BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Solar Sphere?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Solar Sphere

Phone: (877) 774-3730 Fax: (970) 692-8313 PO Box 774000, Steamboat Spr, CO 80477 http://www.spheralsolar.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Solar Sphere meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Solar Sphere include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Solar Sphere
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 05, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1998 Business started locally: 01/01/1998 Business incorporated: 10/01/2008 in CO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Kriss Bergethon, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kriss Bergethon, President
Business Category

Solar Energy Equipment Companies Solar Energy Product Retailers Wind Energy Systems Landscape Lighting Companies Online Shopping Sites

Alternate Business Names
Solar Sphere LLC Solar Sphere Solar Panel Kits

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 774000

    Steamboat Spr, CO 80477

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My debit card was fraudulently used at this business. I have made several phone calls and left messages for Kriss and Sue without a single return call. My life was changed because money I did not have was removed from my account. I was unable to get anyone at this business to help with stopping this charge.

Desired Settlement: The money fraudulently obtained placed back in my account along with over draft charges returned to me since this was not a charge I made and caused me to over draw my account,

Business Response: Hello *****, sorry that your debit card number was stolen, that must be a very frightening and frustrating experience.

As you know, we had nothing to do with the card being stolen.  It appears that someone has stolen dozens of credit card and debit card numbers and attempted to use them on our site.  None of the fraudulent transactions, including yours, have actually gone through.  I have attached our merchant statement from the dates in question. You can see all of the fraud attempts, and you can see all of them were declined.  Even when a transaction is declined however, often the bank will place an authorization hold on the funds and make the money unavailable.  This is all, of course, out of our control.

We had dozens of complaints (85 to be exact) like yours yesterday and were attempting to find out what was going on and call the customers.  I'm sorry that we weren't able to contact you.  This has been very stressful and frustrating for us as well.  

Your best recourse now is contact your bank.  In addition to canceling the card, which you probably have already done, you should ask them to examine the transaction and see that it was declined and only an authorization hold.  Hopefully they will understand the situation and refund your overdraft fees as well.

Unfortunately there is simply nothing we can do.  We cannot refund the funds because we never got them.  If you look at the screen shot pictures I sent, you'll notice that every amount that corresponds with your charge has been declined.  We cannot do anything with declined transactions.

I know you'll be frustrated with this message but there's simply not much we can do.  Please contact your bank for further information.

***** * *** *********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ******

11/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a shipment but product is not what I ordered. I was told to send it back but that's where communications ended on Solar-Sphere end of this. I ordered (as did a colleague of mine) a product that Solar Sphere admitted was incorrect advertized on their web site, I was told to send it to the company it was drop shipped from (but I called them and they won't take it back without an RMA which they won't issue since I didn't order from them directly) using Solar-Sphere's company UPS account#. I tried email and phone calls to Solar-Sphere but I have gotten no replies. I was told as soon as I sent it back and emailed *** at Solar-Sphere the tracking number they would credit my payment to my credit card account. I finally sent it back not to the shipper directly to Solar-Sphere and am awaiting a refund. I've called, and emailed Solar-Sphere multiple times but get no reply. It's like they went out of business or something. Below is the last email I got from Solar-Sphere: Hi ***, We appologize for the mix up. Apparently, when the item was programed on our site, it was entered incorrectly. The picture/name/description is off. We do not carry the meter that you are interested in. Here is our UPS account # to send your order back to the original address. If you could please send me tracking information for the return. We will refund your credit card for the full amount as soon as we receive tracking. ************ They might need our address to use the account: Solar Sphere XXXXX Shoshone Way Oak Creek, CO XXXXX Again, we are sorry for the inconvenience. *** ****** Solar Sphere

Desired Settlement: I just want my refund. Thanks

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2012/09/17) */ We received Mr ******'s package on Thursday September 13th and refunded his money that day. Our company does not issue refunds until the returned items have been received. Every other responsible business does it this way too. We have an email string of 12 emails between Sue and Don, not sure why he would say that we haven't replied when we have his reply to our replies well after the email he mentions. The money is back on his card and this is nothing left to do. We have complete documentation if needed, but I dont see a way to attach it here. Consumer Response /* (450, 11, 2012/09/18) */ A refund was issued. Thank you.