This business is not BBB accredited.

Henderson Management and Real Estate LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 663-6311 Fax: (970) 663-6094 5110 Granite St. # D, Loveland, CO 80538 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.hmre.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This is a full service property management company and real estate agency.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Henderson Management and Real Estate LLC include:

  • 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

14 Customer Reviews on Henderson Management and Real Estate LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 11
Total Customer Reviews 14

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 05, 2003 Business started: 09/01/1994 Business started locally: 09/01/1994 Business incorporated 10/02/2003 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Real Estate-Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 295, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/real-estate/index.htm
Phone Number: (303) 894-2166

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jason Hanson, Owner Ms. Chanelle Frydendall, Accounting Manager Ms. Jessica Joles, Director of Sales
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Hanson, Owner
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Renters Real Estate Agents

Service Area
Larimer and Weld county
Products & Services

property maintenance, rental services, real estate investment

Industry Tips
Tips for Finding Property Management Companies

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Henderson Management and Real Estate LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3030 S College Ave, Ste 210

    Ft Collins, CO 80525

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5110 Granite St. # D

    Loveland, CO 80538

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    605 S College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80524

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/29/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved out of my apartment and was charged $627.13 from my $1,064.50 deposit. I was charged $180.00 for damage that was already present (painted leaves on the walls) when I had moved in, and indicated on my move-in walk through sheet. Henderson has not yet been able to produce the walk-through sheet in question which would certainly indicate that the damage already existed before I arrived. Furthermore, I was also charged $150.00 for basic cleaning (showers, bath tub, oven, etc.). I find this confusing because I had already paid over $200.00 for a professional company to clean the unit the same day I turned in my keys (I still have my itemized receipts for this cleaning) I was also charged $90.00 to "re-drill" a lock, as well as almost $30.00 for a new lock. I fail to see how this falls under normal wear and tear, as the lock functioned exactly as it was supposed to when I moved out. As it is, the lease already demands a required re-keying fee, as well as a mandatory $150.00 carpet cleaning fee for 300 square feet of carpet, regardless of the condition of the carpet in question. Even though these charges might technically be legal in Colorado,, they are certainly unethical as this practice is ILLEGAL in several states across the country. I was also charged $11.22 for Electricity charges that were incurred AFTER I had already moved out. I had turned in my keys on June 10th, as well as filled out my forwarding address information. Their deposit return letter however alleges that I moved out on June 20th, which is incorrect. As a result, I was charged for electricity that I was not using. In fact, my records indicate that I canceled power to the unit on June 8th, and paid my final **** on June 13th. I suspect that Henderson lost these records, as they contacted me recently for my forwarding address despite the fact I had filled out the form at their office in person when I turned in my keys on June 10th. Because of this, I can only conclude that they made up my move-out date and charged me accordingly.

Desired Settlement: I believe, at minimum, I should be returned $330.00 for the re-painting that I did not cause, and the cleaning that was certainly already completed by a reputable company.

Consumer Response:

***** ******* ****** ********************* *** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** ******* ********

Hello, 

I am writing to inform you that a dispute between myself and Henderson Management has been resolved. The corresponding complaint number is: ********.

Please let me know if you have any other questions,

**** ******

8/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was urged to fill out an application and pay a $50 app fee before viewing the property to hold my spot as first in line for the property. No one showed up to the showing to let me in (glad I left work for this...). Then I get a call saying that my app was approved, but the property is no longer available. I now cannot get a call back regarding a refund for the application fee. I was absolutely scammed out of $50 by Henderson.

Desired Settlement: I would like my application fee refunded.

Business Response:

I would like to thank ********* ******* for letting us know that we had a broken procedure.  We have since corrected it.  I tried calling her July 29, 2016 and left her a voice mail message requesting her to contact me regarding this situation, but still have not heard from her.  We refunded her application fee of $50 on August 1, 2016.  We are always striving to improve our customer service. 

 

3/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Henderson Property Management (the Company) advertised a property (*** ****** ***** ********) as available. Their property listing showed a clean property, including a room (converted garage) that was carpeted. They also advised that a dog and cat were allowed. I met with a Henderson employee, who showed me the interior of the home, as I was interest in renting the property. Upon inspection, the property was in need of cleaning (very dusty, with loose dirt throughout; a significant amount of paint had been spilled on the carpet in one of the bedroom), and the carpeting in the converted garage room had all been torn up, as though renovation was planned, but had not yet occurred. The Henderson employee (Kylie) advised me (which I have on SmartPhone video) that: 1) they were in the process of replacing the missing carpet, and it would be completed before we moved in; 2) one of their professional cleaning crews would be cleaning the property before we moved in; and 3) our dog and cat would be welcome. Further, I was advised that I would have to pay the application fees to tie up the property. Given these assurances, I agreed to pay the $100 application fee, so that we did not lose our opportunity to rent the property. I was notified by the Company a day or two later, that our application had been approved, and we could move in immediately. I reminded them of the conversation I had with Kylie, regarding the disarray of the property, and the additional work that needed to be done to make the property inhabitable. The Company said they would have to look into the matter and would call me back. After almost a week, I had received no response from the Company, so I initiated contact with them. The Company said that the property had no problems and was ready to be occupied; however, they could not rent the property to us, because we had a cat (which had been fully disclosed, both during the initial inspection/walkthrough, as well as in our rental application... both time, they confirmed there would be no issue). The Company advised that our application remained active, which we could now apply towards any of their other properties, and they provided me with a list, of which none allowed a cat. I last contacted them on 01/22/2016, where the employee I spoke with would "discuss my issues" with a manager and call me back on the following Monday. To date, I have not yet heard back from anyone at the Company. This experience was nothing less than a "Bait and Switch" scam. I have video, phone, and hard copy records in support of my complaint. Over the course of these events, I have learned of other individuals, who have also experienced similar "bait and switch" issues with this specific Company.

Desired Settlement: Refund of entire "application" fees paid by both my wife and myself. A record of this complaint to remain on file with BBB, for the benefit of the public. Not be blacklisted from any Rental Screening Database, due to my initiating this complaint.

Business Response:

The tenant could not rent until the 15th of February. This is against policy. We can not hold properties without a rent paying customer for more than 2 weeks. Secondly his application was approved with a cat.  They were informed they were approved and needed to bring in the Security deposit. The notes in the system refer more than once to the fact that they needed a later move in date and they would check to see if their finances allowed them to move in earlier. To no avail apparently.
I have discussed this situation with **** ******** and he did agree to the above statement.  We also agreed that we would refund his application fee and he would remove this complaint as it was not accurate.  The application fee was refunded 2/12/16.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because it is incredibly inaccurate. The only accurate information is that they did (eventually) refund our deposit... but only after we filed our complaint with the BBB.

Among the inaccuracies in their response, the Company failed to mention that they had initially confirmed that we could have a cat in this property, and then after accepting our application monies, telling us that they could not rent this property to us because we had a cat. Another detail they seem to have excluded from their "system" of records.

Also, contrary to the Company's response, I did not "agree with" their inaccurate statement, in response to this complaint. I confirmed with them on 01/15/2016 that we were not going to be held to the "30 day notice" clause in our previous lease, so we would be able to move in immediately, as soon as they had completed the repairs and the necessary cleaning that their Agent had confirmed would be done, when we inspected the property. (See attached bait & switch photos confirming the actual condition of property--with the switch photos taken from part of the video I have, corroborating the statements in my complaint, confirming that the Company stated that they would be cleaning and completing repairs of the property--vs what has been portrayed in statements by the Company).

Regards,

**** ********

Business Response: HMRE has policy & procedures that we have in place to ensure that all prospective tenants are treated equally.   It is our policy to try and work to a solution of compromise with an unsatisfied customer.  I have personally spoken with Mr ******** and refunded his application fee, with the understanding that this was resolved. 

11/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Henderson Management only returned 567.55 out of a deposit of $895.00. I feel they charged excessive amounts for what they claim. $180.00 cleaning and we cleaned to what said on the check out sheet, also the owner living next door said there was one lady in there about eight hours also with a little child. $237.12 for cleaning by there figures 620 square feet. $30.00 first for hualing off lawn mower and hose then they changed that to general maintenance. $31.85 for changing locks which was not done when moved in and then later in contract added it.

Desired Settlement: Would like to have another $100.00 dollars back.

Business Response: ***** ***** and ***** *******, along with the property manager all discussed the Security Deposit Disposition.  The following items were discussed and agreed upon:
The owner waived the lease break fee along with other fees, over $400
Refunded them $151.52 on carpet cleaning charge, ($51.51) and $100 concession on cleaning fee (as agreed upon)
Lock changing fee remains the same as per lease agreement
They were not charged the full amount of the clean up fees, for the yard (pictures can be provided)  
Henderson Management feels that the owner was more than fair with the Security Deposit Refund and felt that this matter had been handled very professionally.  All these items were discussed and agreed upon by ***** & *****.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** -***** *****-*******

10/7/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After the end of our lease on May 31st, 2015, Henderson Management and Real Estate LLC proceeded to charge us ("us" being myself, my wife, and two other roommates) $2,858.62 for move-out charges. Those charges were categorized as follows: $900 for general maintenance ,$787.50 for lawn maintenance ,$640.00 for move-out cleaning ,$187.00 for carpet cleaning ,$75.00 for fireplace investigation ,$75.00 for refrigerator maintenance ,$152.49 for Home depot parts ,$17.34 for the landfill ,$24.35 for the City of Greeley, all of this equaling the $2858.68 total. After sending Henderson a letter disputing the charges, they conceded the following: $110 for "pull and patch" charges (under the general maintenance charges), due to "walls damaged" listed on move-in check in sheet. $82.50 for replacing refrigerator parts (under Refrigerator maintenance charges), which were listed on one of their annual walk-through notes. $27.50 maintenance charges for burn marks on counter-top (under general maintenance charges), which were originally listed on the check-in sheet. $27.50 for removing double-sided sticky tape on floor (under general maintenance charges), which were listed on the check-in sheet. $27.50 for unclogging bathroom drain (under general maintenance charges), which was listed on the check-in sheet, and there wasn't any record of it being fixed. These concessions came to a total of $275 subtracted from their total of $2,858.68, for a total of $2,583.68 charged to us. These charges have already been paid, as to prevent Henderson from sending these charges to collections, and causing credit damage. The dispute we have is with the exorbitant charges for the general maintenance, general cleaning, yard cleaning, and fireplace investigation, for a total of $2402.5 of the charges. The problem we are having is the original pictures that were taken upon move-in have been lost, due to the phone used to take them is broken. The only evidence we, ourselves, have to fight these charges is on the walk-in sheet, which Henderson doesn't seem to think is enough for the deposit ($995 deposit) to cover. There is evidence that would help prove our case in Henderson's annual walk-through's, in which they go through a checklist with photos and notes. We have requested all maintenance requests be provided to us, but we have not been provided all of them, despite repeated requests. We have made requests for their annual walk-through photos pertaining to before the 2011 lease move-in date, since this evidence would help prove, for example, that the yard had weeds filling the yard, which, again, were denied. If they were so sure that we were at fault, it really shouldn't be a problem to provide before-and-after pictures, should it? We have been loyal tenants, paying our monthly lease payments on time since 2011. This house was built before 1978, and the age shows, internally and externally. We did our best to make-do with what was given us, doing most of our own maintenance, because Henderson took weeks, even months to respond to some of our requests. We have videos of us doing yard work in the back, to clear out most of the weeds and debris. We have pictures of the 20-or so trash bags filled with trimmed branches, weeds, and grass clippings. We have a picture of the yard recently maintained right before we moved out. We have pictures of the inside of our place, looking very neat and orderly. All of these are only pictures/videos of us during our stay, but not before, which does nothing to prove our case. I am only stating this to show that we tried to, again, make-do with the sad state this property was handed over to us upon move-in, and that it is not our duty to IMPROVE the property, but to MAINTAIN in the state that it is given us. Henderson obviously begs to differ, by inferring that it is our duty to improve the premises (such as a charge that included labor and materials to use Old English on the interior doors? Is shining and polishing doors what you would consider IMPROVING the property, or maintaining?) To refer to my specific disputes. Regarding General maintenance, there are some things that are clearly stated on the lease that we would be responsible for, such as the carpet cleaning, lock changes, and garage door opener. But, some of the charges don't seem appropriate, such as $20 to buy a window screen, and 30 minutes to replace it? When the labor charges are a steep $55/hr, this can make a huge difference. Another example would be 15 minutes to clean out the garbage disposal. It seems that anything that took only a few minutes, was automatically funneled into the minimum "15 min" category, resulting in a lot of $13.75 charges. Another example would be the sink-filter charges. I had left a perfectly good Pur sink filter on the kitchen sink (about a $30 value, without a filter, only needed a replacement filter), to be used in case the next tenant desired it. I left the old sink aerator on the window sill, in case this was a problem. We were charged 15 minutes for removing this filter, and reattaching the new one. Again, 15 minutes? The filter doesn’t even need to be unscrewed, you simply press two buttons on the side and it pops off. These unfounded $13.75 charges really add up, if this is the standard charging method used against us. Despite asking for the original time sheets for all of these charges, they were not provided to us, only on a piece-meal basis. No wonder the general maintenance came to $900, where a lot of the charges (like a 15-minute cleaning out of the garbage disposal that was in perfect working condition) should be considered normal wear-and-tear. One of the charges was for 1-hour labor charges for "paint ceiling", because there was "glue" on the ceiling... That sounds like a remodeling/construction aesthetic error on Henderson's part, doesn't it? Why would we, as tenants, be using caulking/glue around the ceiling, floor, or walls? We would have no motivation to. We were conceded the charges for pull-and-patch for the walls and floors, but for some reason the ceiling was excluded from this, equaling $55 of unfounded charges. The move-out cleaning charges were unfounded, as well. My wife's mother and my own mother, as well as other friends and family, came to help us move-out from this residence. The bathrooms were cleaned spotlessly before we left. I witnessed my mother cleaning the baseboards in the basement as we were cleaning up. My wife's mother owns and runs her own house-cleaning business! If Henderson needs proof verifying this statement, I can provide it. Our own mistake was not taking pictures before we left. Henderson has provided pictures of the place, that their own cleaning crew took, but how do you prove that there is dirt/dust left on the floor? The only picture that shows our own negligence is behind the fridge, which I agree we forgot to sweep/clean behind the fridge. Everything else? They were repeat cleanings. We had already swept, and are now being charged for their cleaning crews re-sweeping an already swept house, and already cleaned bathtub, and already cleaned baseboard. The lease already prevents us from choosing a carpet-cleaning crew that might be cheaper than the one they choose, but it should be allowed to clean the place and not get charged for repeated cleanings. The windows on the outside? I agree, we didn't clean those. The external light-fixtures? I agree, we didn't clean those. But, the majority of the cleaning charges, we believe we would've been charged for even if we would have hired our own professional cleaning crew (along with my wife's mother's help). We believe these cleaning charges to be exorbitant and they go beyond what would be considered normal wear-and-tear, which the lease says specifically we would NOT be liable for. I've already gone into the yard charges previously, but this one should have been an easy concession for Henderson to make, but they chose not to. Our walk-in sheet said these words exactly, in 2011, "Damaged? Yes, Lawn is in very bad shape, no grass, weeds everywhere. Needs a ton of work." This was part of their response, "...Weeds present three years ago are long gone by the time we do the walk." The reason WHY these weeds are gone, is because we, as tenants, were fulfilling our duties to try and MAINTAIN the yard. Whatever evidence they have, from their walk-through's after 2011, is due to our efforts to control the yard, despite it being a complete disaster upon move-in. Out of all $787.50 charged for yard clean-up, none was conceded to us, DESPITE our walk-in sheet listing what is stated above. This is unacceptable. We should not be charged for the fireplace whatsoever, even if it was only for the $75 inspection fee. This gas-fireplace was never functional to begin with (which makes including on their marketing ads "a gas fireplace" a fraud). We were charged because they found ashes in the fireplace, which they are using as evidence blaming us for the fireplace being non-functional. We never used the fireplace. It was never functional, even upon the 2011 move-in. Another argument we would like to make against this charge is that if the gas fireplace wasn't up to code, and was non-functional, how would burning wood in the fireplace be an alternative method for use? I am not a fireplace inspector, but it seems that the exhaust system for a broken gas fireplace would not be sufficient enough for a full wood log to be successfully burned within it. All in all, we, as loyal tenants, feel we have been unfairly used by Henderson to update this old piece of property

Desired Settlement: 1st priority, we would like the yard charges to be repaid back to us (again, "us" being the 4 signed tenants on the 2015 lease). We did our duty maintaining the yard, in the state that it was in upon our move-in date. Following this, we would like to have the rest of the charges that we have paid, repaid back to "us" to bring the charge balance to less than or equal to the deposit amount of $995, which would be a total of at least $1,588.68 refunded. That is what the deposit is and should be used for, and we were extremely low-maintenance, loyal tenants who took very good care of a less-than-average property, and paid our lease payments on time, every month, from 2011-2015. From reading disputes other tenants have had against Henderson, it doesn’t seem like this property management company is doing a very good job at fostering positive relationships with their tenants. Again, we paid these charges to mitigate Henderson's threat of collections. We don't mean to cause trouble, but we feel we've been taken advantage of, and would like to have this issue taken care of. Thank you for your time.

Business Response: Thank you for the opportunity to respond and to clarify the quality and care with which Henderson Management and Real Estate LLC. applies to this and all properties we manage.
The tenants occupied the home for two years. The tenants received the original list of items charged against their deposit with specific itemized charges related to their lease obligations. After several verbal conversations and several requests to submit a list of contested issues and charges in writing, the tenants submitted a written "Contested Charges" itemized list on August 12th, 2015.  Henderson Management investigated each item and responded on August 14th, 2015. We responded to each line item explaining the charges.
A full inspection was conducted and photos taken one day after the tenants moved out. In the two years the tenants occupied the home, four separate inspections were done.  Two annual inspections, one move-out inspection and one 90 day inspection that is conducted near the first 90 days of the tenancy.   Notes and photos were taken at each of these inspections. The photos and notes demonstrate the declining condition of the home, especially the exterior over that time period. Per their lease, the Tenants were responsible for all landscaping, lawn, shrub and weed care.  Upon move-out, the lawns were dry, damaged and uncut. The trees were showed no sign of being trimmed at all in two years, and all landscaping and garden sculpting was overgrown with weeds and saplings to the point that you could not see the fence line or the gardens. Three trips were made to remove yard and landscaping waste and debris while tenants were only charged for one trip. The owner had to absorb these costs related to the outdoor landscaping required to return the home to safe and livable conditions.  
At the time of move-out, hundreds of items of trash, rotten food, furniture and debris were left in the front of the home, side yards, back yard, garage and basement. The tenants were contacted and were informed that they would be responsible for removing of all these items. Tenants bagged up the garbage in the front yard only.  All of the side yard, back yard, storage shed and garage items remained, requiring clean up and haul off. Three trips were made to haul junk and debris. Tenants were only charged for one.
Internally, gooey yellow food stains were found on walls of the kitchen and the ceiling of the living room , which required painting to cover. All walls, window sills, baseboards, appliances, floors, tiled surfaces, bathrooms, fixtures, windows, window sills, cabinets and drawers required cleaning and dusting if not painting. Carpets were not vacuumed and other flooring was not swept or mopped. Tacks and nails and tape as well as over a hundred tack anchor and nail holes were left on the walls. Appliance were left unclean and unmoved in order to clean walls and flooring.
In addition. The gas fireplace  was not in operation prior to move-in  and remained inoperable at the owner’s request.   At some point in their tenancy, they burned a wooden logs in the fireplace (the burned logs were still in the gas fireplace at time of inspection and photographed) causing damage that could not be repaired. The gas insert is no longer repairable due to this burning. However, tenants were not charged for this damage but were only charged a service charge for the fireplace technician to inspect the damage for safety purposes.
Henderson Management not only responded to every reasonable request for maintenance from the tenants, we responded in reasonable time and at no cost to the tenants. During the two year tenancy, the tenant's requested and received service for over 50 repair items during 13 service trips.
Tenants contested items in every category of lease related charges. After all disputed items were investigated and related documents and photos were supplied,  Henderson Management refunded the tenants $275.00.

8/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I notified Henderson that we would like to terminate our lease early and knew we would be responsible if we left the house and it was not rented. Henderson told us the had it rented for 6-15-15 and that we owed money for rent to the 15th. I said that was fine and we would plan to stay in the home while rent was being paid until 6-12-15 Henderson demanded that we vacate on 6-1-15 and still pay rent. End result henderson agreed to not make us pay rent as they where not willing to let us stay the first two weeks of June. Documented via email exchange with Henderson Problem #1 Henderson charged rent and utilities for June claiming they are keeping our deposit and we owe them money. We had a credit due to us from Excel energy of $78 that should be returned to us. Problem #2 Henderson claimed we owed a remarking fee for moving out early. I advised this wasn't in our contract and had we known that we would just stay in the home 2 more months until our lease was up. I eventually agreed to pay half of the fee of marketing the home as normally it is the home owners responsibility. Henderson charged us the full amount even though this listing fee was never mentioned in the contract we signed I tried to work with them they agreed to half the fee. Problem #3 we moved into the home in November of 2014 and moved out in May we were charged for excessive weds in the yard. These weeds were noted on the move in inspection and we did not cause them in the 2 months of spring that we lived in the home. Henderson charged us for spraying and pulling weeds. Henderson claims a refrigerator door was missing that was false. I offered to do a walk through the home with Henderson and they refused. So I documented with pictures and videos this house was left in excellent condition far better than when we received it from Henderson. We were charged bogus fees. They claim they had to install a laundry room door. I reported this door to Henderson and sent them a picture of the poor installment and told them it fell on my 2 year old daughter then never came to fix it. I can see now by the amount of complaints this is apparently Henderson's normal operating procedure. This is the first property management company that didn't return my deposit. I can't believe how clean we left it and they charge us anyway.

Desired Settlement: Henderson should return our deposit deducting for the lock change carpet cleaning, half the listing fee and nothing else.

Consumer Response: The below complaint has been resolved by Henderson Property management

Thank you
****** ******

5/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Henderson Management (HMRE)was the leasing company of a house we rented in Loveland, CO from 7/5/13 to 2/28/15. When we moved in, the house had numerous deficiencies in terms of cleanliness and up keep and it was apparent that this house had been neglected from a maintenance perspective for awhile. A detailed list of the deficiencies were documented along with photos and the proper maintenance request form was completed and sent to them. Most of these requests had to do with painting the interior to cover up defects in the drywall, hall debris away left by others, clean a large oil stain in the garage, replace cracked fridge bin etc. We were told by HMRE that the owners were not interested in doing the maintenance and we had "to live with it". Others excuses were offered as well such as we are "so busy" and we "have had personnel turnover". Fast forward to move out day, final statement and the return of our $1695 security deposit; we were quite surprised to see that they took our entire $1695 plus also wanted an additional $326.32. The itemized statement was re-sent and it was apparent that they never even looked at nor compared the pre-existing damage documentation and just tried to charge us. A letter of dispute was sent and they did credit us $535.04.The other concerns are the excess fees charged to us for terminating our lease early. They were given 87 days notice (contract says 60) and yet they charged us $866.65 for a "re-marketing fee", rent income for the days until new tenants moved in 5 days later at $273.4 and utilities for 5 days. They tried to charge us a late fee for rent in February because they deducted the remarketing fee from our rent that month yet never told us about this fee. This was waived later. The lease agreement was signed by us on 2/27/15, move out day, when there was no time to get legal review, photo copy etc. This company, in our opinion, reeks of disorganization, inconsistent standards based on what benefits them and future tenants should be aware and document.

Desired Settlement: In our opinion this company's business model and ethics are questionable. They are a large management company and if applying these charges and practices across their entire portfolio, they are potentially bilking their customers out of significant security deposit refunds. Sure, we would be happier with a refund of the $866.65, but this is more about ethics, trust, customer service, being called on their practices and them taking a closer look at their business model.Thank you

Business Response:
To Whom It May Concern:

We are disappointed that ******* ********* feels this
way.  We felt we were in the process of
working this issue out when we received this dispute from the BBB.   Henderson Management takes this claim very
serious and we would like to clear up a few items.

1)  ******* was
partially correct regarding the condition of the property at his move in. There
were a few items that were left that belonged to the property, paint,
lightbulbs, carpet remnants’, blinds, cleaning items etc that were to remain
with the property.  There was a desk and
a water heater (not working) that should have been removed. All maintenance
requests submitted in writing, are reviewed and discussed with the property
owners.  Owners are not required to
address cosmetic issues, like spot painting and oil stain in garage, but are
required to address fire, life safety issues.  
Tenant was charged for removal of some additional items, because the
items were not documented correctly on his check in sheet.  ******* had brought to our attention concerns
around some of the items he was charged for upon move out. .  After reviewing the file, Henderson
Management and Real Estate credited him $535.04.

2) On December 4, 2014, ******* gave notice that he was
moving out.  The property manager had
thoroughly discussed the consequences of breaking the lease, which is a binding
contract.  The lease would have ended
6/30/2015.  At which time, he decided to
do the lease break addendum option, which is substantially less than paying the
remaining 4 months of rent on his lease.   
The addendum was sent to him 12/8/14 @ 1:00pm, which allowed plenty of
time for legal counsel.  The lease break
addendum was signed by both tenants on 2/27/15 and they vacated the unit the
next day, 2/28/15. 

Again, we take these comments very serious and want to make
sure that this misunderstanding has been resolved.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Thank you for your rapid response. There are several false statements made by HRME in their response. First, is that we didn't document properly. Attached is the original check-in sheet documenting the deficiencies and also the typed list dated 7/10/13 labeled Ref. 3 that was sent by e-mail using their maintenance request form on line. Also attached are photos of the general state of uncleaniness, pre-existing damage and debris left behind by others. The second false statement is that the "Property Manager had  thoroughly discussed  the consequences of breaking the lease". This simply didn't happen. I agree that I did have some time to seek legal counsel to review of the legalities of being charged $866.65 for breaking the lease, but what resolution could have possibly occurred before our move out date. Does HMRE really want their tenants to be forced to seek legal council every time they move out? If so, why would any one rent from them. The consequences of breaking a lease should be spelled out in the initial lease agreement and not force folks to scramble in the last months when they're in transition.  

What concerns me the most is HRME business/profit model and formula; turn a "blind eye", make a cursory inspection on peoples move-in and then be unable to locate their "check-in sheets"; then lower the boom and nick-pick when people move out. What a brilliant, totally one sided, double standard formula for justifying taking security deposits. This spread across their entire rental portfolio over many years could really add up for them and amount to a lot of loss of security deposits in many folks who are struggling to make ends meet. 

Regards,

******* *********  

3/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Henderson Management is a rental properties company. Me and my wife tried contacting them for over a week with no answer until today. We were trying to get a hold of them for the many properties that they had listed for rent. They finally returned our call today. We explained that we were having problems finding rentals and that our needs included a home that would accommodate Special needs children. We also explained that I was a veteran of the US Army. We were told at that point that we were not the type of people that they would rent to and that they would not help us. Previously we had stopped by their office to see what rentals they had. When we went into the building we were brushed off, told to just check their website and that nobody could help us.

Desired Settlement: This company should be shut down for discrimination or Sued for the disgraceful way they treat veterans and people with special needs.

Business Response: Our policy is to educate every prospective tenant about our
"automatic Disqualifiers"  
prior to having them pay the $45 application fee per applicant. (For
example, judgements, tax liens, collections from utility companies, other
landlords etc.).  Part of the application
fee is the credit report that is required on all prospective tenants.   Once they are educated on our process, the
applicant can make the decision on whether to pay the application fee and fill
out the application or not.   In this
case, we went back to the call logs and found only one record of the
prospective tenant calling. The records also show our leasing department left
them a voice mail regarding the Automatic Disqualifiers. We are very pro-active
regarding customer complaints, that is why we have an extensive call log
process.

 We have checked our
Property Management system for any records of submitted applications and there
is no record of them having submitted one or having their credit report
pulled.  Without those two items, they
would not have been denied.    

We take these comments very serious and we are sorry that
they felt this way.

2/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the date of 5/5/14 my 2006 ** ******* was damaged by a basketball hoop that fell onto it from the property that we were renting, we contacted the rental agency (Henderson Management) in regards to damages and they told me to go through my insurance company and that they would pay the deductible back to us after completion of the body work, I have made numerous attempts to get back said money but to no avail. I would be more than happy to mail you supporting copies of documents if needed, thank you.

Desired Settlement: the $500 refund that we have tried to get back which was the deductible from auto insurance

Business Response: As per the Lease Agreement,  ***** ***** turned this claim into his car/renter's insurance company, which was ********.  The owner of the property was also contacted at that time of the incident, regarding the claim.  We have emails verifying that the owner's insurance company has been in contact with the claimant's, ***** *****, insurance company.  This issue is between the two insurance companies,  not with Henderson Management.

2/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a few complaints that range from different natures. 1. Having to live in unlivable living conditions, while living in these circumstances I would smell what would be a mixture of must and mold. The room I lived in had bubbles on the ceilings and the window ceil had rotten wood. The lease has a disclosure about mold but it was nothing that I ever thought would be as bad as it was. The company had property workers come to spray solution that smelt of Bleach but don’t know what it was. This would temporally fix the problem for about a week then it would show again. I had one service worker tell me that this homes downstairs living area ceiling was re-done at one point but not my room. 2. At Henderson the property has a zero marijuana policy, when I came home from a long work day. I would sometimes notice this marijuana scent in this home I never really complained about this because I didn’t have any physical evidence on this other than the scent. I felt when the property manager would make their way to my property they should have investigated this more. 3. Finally I needed to break my lease with Henderson I never complained once about the excessed fees they would be charging. However with Henderson if you do break a lease you must pay a remarketing fee of 35% of your rent and your monthly rent until the space has been re-occupied. During my time here I have never been late on rent, recently I was late on rent because I was out of town for a family emergency. Henderson has decided to charge me a late fee because they felt it was not a valid excuse because they have night drops at each location, keeping in mind I was not in town.

Desired Settlement: To start I would love an apology only because this staff is very unprofessional especially in the Ft Collins area. Whether it is getting a service worker out to fix something or even the manager not being fair with fees I just want to be completely out of my lease and not pay any other fees.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

This is regarding the complaint from **** *********, at **** *** **** *******. **** rented this apartment with 2 other tenants who currently still reside there. I would like to address each issue:
1) The mold issue was addressed immediately after it was reported to us.  The leak from the upstairs bathroom was repaired, sheet rock was replaced, carpet pad was replaced, mold was removed and treated. 
2) **** is correct in the fact that our lease does not allow smoking in any of our units.  It doesn’t matter if it is tobacco or marijuana.  This apartment building is a college rental.  There have been written lease violations letters sent to tenants.  Tenants have been evicted for not complying to the lease agreement.  Henderson Management is serious about protecting the welfare of our tenants and the property.
3) The lease agreement is a legal and binding contract which **** signed.  **** contacted the Property Manager to discuss his options for breaking the lease for personal reasons.  He also signed the lease break addendum after knowing what it would cost him.  He was also fully aware of all the options of how to pay rent.  We offer free on line rent payment thru the tenant portal, which he activated.  **** works in the banking industry so he knows the convenience of paying rent, any time, any where.   
**** and the Property Manager have had multiple conversations on various options of marketing this property to get it rented as soon as possible.  Hoping all these efforts will bring positive results soon. 

 


9/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented out my house with Henderson a little over a year ago. I have had a problem with the tenant parking boats and trailers in front of the house (on the street). The issue with the boat started right after the tenant moved in. Being in a HOA community, you cannot store a bait in the community. My property managers at Henderson keep saying they have resolved the problem and it is never resolved. I am tired of hearing from my HOA, and the property manager doing absolutely nothing to fix the problem. In my opinion this company does not operate in the owners best interest and to protect the owners investment. I have asked several times, to have the owner contact me, but have not heard one word from him.

Desired Settlement: I would like Henderson to let me out of my agreement with no fees so I can hire a property manager that will affective manage my property.

Business Response: Henderson Management is required by the Management Agreement, the
Lease Agreement and HOA Rules to follow the letter of the law. In this
case there has not been any violations of any of these contracts.  The
parking issue is regulated by the City of Fredrick  as it is a city
street. Therefore, the owner, the tenant or Henderson Management do not
have jurisdiction over it.

The Owner's  Management Agreement was cancelled.

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Nov. 2012 my husband was shown the property we currently reside in. During the "showing" my husband was told by HMRE that several items would be taken care of prior to our move-in, i.e. cleaning, removal of a washing machine (that the owner refused to leave with the house we later found out this was untrue), debris and light bulbs replaced. We moved in on a Saturday, Nov. 24, 2012 and NOTHING had been done, of course here we were with a rented moving truck and HMRE was "unavailable". This was just the beginning of our very negative and unprofessional experience with HMRE through the year. Repair requests were never responded to, one which could have caused serious water damage had we not taken steps ourselves. We were informed they were backlogged with turning sprinklers on 3 weeks later! We were told they would come and turn sprinklers on, never heard from them.According to our lease and HMRE we were on a septic system. In Sept. 2013 my husband received an email stating there was an outstanding sewer bill in the amount of $400+. He informed them that we had been told we were on a septic and it was in writing that there was no sewer obligation. Additionally this was HMRE's response as to why our basement smelled like a toilet for 8 months and there was little they could due to remedy it except to have us put septic treatment chemicals in weekly.We received a letter from the owner of the home that she was terminating her contract with HMRE as of Oct. 4, 2013. HMRE never notified us of this, our rights or obligations-NOTHING! All they did was was mail us back the rent check for Oct. 2013 with a post it note to mail it to the owner.They did not send the owner any of our paperwork specifically our walk-through paperwork or application information. They did nothing to protect us as their prior customers/residents.

Desired Settlement: First they need to send the homeowner our walk-through paperwork so that we are not liable for prior damages and can get 100% of our deposit back. They should enclose our application to also protect the homeowner so that she has any information she needs.HMRE needs to pay the estimated $35 per month sewer cost from 10/2013-3/2014 (this is the end of our lease). We did put the bill in our name because the homeowner is a senior on a fixed income. It was HMRE's error not ours and not the homeowner

Business Response: We have attached the lease. You will see under Utilities, Section 7, that the sewer is the responsibility of the tenant.

Consumer Response:

Dec. 5, 2013

To Whom It May Concern:

 

This is in regards to my complaint #******* and support for ****** *********** complaints regarding Henderson Property Management

 

 

 

1.      Sewer: Per our lease with Henderson Property Management;

 

#7 States-You shall pay for the following utilities if checked; water/sewer (TenantCity of Loveland)-see attached

When I contacted the City of Loveland I was informed all they provided was

water. This made sense; since Henderson Property Management had informed us we were on a septic.

Per Henderson Property Management's original Utility Services form that states the following;

Keys will NOT be given out without the return of this form with account numberswe did not receive keys until this form was provided to Henderson Property
Management and approved.

Please note on the attached original form that Henderson highlighted the utility
services for us. Also under Sewer Company it says "None".
***** ***** received an email from Henderson Property Management (see
attached) and responded (see attached) regarding the sewer bill from Town of
Berthoud. Henderson Property Management never contacted us again regarding
the sewer services. We learned from ****** Henderson that Henderson
Property Management had paid it. After learning that ****** had paid Sept. and
Oct. sewer bill we went ahead and contacted the Town of Berthoud and put the
service in our name.

We experienced months (Dec1, 2013-June 7, 2013) of the basement smelling like a toilet/sewer back up. Henderson Property Management would continually say it was due to the septic system. A plumber per Henderson Property
Management's request came out and provided us with septic system treatment powder. Which did not work.

****** Henderson had a plumber come out and replace the "Pit Lid" on June 7, 2013 and the smell is gone.

2. The shower issue. I received a call from "*****" Stating "she was behind on her
     
walk through for the property and needed to come out immediately". I believe this
     
call took place around May 1, 2013. She wanted to come on May 3, I explained
     
that would not work for me but the following Monday, May 6, at 10 am would be
     
fine. I was glad she was coming out because I had 2 concerns- (1) The shower
     
wood sealant was peeling off and a wood knot was swelling (2) a door that had
     
started sticking; in addition to the previously discussed continued smell
     
downstairs.

On May 6, 2013 about 11 am I received a call from ***** that due to the

weather she was going to have to reschedule for the following day May 7th at 10
am.

On May 7th she did not come or call to reschedule.


On May 8th, I contacted *****, she stated she had forgotten to put it in her book,
we rescheduled for Friday May 10th-

***** came out on May 10, 2013 for the "inspection/walk through". At that time I
notified her of 2 items that needed repair. One being the shower wood wall was
swelling where there is a wood knot and that it was beginning to pop out. I
expressed my concern about water damage and she agreed that she was also
very concerned. I asked if I needed to submit a work request, she stated no she
would take care of it.

We also discussed the smell downstairs. Her comment was "It's a septic and you just need to keep putting the treatment powder in."

On May 27th I submitted an email regarding the fact that Henderson Property Management had not responded (see attached). On June 4, 2013 ***** responded by email (see attached).

On or around June 19th I spoke with *****, she stated the maintenance people were behind on turning tenants' sprinklers on but would be contacting us soon.
By June 30th I had still not heard from Henderson Property Management
regarding the shower and notified ****** Henderson. ****** had the shower
fixed on July 17, 2013. Henderson Property Management maintenance contacted
me on July 22, 2013 to schedule a time to come look at the shower; I informed
them we had taken care of it.

 

3. The Re-Keying of the locks and the window locks were done the second week in
      Jan. 2013. I do not recall the exact day. The workman came and installed the
      window locks and re-keyed the garage door to match the backdoor. He had his
     
own tools to accomplish this on-site. He did have to take the front doorknob to
     
have a key made because it was a different type of lock. He looked at the
      doorbell box/chime and connected a wire that was loose. NO door chime was
     
replaced.

4.   Henderson Property Management has not forwarded any of our paperwork

specifically our "Prior damage walk through" to ****** Henderson. This is

extremely concerning due to the fact that this is an older home. I would just like
to add that Henderson Property Management never really informed us that
****** was terminating her contract with them, what we could expect or our
rights. They just returned our Oct. 2013 check with a post-it saying "mail this to
****** Henderson."

5.   I would also like to add that towards the end of May 2013, ****** Henderson

stopped by just to introduce herself. At that time I informed her of the smell

downstairs and the shower issues. She told me she was not aware there was still the problem with the smell downstairs nor had she been notified by Henderson Property Management regarding the shower. I did let her know that I had
informed Henderson Property Management several times about the smell and the shower. She asked that if Henderson Property Management continued to not respond to let her know. After receiving *****'s email on June 4th I notified
Brenda. She then contacted her plumber and the problem was fixed June 7th.
Same with the shower after about a month of no response from Henderson
Property Management the shower was fixed on July 17th.

 

6.   I feel Henderson Property Management continually failed to respond to our
      concerns, issues and serve in the professional capacity of a Property Man
agement company. Even as Henderson Property Management's contract

with ****** Henderson ended they failed to provide appropriate documents that
would protect not only us as tenants but also ****** Henderson as an owner. 

Business Response: ********** ********* ******* ********** ***** ***** ***** **************** ***** **** *** ** **** ** **** ** ******** **** *** ********* ************* ** ******* *********** *** ****************** ***** ***** ******* ******* ********* ********** *** **** ******* ****  ***** ************** ****    ************** ****** ************** **** ******************** ****** ******** *** *********** ****** ******** **** ******
********** ********* ******* ********** ***** ***** ***** **************** ***** **** *** ** **** ** ***** ** ******** *** ********* ************* ** ******* *********** *** *********************** *** ***** ***** ****************

*******,

I am the new General Manager with Henderson and in reviewing your complaint, I am confused on your request for $35/month for the sewer charge.

We reimbursed the owner by paying the charges,  My understanding is that you did not pay for it at all, can you please clarify what it is you are asking for regarding the sewer billing.  Are you asking for reimbursement?

Your check in sheet is attached.

Does this resolve your complaint?

Please feel free to reach me directly.

Regards,

***** *****
General Manager
Henderson Management and Real Estate, LLC. 
********* ************** **** ********************** ************** ****    **************
*          ****** ******** *** *********** ****** ******** **** ******
PDF
***** Check in Sheet.pdf

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Henderson committed to reimbursing us for sewer bill in the amount of $105 and forwarded the walk through forms. 

Regards,

******* *****

2/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired ********* Mgt to manage my property at 4311 Page Pl. Loveland, Co.My contract with them has just terminated. The lease they have with my tenant does not expire until March 31, 2014. The lease failed to state my tenant was responsible for the sewer bill with Berthoud Sewer. It actually states there is NO sewer company. ********* has paid part of this bill due to their oversight, but, I feel they are responsible for this bill for the term of the tenant lease. The total amount at $34.94 comes to a total of $279.52. This includes 2 months I have already paid for.In addition, ********* refinished a shower enclosure at this property. After a short time the finish began to flake and peal off. Part of it was not sealed at all and water was seeping into the wood. ********* instructed the tenant to cover it with plastic. I learned of this during a visit to Colorado and had contacted the tenant to see if all was going well. I had paid ********* approximately $385.00 for labor and materials to do this job. Due to poor workmanship and use of the wrong materials I had to hire someone else to do the work properly. I am requesting to be reimbursed for this as well. I have sent a written request (certified mail) to ********* in addition to emails. The have not responded. Although my last name is ********* I am NOT related to this company.

Desired Settlement: Specifics are mentioned above. I am requesting to be reimbursed $385.00 for work done on the shower which was done poorly, causing further damage and needed to have someone else redo it. I am also asking they pay for the sewer bill (what I have paid and the remainder of the lease) which comes to $279.52. Total monies requested is $664.52.

Business Response: We have agreed to reimburse the maintenance repairs requested. Attached is the signed lease, at the top of the 3rd page you'll find the utility verbiage which indicates the tenant is responsible to pay for the sewer.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The lease states sewer/water to be paid to City of Loveland. It is correct the water is to be paid to the City of Loveland. The sewer was to be paid to The Town of Berthoud which is not mentioned in the lease. In fact the tenant was told by a ********* Agent that the house had a septic tank. The tenant is willing to send a letter stating this to BBB if needed.

Regards,

****** *********

Consumer Response: ***** ****** ******************************* *** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** ********* ********

I failed to mention in my response that the utilitiy information sheet that accompanied the tenants lease agreement stated "No Sewer Company". Because of this and because of no mention of Berthoud Sewer in the lease, the tenant did not pay the sewer bill for many months. They were told they were on Septic. In fact ********* asked me when the septic had been cleaned and I stated again, "I have no septic."The bill mounted to over $400.00 and a lien was about to be placed on the property. ********* assumed the responsibility stating it was their error. I also believe they are responsible for this bill for the full lease period. If you could pass this information on to ********* I would appreciate it very much. 
******************************** ***

Consumer Response: After my initial complaint against ********* I reviewed a Owner Summary sheet they recently sent. I discovered I was charged for replacement of a door chime which was not replaced. Nor did it need replacing. The chime/bell was 6 months old. In addition, ********* did not have my permission to do any work on the door chime/bell. This charge was added to re-pinning a knob set to the house and installing window locks. Charge was $89.00. I was told the window locks would not exceed $45.00. I gave permission for re-key/lock change. I authorized $30-40 for the job.I was billed $13.80, $15.44, $44.50 in addition to the $89.00 combination charge listed above. I don't understand 4 different charges for re-key which far exceeds the max. of $40.00 that was authorized. Because ********* failed to perform or respond to tenants requests for repairs/sprinkler turn on I had to intervene to protect the interest of my property. I feel ********* was in breach of their contract when they failed to provide the necessary services. I had to find someone to turn on the sprinklers, file down a door, replace a bathroom exhaust fan in addition to redoing a shower refinish job ( shower job mentioned in my previous complaint). They never failed to charge their 10% each month for services they did not provide. Tenant was either unable to reach an agent, agent did not return calls, repair person never showed up. I feel I should be compensated for assuming tasks that was their responsibility but failed to perform.

I expect to be compensated for a minimum of 3 months of management fees at 10% per month. The rental rents for 1295.00 per month. I also want to be reimbursed for all charges over $40.00 for the re-key/lock change job and for the charge for a door chime I never received. I also wanted refunded the overcharge for the window locks. Only $45.00 was authorized
Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: Please see attached Management Agreement, Section 10.1-Approval for Exceptional Maintenance Expense, and Section 11-Contracts, Utilities, and Services-which clearly states that ********* Management has the right to preform maintenance and repairs without owner consent, up to $250.00.

The attached Agreed to Maintenance Tasks form clearly states that the owner is responsible for Sprinkler turn on and off.

Consumer Response: Shower Charges 
Please find the enclosed documents which I believe support my complaint against ********* Mgt, Co. I have marked the pages 1-4 for easy reference. 

On Page 1 are charges in the amount of $384.48 which were charged for materials and labor to refinish a bathroom shower. Also enclosed is the receipt for $600,00 which I paid to an outside contractor to redo the shower properly. 

As mentioned in my initial complaint, the work ********* did was substandard and the shower was subject to potential interior structural damage from excess water exposure. 

ReKeyand Poor Chime Charges 
On page 2 3 charges amounting to $73.74 was charged for Re-Key/Lock Change. In addition, another $89,00 was charged, part of which relates to the re-keying/pinning. As listed in the document I authorized $30.00-$40.00. This charge was discussed with me by the agent assigned at that time. Also in the $89.00 charge a door chime was supposedly replaced. The door chime was NOT replaced.. The tenant can attest to this. I would like the difference of 
what was authorized and what was actually charged refunded please.Approx. $122.74. 

Sewer Bill 
On page 3 which is part of the lease agreement between ********* Mgmt and my tenant, (3rd page from the back of the lease) it states NONE for the sewer Co. On page 4 the lease states City of Loveland for water/sewer. The property in question (4311 Page Place) is located in the county, not the city. Berthoud Sewer is the facility that handles this property. 

Berthoud Sewer is not mentioned in the lease agreement. My tenant was told the house had a septic. I was in fact asked when I last had it pumped out. ********* Mgmt was informed in the beginning of my contract with them that Berthoud Sewer was the responsible facility. I feel ********* should pay this bill for the remainder of the lease agreement (March 31, 2014). This would amount to $34.94 per month for the months of September 2013 through March 31, 2014.1 have enclosed proof of what I have paid. My tenants Annette & Kevin Craft currently have filed a complaint that will support this information. 

Lastly, I feel that I should be compensated for having to assume the responsibilities that ********* Mgmt negated since May 2013. I have paid ********* Mgmt 10% each month for work I have been doing. Their service has been negligent in performing the necessary duties they agreed to. I took over end of Maylls` of June in the interest of protecting my property. I would have terminated my contract but would have been penalized heavily, even though they were in breach of the contract. My tenants will be submitting information that will support my claims herein. Requesting compensation at 10% of rent (1295.) for a total of $518.00 for the 4 months I managed the property. 

****** ********* 

Business Response: **** ***** ********** ******* **

BBB,

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the Complaint.

The attached document is a check copy for the amount of the refund for the Shower charges, we rounded up her amount of $384.48 to an even $385 issued on 12/2/13 by ********* Check #*****.

Further, prior to her Complaint being filed, we paid for the utility Bill in the amount of $439.40.  

We also hand delivered to her bank, the transfer of the security deposit for the tenant that we placed in her rental property whom she retained when management was cancelled.

I believe we have fully and fairly responded to ******** concerns.

Clearly from our perspective, we had some communication problems in addressing her concerns and it is always difficult when the Owner and Tenant begin communicating directly and when the owner retains a placed tenant and cancels management the results are often problematic.

Can you please let me know if you have any further questions or issues.

Regards,

***** ***** ************

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: It does not  satisfy the fact that I was billed for a door chime I did not receive and it does not address the charges for the re-keying for locks. What I was charged exceeds the authorized amount per documentation. Further more, problems occured prior to my taking over management responsibilities. Had ********* done their job I would not have had to do this. I feel compensation is due me. I retained the tenant because **** ***** informed me I had to legally fulfill the length of the lease agreement (march 31, 2014). No problems have arisen since my dismissal of ********* Mgmt. I still have not received the walk through paperwork so have no idea what damages, if any, should be charged to the tenant when they do move. I am still owed for 2 months of sewer as responsibility of this utility was not part of the tenant lease agreement. 
When the above issues are compensated for I will be happy to (in addition) accept a $385.00 payment for the shower.
Regards,

****** *********

Business Response: BBB and ******,

Thank you for your response, however, the attached document will support the following:

1.  ****** requested a settlement of total monies of $664.52 per Page 1 of the attachment
2.  ****** was mailed a check for $385.00 by HMRE check ***** to address her concerns over the shower
3.  The Utility Bill in the amount of $439.40 was paid by HMRE regarding the sewer/septic issue
4.  The total of these two items is $824.40 which is in excess of her stated desired settlement amount.

Now in ******** response she is requesting a change to the desired settlement?  We paid an amount of $159.88 beyond her desired settlement.

In sincerity, we have addressed the Desired settlement, exceeded the initial request by $159.88.

We request that the BBB make a decision on the reasonableness of the continued efforts by Ms. ********* to receive compensation beyond her initial desired settlement amount.

We believe we have acted in good faith, clearly provided a stable tenant, and believe that we have fulfilled our requirements to Ms. ********* by exceeding her stated outcome.



Regards,


***** *****
General Manager
************ 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:I believe, based on *********'s response, I may need to offer some clarification here. My initial request for $664.52 consisted of reimbursement for shower, $385.00 and $279.52 for the balance of what is owed for the remaining months on the tenant lease agreement for the sewer bill. I acknowledge that ********* paid a portion of the sewer bill prior to my filing a complaint. They did this as admission to their oversight in not requiring the tenant to be responsible for this bill in the lease agreement. As a result Berthoud Sewer was on the verge of putting a lein on my property. The amount they paid was not requested in my claim. I am requesting the balance. $279.52 is still owing for the sewer bill.

In addition to the above claim, I filed an additional claim. The 2 claims were combined by BBB. In the second claim I requested $122.74 for a door chime which was not installed and an overcharge of the authorized amount of $40.00 for re-keying. I also requested to be compensated for having to assume the management responsibilites in order to protect my property. Documentation has been submitted stating that ********* was neglectful in their management responsibilites and thus (I believe) was in breach of their contract. I asked for 10% of the monthly rent(1295.) for the 4 months I managed the property. I severed my contract with ********* when it expired due to their neglect of my property. 10% for 4 months totals $518.00.  ********* has ignored this 2nd claim althogether.

To sum things up: 1st claim requested $664.52.   (385.00 for shower has been pd).  2nd Claim requested $640.74. No acknowledgement received from *********.

Regards,

****** *********

Business Response: ******,

I emailed the attached offer of resolution directly to you.

We worked with you to transfer security deposits and even effected a hand bank deposit to assist you.

We have worked in good faith to resolve your concerns, you retained the tenant under owner management.

Please contact me with any concerns, this is a fair offer.

***** *****
HMRE
************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

14 Customer Reviews on Henderson Management and Real Estate LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart