BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming

This Business is not BBB accredited

M H Plumbing & Heating

Phone: (970) 586-4626 Fax: (970) 586-0881 850 Dunraven St, Estes Park, CO 80517 http://www.mhph.org

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for M H Plumbing & Heating include:

  • 1 complaint filed against business that was not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for M H Plumbing & Heating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on M H Plumbing & Heating
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 30, 2007 Business started: 02/01/2006 Business started locally: 02/01/2006 Business incorporated: 02/01/2006 in CO
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Colorado Plumbing Board
1560 Broadway Ste 1500, Denver CO 80202
www.dora.state.co.us/plumbing
Phone Number: (303) 894-2300

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Holler, Owner Ms. Glena Derrington, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Glena Derrington, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Mark Holler, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Water Heater Repair Stores Water Heater Dealers Boiler Dealers Boiler Repair Cleaning Companies

Alternate Business Names
Holler Inc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    850 Dunraven St

    Estes Park, CO 80517 (970) 586-4626

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My manager call M H Plumbing to un plug a sewer drain at our Hotel. My manager explained to MH that another plumbing company had already came out and their auger had broke. MH plumber charged us for 3 hours of work and they also charged me $295 for a broken auger. I talked to owner and said that I was not paying for the broken auger. He then said that he also charges $50 for using his auger. I wrote them a check $290 which they cashed. They are now threatening me with being turned over to collection agency for unpaid bill. My wife has decided to go ahead and pay them the amount of $245 for their auger to avoid the stress. They never said that if their auger were to break that we had responsibility for it. If you had your car being fixed and mechanic broke his wrench he would never charge a person for his equipment. Tools are part of some ones business.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get my $295 dollars back for the auger. I paid them for their labor $80 hour for 3 hours which is ok.

Consumer Response: ****************
10:51 AM (4 minutes ago)

to disputes 
thanks for response

-----Original Message-----
From: ******** <********@aol.com>
To: **************** <****************@aol.com>
Sent: Wed, Dec 18, 2013 8:57 am
Subject: MH Plumbing Invoices

Business Response: **************** ***** ** ** ******* **** ** ******** 
thanks for response

************* ************ ***** ******** ****************** *** **************** ************************** ***** **** *** *** **** **** ** ******** ** ******** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

*** ******

Business Response: DEAR MS. *****,
 
IN REGARD TO THE COMPLAINT BY *******' S LODGE, WE HAD LET THEM KNOW AHEAD OF TIME THAT IF OUR MACHINE BROKE, THEY WOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE COST OF IT. THEY TOLD OUR TECHNICIAN TO GO AHEAD AND TRY TO GET IT. THE MACHINE DID BREAK AND WE BILLED THEM FOR THAT AND THE WORK DONE. 

THANK YOU, 



***** ********** 
OFFICE MANAGER 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: They did not tell anyone that we would be responsible. That is a lie.  If that was true it should be in their proposal and you can see it was not.

Regards,

*** ******

Business Response: They were told about breaking the machine.  We have witnesses to this fact.  There was no proposal for this job, so I do not know what they are talking about in the regard.  Thank you, ***** **********, MH Plumbing & Heating

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

from: **************** <****************@aol.com>
to: disputes@wynco.bbb.org
date: Wed, Jan 15, 2014 at 11:54 AM
subject: Fwd: Sewer clean out ******'s River Lodge 10/18/13 ********** **** ****** Invoice ID *******
 
Regarding dispute ID *******  -- I am enclosing the invoice from the first plumbing company-- You can see their auger broke and we were just billed for time and machine usage. Even though their auger broke they did not charge me which is the standard for the industry.

-----Original Message-----
From: ******** <********@aol.com>
To: **************** <****************@aol.com>
Sent: Wed, Jan 15, 2014 11:46 am
Subject: Sewer clean out ******'s River Lodge 10/18/13 ********** **** ****** Invoice


PDF
Invoice_Sewer_clean_out_******'s_River_Lodge_10_18_13_*********************.pdf

 
Regards,

*** ******

Business Response: I responded last week.  This customer's manager was told that if he wanted us to continue with the snake and the snake broke that they would be responsible.  We have a witness to this conversation.  The snake broke and I billed the customer accordingly.  Thanks, *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  My manager is **** **** . His phone number is ###-###-####. **** is the person that dealt with plumber. **** absolutely was not told that if snake broke we would be liable. Please feel free to call ****.  Plumbing company is just making up a lie to try to cover their incompetence. If they really did propose that we pay for something unusual it should have been in writing. It is interesting that they claim to have a witness but never offer his name or phone number so that he could be interviewed.

Regards,

*** ******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I would like my complaint ID *******, to be handled through an Arbitration hearing with BBB.

Regards,

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to comply with its pre-commitment to arbitrate complaints.

3/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My son-in-law, who lives at our vacation home in the flood area of **** ***** received an $800 quote from ****** plumbing for work required due to the flood. However they could not do the work until the following Wednesday. Therefore my son-in-law contacted ****, employee, of M H Plumbing to see if they could do it earlier and stay withing the ****** bid of $800. My son-in-law said **** agreed and could do so on the following Monday so he confirmed the appointment. On the following Monday M H Plumbing did not show with an explanation of a higher priority elsewhere. The did the work satisfactorily on Tues (one day before ****** could do so). Following that they sent an invoice for $997. My son-in-law contacted M H Plumbing and spoke to **** ******, owner, who said we owed $997 not $800 as **** would have never agreed to do so. The conversation became heated with **** taking the conversation personal making derogatory remarks of my son-in-law's character. At this point my son-in-law ended the conversation and asked me to call ****. I did so, described the situation, and told **** I was more than happy to pay the $800 as was our understanding but not the $997. **** in the same unprofessional manner as the previous conversation, took the conversation personal making derogatory remarks on my character and threatened to make sure no trade businesses in the area would ever do any work for us in the future. At several points he was so irrationale that I asked him if he was drunk or on drugs--it was that weird. I ended the conversation by restating that I would pay the $800 but not any more. I furthermore stated that if that didn't work for him, then as is his right, he could seek legal recourse. This was a VERY weird business owner-to-customer conversation. I've been in business myself for many years, even currently owning my own Colorado corporation (of which **** even said I didn't?!) here for many years and have rarely seen another owner respond to a customer in this manner.

Desired Settlement: As stated, I am more than happy to pay the $800 I was agreeing to when my son-in-law booked the appointment with ****, should M H Plumbing send me a corrected invoice for such. Since **** ******, the owner took this personal, a sincere apology from **** to my son-in-law would be nice but I find it hard to believe that would ever occur, at least a sincere one. Therefore I'll settle with paying what we agreed to and hiring the services of another plumber company from now on.

Business Response:

In response to this statement:  Our service techs. do not give estimates.  If ****** gave them an estimate of $800.00 so be it.  That is ****** not MH Plumbing.  We let them know it would be time and materials.  An estimate on the work needed there would be almost impossible.  After the flood there were so many things destroyed at so many homes.  When we go in under these conditions there are so many things you cannot see until you get into the work.  **** is an excellent technician and got the work done quicker than many would. The remarks as to ****'s character are ridiculous.  **** is a very well respected man here in Estes Park and has had an excellent business for over 30 years.  We are not responsible for another company's bid.

Consumer Response: Complaint: 9944722

I am rejecting this response because:

Simply, the answer provided is not true. I have witnesses who overheard the offer from **** to do the work matching the ****** $800 bid and phone conversation between **** and myself.

Again, I will be happy to pay the $800 as we were told. If M H Plumbing accepts that they can send me an ammended invoice as such.

Regards,

****** ********

Consumer Response: This was a verbal quote from **** agreeing they could do the work for the same price of the ****** quote of $800 and earlier. This was the only reason we booked M H Plumbing rather than have ****** do it.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1