BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Crystal Property Management & Sales?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Crystal Property Management & Sales

Phone: (970) 945-7266 Fax: (970) 945-7281 1512 Grand Ave Ste 109, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601 http://www.crystalproperty.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Crystal Property Management & Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Crystal Property Management & Sales include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Crystal Property Management & Sales
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 07, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2007 Business started locally: 01/01/2007 Business incorporated: 01/01/2007 in CO
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Real Estate-Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 295, Denver CO 80202
www.dora.state.co.us/real-estate/index.htm
Phone Number: (303) 894-2166

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Justin Windholz, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Justin Windholz, President
Business Category

Property Management Companies Real Estate Renters Real Estate Rentals By Owners Real Estate Companies Vacation Rental Companies Property Maintenance Companies Real Estate Investors Real Estate Agents Real Estate Advisors

Industry Tips
Tips for Finding Property Management Companies

Additional Locations

  • 1512 Grand Ave Ste 109

    Glenwood Springs, CO 81601 (970) 945-7266

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My live-in boyfriend and I rented a property at *** ** *** ****** ** ****** *** ***** for a one year lease. We had no issues with Crystal Property except for the defunct dryer, which we settled with. We are very non-confrontational.As of last month, my boyfriend had a new job opportunity in Northeastern Colorado. We came to Crystal Property's office in Glenwood Springs and I asked to break the lease. They gave us a Early Move-Out form to sign and pay a $350 fee. We complied and signed. Unfortunately, we were in a hurry to move, so we didn't look through the details and it was not thoroughly explained to us.We moved out of the property on March 21st, 2014 and formally as of March 24th, 2014. We left the property in good condition and made our best efforts to leave the company as little work as possible. We received a bill for the rent, water, and gas for the next month (April). Unfortunately, I sent the bill early and they cashed the $920.I decided to bite the bullet, but realized quickly with the moving expenses and new rental contract that this was simply unaffordable. To my dismay, they have still not advertised the property and seem to be leaving the issue to us at over 100 miles away. We have tried our best to contact friends and family to take over our lease, but we are not in real estate and do not have the funds.I have contacted them many times on this and finally told them today that we cannot afford to pay two rents. We will either be homeless or destitute and I do not feel as if this is ethical. They are outright refusing to formally break the lease and we cannot afford this.

Desired Settlement: I would just like to break the lease formally and receive the $920 we paid for this month back, the money between March 24th and 31st we were absent from the property, as well as the $2000 we paid in the beginning. We do not live at the property anymore and would like to be treated fairly in this regard. I do not wish to escalate this further.

Business Response: Our office sincerely regrets any frustration that this process has caused you and your family.  It is Crystal Property Management's goal to ensure all Lessee's understand the lease and the procedure to break a lease to avoid confusion and frustration.  We do this in several different ways including having you sign the lease at our office, listening to a pre-recorded script which details the lease termination process and then again by having you sign the early move-out form. We feel that we have taken all steps possible so educate you throughout the process to ensure there is no confusion in situations such as this.  

Please allow for our office to explain the process below:
Per the lease:
a.   If the lease is terminated early, the Lessee will be responsible for advertising and
costs and a $300.00 fee to Crystal Property Management for showing the property
and expediting the paperwork necessary to obtain another tenant/lessee.  In the event one or more parties vacate and
the lease needs to be rewritten deleting a party the Lessee will be charged $50
payable to Crystal Property Management Company. 
If the lease needs to be rewritten for any reason, there will be a
charge to Lessee to CPM of $50.00.

The early move-out form you signed allowed our office permission to show the unit and sign a new lease if an applicant is found.  The early move-out form and process clearly outlines that you as the lessee are responsible for the rent and utilities until a new tenant is found.  The advertising of the unit is at your cost.  If you are unable to submit advertising please advise and we will begin posting free online advertising sites such as **********, *******, ****** and in the glenwood springs paper (at your cost).  

Please let our office know how we can assist further.  We are working diligently to re-rent your unit in the meantime.  The property manager, ***** ********, would be more than happy to discuss this further interactively to ensure we are all on the same page for next steps.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Crystal Property Management and Sales is outright lying and violating the terms of their own lease. We have been told multiple times that the property will be advertised "soon" and have not once been told by the staff that we were responsible for the advertisement. We are officially out of the property as of March 24th and the property is still not being advertised. They are taking advantage of our non-confrontational natures.

I will call again today and again be told that we are unable to break the lease. The calls related to this matter are as follows:

04-03-14 Called
at 12:30 to ask about why the property isn’t being advertised. Spoke with a
representative ***** and she said that the inspection would be completed today or
tomorrow before the advertisement procedures can begin. We were officially out
of the property on March 24, 2014. We properly left the property on March 21,
2014.

04-14-14 Calling
11 days later. The property is still not being advertised on the website. I
took a screenshot. I spoke ***** with after calling 3 times. I voiced my
concerns over the lack of advertisement and asked about my options for breaking
the lease formally. We cannot afford to pay two rents and will either be
homeless or in debt because of a property we don't live in anymore. I was told that the lease cannot be broken.

The lease agreement we signed, pertaining to the termination of the lease, is as follows (attached document):

"b. If the lease is terminated early, the Lessee will be responsible for advertising costs and a $300.00 fee to Crystal Property management for showing the property and expediting the paperwork necessary to obtain another tenant/lessee."

This outright states that the lease can indeed be broken and that we have already paid the $300.00 fee, plus a $50 fee for advertisement expenses. Crystal Property Management is pushing an unethical lease agreement that violates the initial lease agreement. 

When we arrived to break our lease (with the clear statement: "We are here to break our lease."), the Early Move-Out Form is the form that they gave us. By pushing an "Early Move-Out Form" that transfers these responsibilities onto us, they have violated our trust and their own lease agreement. We have done our part, paid our fees, and left the property in the best condition we could. We no longer live at the property and have followed their guidelines. It is time for them to do the same.

Regards,

***** *************

Business Response: The Early Move Out Form is a document that we use to allow for tenants to authorize our office to sign a new lease if a new tenant is found.  This prevents our office and the owner from being legally forced to involve an attorney and the court system to obtain possession of the unit if you fail to fulfill your lease term.  This form and/or fee in NO way releases you from your lease term.  This is clearly stated in the lease as well as on the early move out form as well as covered in detail during the lease signing.  The fee is to cover expenses in our showing a leased  property as we attempt to assist you.  The lease also states that if you violate your lease due to non payment you automatically forfeit your security deposit, which we are attempting to find a replacement tenant so that this does not occur.

I as the property manager replied to an email you sent outlining options for advertising that I recommended in which you failed to reply.

Our office is more than happy to assist in find a replacement tenant however the lease term and fulfillment is still your sole responsibility.

On a positive note -  our office has had leads this week and hope to find a replacement tenant shortly.  I would be more than happy to continue to provide you updates on the showings  by email if you prefer.  Please just let me know by email.

Please let me know how our can assist further in the interim.   

Best Regards,
***** ********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We currently rent an apartment through Crystal Property Management (CPM) in *** ******. Upon moving in to the apartment in May, we took note of many items that needed repair and noted them on the damage assessment form that CPM required us to fill out. Most notably, the back door leading to the deck is not sealed and does not close properly, and spiders and beetles are entering our home freely. Also, the heating register in the rear bedroom, where my girlfriend and I sleep, does not function.As a result of these issues, there have been numerous incidents where we have awoken at night with spiders and insects crawling on us in bed. Also, we have found large wolf spiders camping in the corners of the bathroom. Such large spiders could have only come from outside of the house.As winter approaches, I am also worried about living in a house without a working heating system.We have reported these issues multiple times to CPM and asked for repairs to be made. As of today, 9/9/2013, we have yet to receive any response on repairs, and have had no contact from CPM or any maintenance person. There has been no acknowledgement of our complaints from management at CPM.

Desired Settlement: In order for this situation to be resolved the back door frame should be rebuilt and the door replaced. The heating register in the rear bedroom should also be repaired.

Business Response: We are sorry to hear about these ongoing issues. We have recently dispatched a vendor to repair the door so that the insects can not enter the unit. In addition we have hired a pest company to spray the outside of the building to help prevent additional insects from coming into the unit. 


We have also hired a vendor to repair or replace the heat register. 

It is our desire to make these tenants happy with their maintenance issues.


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Crystal Property on several occasions has failed to manage the property in which it is in charge of managing. Crystal Property Management is a not taking charge of the HOA at ******** ***** in *** ******, **. On several occasions they have failed to comply with the requirements of an HOA management company. I had to fight with them for 2 2 months and threaten action against them for sickness or injury caused by the failure of water to drain from my yard. The other homeowners have been requesting a French Drain for years and to no avail. Finally after constant contact and having to contact the Board of Directors over this HOA, Crystal Property decided it was in their best interest to take care of the issue. Now I am being told I am past due on my HOA fee when I have paid every month since I moved in here in December of 2012 on time if not early. I have tried to get them to research this and ****** (the owner) advised me that he would send me the statements to figure out what payment is missing. I advised him this is unacceptable and that as the HOA manager, he needs to go through his received funds and determine where they dropped the ball. He started to argue with me and stated "maybe I am not being clear" while continuing to advise me he was not going to do any research into this issue.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to take charge of the HOA that they have agreed to manage or he will be replaced. I would also like to be paid for the damaged carpet I have had to clean due to the lack of project management over the French Drain project that from start to finish took several weeks and left my yard unusable for my kids and pet.

Business Response: We are sorry to hear Mr. ***** is unhappy. There have been a couple issues over the past 6 months that have upset him. We feel that we have responded to his complaints and tried to react to them as quickly and appropriately as possible. One issue that arose was with the snow removal vendor. The snow removal vendor is contracted by the HOA and was removing snow too late at night causing disruption to Mr. *****’s family. We discussed the issue with the vendor and we believe the problem was solved as soon as possible after we were notified. In the spring we were notified that there was a drainage problem in Mr. *****’s back yard. We discussed the issue with the Board of Directors, obtained bids for the work and had the project completed. Mr. ***** had expressed dissatisfaction with the length of time that the project took. It was a fairly extensive project that took several weeks to complete and after it was completed it required that their lawn was watered. This probably caused the yard to be more muddy than it normally would have been. Although we feel that we explained the project in detail to Mr. ***** there were still issues with the length of the project and unintended consequences. Mr. ***** stated that this issue was brought to Crystal Property before by other owners and no action was taken. That statement is simply not true. The day Mr. ***** complained about his drainage I myself drove out to investigate the issue so I also disagree that there was constant complaining in order to get it addressed. Most recently there was an issue with Mr. *****’s billing account. Mr. ***** believed that a payment was not credited to his account. I spoke with Mr. ***** and advised that in order to find the missing payment that I would need to know what payment he believed was missing. It goes without saying that if we knew which payment was missing then it wouldn’t be missing. It took an unpleasant conversation for me to get Mr. ***** to agree to review his statement to see which check he believed was missing. After Mr. ***** reviewed the statement we sent him he was able to help identify the missing payment. Once it was identified it was easy to correct. If having Mr. *****’s carpet cleaned will solve our problems then we will gladly do so.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: 

Crystal Property had not responsibly or diligently handled any project expressed in this concern.  I have had several other owners complain about themand therefore have taken the appropriate actions to remove crystal property management as the homeowners association property management company in this area. aside from my immediate Association I have talked to several people that have homeowners association correspondence with crystal properties are completely dissatisfied with their service.

Regards and sincerely, 

***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/5/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
7/26/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1