Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Moonraker Quarter Horses

Phone: (970) 227-1408 51320 County Road 33, Nunn, CO 80648 http://www.moonrakerqh.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Moonraker Quarter Horses meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Moonraker Quarter Horses include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Moonraker Quarter Horses
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 04, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2002 Business started locally: 01/01/2002
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Meredith Shertzer, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Meredith Shertzer, Owner
Business Category

Stables Horse Breeders Horse Training Retail Pet Suppliers


Additional Locations

  • 51320 County Road 33

    Nunn, CO 80648 (970) 227-1408

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought to products from Moonraker Quarter Horses for my horse and never recieved my items. It was still charged to and taken out of my account. I sent them an email weeks after my purchase asking if my stuff had been sent, no reply. Called and left a voicemail a few days later, no reply. Sent them a Facebook message that shows they opened and viewed the message, no reply and I have since been blocked from sending messages to their Facebook. I would like my money back as well as an explanation from Moonraker Performance Horses why this has happened.

Desired Settlement: A refund as well as an explanation from Moonraker Quarter Horses why they never sent my items and ignored every way I tried to contact them.

Business Response: Items ordered were on backorder.  I emailed customer and got no reply.  Refund was issued on 8-5-15.  See below:

Original Transaction Date Type Status Details Gross Fee Net Jul 16, 2015Payment From ****** ****** RefundedYou have refunded this payment in full.You have refunded this payment in full. Details$63.90 USD -$2.15 USD $61.75 USD 
Related Transactions Date Type Status Details Gross Fee Net Aug 5, 2015Refund Pending ...-$63.90 USD $1.85 USD -$62.05 USD 

Meredith
Moonraker QH

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

****** ******

I did not get an email from you stating the item was on back order. And if you claim you emailed me why did I get no response to my voicemail, Facebook message and get blocked by you on Facebook after asking if my items have been shipped? I also did not receive a refund on 8/5/15 which I can provide bank statements to prove. I would like my money back.

Business Response: Refund is complete!!!!!  See attached.

Consumer Response: I filed a complaint through BBB and my bank when Moonraker Quarter Horses failed to send me my ordered items and still charged me for them. They ignored my emails, calls and blocked me off of Facebook after i sent them a private message asking them if my order had been shipped. Therefore, they proved to me they were trying to hide from me. It wasn't until i filed a claim on here and through my bank that i got their attention.  They told me on BBB that they had tried to e-mail me saying my items were on back order. I never received an email from them. I got a letter from my bank saying the claim got handled and the money got put back in my account. So yes, i did get my money back. But not until i filed two claims and the bank took control. So i am unsatisfied with the way Moonraker Quarter Horses handled this situation and would never do business with them again.
****** ******

7/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Made purchase through website and paid via ****** for an item on 5-20-15. At this date no item has been received and no contact has been responded to. I have tried to call several times to the number listed on the website and left messages. I have tried to email several times as well with no response to emails. I just want the item I paid for or a refund.

Business Response: ***** ******** ******** ************************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** ******** *** ****** *** ********************
*****,
 
Here is the information on a refund that was issued on a purchase that was a complaint against me with you.
 
my business id ********
 
 
***** ******** ****************** Non-receipt
Claim

$86.00 USD 6/9/2015 Case Closed 6/23/2015 View

Meredith
Moonraker Quarter Horses
www.moonrakerqh.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

* ********

6/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a horse and we were told he was NEVER unsound. Turns out, he has long term, devastating injuries with little/no hope of ever using him. Moonraker Quarter Horses and the owner, ******** ******** served as the 'agent' for the purchase (09-23-2013) of the horse, ****** ** ******. ******** ******** showed us the horse; negotiated the price; and provided all the info on this horse. Several times she told us he was NEVER unsound. She did tell us he had 'ringbone', but she did not tell us he had torn and calcified ligaments in his front pasterns or that he was ever lame. Because the horse turned up lame in mid-December and stayed lame, we took him to the vet's for xrays (3/30/2013). We thought his lameness was due to ringbone and we were prepared to have it treated; however, it was much worse. The vet diagnosed him for moderate ringbone, AND torn, calcified ligaments on both front legs. According to our vet, this was an injury that came about over a long period of time and did not happen since we purchased this horse. ******** specifically told us this horse had never been unsound; but, based on the results of the X-rays, that is impossible. The vet also told us we should not ride this horse at all; he is NOT a candidate for any kind of helpful surgery; and we should consider his quality of life. We paid $3500 for this horse, based on ********'s recommendations. We had hired her over the Summer as a 'trainer' for several sessions with our other horses. She knew our level of expertise and she knew how we managed our horses. We felt she was a 'professional' and accepted her word regarding this horse. We expected her to also know the horse's health condition and the actual seller of this horse as honest and trustworthy. She did not live up to her word and regarding the health condition of this horse, she was not honest with us. It is highly suspected that someone 'masked' the previous injuries of this horse during the buying process so he was not lame when we purchased him. Shortly after purchase his use was very light until he showed signs of lameness. And then, he was only taken out for light exercise. Now, he is being treated for pain, and is in 100 % stall rest with no use. We were told numerous times by ******** this horse was a 'ranch' horse and the reason he was being sold was because he could no longer master 12 hr work days. Our light style of riding would be perfect for him and us, according to ********. However, according to our vet, no hours of riding (none at all) are appropriate for this horse's well being. Had we known, or been told, this horse had signs of chronic lameness, we would have taken further steps to assure his health prior to purchase. However, ******** made it a point to tell us he was sound and had never been unsound. We sent ******** a letter with a full explanation of our concerns. We asked her to respond in writing and offered her the opportunity to resolve this issue under her terms. We have not received any communication from her at all. Nothing.

Desired Settlement: We would accept a fair trade for a comparable, safe horse, pending a full and complete pre-purchase exam from our veterinarian that is acceptable.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/05/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ******** ********, owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@moonrakerqh.com I was the agent on the sale of said horse, but the buyer, Ms. ****** had ample opportunity to, and did talk with the seller to ask any questions she desired. I represented the horse and seller honestly and disclosed all information that was given to me. Ms. ****** made her decision to purchase the horse on her own without coercing from me or the seller. As Ms. ****** stated in her complaint, it WAS disclosed that this horse had ringbone. It was not stated that this horse was never unsound. To say both he has ringbone, and he has never been unsound would be contradicting. As Ms. ****** states in her complaint, I did inform her that the horse could not handle the long days needed at the ranch where he lived, but could handle easy and light riding with proper care and maintenance. He was not lame or in pain when he was sold. I have a vet record stating as much from when he was examined to cross the Colorado/Wyoming state line. We did discuss some of the best ways to manage a horse with ringbone. Ms. ****** had plenty of time and opportunity to obtain a vet exam on this horse before purchasing, and was informed of her right to do so. She declined. Also, it was recommended that they consult with a vet on how best to manage this horse's condition. The "devastating" injuries that she is describing are not in addition to ringbone, they are manifestations of ringbone. The increase of the horse's lameness happened 3 months after the purchase, so in my vet's opinion, is primarily due to inadequate maintenance of the condition. Horses with ringbone can easily be managed with good farrier work, sometimes corrective shoeing, regular turnout and movement and care and advise from a vet. Cold temperatures can make symptoms worse, so it's no surprise that this horse worsened without proper care, being kept in a small pen, and during the winter months. Why did Ms. ****** fail to consult with a vet until March of 2013, a full 6 months after the purchase, and 3 months after the lameness appeared in December?? The horse was very useable, rideable and well managed at the time of the sale. What happens after that is the buyer's responsibility. Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2013/05/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ******** ********'s response is incorrect and based on false assumptions on her part, and on the part of her consulting veterinarian. ******** writes she consulted with her own veterinarian, who was willing to diagnose and prescribe treatment for the care and maintenance of this horse, Doc. This veterinarian has never even examined this horse, or viewed the X-rays of ****** front legs. How can he/she honestly diagnose any condition the horse may have, the cause, and offer a maintenance plan without any knowledge of the facts? I would go so far as determining this 'veterinarian' consult she had is 'unethical' and unprofessional on the part of this 'veterinarian' and condescending of ******** to try to use this erroneous information as a method to accuse us of negligent care rather than try to work out a solution with us. According to ********, the treatment plan this so called 'veterinarian' offered is the complete opposite of the treatment/maintenance plan our veterinarian has provided. Please note: my Veterinarian has actually examined the horse several times and taken X-rays, unlike ********'s veterinarian. We have been advised by our Veterinarian not to allow trotting, cantering, twisting, or even riding for this horse. As ******** stated, regular exercise in a grazing situation would be helpful; however, the veterinarian who actually examined this horse has strongly advised against grazing or pasturing, as that will cause this debilitating condition to worsen. Doc is being hand walked and is on daily pain medication. We also had another Veterinarian study the X-rays, and his diagnosis and maintenance plan was in agreement with our Veterinarian. No real professional person, familiar with this situation, has stated or implied that our maintenance plan and our general care for this horse should be amended at all. We are strictly following the plan that has been recommended by our Veterinarian. I also find it interesting that ******** states she has a 'Health' document, or a "Vet Record" for Doc that was issued to cross the WY/CO border. If this is the document I have a copy of as well, it states nothing in reference to lameness and is a document intended for livestock proving non-communicable disease in the transport of any animal across state lines. It is not intended to note lameness issues, nor was any condition such as lameness noted, positive or negative. ******** ******** did tell me the horse was never 'unsound' and because we trusted her and her professionalism, I hung onto those words through the decision making process of purchasing this horse. She did say 'never un-sound' several times. She now states she didn't - she is incorrect. I agree with ******** when she says, the horse was not lame at time of purchase and was useable as he showed no signs of lameness. Since the severe symptoms of his long term injuries did not show up for several months, our Veterinarian, and our Consulting Veterinarian, have indicated it was very likely someone injected the horse's legs with a drug/medication that would suppress the signs of damage already done long ago. Our immediate use of topical treatment to the area of Ring Bone proved unsuccessful in improving his condition; and therefore, Doc was taken to have x-rays as soon as the winter weather allowed. That is when we learned of the chronic torn and calcified ligaments, in addition to the severity of his ringbone. Neither our veterinarian, nor our consulting veterinarian, offered the exact cause of the torn ligaments, except to conclude he had suffered from long-term overuse and poor care months/years before we even met Doc. This diagnosis was way beyond the scope of manageable 'ringbone', which was the basis of any conversation with ******** or the previous owner. I did not accuse ******** of coercion. I do accuse her of providing a horse that is unable to be used for the purpose we intended him to be used. I accuse her of not knowing the true agenda, level of honesty and/or integrity of the 'seller' she was representing. I accuse her of failing to provide the level of expertise a professional horse trainer/instructor/expert should illustrate in matching a horse, a seller and a buyer with the result of a satisfied customer and a well-placed horse. We are now out $3500 that we spent on a horse that cannot be used for the purpose of the transaction, or for anything else. Overall, it is an understatement to say we are deeply saddened and heartbroken this great horse is in constant pain and cannot enjoy the quality of life we were hoping to provide for him. We are also greatly disappointed in ********'s response to our concern, and her unwillingness to try to resolve, or negotiate, a resolution. We are more than willing to work with ******** in regards to this situation, but she seems adamant in not accepting any responsibility or concern for the horse, or her customers. Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2013/06/05) */ It was disclosed to Ms. ****** that the horse had ringbone. I couldn't have said the horse was "never unsound" and that he has ringbone, as that would have been a contradiction. Ms. ****** chose to purchase knowing about the ringbone, and without consulting with a vet or getting a pre-purchase exam, having ample opportunity to do so. Ms. ****** failed to maintain the horse in ways that could have helped him to remain usable. Ms. ****** failed to even have the horse exaamined by a vet until a full 6 months after the purchase. No guarantee was ever stated or written or implied on the health or soundness of the horse. I, ******** ********/Moonraker Quarter Horses, acted as an agent only and was not the seller of this horse. Ms ****** met the seller and had opportunity to discuss directly with him about the horse. The SELLER is not obligated or willing to trade or refund. I STRONGLY request this dispute be removed from my record, due to the fact above that I was not the seller of the horse. Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2013/06/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ******** is obviously not willing to accept any responsibility, or concern, for her part in the purchase of this horse, although she did orchestrate the sale and accepted payment for her part in the transaction. She has failed to accept, or offer, any suggestions of compromise; she has not offered her apologies; or even the slightest hint of empathy. All she has done is falsely accuse us of causing the problems. I have previously responded, proven her counter- accusations towards us were completely false and unwarranted; and, I have gone over all issues leading to her most recent change in 'approach' to this matter. I am not going to add to that, or continue with this banter, as it seems clear there is no hope of a resolution or compromise with this business owner. ******** and her client have our money. We have a horse that is destined for euthanasia. Consumer Response /* (-5, 22, 2013/06/13) */ I have asked my primary Veterinarian to write a letter describing the diagnosis and maintenance plan she prescribed for Doc. Since there is no place to download such a letter, I am copy and pasting her letter that was sent to me on her letterhead: To Whom It May Concern, This letter is written in regards to ******* owned by *** ******. *** is a 16 year old Quarter Horse gelding. *** was initially seen by Dr. ******* with ***** & ****** Veterinary Service on March 30, 2013. Upon examination, *** was found to have a grade 3+/5 (lameness readily visible at a trot, mild/ intermittent lameness noted at a walk) left forelimb lameness, which was exacerbated upon circling to the left. A marked bony shelf was noted/ visible around the dorsal aspect of the left forelimb pastern joint. A mild bony shelf was noted/ visible around the dorsal aspect of the right forelimb pastern joint. Radiographs were taken of the distal limbs of both right and left forelimbs. Radiographic findings are as follows: * Left Forelimb: severe high ringbone, tearing of distal sesamoidean ligaments on palmar aspect of pastern * Right Forelimb: moderate high ringbone, tearing of distal sesamoidean ligaments on palmar aspect of pastern Given the severity and advanced stage of bilateral forelimb ringbone, quality of life was discussed with the owner at this time. It was recommended that no riding, other than walking in an arena, be performed. Tight turns, trotting, cantering, etc. were strongly discouraged. An anti-inflammatory medication was prescribed to help mitigate inflammation and pain. Please feel free to contact Block & Bridle Veterinary Service if you have any questions or concerns regarding **** Thank you, Wendy ** ******** ***