BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Henderson Management and Real Estate LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Henderson Management and Real Estate LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 663-6311 Fax: (970) 663-6094 759 Cleveland Ave, Loveland, CO 80537 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.hmre.net View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This is a full service property management company and real estate agency.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Henderson Management and Real Estate LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Henderson Management and Real Estate LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Henderson Management and Real Estate LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 7
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 05, 2003 Business started: 09/01/1994 Business started locally: 09/01/1994 Business incorporated: 10/02/2003 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Real Estate-Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 295, Denver CO 80202
www.dora.state.co.us/real-estate/index.htm
Phone Number: (303) 894-2166

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jason Hanson, Owner Ms. Chanelle Frydendall, Accounting Manager Ms. Jessica Joles, Director of Sales
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Hanson, Owner
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Renters Real Estate Agents

Service Area
Larimer and Weld county
Products & Services

property maintenance, rental services, real estate investment


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Henderson Management and Real Estate LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 605 S College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80524

  • 759 Cleveland Ave

    Loveland, CO 80537 (970) 663-6311

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented out my house with Henderson a little over a year ago. I have had a problem with the tenant parking boats and trailers in front of the house (on the street). The issue with the boat started right after the tenant moved in. Being in a HOA community, you cannot store a bait in the community. My property managers at Henderson keep saying they have resolved the problem and it is never resolved. I am tired of hearing from my HOA, and the property manager doing absolutely nothing to fix the problem. In my opinion this company does not operate in the owners best interest and to protect the owners investment. I have asked several times, to have the owner contact me, but have not heard one word from him.

Desired Settlement: I would like Henderson to let me out of my agreement with no fees so I can hire a property manager that will affective manage my property.

Business Response: Henderson Management is required by the Management Agreement, the
Lease Agreement and HOA Rules to follow the letter of the law. In this
case there has not been any violations of any of these contracts.  The
parking issue is regulated by the City of Fredrick  as it is a city
street. Therefore, the owner, the tenant or Henderson Management do not
have jurisdiction over it.

The Owner's  Management Agreement was cancelled.

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Nov. 2012 my husband was shown the property we currently reside in. During the "showing" my husband was told by HMRE that several items would be taken care of prior to our move-in, i.e. cleaning, removal of a washing machine (that the owner refused to leave with the house we later found out this was untrue), debris and light bulbs replaced. We moved in on a Saturday, Nov. 24, 2012 and NOTHING had been done, of course here we were with a rented moving truck and HMRE was "unavailable". This was just the beginning of our very negative and unprofessional experience with HMRE through the year. Repair requests were never responded to, one which could have caused serious water damage had we not taken steps ourselves. We were informed they were backlogged with turning sprinklers on 3 weeks later! We were told they would come and turn sprinklers on, never heard from them.According to our lease and HMRE we were on a septic system. In Sept. 2013 my husband received an email stating there was an outstanding sewer bill in the amount of $400+. He informed them that we had been told we were on a septic and it was in writing that there was no sewer obligation. Additionally this was HMRE's response as to why our basement smelled like a toilet for 8 months and there was little they could due to remedy it except to have us put septic treatment chemicals in weekly.We received a letter from the owner of the home that she was terminating her contract with HMRE as of Oct. 4, 2013. HMRE never notified us of this, our rights or obligations-NOTHING! All they did was was mail us back the rent check for Oct. 2013 with a post it note to mail it to the owner.They did not send the owner any of our paperwork specifically our walk-through paperwork or application information. They did nothing to protect us as their prior customers/residents.

Desired Settlement: First they need to send the homeowner our walk-through paperwork so that we are not liable for prior damages and can get 100% of our deposit back. They should enclose our application to also protect the homeowner so that she has any information she needs.HMRE needs to pay the estimated $35 per month sewer cost from 10/2013-3/2014 (this is the end of our lease). We did put the bill in our name because the homeowner is a senior on a fixed income. It was HMRE's error not ours and not the homeowner

Business Response: We have attached the lease. You will see under Utilities, Section 7, that the sewer is the responsibility of the tenant.

Consumer Response:

Dec. 5, 2013

To Whom It May Concern:

 

This is in regards to my complaint #******* and support for ****** *********** complaints regarding Henderson Property Management

 

 

 

1.      Sewer: Per our lease with Henderson Property Management;

 

#7 States-You shall pay for the following utilities if checked; water/sewer (TenantCity of Loveland)-see attached

When I contacted the City of Loveland I was informed all they provided was

water. This made sense; since Henderson Property Management had informed us we were on a septic.

Per Henderson Property Management's original Utility Services form that states the following;

Keys will NOT be given out without the return of this form with account numberswe did not receive keys until this form was provided to Henderson Property
Management and approved.

Please note on the attached original form that Henderson highlighted the utility
services for us. Also under Sewer Company it says "None".
***** ***** received an email from Henderson Property Management (see
attached) and responded (see attached) regarding the sewer bill from Town of
Berthoud. Henderson Property Management never contacted us again regarding
the sewer services. We learned from ****** Henderson that Henderson
Property Management had paid it. After learning that ****** had paid Sept. and
Oct. sewer bill we went ahead and contacted the Town of Berthoud and put the
service in our name.

We experienced months (Dec1, 2013-June 7, 2013) of the basement smelling like a toilet/sewer back up. Henderson Property Management would continually say it was due to the septic system. A plumber per Henderson Property
Management's request came out and provided us with septic system treatment powder. Which did not work.

****** Henderson had a plumber come out and replace the "Pit Lid" on June 7, 2013 and the smell is gone.

2. The shower issue. I received a call from "*****" Stating "she was behind on her
     
walk through for the property and needed to come out immediately". I believe this
     
call took place around May 1, 2013. She wanted to come on May 3, I explained
     
that would not work for me but the following Monday, May 6, at 10 am would be
     
fine. I was glad she was coming out because I had 2 concerns- (1) The shower
     
wood sealant was peeling off and a wood knot was swelling (2) a door that had
     
started sticking; in addition to the previously discussed continued smell
     
downstairs.

On May 6, 2013 about 11 am I received a call from ***** that due to the

weather she was going to have to reschedule for the following day May 7th at 10
am.

On May 7th she did not come or call to reschedule.


On May 8th, I contacted *****, she stated she had forgotten to put it in her book,
we rescheduled for Friday May 10th-

***** came out on May 10, 2013 for the "inspection/walk through". At that time I
notified her of 2 items that needed repair. One being the shower wood wall was
swelling where there is a wood knot and that it was beginning to pop out. I
expressed my concern about water damage and she agreed that she was also
very concerned. I asked if I needed to submit a work request, she stated no she
would take care of it.

We also discussed the smell downstairs. Her comment was "It's a septic and you just need to keep putting the treatment powder in."

On May 27th I submitted an email regarding the fact that Henderson Property Management had not responded (see attached). On June 4, 2013 ***** responded by email (see attached).

On or around June 19th I spoke with *****, she stated the maintenance people were behind on turning tenants' sprinklers on but would be contacting us soon.
By June 30th I had still not heard from Henderson Property Management
regarding the shower and notified ****** Henderson. ****** had the shower
fixed on July 17, 2013. Henderson Property Management maintenance contacted
me on July 22, 2013 to schedule a time to come look at the shower; I informed
them we had taken care of it.

 

3. The Re-Keying of the locks and the window locks were done the second week in
      Jan. 2013. I do not recall the exact day. The workman came and installed the
      window locks and re-keyed the garage door to match the backdoor. He had his
     
own tools to accomplish this on-site. He did have to take the front doorknob to
     
have a key made because it was a different type of lock. He looked at the
      doorbell box/chime and connected a wire that was loose. NO door chime was
     
replaced.

4.   Henderson Property Management has not forwarded any of our paperwork

specifically our "Prior damage walk through" to ****** Henderson. This is

extremely concerning due to the fact that this is an older home. I would just like
to add that Henderson Property Management never really informed us that
****** was terminating her contract with them, what we could expect or our
rights. They just returned our Oct. 2013 check with a post-it saying "mail this to
****** Henderson."

5.   I would also like to add that towards the end of May 2013, ****** Henderson

stopped by just to introduce herself. At that time I informed her of the smell

downstairs and the shower issues. She told me she was not aware there was still the problem with the smell downstairs nor had she been notified by Henderson Property Management regarding the shower. I did let her know that I had
informed Henderson Property Management several times about the smell and the shower. She asked that if Henderson Property Management continued to not respond to let her know. After receiving *****'s email on June 4th I notified
Brenda. She then contacted her plumber and the problem was fixed June 7th.
Same with the shower after about a month of no response from Henderson
Property Management the shower was fixed on July 17th.

 

6.   I feel Henderson Property Management continually failed to respond to our
      concerns, issues and serve in the professional capacity of a Property Man
agement company. Even as Henderson Property Management's contract

with ****** Henderson ended they failed to provide appropriate documents that
would protect not only us as tenants but also ****** Henderson as an owner. 

Business Response: ********** ********* ******* ********** ***** ***** ***** **************** ***** **** *** ** **** ** **** ** ******** **** *** ********* ************* ** ******* *********** *** ****************** ***** ***** ******* ******* ********* ********** *** **** ******* ****  ***** ************** ****    ************** ****** ************** **** ******************** ****** ******** *** *********** ****** ******** **** ******
********** ********* ******* ********** ***** ***** ***** **************** ***** **** *** ** **** ** ***** ** ******** *** ********* ************* ** ******* *********** *** *********************** *** ***** ***** ****************

*******,

I am the new General Manager with Henderson and in reviewing your complaint, I am confused on your request for $35/month for the sewer charge.

We reimbursed the owner by paying the charges,  My understanding is that you did not pay for it at all, can you please clarify what it is you are asking for regarding the sewer billing.  Are you asking for reimbursement?

Your check in sheet is attached.

Does this resolve your complaint?

Please feel free to reach me directly.

Regards,

***** *****
General Manager
Henderson Management and Real Estate, LLC. 
********* ************** **** ********************** ************** ****    **************
*          ****** ******** *** *********** ****** ******** **** ******
PDF
***** Check in Sheet.pdf

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Henderson committed to reimbursing us for sewer bill in the amount of $105 and forwarded the walk through forms. 

Regards,

******* *****

2/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired ********* Mgt to manage my property at 4311 Page Pl. Loveland, Co.My contract with them has just terminated. The lease they have with my tenant does not expire until March 31, 2014. The lease failed to state my tenant was responsible for the sewer bill with Berthoud Sewer. It actually states there is NO sewer company. ********* has paid part of this bill due to their oversight, but, I feel they are responsible for this bill for the term of the tenant lease. The total amount at $34.94 comes to a total of $279.52. This includes 2 months I have already paid for.In addition, ********* refinished a shower enclosure at this property. After a short time the finish began to flake and peal off. Part of it was not sealed at all and water was seeping into the wood. ********* instructed the tenant to cover it with plastic. I learned of this during a visit to Colorado and had contacted the tenant to see if all was going well. I had paid ********* approximately $385.00 for labor and materials to do this job. Due to poor workmanship and use of the wrong materials I had to hire someone else to do the work properly. I am requesting to be reimbursed for this as well. I have sent a written request (certified mail) to ********* in addition to emails. The have not responded. Although my last name is ********* I am NOT related to this company.

Desired Settlement: Specifics are mentioned above. I am requesting to be reimbursed $385.00 for work done on the shower which was done poorly, causing further damage and needed to have someone else redo it. I am also asking they pay for the sewer bill (what I have paid and the remainder of the lease) which comes to $279.52. Total monies requested is $664.52.

Business Response: We have agreed to reimburse the maintenance repairs requested. Attached is the signed lease, at the top of the 3rd page you'll find the utility verbiage which indicates the tenant is responsible to pay for the sewer.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The lease states sewer/water to be paid to City of Loveland. It is correct the water is to be paid to the City of Loveland. The sewer was to be paid to The Town of Berthoud which is not mentioned in the lease. In fact the tenant was told by a ********* Agent that the house had a septic tank. The tenant is willing to send a letter stating this to BBB if needed.

Regards,

****** *********

Consumer Response: ***** ****** ******************************* *** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** ********* ********

I failed to mention in my response that the utilitiy information sheet that accompanied the tenants lease agreement stated "No Sewer Company". Because of this and because of no mention of Berthoud Sewer in the lease, the tenant did not pay the sewer bill for many months. They were told they were on Septic. In fact ********* asked me when the septic had been cleaned and I stated again, "I have no septic."The bill mounted to over $400.00 and a lien was about to be placed on the property. ********* assumed the responsibility stating it was their error. I also believe they are responsible for this bill for the full lease period. If you could pass this information on to ********* I would appreciate it very much. 
******************************** ***

Consumer Response: After my initial complaint against ********* I reviewed a Owner Summary sheet they recently sent. I discovered I was charged for replacement of a door chime which was not replaced. Nor did it need replacing. The chime/bell was 6 months old. In addition, ********* did not have my permission to do any work on the door chime/bell. This charge was added to re-pinning a knob set to the house and installing window locks. Charge was $89.00. I was told the window locks would not exceed $45.00. I gave permission for re-key/lock change. I authorized $30-40 for the job.I was billed $13.80, $15.44, $44.50 in addition to the $89.00 combination charge listed above. I don't understand 4 different charges for re-key which far exceeds the max. of $40.00 that was authorized. Because ********* failed to perform or respond to tenants requests for repairs/sprinkler turn on I had to intervene to protect the interest of my property. I feel ********* was in breach of their contract when they failed to provide the necessary services. I had to find someone to turn on the sprinklers, file down a door, replace a bathroom exhaust fan in addition to redoing a shower refinish job ( shower job mentioned in my previous complaint). They never failed to charge their 10% each month for services they did not provide. Tenant was either unable to reach an agent, agent did not return calls, repair person never showed up. I feel I should be compensated for assuming tasks that was their responsibility but failed to perform.

I expect to be compensated for a minimum of 3 months of management fees at 10% per month. The rental rents for 1295.00 per month. I also want to be reimbursed for all charges over $40.00 for the re-key/lock change job and for the charge for a door chime I never received. I also wanted refunded the overcharge for the window locks. Only $45.00 was authorized
Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: Please see attached Management Agreement, Section 10.1-Approval for Exceptional Maintenance Expense, and Section 11-Contracts, Utilities, and Services-which clearly states that ********* Management has the right to preform maintenance and repairs without owner consent, up to $250.00.

The attached Agreed to Maintenance Tasks form clearly states that the owner is responsible for Sprinkler turn on and off.

Consumer Response: Shower Charges 
Please find the enclosed documents which I believe support my complaint against ********* Mgt, Co. I have marked the pages 1-4 for easy reference. 

On Page 1 are charges in the amount of $384.48 which were charged for materials and labor to refinish a bathroom shower. Also enclosed is the receipt for $600,00 which I paid to an outside contractor to redo the shower properly. 

As mentioned in my initial complaint, the work ********* did was substandard and the shower was subject to potential interior structural damage from excess water exposure. 

ReKeyand Poor Chime Charges 
On page 2 3 charges amounting to $73.74 was charged for Re-Key/Lock Change. In addition, another $89,00 was charged, part of which relates to the re-keying/pinning. As listed in the document I authorized $30.00-$40.00. This charge was discussed with me by the agent assigned at that time. Also in the $89.00 charge a door chime was supposedly replaced. The door chime was NOT replaced.. The tenant can attest to this. I would like the difference of 
what was authorized and what was actually charged refunded please.Approx. $122.74. 

Sewer Bill 
On page 3 which is part of the lease agreement between ********* Mgmt and my tenant, (3rd page from the back of the lease) it states NONE for the sewer Co. On page 4 the lease states City of Loveland for water/sewer. The property in question (4311 Page Place) is located in the county, not the city. Berthoud Sewer is the facility that handles this property. 

Berthoud Sewer is not mentioned in the lease agreement. My tenant was told the house had a septic. I was in fact asked when I last had it pumped out. ********* Mgmt was informed in the beginning of my contract with them that Berthoud Sewer was the responsible facility. I feel ********* should pay this bill for the remainder of the lease agreement (March 31, 2014). This would amount to $34.94 per month for the months of September 2013 through March 31, 2014.1 have enclosed proof of what I have paid. My tenants Annette & Kevin Craft currently have filed a complaint that will support this information. 

Lastly, I feel that I should be compensated for having to assume the responsibilities that ********* Mgmt negated since May 2013. I have paid ********* Mgmt 10% each month for work I have been doing. Their service has been negligent in performing the necessary duties they agreed to. I took over end of Maylls` of June in the interest of protecting my property. I would have terminated my contract but would have been penalized heavily, even though they were in breach of the contract. My tenants will be submitting information that will support my claims herein. Requesting compensation at 10% of rent (1295.) for a total of $518.00 for the 4 months I managed the property. 

****** ********* 

Business Response: **** ***** ********** ******* **

BBB,

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the Complaint.

The attached document is a check copy for the amount of the refund for the Shower charges, we rounded up her amount of $384.48 to an even $385 issued on 12/2/13 by ********* Check #*****.

Further, prior to her Complaint being filed, we paid for the utility Bill in the amount of $439.40.  

We also hand delivered to her bank, the transfer of the security deposit for the tenant that we placed in her rental property whom she retained when management was cancelled.

I believe we have fully and fairly responded to ******** concerns.

Clearly from our perspective, we had some communication problems in addressing her concerns and it is always difficult when the Owner and Tenant begin communicating directly and when the owner retains a placed tenant and cancels management the results are often problematic.

Can you please let me know if you have any further questions or issues.

Regards,

***** ***** ************

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: It does not  satisfy the fact that I was billed for a door chime I did not receive and it does not address the charges for the re-keying for locks. What I was charged exceeds the authorized amount per documentation. Further more, problems occured prior to my taking over management responsibilities. Had ********* done their job I would not have had to do this. I feel compensation is due me. I retained the tenant because **** ***** informed me I had to legally fulfill the length of the lease agreement (march 31, 2014). No problems have arisen since my dismissal of ********* Mgmt. I still have not received the walk through paperwork so have no idea what damages, if any, should be charged to the tenant when they do move. I am still owed for 2 months of sewer as responsibility of this utility was not part of the tenant lease agreement. 
When the above issues are compensated for I will be happy to (in addition) accept a $385.00 payment for the shower.
Regards,

****** *********

Business Response: BBB and ******,

Thank you for your response, however, the attached document will support the following:

1.  ****** requested a settlement of total monies of $664.52 per Page 1 of the attachment
2.  ****** was mailed a check for $385.00 by HMRE check ***** to address her concerns over the shower
3.  The Utility Bill in the amount of $439.40 was paid by HMRE regarding the sewer/septic issue
4.  The total of these two items is $824.40 which is in excess of her stated desired settlement amount.

Now in ******** response she is requesting a change to the desired settlement?  We paid an amount of $159.88 beyond her desired settlement.

In sincerity, we have addressed the Desired settlement, exceeded the initial request by $159.88.

We request that the BBB make a decision on the reasonableness of the continued efforts by Ms. ********* to receive compensation beyond her initial desired settlement amount.

We believe we have acted in good faith, clearly provided a stable tenant, and believe that we have fulfilled our requirements to Ms. ********* by exceeding her stated outcome.



Regards,


***** *****
General Manager
************ 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:I believe, based on *********'s response, I may need to offer some clarification here. My initial request for $664.52 consisted of reimbursement for shower, $385.00 and $279.52 for the balance of what is owed for the remaining months on the tenant lease agreement for the sewer bill. I acknowledge that ********* paid a portion of the sewer bill prior to my filing a complaint. They did this as admission to their oversight in not requiring the tenant to be responsible for this bill in the lease agreement. As a result Berthoud Sewer was on the verge of putting a lein on my property. The amount they paid was not requested in my claim. I am requesting the balance. $279.52 is still owing for the sewer bill.

In addition to the above claim, I filed an additional claim. The 2 claims were combined by BBB. In the second claim I requested $122.74 for a door chime which was not installed and an overcharge of the authorized amount of $40.00 for re-keying. I also requested to be compensated for having to assume the management responsibilites in order to protect my property. Documentation has been submitted stating that ********* was neglectful in their management responsibilites and thus (I believe) was in breach of their contract. I asked for 10% of the monthly rent(1295.) for the 4 months I managed the property. I severed my contract with ********* when it expired due to their neglect of my property. 10% for 4 months totals $518.00.  ********* has ignored this 2nd claim althogether.

To sum things up: 1st claim requested $664.52.   (385.00 for shower has been pd).  2nd Claim requested $640.74. No acknowledgement received from *********.

Regards,

****** *********

Business Response: ******,

I emailed the attached offer of resolution directly to you.

We worked with you to transfer security deposits and even effected a hand bank deposit to assist you.

We have worked in good faith to resolve your concerns, you retained the tenant under owner management.

Please contact me with any concerns, this is a fair offer.

***** *****
HMRE
************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *********

8/13/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rented an apartment thru Henderson Property Management. When they gave my deposit refund they charged for things that I had cleaned spotless, however this isn't the issue. They charged me for a "final" electric bill that they said I didn't pay. I payed my final bill. I moved out on April 14, 2013. My electricity was shut off April 15, 2013. I payed my final bill on April 24, 2013. The copy of the bill that Henderson Property management charged me for states it's for electricity from April 15,2013 thru May 08, 2013. I was no longer at the residence nor did I have the electricity turned back on for this residence after I moved out. I called and left a message with **** *****, the property manager, about this issue. He email me and apologized and asked me to send a receipt of my final payment. I responded telling him I didn't have a receipt as I payed over the phone and that I didn't think it was necessary as the copy of the bill that they payed was clearly for when I wasn't there. I have called once and emailed twice since this last correspondence and he has not responded to me. I am quite sure they did not prorate the gas bill that they charged me for but I can not prove this as they did not give a break down other that it was the bill for April 9 (7days before I turned my keys in)-April 30. It appears that I payed for gas for 16 days of gas usage that I wasn't there for. Account_Number: *** * **** ****** **

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like to be reimbursed for the $15.36 for the electric bill and would also like to be reimbursed for the gas bill If I was charged for anything after April 14, 2013, which it appears that I was charged thru April 30.

Consumer Response: I was also was charged for electricity thru may 08, 2013. Their directions said it was my responsibility to have utilities shut off when I vacate the the apartment unless there is a chance of the pipes freezing. I lived on the second floor middle apartment. There was no chance of them freezing!

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I gave the proper notice and paid my rent thru the end of April. Rent was paid however I am not required to stay there until the end of the month. Their directions were to have the utilities shut off when I left. I did so and they have no right to turn them back on and charge me for them. The gas is one thing I had to pay it thru them. They called the electric company and had the electricity turned back on when there was nobody there nor was there a chance of pipes freezing at the apartment. The bill is in their name not mine!

Business Response: The tenant vacated the premises without proper notice. As per tenant's lease, tenant is responsible to pay rent AND utilities for the entire month of April. Because tenant only paid utilities through April 15, there were 16 days of utilities remaining on her bill. 16 days X .96 per day equals $15.36.
Tenant was not improperly charged and was made aware of this on more than one occasion.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It did not say that you had to stay at the residence until the very last day of the lease agreement! You give your notice you find a new place. You are responsible for rent til the end of the lease agreement. I paid my rent in full for the entire month of April which was the end of my agreement. The paper clearly stated that you are responsible for shutting off your utilities when you move out unless there is a possibility of pipes freezing. There was not that possibility! And yes I received 2 separate notices that said this! It wasn't your right to turn the electricity back on there was no one there to use it and no purpose for it being on. The bill was not in my name I paid my final bill.

Business Response: I received your request for the lease and electric bill for the above issue. We have refunded the tenants $15.36, is this action still necessary? It is my assumption that the issue is now resolved.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** **** ****

7/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $70 to HMRE pre-qual for rental with a 3 month limit. 8 calls to view properties since April 9th placed with no call back but 1. The listing agent **** does not return calls or show up when an appt is made thru her supervisor *******. I waited 6/20 at *** ****** ** ******** from 5pm to 5:30 pm, then drove to the office on ********* to leave a note. I do not own a cell phone and presently live in ********* with only a land line. I left my daughter's cell #, she called it claiming she was there at 5; she was not, the call was terse and rude, also claimed she did not know my last name so could not look up my pre-qual when all was given to ******* and ******, the office receptionist. this agent and company has not been helpful in finding a rental for me, or letting me see one. Previously in April **** was to meet me at a property on **** in ********* she did not show up. I spoke with the current renters about it...they let me see the inside. They expressed their distaste also for HMRE. I feel the $70 I gave them was for nothing, except being rude to and ignored. We should not have to pay to be disrespected and treated as I have been. Also the photos on line are not true to the properties current state. All I have driven to are in disrepair and trashed; not suitable for inhabitation; of those they have qualified me for that is. They are intolerable company and so unlike when ***** ********* owned and operated the company.

Desired Settlement: a return of the $70 I paid them with check ***** on 4/9/13 and a change in the the business practice of the company; to treat people with respect and actually help them find a rental and have the rental be decent, clean and trash free and return their calls and keep their appointments

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/07/15) */ Several attempts have been made to contact this applicant. She does not have a cell phone or voice mail set up on her land line. A reimbursement check has been sent to her for the application fee, thus resolving the issue.

6/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Henderson Property Management is unresponsive, unprofessional, and does not follow through with their responsibilites to tenants. 2/9/2013 I have been a tenant with Henderson Management and Real Estate (HMRE) since 5/18/2012. In this time, my family and I have had numerous communication and respect issues. Phone calls are not returned and there is a complete lack of respect for tenant privacy and safety. Maintenance requests made online take up to a month to be addressed and even then are not always completed. Because of our dissatisfaction with our rental experience here, my husband and I began searching for a new home. We asked our property manager to be released early from our lease. We were given verbal approval to vacate with a 60 day written notice. When we tried to get a written confirmation of this a few months later, we were told that not only had our property manager changed, but that they would no longer honor her voicemail. The terms of the new lease would be through 5/31/2013. The only way we can now be released from the financial obligation of that lease is if HMRE finds a new tenant for the property. On Friday there was a showing scheduled for 4:30 pm. I prepared accordingly and the prospective tenants arrived right on time. The representative from HMRE had not shown or called by 5 pm. Trying to do my part to release the property, I showed it to the interested party. In chatting with them, I was told that they had been stood up by HMRE at a previous appointment. Finally, around 5:30 I was able to get a hold of Ashley with HMRE. She apologized, but was short with me and used the excuse that "they were busy" for missing her appointment and not calling. Perhaps everyone deserves a second chance, but I encountered the same type of situation when I first tried to see the property before renting. I waited at the address for over half an hour, and when I was able to make contact with someone at the office, they claimed I had the wrong appointment time and that they had been out earlier. I also talked to a woman who had seen the property advertised last week, but could not even get in to see it because HMRE was not returning her phone calls. Since we have dealt with disrespect and unprofessionalism from HMRE, and find it most difficult to get anything accomplished, we are turning to the BBB for help.

Desired Settlement: I would like a written signed release from the financial obligations of rent at the time we vacate the property at 5787 Aspen View Place on March 31st, regardless of the future rental status of the property. I would also like a scheduled appointment for a walk-through at move out with our property manager to assess the condition of the property and agree on any charges that HMRE intends to place against our security deposit. I agree to clean the property to reflect the state it was in when I took possession. I understand that reasonable and customary charges can be deducted from my security deposit for professional carpet cleaning as agreed to in the lease. I am also aware that HMRE has 60 days to return our security deposit.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/02/21) */ Issue was agreed to and settled with the tenant. Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2013/05/08) */ I am again very frustrated with HMRE. We have moved out of the property at 5787 Aspen View Place in Loveland. This was an early release of a lease situation spawned by the horrible way with which we were treated as tenants. We gave proper notice and followed every instruction we were given at move-out. I specifically asked if there were any fees associated with moving out early. I was told by my property manager that there were no charges beyond carpet cleaning that would be deducted from my deposit. When I received my deposit check, $172.00 was deducted for rent charged for April 1st - April 4th. I find this completely unacceptable being that we had to turn in our keys by noon on March 31st. Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2013/05/29) */ Based on the information obtained from the move out file it is clear that the tenants move out date was prior to the end of their lease term and constitutes a default of the original lease contract, also known as a "lease break". Although as a company we do not offer the ability to break your lease we do understand that there sometimes comes a need to break your contract. To that end we have implemented a charge that helps to cover the early marketing, showings, and leasing activities around re-renting a property. With that said, in this case we did not implement the charges associated with a lease break which would have been an additional 35% charge as well as any outstanding rents. The breaking of the lease is considered a default of the contract per the lease contract. The below referenced portions of your lease speak directly to the charge of the prorated rents that were on your disposition. Regarding #27 your lease did not expire until the new tenants lease took affect. 5. SECURITY DEPOSIT. (sentence 8) "We shall have the right to apply such portion(s) of the Security Deposit reasonably necessary to remedy any default(s) " 27. DEFAULT BY RESIDENT. (last part of last sentence) "giving credit for the amount of rent received less all expenses of such changes and repairs, and you shall be liable for the balance of the rent herein reserved until the expiration of this Lease". In this case the expiration of the lease came when a new tenant secured the property through signing a lease with a move in date of April 5th, 2013. Our resolution for this issue included not charging any additional fees, maintenance, or otherwise so that the impact to the tenant was minimal. Charges included carpet cleaning per the lease and the 4 days of rent due for the lease break. The tenants solution to this dispute is to receive the pro-rated rent of $172.64 that they clearly agreed to pay in their lease contract. HMRE's stance is to uphold the terms of the tenants lease contract.

4/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company is dishonest to get you to sign lease and give them a deposit that is non refundable. And abusing their right to come in to the house whenever My experience with henderson managment was horrible. Basically I was searching on craigslist for houses to rent in loveland fort collins area. Found a house that looked like it would be perfect for 1025 a month. called and left a couple messages with "******" when she called me back she only had one slot available for that same day before my husband would have been off work. So I go and check it out, and then my husband planned a walk through for a couple days later. When we get there the second time there was 3-4 other families waiting as well, and "******" was like 15 min late. So my husband scoped it out quick with the other families then we filled out an application and paid the 35 per person for every person over the age of 18 regardless of working or not. in small print on the way bottom of the application there is a statement saying that " any deposit put down on a property is considered earnest money and will be non refundable for any reason." didn't really think to much of it because typically you put down deposits, first and last months rent and things when you sign the lease. well not here, we had to put a deposit down right away to "secure" the house so we went and got the money. they asked for 1195.00 for the deposit. When my husband went in to pay the deposit he asked why it was more than the rent. the lady then told him that 1195.00 is how much the rent was. we were under the impression that it was 1025 a month from the ad on craigslist and that we wouldn't be able to pay that much per month, she stated that they have the right to change the rent price at any time because they do maintenence to the properties and such and then she gave him a couple pages with their available properties. "******" called my husband a couple days later and told him that she had the perfect place for us, a duplex in fort collins. We agreed to look at it and met her there a couple days later. "******" was late again to the appt, and the deplex was a mess, there was dog poop on the carpet and cigarette butts everywhere, the maintence guy was there and saying that they got the ok to give this place new carpet and paint, so we started trying to look on the bright side, while trying not to hold our noses. agent was giving wrong information about the propertys heating and a couple other things. so we go home thinking about it while still looking around. again they post the add for the house we first looked at on craigslist with the wrong price. so we text "******" because thats how she communicated with my husband, about the add on craigslist. she replied saying that its scammers and to ignore it. how is it a scam if the links leads me to "******?" and to the henderson site? anyway we decide that we would just like to be done looking for a place and we put the deposit down so we can secure it and they will take it off the website. 995.00 is what the deposit and rent was. A couple days later we are called in for the lease. the lease is atleast 20 pages of "non-hidden" fees, things they can evict you for, and all their terms and conditions which are totally one sided. In the lease you basically are signing away any privacy rights you have in your rental and anywhere within 25 feet of it. They do "inspections" every three months and look for "red flags" then if you pass you basically stay till the next three months, or if you fail you will be evicted basically. While we were there "mike riley" kept talking about how he was going to evict the old lady in the front of the duplex because she smokes and has her 3 (grown sons living with her. as we kept going through the lease we kept getting more and more uncomfortable with things and we left with the copy of the lease and any signatures we had made that day. we went home we called "mike" to let him know that we no longer wanted the place and to see if we could get our deposit back since we weren't going to rent from their company. they said no at first but after a while they gave us 675 back

Desired Settlement: I dont want anything from this company. maybe the rest of the deposit for the place we never stayed one night in and paid 995 for but only got back 675.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/03) */ Henderson Management does not walk units every 90 days, this was a misunderstanding. Once a deposit is received we remove the property from marketing, therefore, deposits are considered earnest money and that is clearly stated on the application before any money is deposited. The tenant decided not to honor the lease after they placed a deposit on the property. They were generously given back the prorated amount of rent for the days that the property had been off the market.

3/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I told them all the stuff on my back ground from 11 years ago so i filled out an app for 60 dollars and cant get a call back or email or any answers I filled out a app for renting a property after i told them i had a felony 11 years ago they said not problem not violent or violent. So i filled out the app and paid the 60 dollars and tried to call 4-5 times and left voice mailes nothing. So i talked to the office lady she said text ****** ******** on her cell phone so i did and all she said was denied do to background thats it wont call me back and try to explain or anything. The problem that i have is that i rented from this property managment company about 7 years ago and had no problems. I feel that they stole my 60 dollars because i cant get any answers or ways to fix the problem from them. I tried to place a stop payment on my check but it already went thru

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of my app fee due to none comunication from the business or if they will work with me i would be happy with that to get me in a property.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/02/21) */ Issue was resolved with applicant.

12/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service