Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Scott Realty Co

Phone: (970) 352-1212 Fax: (970) 352-1215 1212 8th Ave, Greeley, CO 80631 http://www.scottrealtyco.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Scott Realty Co include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Scott Realty Co
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 21, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1916 Business started locally: 01/01/1916 Business incorporated 01/01/1993 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Real Estate-Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 295, Denver CO 80202
www.dora.state.co.us/real-estate/index.htm
Phone Number: (303) 894-2166

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Patrick McNear, Owner Ms. Colleen Johnson, Contact
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Patrick McNear, Owner
Business Category

Real Estate Services Property Management

Industry Tips
Tips for Finding Property Management Companies

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1212 8th Ave

    Greeley, CO 80631 (970) 352-1212

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contact ***** at Scott Realty to look for a rental. She took an application charge of $45x2 and stated would not run application unless our application was picked for the rental. She then claimed that she contacted us and offered us a 2 bedroom we let her know we needed a 3 because we have a male in the home, she ran the app anyways for the 2 bdrm. She then let us know would be looking for a 3 brdm we kept in constant contact by email, stopped by the office, called left a mess and she never would return calls. She misrepresented her services and did not follow through on helping for a service we paid her for.

Desired Settlement: I would like my application fee back since she did not bother to keep in contact and did not follow through with her services.

Business Response:

DEC 10 2014 

REALTY CO
Serving N CO. REALTY 
12128 1h Avenue, Greeley, Colorado 80631
(970) 352-1212 Fax: (970) 352-1215 

November 16,2014

*** *******
BBB Dispute Resolution Manager
8020 S. County Rd. 5, Ste 100
Fort Collins, CO 80528

RE: ID #********

Dear Mr. *******,

In response to the above referenced complaint received from your offices dated October 22nd made by ****** A. ******. This complaint is valid. Below is an accounting of facts presented to me by my property manager. 

The prospective customer (pc) did contact our offices to set up a showing of a three bedroom condominium property we had available for rent, for her, her mother and her son. We also had a two bedroom condominium available next door to the one they called about. My property manager agreed to show them the property after hours, and without being pre qualified, which is not our normal practice, to accommodate them. They were told that the three bedroom unit had been shown to more than one party and awaiting completion of the qualification process and may not be available. Therefore, they were shown both properties. The (pc) did let the property mgr. know that a 2 bedroom would not work, but the three bedroom would. They were told to get their application process started which includes a non refundable fee of $45 per person. This fee is utilized to offset the cost to the company for credit and background checks. The mother returned the completed applications and the fees the next day. The property manager did tell her that if a previous applicant qualified and leased the property, she would advise her if something else were to come available and she would hold their money and delay the credit and background check until they found something that would work. 

The following day, the owner of the three bedroom property choose to rent her place to one of the previous applicants. The property manager then contacted the mother, whereas, she was the person the (pc) told her to contact, to advise her the three bedroom was taken, but if the two bedroom condo would work, it was still available. The mother told my property manager yes they wanted to rent it and thanked her over and over for finding them a place. The property manager asked the mother three times during this conversation if the two bdr. unit was acceptable and confirm that she did want her to run their backgrounds and use the application money for the two bedroom unit. The property manager reminded her that the daughter didn't think the two bedroom would work. The mother said yes all three times. The application money was then used for the background and credit checks. Understand that the this process can take several days depending on response to the inquiry. 

During the background and credit check period the manager had discussions with (pc) about 2 other possibilities, one that location was unacceptable to (pc) and another that the owner decided to put on the market to sell as opposed to leasing. There have been no further communication with the (pc) until I received this complaint from you. Also, the vacancy factor in Greeley is about 0% and nothing we represent has come available. Since the last communication between (pc) and manager it was determined that the (pc) has issues that I am not allowed to discuss with you and would not have qualified to lease any of the units. They need to understand that the application fee is to determine if the applicant is qualified to rent a property not a payment for our services to locate housing. 

I feel that the property manager in this situation went beyond what is typical in this process for this (pc). It is unfortunate that she is upset about the circumstances. However, we acted in accordance with duties as a property management company as well as our office policies. 

I request that this comment be removed from our account and it be resolved quickly. Thank you. 

Scott Realty Co. 

******* ** ****** 
Owner/Broker 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
 
We never saw the unit next door to the original unit we originally were hoping to rent other than to go inside the unit to get the applicationwith ***** we talked for a bit we commented about the smell in the unit. She stated it was a 2 bedroom and stated that the owner did not want pets. We told her we needed a 3 bedroom because we had a male in the home. ***** mentioned that they did have other apps for #7 unit but would not run the app until we found a unit. ***** took it upon herself to contact my mom and said she had another 3 bedroom avail and that is the only communication she had with my mom. When we git a message that we were approved I called the office ***** was not in the office, so I spoke with ****** who said oh youre calling about the two bedroom Was like no we are needing a 3 bedroom which she said oh wrong person. I must of mixed you up with someone else. That is the last phone communication we had. From that day I emailed ***** which was a shared email address with ******. ***** continued to communicate with me over email. She tasted would keep us updated if anything came up we would be at the top of the list. She mentioned a new listing on east side of greeley which e let her know was not our desired area also gave us an address of 8th ave. Which also was not in our desired area. This is over several days/weeks she knew we had a deadline to find a new place. ***** mentioned a house off 13th st by email and we made an appt to see the home bith ****** and ***** came to show the home. The home was tore upso we hesitant but then told ***** we were interested in seeing the home which she stated would be ready for official showing beginning of October. The time came close and nothing no call no email from *****. We went into the office neither ***** or ****** were in. We called the office left a message for ***** to cal back. Again no call or email.  So I emailed ***** multiple times she finally emailed me back several days later and stated the owners pulled the listing and I did let her know it would of been nice and common courtesy to let us know about the rental. She did not keep in communication and in the loop. I asked her for a refund since she was nit helping us and just was not communicating with us. We felt they took our money and did not care to help us beyond that point. I initiated all correspondence with ***** but she took several days to respond at times. I dont feel they provided the services and communication to help with our search. We never ever told either ladies that a 2 bedroom was acceptable. 

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response:

SCOTT REALTY CO.
Serving Northern Colorado for over 85 years 
1212 8th Avenue, Greeley, Colorado 80631 (970) 352-1212 


*** ******* 
BBB Dispute Resolution Manager 
8020 S. County Rd. 5, Ste 100 
Fort Collins, CO 80528 

Dear *** *******,

We are submitting our response to a complaint we received from your offices with the assigned ID of ********. In reference to the rejection given by a customer, ****** A. ******. We still do not believe this complaint is valid.

We acknowledge the customers concerns. However, we stand by our account of the situation and have very complete documentation of what truly happened. 

We are sorry that the customer feels that she was wronged, but we simply cannot sit back and allow her to contort the truth. One example of this is in her last statement she said we gave her an address to go look at off of 8th Ave. as well as off of 13th St. We do not manage properties on either of these two streets, therefore we never would have referred her to go look at those addresses. This is simply one example of her misunderstanding of what actually happened. 
I still feel that the property manager in this situation went above and beyond for this customer. We apologize that they are upset about the circumstances; however, we acted within our rights as a property management company as well as our office policies. 

We ask that this comment be removed from our account and that the case be closed.

Thank You, 

*** ****** 
Scott Realty Co. 
970-352-1212 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I too have emails from ***** showing the addresses of these two property addresses. This is horrible how you dont want to assume fault for your lack of communication. I have one of the last correspondents stating that the owner decided to go with a different property manager and we (my mom and myself) met.both ****** and ***** at the propert off 113th st.  They also had that home on a flyer in their office when we stopped in to talk to either ****** or *****.

Regards,

****** ******