Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Institute of Business & Medical Careers Inc

Find a Location

Phone: (970) 223-2669 Fax: (970) 223-2796 View Additional Phone Numbers 3842 S. Mason St, Fort Collins, CO 80525 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.ibmc.edu


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Institute of Business & Medical Careers Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Institute of Business & Medical Careers Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Institute of Business & Medical Careers Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 28, 1991 Business started: 08/01/1987 in CO Business incorporated 06/04/1990 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Colorado Department of Higher Education
1560 Broadway Ste 1600, Denver CO 80202
http://highered.colorado.gov/dpos/
Phone Number: (303) 866-2723

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Steele, President Ms. Trish Bowen, Campus Director Ms. Barabara Kearns, Campus Director Ms. Colleen Laub, COO Mr. Richard B Laub, CEO Ms. Holly McElwee Ms. Holli Milenski, Marketing Manager Mr. Sam Pedregon, Campus Director Mr. Archie Randall, Campus Director Ms. Maureen Seville, Director of Marketin Mr. Eric Thompson, Campus Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Steele, President
Business Category

Business Vocational Schools Continuing Education Schools

Alternate Business Names
I B M C IBMC IBMC College Laub Co Medical Careers Training Center Inc The Laub Company

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Institute of Business & Medical Careers Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1854 Dell Range Blvd.

    Cheyenne, WY 82009 (307) 433-8363

  • 2108 Milestone Drive

    Fort Collins, CO 80525

  • 3842 S. Mason St

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 223-2669

  • 5400 W 11th St Ste D

    Greeley, CO 80634 (970) 356-4733

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a student at IBMC in 2010-2011 with no issues. I loved it. The Colorado Springs Branch is crupt beyond means especially financial aid. There are a lot of military dependent and veterans having issues with financial aid. One student even said they were over charging the VA. My problem is getting the **** grant money I have been promised. I got a check in Dec and Jan for $1900ish. I was told in March Imwould get 2 checks, but of course that was a lie. I got one for $481 and they knew I was only taking 1 class. On April 12, they knew I was in one class and this was my last term changing schools because of low student moral and high turn over rate of staff. They can't even keep staff there. I was told on April 12, I would get a check for $900 on the 26, Due to medical issues due to the stress of what's going on at this branch and other medical issues I contacted financial aid and asked if I was to go ahead and withdrawal now would I get my **** check and they said yes, but now they are only going to give me $26 instead of the $900 that I was promised. This time I was told it was because they over paid me with one of the $1900 checks that I was promised. I'm so over this that I will be contacting the VA, Dept of Education and accreditation. You do not do students like this. My family is on the brink because of this school of homelessness, not being able to pay our bills or put food on our table for our daughter. I'm not the only one having issue with IBMC Colorado Springs.

Desired Settlement: I want the money that I keep being promised I was going to get and haven't.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the students issues. 

INTRODUCTION

**** ** ****** (****) has been a student at two of our campuses.  She started at our Longmont Campus.  She was an active student in both 2010 and 2011.  **** was a great student and we all enjoyed having her as a part of the IBMC family. 

**** did not finish her program.  After moving to the Colorado Springs area, **** joined our Colorado Springs Campus in late 2015 with the goal of completing her education that she had started in Longmont.  We were thrilled to have her back.  This campus was a newly acquired campus (formerly ********** ******* *********).  **** found that the new campus did not necessarily have the same environment as the Longmont Campus and has voiced this several times.  I have appreciated both her thoughts and her willingness to voice her concerns.  This campus is a work in progress.  We have only owned the college since May of 2015.  Things are beginning to move to a normal course of IBMC College business with every passing month.    

Although I appreciate ****’s viewpoint, I take acceptation with the idea the Colorado Springs Campus is corrupt.  The Financial Aid Department communicated a schedule of living expense disbursements based on the current schedule of classes.  Any movement (adding classes, taking classes out or failing classes) will change the estimate.  In good faith **** received her living expense check (**** grant money) based on a schedule of classes.  When that schedule changed, it changed the amount of money that the institution could receive—therefore disrupting the estimates accuracy. 

After a very careful and thoughtful review of her entire financial aid distributions—the team did not do anything wrong in the way it disbursed funding.  However, I believe that the communication from our team to **** is where the breakdown happened.  It appears to me that the team did not communicate these changes correctly or in a fashion in which **** could respond or understand. 

We understand how this has impacted **** and her ability to take care of her obligations.  For this, we are incredibly sorry and apologize. 

THOUGHTS ON HOW WE MOVE FORWARD
We would propose that we work together to build a schedule of classes left in her program, estimate the remaining money that is available for disbursement and dates that **** can count on this money coming in.  We would also disclose on the sheet that **** would sign that any disruption to this plan (changing of the schedule) will make this plan null and void.  This should allow **** to have a concrete plan on how the remainder of her living expense money (**** grant) will be disbursed. In the future if **** or institution have any change of plan with the schedule of classes, we will ensure that clear communication takes place and a new funding game plans is created.  This should allow us to avoid any confusion.   

Currently with the schedule that is created **** would receive:

$26- on April 27, 2016—

$734- on May 2, 2016

$734- on June 6, 2016

This is all the remaining **** Grant eligibility. 

CONCLUSION:

We sincerely apologize to **** for not communicating clearly the ramifications of her funding based on schedule changes.  We will work hard to ensure that this breakdown does not happen in the future.  However, the institution did not hold funding from her that was due her.  Our integrity in processing the financial aid was on point. 

Steve S*****

CEO of IBMC College

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** ******

3/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a student at IBMC's Cheyenne campus from June, 2011 to November, 2012. During that time I was a member of their national honor society and I graduated with an Associates of Occupational Studies degree in their Paralegal program. During the admissions process, it was made very clear to the school that I have a criminal background and I even signed a release form acknowledging that piece of information. Yet, they still enrolled me in the paralegal program. Knowing that I would have obstacles in this field, I tried my best and graduated with a 3.89 GPA. During the time period I was there, IBMC had placed different adjunct instructors into this program and it was immediately known by their primary instructor that the classes that were taught by the temp instructor, ****** ****, were not taught properly and that none of the information was presented in its planned way. The full time instructor had to spend a few weeks in the following classes teaching what should have been taught by ****. The classes **** taught was Family Law and Civil Litigation 1. The biggest issue I have is that the credits that I have earned at IBMC don't transfer. There are only a handful of schools that will accept them and those schools are private schools and charge far more than is affordable for an education. The curriculum at IBMC is questioned consistently by offices that allow their students to perform an externship there. The degree is worthless; it cannot be used in a real world setting outside of the Northern Colorado region. Most, if not all, law offices in Cheyenne don't consider the education at IBMC to be par. Also, having a criminal record has forbidden me the right to work in a law office setting. IBMC knew of this matter and did nothing about it. IBMC also allows people with felony convictions to enroll in their pharmacy tech program, which is a waste of time, as a felon cannot hold a position in a pharmacy. IBMC over charges their students for the cost of credits, they supply, at best, a mediocre education, and withholds the truth about career prospects from students in order to get them enrolled. IBMC also asks the students to make monthly payments to their loans while in attendance and those payments are not applied to my loans. There was no option for borrowing over on your loans for educational expenses either. The school is a scam, they drown their students in tens of thousands of dollars in student loan debt for an education that cannot be used. The credits don't transfer because they're nationally accredited and for those of us that want to make something of our lives, we pretty much have to start all over.

Desired Settlement: Due to the above-listed information, I request that IBMC College give a full refund. A refund on the student loans that were borrowed and a return of all federal **** Grant monies as well.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the students issues.  I have broken the major issues that the student, ****** ****** has brought up in his complaint. 

TRANSFERRABILITY OF CREDIT
The vast majority of our students come to IBMC for career training.  The goal is not to continue to pursue their education and receive a bachelor’s degree.  However, we do work with local and national institutions to help our students continue on the path.  Two such institutions are ******** ********* ********** and ********** ** *******.  This is clearly stated on the enrollment agreement that ****** signed on June 17, 2011.  He signed next to the bullet point saying:

"At IBMC we focus on preparing students for their careers of choice.  This generally does not require transferring to another institution.  Many students enter the workforce and move on to further their education to stay current in their career fields, often with assistance from their employers.  Students should not expect their credits from IBMC to transfer to another college or university and transfer of credit from one college to another is always up to the receiving institution.

I understand the IBMC does not guarantee any transferability of credit to another institution."  (Exhibit A)

If there is a particular institution that ****** is wanting to transfer to, we are certainly willing to work with him and the other institution to help facilitate whatever needed materials are available for evaluation purposes.  We have received and responded to requests for transcripts for ****** to ******* University.  (Exhibit B)

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND

****** signed a background disclosure form that specifically stated that he understood that we would make every attempt to help and assist him in job placement, but he understood that this task would be more difficult because of his background.  (Exhibit C).

QUALITY OF EDUCATION

****** states that at best our education experience is mediocre.  Our accreditor, state agencies and student outcomes are exceptional.  Our college ranks at some of the highest in the country for retention (78%) placement (85%) and our default rate is incredibly low (16.3%).  These outstanding outcomes and dedication to the student actually led to the following facts about ******.

-****** did his externship at a law firm.  This externship site ended up hiring ****** as a Paralegal. 

-The firm was impressed with ******’s skills (Exhibit D)

-****** participated in an Advisory Board Meeting with his new supervisor at our college after his hire.  He spoke glowing things at the meeting about his experience as a student.  (Exhibit E)

Conclusion:

We believe we have provided all items necessary for ****** to be successful.  We do not believe any refund of tuition is appropriate.  However, we are more than willing to work with Mr. ****** to help him with career placement or any needed information to help him continue his education with another institution. 

***** ******

CEO of IBMC College


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Institute of Business & Medical Careers Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart