BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Chambers Plumbing & Heating Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Chambers Plumbing & Heating Inc

Phone: (970) 667-3050 Fax: (970) 667-1750 119 E 5th St, Loveland, CO 80537 http://www.chambersplumbingloveland.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chambers Plumbing & Heating Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chambers Plumbing & Heating Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Chambers Plumbing & Heating Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 15, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1921 Business started locally: 01/01/1921
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Colorado Plumbing Board
1560 Broadway Ste 1500, Denver CO 80202
www.dora.state.co.us/plumbing
Phone Number: (303) 894-2300

Business Management
Mr. Dave Lohnes, Owner/President Ms. Judy Jensen-Lohnes, Bookkeeper
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dave Lohnes, Owner/President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Plan Services Drain and Sewer Cleaners Water Heater Repair Stores Heating Air Conditioning Water Heaters - Dealers Water Heater - Tankless Air Conditioning Repair Boiler Dealers Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boiler Repair Cleaning Companies Contractor - Remodel & Repair Sump Pump Contractors Heating Contractors

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Chambers Plumbing & Heating Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 119 E 5th St

    Loveland, CO 80537 (970) 667-3050

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Chambers Plumbing installed a hot water heater incorrectly, laying out the piping and placing valves in an outright faulty way (causing a pipe to burst and a valve to break on the very first time the supposedly 'freeze-proof' design got tested). This is explained in more detail, with illustrations, in a separate 2-page document. In brief: The installation included two electric valves. As soon as the electrical power for system is turned off, one valve opens to drain the heater, and another valve closes to stop water entering. This setup was suggested by Chambers Plumbing, on their promise that this would make the set-up safe against damage due to freezing. However, on the inlet side, they made the mistake of installing a one-way valve some distance below the electric valve, meaning that there is no possible way, with the system off, to avoid that water here gets trapped between two closed valves. This fault in the original pipe layout did not become apparent until the first time we lowered the cabin temperature to below freezing, which was in the winter of 2012 (we kept the cabin constantly above freezing throughout the first two winters of 2010 and 2011, so the design could not get verified until at this time). Right away (that is, on the first ever opportunity to see the system actually working), the trapped water of course expanded when freezing, the pipe fitting just above the one-way valve burst, and the electric valve also got destroyed. With the installed pipe/valve layout, it is impossible for the system to ever work as promised. Ever since we first discovered the installation error, when returning to the cabin in the spring/early summer of 2013, I have tried to get Chambers Plumbing to correct their installation. The flood of 2013 cut off access to the cabin. Hence the issue got pushed over into 2014. Chambers Plumbing are still stalling on assuming responsibility for a faulty installation, which indeed (and inevitably) failed disastrously on its first test.

Desired Settlement: Chambers Plumbing take prompt full responsibility for correcting their original improper piping/valve setup (in order to render the system functional in the way it was promised to work; As I have mentioned repeatedly to Chambers Plumbing, it is fine with me if the electric automatic valves are replaced with regular manual ones).

Business Response: I agree that there should be corrections made to prevent freezing. I have corresponded with Mr. ********* about this situation. As of yet, we have not been able to get up to his job since it is in a remote area. We will however take care of the situation as soon as we can get someone up there.

We are not stalling to avoid repairs. We have a limited number of service men and have to take calls in the order of priority. I will contact him to set a time for next week to resolve the problem.

Thanks

**** ******
Owner / Chambers Plumbing & Htg. Inc.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Since Chambers Plumbing now seem to agree that the original installation was faulty, the correction should be done with no charge to me.  

Regards,

***** ********

6/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2 visits to home to repair/service Rennai H2o heater, the 2nd visit I feel should be at no charge The first visit was a service to clean and service the water heater and to try and stop some noises that had started the past year when the water heater was on. The man spent quite some time doing that. He also fixed a tap which is fine. That weekend the water was changing temps and a gas smell was present. The second visit was because I called back to complain about that. The serviceman came back and installed a new vent then changed settings again. I do not feel this 2nd charge is valid, I spoke with the office X 3 but was told I have to pay the charge. I was never told the re-do on the vent would be at my expense, I assumed that as the serviceman said it was not correct it would be Cambers expense. They had installed the water heater in the first place

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the 2nd visit, $287.50

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2012/12/14) */ We did service the ****** tankless water heater which needed service at the time. There was a rumbling when it would fire and we were able to eliminate some of that. The venting that was installed originally was an approved venting for those units. We have since stopped using that type since there have been cases that the seals between the exhaust and the air intake had failed. The gas smell she had was most probably due to this problem. The unit was in fact installed correctly. My service man misspoke when he said it was installed wrong and it would be at Chambers expense. This system has been working since 2008 without problems. We installed the different ****** venting and we paid for all of the materials. Labor was not included although Ms. ****** may have not been told that. We did nothing wrong in the installation at the time of original install. Unfortunately the venting company won't stand behind any labor costs. I paid for the materials at no charge. The second visit was $287.50. If we had installed it wrong, I would not charge anything but since it was not I would be willing to split that amount with Ms. ******. I can't refund the amount since she has not paid it yet. If she would pay $143.75 we would call it paid. I am sorry for the inconvenience and expense, but I can not be liable for products that are way out of warranty. Consumer Response /* (450, 12, 2013/01/07) */ From: GDNGAL99@aol.com Sent: Sunday, January 06, 2013 10:42 AM To: Marcy Sharf Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case#46030174(Ref#38-3000133-46030174-9-1310) Chambers did send a check for 50% of the amount. The owner called and left me a message, I called back numerous times and he did not return my call. Although it is not entirely satisfactory it is better than nothing. Thank you for your help, Eileen Gibson

6/5/2012 Billing/Collection Issues