Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

The Village Smithy

Phone: (970) 963-9990 Fax: (970) 963-3575 26 S 3rd St, Carbondale, CO 81623 http://www.villagesmithy.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Village Smithy meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Village Smithy include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Village Smithy
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 14, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1975 Business started locally: 01/01/1975
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Business Management
Mr. Charlie Chacos, President Mr. Jared Ettelson, Managing Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charlie Chacos, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Jared Ettelson, Managing Partner
Business Category

Restaurants Breakfast Restaurants Sandwich Shops Retail Bakers Caterers

Alternate Business Names
The Village Smithy Restaurant Inc
Industry Tips
Tips to Ensure Your Summer Party is a Success

Additional Locations

  • 26 S 3rd St

    Carbondale, CO 81623 (970) 963-9990

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We (party of 4) visited the Village Smithy Restaurant on Aug 10, 2013. Our server was *****. The meal and service were great, and the pies fantastic. When I paid for the meal with my debit card, the check total was $79.35, and I authorized a $10.00 tip, bringing the total to $89.35. My account was billed for $95.22. When I called the restaurant, I spoke to ****, and she told me that the company that processes their transactions, automatically adds 20% to ensure that the tip is covered. She said I would receive a refund the next day for the difference. I told her I was never informed about the 20% upcharge, and I did not sign anything that authorized them to remove more than $89.35 from my bank account. This is theft. I have not received the refund for the overcharge. I have contacted my bank and I am considering contacting the State Attorney General's office about these business practices. It may only be a few dollars, but it is theft!

Desired Settlement: I demand a refund of the overcharge. I would also like the restaurant to HAVE to disclose the overcharge procedure to patrons at the time of payment.

Business Response:

I am writing this letter in response to a complaint (id *******) we received about service on 8/10/13. In the complaint the customer stated they were charged 
extra, or in addition to what they signed for. They were never charged for 
anything above the signed credit card total. The company that processes our 
credit cards authorizes all debit cards for 20% over the total to ensure funds are 
available. (With a debit card you might have the funds of $100 for the tab, but 
not the $20 for the tip.) This will show up as a pending transaction and is never 
charged to the guest's credit card. When the funds are processed the total is 
correct on the credit card statement. The bank tells us this takes between 2-3 
business days. This is a very common practice in the credit card/restaurant 
industry. The processor we use processes for most of the restaurants and retail 
establishments in the ******* **** ******. 


I do apologize for the miscommunication that occurred between my manager and the guest. There was never a charge, and therefor never a need for a refund. I have attached an audit report from that transaction which shows that the total charged was the total signed for. 


I will have a discussion with my management team to help avoid any confusion in the future. Thank you,