This business is not BBB accredited.

StoneForest Real Estate Services LLC

Phone: (970) 646-2351 413 Railroad Ave, Loveland, CO 80537 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.Stoneforestres.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Stoneforest Real Estate Services provides Property Management and Real Estate Services for Northern Colorado including Loveland, Greeley & Fort Collins. From Rental Properties to Homeowners Associations to helping you buy or sell your home we provide customized solutions to ensure you are happy with your experience.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for StoneForest Real Estate Services LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on StoneForest Real Estate Services LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 08, 2012 Business started: 01/01/2006 Business started locally: 01/01/2006 Business incorporated 10/31/2011 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Real Estate-Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 295, Denver CO 80202
www.dora.state.co.us/real-estate/index.htm
Phone Number: (303) 894-2166

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John Sokoll, Owner Mr. Brad Sawatzky, Managing Broker
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Sokoll, Owner
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Renters Rental Listing Services Real Estate Services Investment Management Investment Seminars Association Management Condos Real Estate Real Estate Agents Real Estate - Short Sale Real Estate - Rent to Own Real Estate Advisors

Service Area
Larimer, Weld and Boulder counties inclduing Fort Collins, Windsor, Greeley, Loveland, Johnstown, Milliken, Berthoud, Longmont.
Products & Services

property management, association managers, real estate, short sales, rent-to-own, leasing, condos, homes, HOA

Industry Tips
Are Bonds the Right Investment for You? Financial Professionals Defined Take Precautions if Investing in Oil and Gas Tips for Finding Property Management Companies Ways to to Avoid Investment Fraud

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    413 Railroad Ave

    Loveland, CO 80537 (970) 646-2351

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Stone Forest Property Management is a property management company is careless and negligent and has caused tens of thousands of dollars of damage to my home. **** ****** is the owner as reported by the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies. The unit where I live is a condominium, which ***** the Property Management Company (PMC) was hired by the Home Owners Association (HOA) to manage the various upkeep and maintenance activities at the condominium complex. I only recently purchased this ***** so I was not involved in decision. Each owner at each condominium pays Stone Forest LLC a fee (about $155 each month, x20 units). I work primarily from home, and as a network engineer for a very large software development company, I keep a lot of computer equipment in the second bedroom of my apartment; servers, routers, swithces, firewalls, etc - a full test lab network. Last weekend I went camping and we got rained out, there were minor but consistent thunderstorms so we headed home. Upon returning home on Sunday night I discovered the corner of the office ceiling was wet and dripping water directly onto a **** *** server with redundant *** **** in it! This is a very expensive piece of equipment and theserver was beginning to show signs of water damage already (high cooler utilization, drive errors and thrashing). Beneath that was a ***** **** (****-series router with dual *** cards), and that was flashing alarms. I hung up a tarp in order to funnel the dripping ceiling into a bucket and to protect the rest of the hardware in the room as well as possible and checked the weather forecast. It was forecast, acording to the **** website, at that time, to rain very heavily Tuesday and Wednesday. The HOA is responsible for the roof of the ***** complex. I can only make repairs to or inside the walls. Being very concerned, and having limited time before the weather got worse, I called Stone Forest LLC immediately when they opened on Monday morning. I reported the issue to them and they said they would get someone up onto the roof to repair the leak immediately. I went to work that day, having some meetings which required me to be in my office that morning. The rain continued to worsen and I went home when possible to empty buckets but it was a losing battle - water was overflowing into the carpet and spreading across the floor through the carpet pads. I called Stone Forest again and this time I got through to **** ******. He reported that all roofers were too busy and would not go onto the roof in the rain. I suggested they wrap the area of the roof with tarps temporarily in order to mitigate the damage. They had the entire day Monday to repair or halt the quickly worsening damage. Tuesday and Wednesday it rained very hard, several inches at least, and by Thursday I had given up on Stone Forest completely. I contacted the HOA's ********* first, and was made aware that **** ****** had not even made the most basic effort to reach out to their ********* company. I filed a claim with them. I called my ********* agent and opened a claim with my home owners *********. Wednesday, water and fire damage mitigation and cleanup companies were called. I declined to use the company the HOA hired - I talked to them and suspect that they were more interested in saving Mr. ****** money than in fixing the problem. By this point, water is dripping into my livingroom, directly under the office space. The ceiling in the living room was sagging badly, and more computer equipment was failing in chain reaction. Mr. ****** rudely hung up the phone on me when I told him I would be using a different cleanup company than his buddies. At this point, I have around fifteen thousand dollars in damage to personal items and equipment in my home, and the ceilings in my living room and office have been removed. My furniture is wrapped in plastic on the deck. My wife and I are moving into a hotel, on my own dime at this point, while the constructions crews try to fix the damage. Looks like a couple weeks to go. My home owners ********* has initiated a subrogation suit against Mr. ****** and ******** ****** *********. Don't use these guys for property management. They are more interested in their bottom line than their customers. I will do what I can at the next HOA board meeting to fire these guys and fine someone else to maintain the property.

Desired Settlement: I will be working with the HOA and a number of lawyers to terminate any contract with this PMC and will be seeking to be made whole via legal and ********* channels. In the mean time I will not be paying any HOA dues to Stone Forest.

Business Response: *****, 

Please see our response below for the complaint received on Wednesday August 20th, 2014. 

I would, first, like to start off letting Mr. ****** know we are sorry that he has had to experience damage to his property. Our goal has been and will be to make sure we move as quickly and responsively as possible to make sure we have done everything within our power to remedy the situation.  StoneForest works very hard to provide a quality service and we think the A+ ranking on the BBB and zero customer complaints up to this point in our history speaks to the level we provide.  
Below is an outline of the events that unfolded and how StoneForest attempted to mitigate the damages related to the water leak brought to StoneForests’ attention on Monday July 28th, 2014.
StoneForest received a call on July 28, 2014 from ******** ****** ********* stating that Mr. ****** left them a voicemail Sunday July 27th regarding his roof leak. Mr. ****** called StoneForest shortly after the ********* company and notified us of the roof leak as well. 
Even upon the initial phone call Mr. ****** was extremely agitated at the situation and demanded that the Association have a roofer come immediately to his residence to repair the leak or he would be pursuing legal avenues due to StoneForest neglect.  The phone calls continued through the day Monday July 28th with increasing aggravation from Mr. ****** until due to the verbal berating that was being directed at my staff I (**** ******) asked that all phone calls from Mr. ****** be sent to myself.  
Directly after receiving the call, StoneForest staff called *** Roofing right away to see about having one of their technicians visit the property to determine what the cause was and a plan for repair.  ***’s technician was onsite the same day (Monday July 28th, 2014).
Due to rain (no one is able to get on a wet roof), *** was unable to make repairs or tarp the leak due to the issue being within the flashing until Thursday 7/31/14. (See attached letter from ***)
*** was out on Tuesday July 29, 2014 with ********* adjuster, **** *******, and *** offered equipment to help protect his computer software and Mr. ****** refused. *** also suggested that Mr. ****** move his computer software to prevent damage and Mr. ****** also declined. Unfortunately, if these suggestions would have been followed the overall damage to Mr.******** unit would have been minimal and easily repaired once the leak was able to be fixed.  (See letter attached from ******** ****** adjustor **** *******)
While at Mr. ******’s unit, Mr. ****** mentioned to *** employees present and **** ******* that he noticed discoloration on his ceiling prior (roughly 30 days) and that he didn’t notify StoneForest of the issue until Monday July 28. 
Once the rain had stopped on Thursday early morning (7/31/14) *** was onsite at Mr. ******** unit to repair the roof because the rain had stopped and a repair was now possible. 
While *** was onsite finishing the repair, **** ****** from StoneForest called Mr. ****** to setup a walkthrough of his unit to determine damage and to arrange for repairs to be made.  During the call Mr. ****** informed StoneForest that he had already hired another company to repair his interior due to negligence on StoneForest part and not responding in time.  **** ****** informed Mr. ****** that vendors were hired by the association and that any decisions to hire outside companies could result in the unit owner being responsible for payment to those vendors.  At this time during the conversation Mr. ****** informed StoneForest that he would not be allowing anyone from the Association, StoneForest or any vendor from the association into his unit.  
**** ****** spoke with Mr. ****** on 7/31/14 at 5:25PM and Mr. ****** said and confirmed that he was refusing help of the association. Unfortunately, there are occasionally conversations that are both unsuccessful and inappropriate, these conversations were a regular occurrence with Mr. ****** and needed to come to an end.  **** ****** told Mr. ****** that he had to get going and asked for him to confirm that he was denying the help of the association. Mr. ****** confirmed and **** said thanks, have a good day, bye and then hung up. Three office personnel were present for the conversation and can verify the end of the conversation if needed. 
A couple clarifying remarks to help create an understanding of the situation.  
1.) The HOA dues are paid to the ********* ***** Association, not StoneForest.  StoneForest receives a management fee for the work done but it is a small percentage of the total paid to the ********* association on a monthly basis.  
2.) While **** ****** did mention to Mr. ****** that roofers were extremely busy due to the recent hail storm experienced by Fort Collins, StoneForest was still able to call in favors to get the issue resolved as soon as weather made it possible. 
3.) Mr. ******** claim that StoneForest did not even take the simplest step in informing the ********* company is true. ******** ****** ********* contact StoneForest immediately prior to the call we received from Mr. ****** informing us of the leak. These calls were both received on the morning of Monday July 28th.  
4.) StoneForest has stayed in touch with the Associations Board of Directors, specifically **** ***** (President). The board has been in agreement with all decisions made by StoneForest to remedy the situation.  
 
Overall, while the event has been unfortunate, we at StoneForest feel we were able to respond and ultimately solve the issue (that we were allowed to fix) at Mr. ******’s unit in a timely manner.  

**** ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: **** ****** lies. There was no precipitation on Monday, July 28th.

See: 
http://www.***************************************************************************************************************************

This data is generated form the ******** ******* *** *********** ************** data sets. It didn't start raining until Tuesday, July 29th. This ***** that Stone Forest LLC had 24-36 hours to tarp the roof in order to mitigate the leak before it got out of control. They ignored my request to fix the roof. It was not wet. They have enough maintenance and support staff to have tarped the roof within a couple of hours. This negligent act caused immense damage to my home.

Regards,

****** ******