BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Richter Plumbing & Heating, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Richter Plumbing & Heating, Inc.

Phone: (970) 353-1601 Fax: (970) 353-1602 View Additional Phone Numbers 308 N 8th Ave, Greeley, CO 80631

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Specializing in plumbing and heating products and services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Richter Plumbing & Heating, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Richter Plumbing & Heating, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Richter Plumbing & Heating, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 01, 1983 Business started: 01/01/1972 Business started locally: 01/01/1972 Business incorporated: 07/01/1975 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Colorado Plumbing Board
1560 Broadway Ste 1500, Denver CO 80202
www.dora.state.co.us/plumbing
Phone Number: (303) 894-2300

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Marion Richter, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Marion Richter, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Water Heater Repair Stores Water Heaters - Dealers Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors


Additional Locations

  • 308 N 8th Ave

    Greeley, CO 80631 (970) 353-1601 (970) 539-5127

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (970) 539-5127(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hired Richter Plumbing to hook up a sink/ faucet at a jobsite. Richter was unprofessional, and didnt do satisfactory job. Got billed for work. *********************** hired Richter Plumbing to hook up a sink and faucet on 7/3/12 at ********************* house at ******************. ****** went out to jobsite, had a out of town friend with him. According to homeowner, ****** was un professional and rude with a bad attitude during the duration of the work time. ****** hooked up the faucet, broke a peice on the faucet, which caused it to leak. *********************** had to replace that peice. ****** also hooked up the water supply lines, although used extra parts and did not run the lines in way that was not acceptable for the homeowner. ************ called my office and asked us to not have Richter Plumbing return to fix the unacceptable work. We then hired ******** plumbing to go out to the home and correct the work. On 9/3/12 *** recieved an invoice from Richter Plumbing for $326.53. Our office manager at the time, called ****** and asked about compensation for the unsatisfactory results, ****** stated with do not worry about paying this bill. On 9/28/12 we received another statement for $326.53. *** got charged on 10/30/12 with a service charge of $4.83, and again on 11/28/12 for another service charge for $4.74. Total amount Richter Plumbing is requesting is $336.10. *********************** was only the middle man between the home owner ************ and ****** Richter. We only followed requests made by ************ to not have ****** return to the home. *********************** has paid ******** Plumbing $225.04 to fix Richter Plumbings work. Paid Water Systems $101.42 for a replacement wand for the faucet that Richter broke, which myself ********* replaced for &15.00. *********************** asked ************ to call Richter Plumbing and voice his opinion against ****** Richter, but the request was denied.

Desired Settlement: Compensation for the bill, or to have the bill canceled.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/01/23) */ January 22, 2013 Better Buisiness Bureau 8020 So. County Road 5, Suite 100 Fort Collins, CO XXXXX RE: Case #XXXXXXXX Enclosed is my response in regard to the above case involving *************************. Also I am including your copy to me of the complaint, my letter to ************************* dated December 11, 2012 and my copy of the Invoice for hooking up the kitchen sink. ****** PLUMBING & HEATING, INC ****** L ******, President ******************************************************************* January 18, 2013 Better Business Bureau 8020 So. County Road 5, Suite 100 Fort Collins, CO XXXXX RE: Case #XXXXXXXX: Mr. ****** This is in response to a complaint filed by ****** regarding a job at ***********************, On July 1, 2012 a person who identified herself as being the daughter of ******, owner of ******************** called me at my office and asked if I could hook up a kitchen sink and faucet for a customer of theirs where they were installing new kitchen cabinets, and if so could I do it on Friday July 3, 2012. 1 explained to her that I was going to have guests in from Iowa on 7/2 - 7/3 - and 7/4/12, but I could probably work it in as the job site was only about 5 miles from my house. I then asked her if there was a dishwasher to hook up and she said no there wasn't. On Friday 7/3/12 when I arrived at the job site and rang the doorbell a man in a wheelchair opened the door- I told him who I was and what I was there for. He said he was glad to see me. He gave no instructions to me as to how he wanted his job done. I had no other conversations with him until I left. He thanked me again for getting his job done. When I entered the kitchen there was a dishwasher sitting there, needing to be installed. This kitchen was designed for a corner sink installation. with the dishwasher opening on the right hand side of the sink. When I attempted to install the dishwasher, the sink cabinet door would only open a short distance because of the corner angle. If I had not had my friend with me from Iowa, I doubt that I could have gotten the dishwasher in place. I had to crawl into the sink cabinet and reach around the back of the cabinet, which, by the way, was completely cut out in the back, exposing all of the existing water and drain lines, was almost impossible to reach around to get the new lines from the dishwasher into the sink cabinet. I then installed a new shut off valve for the kitchen faucet and the dishwasher and hooked them up. I then completed the drain line hook up_ At no time during this installation did I see or converse with anyone in the house. I use hearing aids and when I get into tight spots such as inside the kitchen cabinet they have a tendency to whistle, so I always take them out to avoid the whistling noise so if anyone did talk to me I would not have been able to hear them anyway. When I completed the installation I started to pick up my tools and extra parts to leave. At that time a lady, who I assumed was the lady of the house, came into the kitchen. She did not identify herself, nor did I ask her who she was. I asked her if anyone from ****** was coming back. She had several papers in her right hand and she replied "they better be, because I have two pages of questions I expect to get answers to". I immediately thought "oh oh there apparently has been some problems with this job before I ever got there" but I said nothing to her about this. I informed her that she could not use the dishwasher because I would not take responsibility for drilling holes into the new granite counter tops. I also informed her that the sink faucet was leaking where the aerator screwed into the sink wand and that it leaked as soon as I turned it one. I then left. When I got home about noontime, I called ****** to inform them what needed to be done, but no one answered their phone, nor did it go to a recording. My friend from Iowa, his wife, my wife and myself went on an excursion that we had planned for that afternoon. On Monday morning 7/6/12, I called ****** to inform them of what was going on. A different lady, not **'s daughter, answered and informed me that they had to get someone else to the job site to fix a problem that developed. I asked her what the problem was and she answered that she did not know. I asked her to keep me informed, as I anticipated an insurance claim for damages. She said she would, but I never heard from her again- As to ** *******' statement in his complaint letter that his office manager called and talked to ****** about compensation on the bill from ****** Plumbing & Heating, Inc. and ****** stated not to worry about paying the bill, is a blatant lie as no phone calls ever originated from ****** or were received by ****** Plumbing & Heating, Inc. aver 7/3112. A review of the phone record from ****** and ****** Plumbing & Heating; Inc will verify this. The faucet that was installed was a good Delta faucet and if ****** were on good terms with his supplier they would have replaced it to him at no charge as it was defective from the get go. Please refer to my original letter to ****** date 12/11/12 for any further clarification on this sad affair. I still do not know what the original problem was with the installation, as I explained in this letter to ******. If there was a particular way that the owners wanted this installed, it should have been forwarded to ****** before the installation not afterward. Due to the fact that the wall back of the kitchen cabinet was cut out fo' easy access to both the drain and water lines, I gave no thought to do this otherwise. An inquiry to the Weld County Building and Inspection Department as to whether or not a permit was taken out for this kitchen remodel determined that a permit was never taken out. ****** acting as the general contractor for this job was responsible for this permit, but it ultimately becomes the homeowner's responsibility to see that it was obtained. An inspection by the Weld County Inspection Department would have verified that the job was either OK, or not OK. Also please note that on ****** letter dated 10/1/12, that Northern ******** BBB is on stand by for this dispute, that I was informed that he did not contact BBB until 1/3/13. If you need any further information about this installation, feel free to call me any time at XXX-XXX-XXXX. ****** PLUMBING & HEATING, INC. ****** L ****** President Consumer Response /* (3000, 14, 2013/02/07) */ 01/31/13 ******'s Response First off, I want everyone to be clear on my position here. I have been the middle man between my customer (who always comes first) and ****** ****** (who I have known and been friends with their family my entire life. ) My customer *** and *************** in fact was completely disappointed in ******'s service and professionalism. I tried to negotiate with *** to have ****** go back to the home for the corrections; but *** refused and would not let him come back. Period! I'm sorry for hurt feelings and a damaged relationship. But as I have said "my customers come first". I'm deeply disappointed in ******'s false statements and mud slinging tactics. We would like to Thank ****** Plumbing and Heating for calling the Weld County Building Inspections Office recently and having them check my work and integrity. As they have learned; NO permit was necessary. With their years of experience it was quite obvious that when they arrived, they started with existing water supply and drain lines coming out of the floor in the original position. No permit is necessary when you are changing like for like in Weld County. Thank you. ****** ******- Owner Business Response /* (4000, 22, 2013/03/15) */ March 13, 2013 Better Business Bureau C/o ***** ***** 8020 South County Rd 5 Suite 100 Fort Collins CO XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX FAX XXX-XXX-XXXX CASE #XXXXXXXX After reading Mr. ******'s letter dated 2/01/13 to the Better Business Bureau, I really do not know where to start to repudiate what he has written, so I will take it line by line from his letter. He stated that I came in and introduced myself - (I did do that), but not my friend from Iowa. I do not remember whether I introduced him or not as I feel it is irrelevant to this matter. As to his statement that I asked him what needed to be done, I never asked him that at all. I have been doing this type of work for 50 plus years, and when a customer asks me to come out and hook up his sink and faucet, I already know what needs to be done. As to him saying he told me to call *******, that did not happen and I definitely at no time used his phone. His wife was not in the room at this time. No conversation transpired between ******* and myself about approval to install the dishwasher. I saw it sitting there and automatically figured it was there to be installed. No explanation needed. As to not having the dishwasher pushed back all the way, not true, as the front of the dishwasher was actually behind the front line of the counter top. I pulled it back out after installing to see about anchoring it to the counter top. I admit I did not run the dishwasher through a cycle because I did not want the dishwasher to tip over. I did turn the water on to the dishwasher, checked it for leaks, and then left it turned off. As for the new faucet, after I hooked up the water and drain lines I turned the water on, got out from under the kitchen sink and turned the faucet on. It leaked around the aerator that screws onto the wand. I did take it apart to see if there was a washer missing or just what the problem might be. I determined that the aerator was cross-threaded from the factory and I could not get it to quit leaking. I did not say "Oh **** I broke the faucet". I would have used terminology much closer to my line of work Mr. ******** did not come into the kitchen during the time that I attempted to get the faucet to not leak. I did not say anything to him until I left and he sure didn't seem upset when I left and he thanked me for getting his job done. I did talk to his wife as I stated in my first letter about the leak and told her not to use the dishwasher. I admit that I did not remove the existing shut offs on the existing water lines as the whole back of the cabinet was open and exposed and I was not instructed by either the home owner or ****** to do so. The ability to get to the shut offs was no more difficult to get to than the original installation. As a matter of fact the 2 new shut offs were more assessable. As to Mr. ******** having a problem about me not introducing my friend, I don't know whether I did or not, and as to that he did not introduce himself to me, nor did his wife. I just assumed they were the homeowners. I did tell his wife about the problems and I did check out the water and drain lines by filling both sink bowls full of water and draining at the same time. At that time there were no visible leaks As to Mr. ******** saying he was satisfied with the second plumber that ** sent out, I would bet that some one told him how they wanted the valves and he hooked them up the way I would have had I been informed as to how they wanted it. As to the time involved for the 2nd plumber, he only had to do about f4 the amount of work, so it should not have taken him long to accomplish his job. Now to Mr. ******'s last response: If. as Mr. ****** stated, "I have known and been friends with their family my entire life" why did he not feel it necessary to get the other side of the story. It seems to me that it would have been the courteous thing to do. I still have not heard a word from ******. If he had been decent and at least called to let me know about this situation, it could probably have been worked out. As to his statement about like for like, the existing valves were part of his "like for like" and if suitable for the first time, it should have been suitable for the second time, or else I should have been informed to change to some specifications. As to Mr.******'s statement that he was simply the middleman in this deal. I won't buy that. I always figure the person who calls me for my services will be responsible for paying the bill and I will continue to look to ****** for payment. No further action will be taken against the ********s. If Mr. ****** had told me that the ********s would be paying my bill I would have told him to have the ********s call me and make the necessary arrangements for his job. My resolution to this matter would be for ****** to pay my original invoice as submitted. If you have any questions about this, feel free to call me at XXX-XXX-XXXX (office) or XXX-XXX-XXXX (cell). ****** PLUMBING & HEATING, INC ****** L ******, President

Consumer Response: 01/31/13
******** Kitchen & Bath's Response

First off, I want everyone to be clear on my position here. I have been the middle man between my customer (who always comes first) and Marion Richter (who I have known and been friends with their family my entire life. )
My customer *** and ****** ******** in fact was completely disappointed in Marion's service and professionalism. I tried to negotiate with *** to have Marion go back to the home for the corrections; but *** refused and would not let him come back. Period! I'm sorry for hurt feelings and a damaged relationship. But as I have said "my customers come first".
I'm deeply disappointed in Marion's false statements and mud slinging tactics.
We would like to Thank Richter Plumbing and Heating for calling the Weld County Building Inspections Office recently and having them check my work and integrity. As they have learned; NO permit was necessary. With their years of experience it was quite obvious that when they arrived, they started with existing water supply and drain lines coming out of the floor in the original position. No permit is necessary when you are changing like for like in Weld County.

Thank you.
** ******
******** Kitchen & Bath- Owner
(Cons supporting documents - 46030312 -2-7-13.pdf)

Business Response:
After reading Mr. *** ********** letter dated 2/01/13 to the Better Business Bureau, I really do not know where to start to repudiate what he has written, so I will take it line by line from his letter.

He stated that I came in and introduced myself - (I did do that), but not my friend from Iowa. I do not remember whether I introduced him or not as I feel it is irrelevant to this matter. As to his statement that I asked him what needed to be done, I never asked him that at all. I have been doing this type of work for 50 plus years, and when a customer asks me to come out and hook up his sink and faucet, I already know what needs to be done. As to him saying he told me to call Lindsey, that did not happen and I definitely at no time used his phone. His wife was not in the room at this time. No conversation transpired between ******* and myself about approval to install the dishwasher. I saw it sitting there and automatically figured it was there to be installed. No explanation needed. As to not having the dishwasher pushed back all the way, not true, as the front of the dishwasher was actually behind the front line of the counter top. I pulled it back out after installing to see about anchoring it to the counter top. I admit I did not run the dishwasher through a cycle because I did not want the dishwasher to tip over. I did turn the water on to the dishwasher, checked it for leaks, and then left it turned off.

As for the new faucet, after I hooked up the water and drain lines I turned the water on, got out from under the kitchen sink and turned the faucet on. It leaked around the aerator that screws onto the wand. I did take it apart to see if there was a washer missing or just what the problem might be. I determined that the aerator was cross-threaded from the factory and I could not get it to quit leaking. I did not say "Oh crap I broke the faucet". I would have used terminology much closer to my line of work
Mr. ******** did not come into the kitchen during the time that I attempted to get the faucet to not leak. I did not say anything to him until I left and he sure didn't seem upset when I left and he thanked me for getting his job done. I did talk to his wife as I stated in my first letter about the leak and told her not to use the dishwasher.

I admit that I did not remove the existing shut offs on the existing water lines as the whole back of the cabinet was open and exposed and I was not instructed by either the home owner or CKB to do so. The ability to get to the shut offs was no more difficult to get to than the original installation. As a matter of fact the 2 new shut offs were more assessable.

As to Mr. ******** having a problem about me not introducing my friend, I don't know whether I did or not, and as to that he did not introduce himself to me, nor did his wife. I just assumed they were the homeowners. I did tell his wife about the problems and I did check out the water and drain lines by filling both sink bowls full of water and draining at the same time. At that time there were no visible leaks

As to Mr. ******** saying he was satisfied with the second plumber that ** sent out, I would bet that some one told him how they wanted the valves and he hooked them up the way I would have had I been informed as to how they wanted it. As to the time involved for the 2nd plumber, he only had to do about f4 the amount of work, so it should not have taken him long to accomplish his job.

Now to Mr. ** Brehon's last response: If. as Mr. ****** stated, "I have known and been friends with their family my entire life" why did he not feel it necessary to get the other side of the story. It seems to me that it would have been the courteous thing to do. I still have not heard a word from ** Brehon. If he had been decent and at least called to let me know about this situation, it could probably have been worked out. As to his statement about like for like, the existing valves were part of his "like for like" and if suitable for the first time, it should have been suitable for the second time, or else I should have been informed to change to some specifications.

As to Mr.Brehon's statement that he was simply the middleman in this deal. I won't buy that. I always figure the person who calls me for my services will be responsible for paying the bill and I will continue to look to CKB for payment. No further action will be taken against the *********. If Mr. ****** had told me that the ********* would be paying my bill I would have told him to have the ********* call me and make the necessary arrangements for his job.

My resolution to this matter would be for CKB to pay my original invoice as submitted.

If you have any questions about this, feel free to call me at ###-###-#### (office) or ###-###-#### (cell).

RICHTER PLUMBING & HEATING, INC

Marion L Richter, President
(Business Rebuttal response 46030321 -3-15-13.pdf)

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I would like my complaint ID *******, to be handled through an Arbitration hearing with BBB. (accepted via telephone)

Regards,

** ******