Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mountain Valley Plumbing & Heating Inc

Phone: (970) 586-1085 Fax: (970) 586-3198 854 Dunraven St, Estes Park, CO 80517 http://www.mtnvalleyplumbing.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Plumbing Heating (hot water heat & force air) Remodle New construction


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mountain Valley Plumbing & Heating Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mountain Valley Plumbing & Heating Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Mountain Valley Plumbing & Heating Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2006 Business started locally: 01/01/2006 Business incorporated 07/26/1989 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Colorado Plumbing Board
1560 Broadway Ste 1500, Denver CO 80202
www.dora.state.co.us/plumbing
Phone Number: (303) 894-2300

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary Lee, Owner Ms. Renee Myers, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Lee, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Renee Myers, Office Manager
Business Category

Plumbers Fireplace Equipment Retailers Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors

Refund and Exchange Policy
One year warranty on all Labor
Service Area
Estes Park and surrounding area
Products & Services

Weil McLain Boilers Rheem water heaters Rinnia on demand water heater Heil Furnaces

Industry Tips
HVAC Contractors : Hot & Cold Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mountain Valley Plumbing & Heating Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 854 Dunraven St

    Estes Park, CO 80517 (970) 586-1085

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My contact with this company started 13 Nov 2014. I own house at *** ***** ***** **** ***** ***** ** and currently lease it to Ms. **** ***. On 12 Nov, she alerted me to a leaky garbage disposal and had called this company after hours. I thought bill was high for even after hours, so I called and spoke to ****. He explained bill and I ultimately paid the bill($234.92),however, I told **** that any future bills should go through me as I was the owner of the property. Next, it was a faucet leaking in MS bath tub ($273.39). I paid that bill also. On 12/17/14, Ms. *** advised that furnace was not working. She had called this company again and they gave her an estimate of $857 for parts and labor. I went ahead and gave her an O.K. as I was concerned about her welfare with no heat. Mr. **** *** is the owner of this company, and according to my tenant, he made several visits to property and commented on a bookcase too close to cold air return in hallway. Wasn't that close as floor molding made that impossible, but he did imply it was tenant's fault that furnace quit working. On future visits, he didn't mention that again. On or about the 17th, the part they had ordered from **** was broken while being installed. Ms. *** was told it would be another week until part would be available. Ms. *** left for the holidays several days later, but had a house sitter at the property during her absence. When part was installed again, furnace still not working. In fact, according to house sitter, nothing worked until company installed the mother board...Then on or about 5 Jan 2015, my tenant received a bill in the amount of $1583.20 for parts and labor. The bill was not clear if labor was still charged on the broken part; in fact, bill was not clear about charges...I was outraged as no one from the company contacted me for almost doubling bill, even though I had talked to them in November and asked them to go through me. I wrote several emails to the company (I have them on file) and heard from the Office Manager, but not from Mr. **** *** (owner). I was told in one of her emails that I would have better luck catching him if I called the company number in the mornings. I didn't think I should have to run him down so I asked for his cell number which I never received. I finally heard from Mr. *** and he said he would call me if I provided my phone number. I did so the same day. He called last week on or about 21 Jan 2015. I was not at home and he said he would call me later. To date (29 Jan), he has not tried to call me. Today. tenant contacted me and Mr. *** is threatening to take legal action and is charging 8.5% interest for late payment. I still do not understand the charges on this bill and why is owner so unwilling to talk to me. In the beginning, when i contacted him several times, he had his Office Manager answer my inquiries.....

Desired Settlement: I told my tenant that I was o.k. with original estimate of $857 for parts and labor. However, to almost double the bill without any authorization (difference of $726.00), is not a reputable thing to do. Further, I paid the first two charges (approx $600.00 plus) without a hassle, so even though this service is just now a month old, they are threatening legal action and charging 8.5 interest for late payment. This raises a red flag for me. The final visit by company was around Christmas week. It appears to me from bill that they are charging $85.00 per hour for all attempts to diagnose the problem. I told them that I felt that this was a reflection of the expertise of the technicians. Because the owner was reluctant to talk to me and had his Office Manager reply to my concerns, and he made no real attempt to talk to me, I don't think he had any intention to resolve this. Thus, now he is making threats....another red flag. To me, a reputable company attempts to resolve this rather than starting with the threats, etc.

Consumer Response:

***** ******* *********** ***************** *** ************************ ************************ ***** **** *** ** **** ** **** ** ******** *** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** ********* ********* ********* 

Just wanted you to know, that I talked to the Owner of Mountain Valley Plumbing in Estes Park, CO and we have agreed on an amount of $900.00 to pay the original invoice of approximately $1583. His name his **** *** and he requested I contact you and tell you that we have come to a successful conclusion to my complaint #********.  Thank you.


******* ***********