This business is not BBB accredited.

StoneCrest Management Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (307) 632-1223 Fax: (307) 459-0606 1001 E Lincolnway, Cheyenne, WY 82001 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.stonecrestwyo.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for StoneCrest Management Inc include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for StoneCrest Management Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on StoneCrest Management Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 23, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2006 Business started locally: 01/01/2006 Business incorporated 11/02/2006 in WY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor Licensing Board Cheyenne Wyoming
2101 Oneil Ave Rm 202, Cheyenne WY 82001
http://www.cheyennecity.org/index.aspx?nid=314
Phone Number: (307) 637-6265

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Millward, President Mr. Mel Hanner, Office Manager Ms. Melissa Millward, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Millward, President
Business Category

Real Estate Developers General Contractor

Alternate Business Names
StoneCrest Construction of Casper LLC StoneCrest Construction of Douglas LLC StoneCrest Construction of Rock Springs LLC
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor Watch Out for These Red Flags

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

StoneCrest Management Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1001 E Lincolnway

    Cheyenne, WY 82001 (307) 632-1223

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 270650

    Fort Collins, CO 80527

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Weve encountered a multitude of complications in every phase of the construction process of our home (*** ** **** **** ******). We continue to contend with warranty matters, including due and timely attention. Some of these have been minor, cosmetic details, while others are structural and/ or of safety concern. Shortly after occupying the home, we found our dryer vent had been covered by roofing.Much of the last year, we have been unable to utilize our deck because the railing is extremely faulty. It remains a concern as it easily breaks away from the banister (our 112 lb lab and our 75 lb son have both fallen through the railing). Fairly recently, we had noticed that our oldest son (whose bedroom is the only one in the basement) had been excessively ill. With a violent cough, frequent bloody noses and swollen eyes, we decided to move him upstairs temporarily. He had seen a local physician 3 times within 8 weeks regarding these symptoms. After further inspection, wed noticed rotting trash, standing water and black mold in the crawlspace. Our doctor had confirmed that his symptoms could directly be a result of the environment below his bedroom. He had returned to his inhaler and remains on the upper level of the home. Upon inspection by an environmental specialist hired by the builder, mold spores were identified; however, the specialist did not believe them to be excessive. The humidity within the home, was significantly high and prime breeding ground for mold growth. Although StoneCrest (our builder) was contacted immediately, and a representative responded prior to the days end, their aggressive plan of action seemed unimportant, despite confirming that no circulation system was installed. After weeks of living on the upper level of our home and addressing the health issues experiences by our child, remediation efforts were complete. Additional description to follow with attachments.

Desired Settlement: We formally request that StoneCrest purchases the property for $400,000 with consideration of the custom woodwork, maintenance and upgrades we've made to the residence over the past year. We request that his representing realtor, **** ********, absorbs all fees associated with the sale and compensates our realtor 2% of the purchase price for her time.

Business Response: Regarding complaint  # ********.
 
As owner of StoneCrest Construction, I would like to address the recent complaint made against my company.  I take the satisfaction of my clients very seriously. My livelihood, and the livelihood of my employees and family depend on it.  Like many Wyoming business owners, I have clients that have children that go to preschool with my granddaughter, live in the same neighborhoods as my family, and attend the same community events as our employees. In short, I am and will continue to be invested in the Casper community.
 
Keeping that in mind, I take any client complaint seriously, especially complaints that involve health and safety. StoneCrest Construction is not perfect, and unfortunately there were mistakes made on the construction of the house in question. For those mistakes I sincerely apologize to our clients. I have been a builder for 30 years, and I can say without question, the metric that separates good builders from bad ones is not whether mistakes are made or not, but what a builder will do to fix them. Taking the limited warranty into consideration, StoneCrest always strives to go above and beyond for our clients, and we do.
 
I would like to address the issues our client had, and what we did to fix them.
 
1.      The sub-contractor we used for roofing, at the time, did put shingles over the roof vent. We were notified of this and it was corrected right away.

2.      During the building process the client had opted for the deck and railing to be made out of a synthetic decking material. They identified that the synthetic railing on their deck came apart too easily. After repairing it 3 times it was found unsafe and it was corrected right away with a heavy duty wood railing, as a recommendation by StoneCrest.

3.      The client indicated to us that they had a concern that moisture in their crawlspace could be contributing to the health issues of their child. As indicated previously, we take health and safety concerns very seriously. It is important to note that the foundation system as installed is up to building code, and was installed per engineering specifications. At no point has any inspector indicated that there was anything wrong with our original installation.  That being said, when our client identified mold as a potential problem, StoneCrest did the following:

a.      StoneCrest contacted the client the same day the client voiced their concern.

b.      StoneCrest paid to have a local environmental testing company test for moisture and mold. That report indicated that there was were “amplified” mold spore counts, and that the humidity levels were of a range that could allow for future mold growth. The report recommended lowering the moisture levels in the crawl space, and treating for mold.

c.       Per the environmental report, StoneCrest paid to have multiple systems installed to reduce the humidity levels in the crawlspace to a level that would not encourage potential mold growth.

d.      StoneCrest paid to have the crawl space disinfected per the  environmental report.

e.      After all remediation was done, StoneCrest paid to have a follow-up test done, which indicated that “The crawlspace remediation reported by StoneCrest personnel, the homeowner, and by this inspector, was completed.” And that “As the spore counts were shown to be consistent and much lower than outdoor sampling, and mitigation of the mold and water intrusion in the crawlspace has been completed, no further actions are warranted.” The complete report has been attached to this letter.

4.      After 13 months in the home, our client reported a water line leak that caused partial basement flooding. Despite the event taking place after the warranty period, StoneCrest paid for the cost of fixing the line, and all remediation necessary to ensure there was no lasting damage from the water.

5.      After 13.5 months in the home, and after we had fixed the water line leak, our client notified StoneCrest that there was additional basement flooding due to a pierced sprinkler line. Despite some uncertainty as to the cause of the leak, StoneCrest paid to have this line fixed, and again paid for remediation for the flooding.

It has been my experience that there are issues in life, as there are in new construction, and problems can seem big for clients when we’re building their dream home. What starts out as a small issue can certainly become a larger issue if original concerns aren’t remedied, or other minor issues continue to surface.  This is only further escalated by difficult situations when clients believe StoneCrest to be responsible for health issues that may, or may not have been related to the crawlspace moisture. I understand why our clients were unsatisfied by the process, and my heart goes out to them and their son, as they work through his health condition referenced in their complaint.  While I understand their frustration, I do not believe their complaint did any justice to all the time or money StoneCrest has spent in working to make them as satisfied with their house as we could make them.  I hope that the BBB and potential customers will consider this letter in their decision making process when judging StoneCrest Construction in this matter.
 
Sincerely,
Robert M*******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The attached pictures are only a fraction of the damage captured/ incurred.  More dialogue regarding the response to come.

Regards,

******* *******

Consumer Response:

from: ******* ******* <*********************>
to: "disputes@wynco.bbb.org" <disputes@wynco.bbb.org>
date: Sun, Aug 23, 2015 at 5:27 PM
subject: FW: You have a New Message from BBB Regarding Complaint #********

Additional response to claim #********.: 

Our intent is, in no way, malicious.  StoneCrest has nothing to lose by another plea to the BBB.  It's poor rating has (far) proceeded this claim.  We sincerely hope to spare another family from an experience  (even remotely) similar in nature.  Again, this episode has offered hazardous conditions and left us with a home, flagged for preexisting damage due to the builders oversight.

The untimely response is an uncanny resemblance of our typical experience with StoneCrest.  We appreciate the efforts (although delayed and prolonged) that were made to remedy the spectrum of issues; however, our experience in this home was painfully unpleasant as a result of the poor craftsmanship, inopportune responses and inadequate quality.  Under the assumption all remedies were complete, the house was listed during a prime market.  Unfortunately, the water/ flooding issues delayed and harmed the potential sale of the home.  The representation of the construction, customer service and transaction was highly misleading.  We firmly indict StoneCrest for the manufacture of a deplorable product.  In conclusion, **** ******** *** ********** are deemed equally responsible for representing and marketing said establishment.

The attached pictures are a fraction of the damage captured/ incurred.  Obviously, it’s difficult to market a home in this condition.  

To date, the yearly warranty has yet to be completed.

Business Response: StoneCrest has made multiple attempts to contact the consumer to finalize the year-end warranty. We have not received a call back and the consumer has relocated out of state making it difficult to contact them at the property. We are happy to warranty all items (that are covered within our limited one-year warranty) as explained in our provided warranty manual (which also gives tips on homeowner maintenance).

The consumer implies as if the ground water in the crawlspace (which came from excessive rainfall and spring run-off) is in 100% control of the builder and was nothing more than intentional negligence to them. StoneCrest in NO MEANS has control over ground water, which unfortunately, is extremely common in Casper, WY. Because of this, our homes come standard with sump pits, sump pumps, and de-humidistat ventilation systems in the crawlspace. Ground water is only preventative.

When StoneCrest learned of the high moisture rating in the crawlspace of this property, it was remedied within 6 weeks and the found mold spores were (compared to) nothing more than a normal day outside in Casper, WY, as stated on the report. The report revealed nothing to be HAZARDOUS, but only moist conditions that were higher than the norm in an inside structure.

StoneCrest went above and beyond to address the issue and completed it within a timely manner considering the circumstances. Drying out a crawlspace in torrential rain fall conditions is not an easy task by any means, but yet another challenge that we conquered. We strive to make every single one of our homeowners happy but we do it within the means of our limited-warranty and make certain that it is fair for everyone we serve, as well as ourselves.

It is not only malicious and downright absurd to ask a company to purchase back a home for more than it was sold to you for, but a defaming and unfair request. StoneCrest stands by our homeowners and our products, but equally, we stand by our integrity and that will be upheld.

The request to purchase the home is something we will not do. All warranty claims made within the one-year warranty period will be addressed and resolved (as long as they follow the limited warranty guidelines) and the consumer replies to the calls from the warranty representative. 

This will be our final response in the matter.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because it is dishonest and (again) speaks to our experience with the company.  We can substantiate one phone call from the warranty repairman since this complaint and have, in fact, returned the phone call to no avail.  StoneCrest was provided contact information to obtain access to the home by ourselves or other parties in order to remedy the remaining items on the warranty checklist; however, the work remains incomplete.   Our experience with StoneCrest is a travesty of the residential construction and customer service industry.  It's shameful that such injustice is being  avoided.  

Regards,

******* *******

3/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a new home from stonecrest construction and submitted our 30 day walk through through the 1 year walk through for everything that was wrong and suppose to be covered under their warranty. In October 2014 it has been two years and they still won't honor the warranty on this home. I have been in contact with them weekly through phone calls, e-mails and txt. Always promising things will get done but never have.

Desired Settlement: I simply want Stonecrest to fix all of the things in my house that were under warranty and replace my carpet since it was not installed right.

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a home in *********, ND that was built by Stone Crest Construction in August, 2012. It and many other homes in my neighborhood have severe water/mold issues in the attic due to insufficient ventilation. They refuse to do anything about this building defect and health issue because the home is no longer under warranty. This is clear to me that the homes they have manufactured are not safe to live in. There is pooling of water on top of the drywall in the attic and also on top of electrical boxes in the ceiling. There is also mold everywhere in the insulation and on the drywall. The weight of the wet drywall is now starting to sag and will end up collapsing in a bedroom in my house if this issue is not taken care of. I know of at least 4 homes adjacent to mine that are suffering from the same water issues.

Desired Settlement: I want them to fix the molded drywall/insulation and improve the ventilation in my attic so that my home is safe to be occupied.

Business Response: Due to extreme temperatures in *********, ND, StoneCrest has discovered condensation in a few attics.
Condensation is normal and is the result of high humidity within the home and low outside temperatures.
The humidity level within the home is largely influenced and controlled by the occupant's lifestyle.
As a courtesy, StoneCrest is going to install a roof vent into the properties where this seems to be happening.
The roof vent will help prevent the condensation but is not a guarantee to eliminate it.
Homes that are past their one year limited warranty and/or have new homeowners will also have this courtesy, but no additional work.
This additional vent does not constitute a transferable warranty of any type to homeowners past their warranty, or the new homeowner.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business, and I would like additional information regarding the type of ventilation/roof vent that the company intends to install to mitigate the moisture issues in the attic.  From my conversations with the City of ********* buidling department, the builder based in *********, ***, informed them that he had approval to install a gable style vent or more box vents lower on the structure.   I just want to ensure that this information is true and if so, I fully accept the company response. 

Regards, 

******* *****

Business Response: As a courtesy, StoneCrest is going to install a roof vent into the properties where this seems to be happening.
The roof vent will help prevent the condensation but is not a guarantee to eliminate it.
Homes that are past their one year limited warranty and/or have new homeowners will also have this courtesy, but no additional work.
This additional vent does not constitute a transferable warranty of any type to homeowners past their warranty, or the new homeowner.
*** is a representative of StoneCrest and whatever vent the City of ********* approves, we will install.

1/3/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: StoneCrest Construction LLC will not fix any Warranty issues as per there contract. Their contractors, superintendents, and owners have no pride in there work. There was no supervisions in the process of building my house. My walls are cracking, my tile is coming loose, cracks in my shower, floors are coming apart, major concrete issues, and etc. I have been talking to their warranty department for over a year and very little has been done. They just give excuse's why it is not done. The owners will not talk to me and the warranty department just gets an attitude every time I call. Stonecrest used low quality contractors and construction supplies. They say they warranty there work, but they have not hardly repaired anything in the first year and seems like they have no concerns of repairing any problems in the near future. They do not want to spend the time and money to fix there mistakes.

Desired Settlement: FIX THE PROBLEMS IN A TIMELY MANNER WITHOUT GIVING EXCUSES PER THERE CONTRACT. HAVE PRIDE IN THERE WORK AND COMPANY. IF THEY DO NOT WISH TO FIX THE PROBLEMS, GIVE THE HOMEOWNER A SETTLEMENT SO HE CAN GET THE PROBLEMS FIX.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on StoneCrest Management Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart