Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

5 Star Home Improvement Inc

Phone: (970) 663-3305 Fax: (970) 663-7827 View Additional Phone Numbers 1350 W 8th St, Loveland, CO 80537 View Additional Email Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

5 Star Home Improvement can help you with all of your home improvement needs, including roofing, roof repairs, siding, seamless gutters, replacement windows, and insulation We do blower door testing and air sealing to help you save energy. We offer free hail damage inspections.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that 5 Star Home Improvement Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for 5 Star Home Improvement Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on 5 Star Home Improvement Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 15, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2003 in CO Business started locally: 01/01/2003 Business incorporated 04/24/2007 in CO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Darcey Gunn, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Darcey Gunn, President
Business Category

Roofers Commercial Roofing Contractor - Metal Roofing Roofing Consultants Siding Contractors Window Installation Companies Windows & Doors - Installation & Service Windows Windows - Vinyl Window Repair Companies Hauling & Clean Up Services Flat Roofers Gutters & Downspouts Gutter Leaf Guards Contractors - Gutters Home Improvements Insulation Contractors

Products & Services

5 Star Home Improvement Inc sells the following brand(s): Crane siding including Craneboard, Decra stone coated roofing, GAF shingles, Malarkey shingles, Mastic vinyl siding , Owens Corning Insulation, Owens Corning shingles, Tamko shingles, Vista Windows

5 Star Home Improvement Inc offers the following product(s): Gutters, Insulation, Leaf protection, Other exterior home improvements, Roofing, Siding, Windows

Method(s) of Payment
cash
check 
credit cards
financing available (w.a.c.)
check by phone
check by fax
Service Area
Northern Colorado & Southern Wyoming
Alternate Business Names
5 Star Hauling 5 Star Roofing Co LLC Window Depot USA of Northern Colorado Window Depot USA of Southern Wyoming
Products & Services

Roofing Roof Repairs Insulation Air Sealing Replacement Windows Siding Seamless Gutters Leaf Protection Painting Kitchens & Baths Decks & Fences Insurance Claims Assistance Energy consulting for your roof, ceilings, windows, walls, and crawl space Energy Savings Evaluations

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor Tips for Hiring Roofing Contractors Watch Out for These Red Flags

Additional Locations

  • 1350 W 8th St

    Loveland, CO 80537 (303) 485-7482 (303) 651-3305 (307) 433-8888 (307) 634-3305 (970) 663-0110 (970) 669-3305 (970) 663-3305

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We elected to not have 5 Star complete the project we hired them for on our ****** property due to lack of performance on time line and quality of work. We have asked them on multiple occasions by text, e-mail and in person for an itemized bill of the work they completed so we can conclude our contract with them and they have not complied. We recently received correspondence from 5 Star of their intent to file a lien on our ****** property. We have continued to communicate to them we will pay them for work they completed when they provide us with an itemized bill.

Desired Settlement: We would like for them to either provide us with an itemized bill of work completed on the project or an acceptance of our assessed value of the work completed on our ****** property.

Business Response:

We have tried everything in our power to make this customer
happy.

Regarding the lack of performance on time line:

Our first of many bids was dated on 8/20/13.). We explained
to them several times that we could complete this project in a timely manner,
only if we could get the project started before busy season.  After several months and several contracts
later, we came to a final agreement to get the work started (final contract
signed 5/6/14, which is the start of our busy season). During our last
pre-start meeting, they asked me for a time line. I explained to them at this time
that I was not able to commit to a timeline. So they asked me for a rough
schedule and I sent them one titled “Ancient Path Rough schedule”.  

Regarding lack of quality of work:

The area in question was the bell tower.  We were asked to do many changes on our contract
before we started this project.  We originally
bid to wrap the posts with metal, as per the insurance estimate.  A member of their “Design Team” asked us to
install a different type of product on the posts. So we changed the bid.  I explained to Mr. ********* how we would have
to install the product. Mr. ********* said it would be ok to proceed with this
project. Before this project was completed, they decided they did not like the
product they had chosen.  So I agreed to
remove it from the bill.

Regarding the breakdown of labor and materials:

We have completed this project and sent them an invoice for
the contract amount. We deducted the entire bell tower renovations from the
invoice because they were not happy with the product that they picked
out. They want a breakdown for labor and materials so they can cheat me out of
my profits for this job. There are several things in this contract that we did
at minimal to no additional charge. We have nothing on this contract stating
that they are entitled to a breakdown. We have lost a lot of money trying to
satisfy this customer.

We sent the intent-to-lien after several months of not hear
back from them.

Thank you,

****** ****

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  The issue is essentially not being addressed.  We have no intent to cheat anyone out of anything, that is preposterous.  We have simply asked for them to provide an itemized invoice because we want to pay them in total for the work they completed.  We believe and have been advised this is a reasonable request considering the way the working relationship concluded.  5 Star has been asked to provide this information on a number of occasions and Mr. ****, personally gave his word to me in the presence of 5 witnesses that he would provide this itemized invoice.

They did not complete the work for which they were contracted.  The only aspect of their work that met reasonable and professional standards was the roofing and gutters.  We recognize they invested time, money and labor in the other aspects of the project and have asked them to represent their position in writing so we can come to a reasonable conclusion on the matter.  We are waiting for an itemized invoice.



Regards,

**** *********

Business Response:

Please See Attached.

All the funds for this project were lumped together to make this project work.  We have a signed contract (dated 5/6/2014) for $53,006.00 that had been modified to $52,006.00.

Total contract amount                                                                                                                $53,006.00     
Minus 2 additional paint colors that were added that shouldn’t have been.                                       -1000.00
Modified contract totaling                                                                                                           $52,006.00

Down payment of:                                                                                                                        -13,251.50 
Credit for **** material that you requested (that was required by a member of their design team to install):                                                                                                                                                -1104.22
(This credit of $1,104.22 is equal to line 29 & 30 on the insurance estimate)
Additional expenses supplemented to and paid for by the insurance company to relocate electric for your utility company (**** ******):                                                                                                  260.56
Balance Due:                                                                                                                                  $37,910.84
      
The only thing incomplete was the **** in the Bell Tower. That is the reason for the credit listed above. 
The paint is 100% done. I originally sent out my painter who claimed to have completed 75% of the work. I was approached by Mr. ********* asking me to hire a painter from your ****** to complete the work (who also claimed have completed 75% of the work). So I hired him to finish the job.  I have an invoice and a contract (with a lien wavier) from this painter. I also have bills from the paint store showing I have purchased the paint. I have a signed agreement that your painter would do the work for the amount that he did it for. He approached me at the start of the job, and said (several times) “I will do the work at NO CHARGE”. I told him (several times) I would pay him to complete the job. He agreed that he would do so at the remaining amount that was owed. He said that was fine with this amount. I paid both painters 75% of the bid, from the original paint bid price from the painter, which then put me 50% over my projected cost.  Bottom line… ALL Contracted PAINTING WORK was completed by 5 Star Home Improvement, INC & our subcontractors. I am very unclear why you would be entitled to keep $7,305.34 out of my check.
I have tried everything to please your church, you, and the other numerous people that made several changes along the way (holding up production).

My estimator originally bid to replace the wraps on the bell tower.  A member of their “design team” insisted on the ****.  After investing in thousands of dollars in material to try to make it work, I deducted more than the **** bid price from the bid. 

Thank you,
****** ****
5 Star Home Improvement, Inc