BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Wilson Roofing Division, LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Wilson Roofing Division, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 871-0442 Fax: (970) 871-0446 39920 Routt County Rd. 33, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.wilsonroofingdivision.net

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wilson Roofing Division, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Wilson Roofing Division, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wilson Roofing Division, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 19, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1998 Business started locally: 01/01/1998 Business incorporated: 08/15/2005 in CO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mrs. Robin Wilson, Owner Mr. Seth Wilson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Robin Wilson, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Seth Wilson, Owner
Business Category

Roofers Contractor - Metal Roofing Ornamental Metal Work Companies Contractors - Sheet Metal Snow Removal Service - Roof Snow Melting System Providers Metal Fabricators Deck Cleaning and Waterproofing Companies Gutter & Downspouts Suppliers Gutter Cleaners Gutter Leaf Guards Contractors - Gutters Patio & Deck Builders Vinyl Decking Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Roof Deck Companies Roofing Contractors (NAICS: 238160)

Products & Services

24 Hour Emergency Roof Repair Commercial and Residential Repair

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor Tips for Hiring Roofing Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 39920 Routt County Rd. 33

    Steamboat Springs, CO 80487 (970) 871-0442

  • PO Box 881102

    Steamboat Springs, 80488

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We called ****** roofing to have 1/2 of our roof shoveled this year. I had used ****** Roofing two years ago and was very satisfied and The bill was $182.00 to shovel 1/2 the roof. This year I called them and spoke to the receptionist and told her I wanted our roof shoveled. She asked what did I want done and I said the same as before which was about $200.00 (as I could not remember the actual total). I received a bill after they came for $985.00 for the same job. Between my husband and I we have called them 4 times to discuss the bill. I did reach M. ****** one afternoon and he said that my husband had ordered additional work to clear the deck and stairs which was why it was so high. I told him I would check with my husband but I was 100% sure that was not true. I called him back after speaking with my husband and told him he did not order anything additional. My husband had come home at lunch and walked onto the deck which was clear except for small pile that had fallen from the roof. Mr. ****** agreed that clearing snow that had fallen was part of their everyday service.He then said that he was willing to let this bill go (his words) I said I would pay half. He said his wife would call me. She never did instead she sent me a overdue bill notice for the full amount stating that we asked for additional work and that because of the high water content is why the bill was so high. She said if I had set a budget originally they could have worked in that. She then offer for me to use a 20 off coupon and a 10% off if I paid by Friday, which is a normal offer they give to everyone. I asked her by e-mail to call me which she never did again so I then sent her an e-mail outlining my issues and that on top of the bill being outrageous that they tore my my roof tiles in two areas and caused a gas leak by covering the meter. I told her I would pay half and dropped the check for $487.50 of on March 7th. She sent another e-mail saying she would not accept 1/2 she expects full or she will take me to court.

Desired Settlement: I expect that the $487.50 that I paid already to be a final payment. That is 167% higher than previous for the exact same job. As I told her that more than covers the extra water content in the snow as well as the per hour increase from year to year. As I told her we would not have gone ahead with the job had we known how much it was going to be and they had a responsibility to let us know that it was going to be $783.00 more this time which is 438% higher.

Business Response: Dear *****-
                                                                     
It is unfortunate that you feel that you have to go this direction.  As I mentioned in my first email to you (which was an invoice reminder and nothing more) we value you and other repeat customers!

There are two things we know after running a construction/roofing business in Steamboat for the past 18 years:

1. Due to the extreme weather conditions that exist here in the Steamboat area and mountains, “it is next to impossible to compare year to year in snow removal time, never mind month to month, or even week to week.  This year has been an incredibly intense year with snow, ice and freezing temperatures .  The snow in February was extremely deep, heavy and compressed. We do not bill off of year to year invoicing, we simply bill by the man and hour (which each customer is told when they sign up for our services….$55/hr, per man) for the work that was requested done by our customer.

2. Because of where we live, we know that you would much rather spend your time and money playing in the snow and not shoveling it.  We have provided a large number of ways for our customers to save money with us:
      a. Snow contracts are mailed to ALL of our customers in the Fall.  Those who sign up with us at that time receive an automatic 30% off the hourly rate of snow removal rate for the winter season. (they  pay $40/hr instead of $55/hr)  We also ran a 50% money saving ad in the Steamboat Hot Deals, which ran all of December and 1st week in January (you pay $50 and we give you $100).  There is also a coupon for 20% off snow removal bill in the Steamboat Connection mailed to everyone in Stmbt and Routt County.  Our final discount during the snow season alone, is a 10% additional savings for customers that pay within 3-5 days of snow removal completion.  It is our way of saying Thank you for choosing ****** Roofing.

So you see, we do NOT just give everyone a 30% savings off of their invoice…..customers must act on the opportunities available to them!

You did not provide a coupon, you did not purchase a Stmbt Hot Deals, you did not sign up with us on our annual snow contract and your invoice is 30 days past due from the time of service (which was 2/12/14).  With all of this being said, ****** Roofing still has offered  you a 30% discount off of your total invoice balance!  And to take it one step further, you were only charged $50/hr instead of the normal $55/hr bringing the savings to you (a repeat customer) at 39% off your invoice.

I did not accept your payment of 50% as I feel the amount you were charged with the 39% off bill was more than fair. My exact words from my email to you were “If we do not receive the balance due (with the 39% discount) by Friday, March 14, 2014 then I am to assume you are unwilling to pay the extended offer and I will be forced to pursue additional actions for non-payment of the full invoice balance”.  I do not know of any business that does not have a policy in place for non- payment of invoice balances?!

Whether by phone(3 Calls from the owner) or email(3 from the office); ****** Roofing’s employees, office staff and owners have been nothing but friendly, honest, professional and in communication with you throughout this process.

****** Roofing has been servicing the Steamboat valley for over 18 years both in residential and commercial avenues.  We have been voted by our local community as Best in the Boat for Snow Removal for the past two years in a row, and we are raising our child in this community: we have no reason to be anything but professional!

In conclusion, I would like to remind you of my last email correspondence to you in which I stated the following…… ” As far as the damaged shingles go, we would be happy to schedule an appointment to assess the area in question if that is what you desire?!”

Sincerely,
Wilson Roofing Division Owners and Staff

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I had no other choice but to go to the BBB as I feel as though our concerns have not been addressed and we are being charged an unreasonable amount with no compromise and threats of pursuing other avenues (which I assume is sending us to collections). My concern still is around your statement that "My husband asked for extra work to be done" which is untrue. This was told to your husband early on and yet you still claim that and snow loads is why the bill is so high. I also did give your receptionist a budget when I said that I wanted exactly what was done before which is 1/2 of the roof which ran about $200.00 before. As I said as a business owner you have a responsibility to let the customer know if it is going to be that far out of range. I would never be able to raise rates on my customers that much and expect that they would pay it. We bought a service (the same exact service as we did before) and expected that it would be priced similarly to before. We have asked for you to provide us with additional documentation regarding the additional hours that were required to clear the deck and stairs as you claim that was partially the reason that the bill was so high. We have yet to receive that.

Regarding the coupon, I have one sitting on my counter and did not feel that I needed to present that as you already offered it in the bill price. I am happy to send that to you if you want it.  So as I stated the discounts you are offering are 10% off if you pay within 7 days of receiving the bill (which I did try to do originally and told your husband that, but I was waiting for responses from you regarding the bill) but after you responded with your e-mail I paid that Friday. The 20% coupon as I said is readily available to anyone offering that to me is not compromising off the total charges. I may or may not have received the other offers you talked about but I don't remember ever seeing them. My concern still comes back to the overall price jump from one year to the next for the exact same roof and job. I totally understand that there may have been more water content there but still that does not justify a 650% increase in price.  As I said I can understand a bill doubling and I have been fair in giving you the benefit of the doubt about increase snow loads this time compared to last time you did our roof which is why I gave you a check for 2 1/2 what the bill cost last time. As I said to your husband we were very happy last time with the job and service which is why we called you back again but had I known that the bill was going to be that high we would have either called around and gotten bids or not done the job at all. We were never given that opportunity because we were not told that the  price would be such an extreme difference. I will tell you that we are not alone in our response as I have talked to many people regarding this and everyone's response is the same as they are shocked at the increase amount.

At this time you have a check from me for 1/2 the overall bill which was paid in time to receive the 10% off. I can send you the 20% coupon if you need it for you accounting purposes. Ultimately, we are talking about $200.00 difference after the doscounts which may very well add up to the amount for the deck and stairs which we did not ask to have done. Regarding the shingles that is fine if you want to come fix them. I appreciate you offering that but that still does not change my stance regarding the rest of the bill. One other item that I question is the number of people that were sent to do this job this time compared to last time.  Part of me wonders if that is part of the issue here as last time I believe based on what your receptionist said was there were 2-3 people where as this time that number was about doubled.

I do believe that this situation could have been avoided and resolved if you had picked up the phone and instead of digging in your heals listened to our concerns. At this point, I feel as a consumer that I have no other options but to pursue this through the BBB.


Regards,

***** *******

Business Response: Dear *****-

I am confused.  I am hearing in your email your repeated dissatisfaction for not receiving one phone back?!  As a business owner and also a consumer, I know that we do have options!  You could have scheduled a meeting with either of the owners through the office to discuss your problem in person when you didn't get a call back. As owners we have very random and sporadic office hours, which makes us difficult to connect with.  {Again: as I stated to you earlier- We were out of the state for a full week (wk of 2/17) and I was out of the office another week after that (wk of 2/24/14) with a sick child}.  A scheduled appointment would have been perfect! You also could have talked with either of us on the day you dropped off your payment however, you sent in your son instead of confronting the problem in person?

I also know as a consumer and business owner that when I receive a service (no matter what it is) I DO NOT get to decide how much I want to pay of the balance or what percentage of the balance I am deciding to call paid in full?!  We are a professional company with a quality reputation.  We have been Accredited with the BBB since 2009 and you are our only complaint.  Of all the hundreds of snow removals this year, you are our only complaint. I am sorry for this!  I am sorry your experience was not as you had hoped for.......and  I apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred on the initial "budget".  We have a hardworking, trustworthy and responsible staff that I back 100%!  As a business, we will take this situation and learn from it.  We can not improve our quality of service without input both positive and negative.  I thank you for that!

I hope this to be our final email. With a $200.00 difference between what we say you owe (w/all discounts included) and what you have paid already, I propose we split it down the middle?!  ****** Roofing will deduct an additional $100.00 from the invoice and you owe ****** Roofing $100.00 for full payment on your service.

Please contact the office to schedule a crew to investigate the potential shingle damage.

Respectfully Submitted-
Wilson Roofing Division
**** and ***** ******





 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me once they fix the damaged roof tiles at their cost. I will then release the final $100.00 check. 

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response: Dear *****-
 
I was happy to see a satisfactory resolution however, in the message you sent to the BBB you changed the terms of the agreement to meet your needs and
did not agree to the arrangement we had presented?
 
At this time, I would like to clarify our conditions as stated in our last email to you.
 
“I hope this to be our final email. With a $200.00 difference between what we say you owe (w/all discounts included) and what you have paid already, I propose we split it down the middle? Wilson Roofing will deduct an additional $100.00 from the invoice and you owe Wilson Roofing $100.00 for full payment on your service.

Please contact the office to schedule a crew to investigate the potential shingle damage.”
 
With acceptance of this offer, we would like payment of the $100.00 no later than April 18, 2014 AND for you to contact our office to schedule an appointment where you and Wilson
can investigate the potential shingle damage together.
 
Thank you for your time.
Respectfully Submitted-
 
***** ************
Wilson Roofing Division LLC
H.R. / Accounting
970-871-0442 - Office
970-871-0446 - Fax
PO Box 881102
Steamboat Springs, CO 80488

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: As I stated I will pay upon completion of work. I was not understanding that you were waiting for me to call. My Husband will call to set up an appointment today or tomorrow as I am leaving out of town. Final check will be cut on the day work is completed and given to workers.

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response: As you do not want to compromise and work with us, I have no other option but to protect my companies interests.  We have been more than fair and professional throughout this whole situation.

The work was completed, we have made numerous attempts to rectify the situation, and Wilson even looked at the damaged shingles on the roof with your husband on April 17, 20014 and yet you continue to want to control the process.  You have declined and rejected everything, so I must accept that and move on with my companies best interest in place. 

Respectfully Submitted-
**** *** ***** ******
Wilson Roofing Division LLC

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  As stated in the message on April 8, "I will pay upon completion of work. Final check will be cut on the day work is complete and given to workers."  We have never stated that we were not willing to pay a fair price for services rendered.  I meet with **** Wilson on April 17 and he stated to me that he would order some shingles and send a crew over to fix the damaged shingles.  I told him that we would be out of town the week of April 21-25 and when we returned we would get a check to Wilson Roofing when the shingles were fixed.  Upon returning to town, the shingles still have not been repaired.   You keep demanding final payment but will not give us a timeline of when the work will be completed.  When will the damaged shingles be repaired?  

Respectfully,  


***** and ***** *******

Consumer Response: ***** ***** ******* ************************* *** ********************** ********************** ***** **** *** ** **** ** **** ** ******** ******* **** ****** ******* ****** **

*****,
 
I wanted to update you on the situation regarding the dispute with Wilson Roofing.  After having a face to face meeting with ***** and **** Wilson this morning we were able to come to a resolution that both parties agreed to.  You mentioned last week that the BBB management team was going to review this situation sometime this week so I wanted to let you know that my wife and I feel that this situation is resolved and no further action is needed from the BBB.  Once we were able to meet and talk directly things went much better.  Wilson Roofing has agreed to honor their commitment to fix the shingles that were damaged during the work and they have been paid in full. 
 
Once again, thank you for your assistance with the matter.
 
Sincerely,  

***** ******* 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1