work. Because the mechanics FAILED to check a VITAL fluid (the differiental) the transmission blew. My son called Family Tire and talked with one of the Managers. He stated "We are not trained by Family Tire to check the differential so it's not our fault". My son said it was a VITAL fluid and it caused the transmission to blow. He was extremely rude and said they were not responsible. My son called the General Manager and I talked with him in length. At first he was a help, told both my son and I there were many problems at the Loveland location and the employees were fired and that I could expect a new mechanic the following week. The General Manager had not heard of a differential needing FLUID and called Toyota and the mechanic where the car landed to ask. He told me that my Toyota was an exception. All I have asked is for the car to be fixed. He wants me to purchas a transmission and have his new mechanic put it in. I feel he should pay to put in the transmission he said cost him $350.00 with 167,000 miles on it. He admitted his crew was negligent on other cars and being fired. Wow, but he won't make good on my car, what type of customer service is this? His mechanics don't know about a Toyota CE transmission, fired, rude, not trained. My car has been sitting for almost a month now. I have had my car oil change and fluids checked regularly, this is the first company that didn't know that What was in a differential. I asked the General Manager who else I could talk to to get the $350 paid for the transmission and he said no one, the owner is in ********** and won't care. I told him this will not work for me and his response "take us to smalls claims court". Yes, I couldn't believe what I was hearing. I am not sure if I am being treated this way because I am a woman, I feel discriminated against at this point because I cannot afford a rental car, a new car and a company that won't take responsibility for their unqualified mechanics and the General Manager even states they are being fired due to their negligence. Be aware of taking your car in, you may not get it back in one piece.

Desired Settlement: All I have asked for from day one is to have my car fixed, the transmission put in and running like I had it before I took it there. That is it.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/05/17) */ We would like to clarify our position on the damage to the vehicle. The failure of the final drive (differential)in the vehicle was caused by lack of lubrication. After we were notified of the problem on the vehicle, our inspection determined that the component had a leak which caused the lubricant to become low and caused the component to fail. Although this is not a component we serviced during the oil change, we did notify you that there was a leak and we recommended further diagnostics to determine the source. This is documented in the Courtesy Vehicle Inspection you received from us (Recommend clean and re-inspect for oil and or oil transmission leak). We also asked our insurance carrier to investigate your claim to get a second opinion as to the cause of the failure. Their investigation concluded that it was lack of maintenance (not repairing a known oil leak), not our negligence which caused the component to fail. In a gesture of good faith, we provided a rental car for two weeks (at our expense) while the investigation was being conducted. We also offered to assist with the repair of the vehicle at a deeply discounted rate by proving the repair labor at no charge. Often, vehicle problems, big or small, happen to people and leave them without transportation. We at Family Tire Pros usually try to go above and beyond reasonable expectations to assist people. Whether it is replacing a battery at a customer's home when their vehicle won't start or delivering them across town for an appointment while they are waiting for their vehicle to be towed, we try to help where we can. This also includes arranging for, and sometimes paying for, a rental car when circumstances might involve a financial hardship. These are simply acts of goodwill in an effort to attain customer loyalty. At this point we feel we have gone above and beyond reasonable expectations. Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/05/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No, I didn't take my car into Family Tire for a transmission job, I took it in for an engine check, FLUIDS CHECK, BELTS CHECK, and left there with an answer "ALL FLUIDS ARE FULL", BUT ONE LITTLE MISTAKE, THEY DIDN'T KNOW WAHT A DIFFERENTIAL WAS IN MY CAR AND THAT IT TOOK FLUIDS. I have always taken care of my Toyota and it has lasted many years, I always keep the fluids checked. This is the first company that DID NOT know that a differential is a VITAL FLUID and was not trained or knew how to check it. Their insurance company NEVER investigated and never looked at the car, their response. "they took Family Tire's word", yet you are stating you requested a 2nd opinion from them? They wrote me a letter and asked my response, I responded over a month ago and they never answered the response and again NEVER sent an adjuster to look at the car or even talk with me about it. If you were concerned about them sending someone for a 2nd opinion, you never followed through with it and dropped the ball on me, your customer. The General Manager admitted they had to fire the crew in the ******** location and would have a new mechanic do the labor if I paid $350 for a used transmission with 167,000 miles on it. Being a woman how would I know if this transmission would work after put in and if I purchase it, it is my responsibility, nothing was explained to me about the warranty if I buy it. When I asked who else I could speak with, the General Manager said, only the owner and he would not be interested, he lives in ********** and if you are not happy with this offer, "take us to small claims court". I work for the real estate industry and if we wrong a client, we make it good. I am sorry to see that this company is among the BBB and does not take care of their clients. They admitted their mechanics didn't know that a differential had fluid, did not check it, told me ALL fluids were FULL, they were not, the car broke down and it's my fault? I warn anyone that looks at this complaint, beware, the charges may not be to high at your first visit, but you may end up with a ruined car and Family Tire does not care. If they want to put the transmission and fix the car like it was before I had it worked on, I will accept that. I will accept their offer to put in the transmission or transaxial as they call it, without paying an extra $350.00. Being without a car for weeks is not good customer service. To take care of a dissatisfied customer, $350 shouldn't even be questioned. Along with that they need to train every new and old mechanic that a Toyota has a differential that is a vital fluid. I have taken my car to Jiffy Lube, Grease Monkey, Toyota & other companies and drove away with "all fluids full", I took my car to Family Tire and was told I had ALL fluids full, I drove away with the differential not checked and not full of fluid. Maybe I didn't come in for a transmission job, but I find it unsatisfactory that all the other companies knew to check a differential and Family Tire did not and won't take responsibility after admitting they just plain did not know they should of. I have always taken good care of my car and this car could go many more mile. Again, no I didn't ask for transmission work, I asked for ALL FLUIDS TO BE FILLED, WAS TOLD "ALL" FLUIDS WERE "FULL" and they did not know about a vital fluid causing my car to break down. I paid them for work I thought was done and it was not. Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/06/04) */ We feel our response outlined the circumstances involved and our offer to assist the consumer in a fair manner. We will still honor the offer to repair the vehicle at a discounted rate.

11/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Treated poorly by employee and full service paid for not received. I went to Family Tire in Windsor for a full service oil change. I have received wonderful service there for tires in the past that I chose to get my service there rather than going to the dealership. The day that I received my service was 10/18 which was their Ladies Day which I had a coupon for. One part of my complaint is that my fluids were not checked or filled that day. On 11/10 I had a relative look at my car and I was nearly out of every fluid including power steering, coolant, and transmission fluid. I felt fooled and very angry that I paid for a service to be done and it was not completed. I went in that same day to complain that I did not receive the service that I paid for. I spoke to an employee named *****. He was remarkably rude to me implying that I was at fault for this. He asked me "How do you know that your fluids are low?" I said that I had them checked, which I thought was a silly question for him to ask me. I told him that my step father checked them and that he is a mechanic. He took my answer as if I had offended him and he said that he is also a mechanic and he was just asking a simple question. He said that filling fluids is not something that they do. I asked why was I not notified that I was running dangerously low on important fluids. He stated that he was not there when I had received the service but that he would take the extra time to have someone fill them which I was generous for. He spoke to me in a very condescending tone making my business feel like more of a chore than appreciated. Family Tire is marketed as a female friendly business. As his rudeness brought me to tears and embarrassment I was never apologized to nor was I told that my fluids should have been checked and that he was sorry that this had happened. I understand mistakes happen but the employee ***** made me feel foolish and unwelcome. I am still unsure if I received all the services that I was promised. I am worried that the noise my car is now making now may or may not be due to something that was overlooked that day.

Desired Settlement: I would like Family Tire to pay for me to receive the same service at another comparable business so that I can ensure that everything that was supposed to be done was done correctly and that nothing was overlooked that could lead to damage to my vehicle. I would also like for ****** management to know how he is treating their customers.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2012/11/15) */ ******, I apologize for your recent experience with Family Tire. We strive to offer exceptional customer service and vehicle maintenance/repairs. Obviously we missed the target. I promise we will do everything within in our power to correct these issues. I will review the problems you have mentioned and see if I can determine what happened. Please contact me at your earliest convenience and we will arrange to have your vehicle inspected. I promise we stand behind our service and we will be responsible for anything related to the services you received. **** ****** General Manager Automotive Operations Group C XXX-XXX-XXXX O XXX-XXX-XXXX