BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Benjamin Franklin Plumbing?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Benjamin Franklin Plumbing

Phone: (970) 669-8187 View Additional Phone Numbers 485 Denver Ave, Loveland, CO 80537 http://www.benfranklinplumbing.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Benjamin Franklin Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Benjamin Franklin Plumbing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Benjamin Franklin Plumbing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 01, 2003 Business started: 11/01/1998 Business started locally: 11/01/1998 Business incorporated: 01/01/1999 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Colorado Plumbing Board
1560 Broadway Ste 1500, Denver CO 80202
www.dora.state.co.us/plumbing
Phone Number: (303) 894-2300

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Barton Palmer, President Ms. Cindy Wright, Admin. Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Barton Palmer, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Plan Services Drain and Sewer Cleaners Water Heater Repair Stores Remodelers Basement - Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Garbage Disposal Equipment Suppliers Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, and Supply Stores Water Heaters - Dealers Whirlpool Bath Equipment Suppliers Boiler Dealers Pipe Cutting and Threading Equipment Suppliers Kitchen and Bath Remodelers Kitchen Remodeling Boiler Repair Cleaning Companies Contractor - Remodel & Repair Sump Pump Contractors Pipe Thawing Services

Alternate Business Names
Palmer Plumbing Rues LLC
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • 485 Denver Ave

    Loveland, CO 80537 (970) 669-8187 (970) 373-5071

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (970) 373-5071(Phone)
  • (970) 488-2419(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Benjamin Franklin to install an interior floor drain and sump pump in our basement which was flooding from groundwater. They began work 3 weeks ago and have still not completed the job. The amount of unprofessionalism is ridiculous! We have cigarette butts all over our property...they have broken a window, its sill, and siding board while removing concrete from the house...They have put holes in my drywall...there is mud splattered up to my ceiling...and NO ONE has done any work in 6 days nor have I received any communication. Concrete was re-poured 10 days ago and there is still water coming up through the cracks in the floor. After speaking to Benjamin Franklin's 3rd party concrete worker I was told "it is what it is". Um NO! If I'm paying for water to stop leaking into the basement then the water should NOT be coming into the basement! I will not use this company ever again and consumers should reconsider their decision to use them as well!

Desired Settlement: Benjamin Franklin needs to complete the work and repair all the property damages. I'm insulted by their lack of communication and offended by the 3rd party companies that they allowed to work in my home.

Business Response: We have received the complaint and our Service Manager will review it. We will respond as soon as he has reviewed the issues with the parties involved.

3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have significant concern about work performed in mid September, 2013 by Benjamin Franklin Plumbing Loveland (BFP), and ******* ******* *** *** *********. Though these are technically separate companies, they are owned by the same person, **** ******, and coexist at adjacent addresses. On 9/19/2013 ******* ******* *** *** did routine maintenance on our heating system, as we were leaving to work out of the country 2 days later, which we told him. The service person said that our tank water heater had rust on the inside of the bottom, it should be replaced because of the chance of leaking while we were away, that he could do it that afternoon, and the cost would be $5289. He showed me the heater, which had rust particles below and around the heating unit, not gross tank wall rust, and no outside rust. With such a short deadline, and unable to research this, we agreed. A person from Benjamin Franklin arrived that afternoon, removed the old tank and installed a ****** ********** water heater. We received paperwork for the **** ****** **** Water Heater Rebate, but the paperwork requires equipment and contractor information to fill out, most of which we still have not received, and nobody from BFP signed the paperwork. We paid $5289 at the time of installation, but it did not specify details of the water heater and thus was unacceptable to ****, so we called to ask for a more specific receipt. In November or December we received a detailed invoice from BFP but it was for $4487.25.The warranty card requires information including installer name, procard number, installer phone number, wholesaler/distributer and model and serial numbers, none of which was completed.We have tried repeatedly to contract someone to complete this paperwork and resolve the billing discrepancy, and despite speaking with receptionists, nobody has returned a call to resolve these issues. Subsequent research shows this ****** water heater is available for $1557 at ******, with free shipping. This means we were charged for labor at least $3732. Further research on rust in the bottom inside of a tank water heater suggests there was no emergent need to replace it.

Desired Settlement: Complete BFPs portion of the warranty registration card, and return it asap.Complete BFPs portion of the **** ****** **** Water Heater Rebate paperwork, and return it to us asap. If rebate has expired, then reimburse us amount of rebate.Between BFP and *******, reimburse us at minimum $802, the difference between paid and invoiced. Because labor charge is unreasonable, and likely we received incorrect advice on replacement need, refund should be significantly greater than this.

Business Response:  
Attached is a copy of letter sent to Dr. **** from our Service Manager on 2/25/14. 
 
Dear Dr. ****                                                                         02/25/2014
 
Per our conversation on 02/21/2014, Benjamin Franklin is please to present you with the following options to resolve the concerns that you may have with regards to your installation and service provided in September of 2013. The following items were agreed upon:
 
1.    Benjamin Franklin Plumbing (BFP) agrees to register your product with ****** so that you will receive the 12 year warranty on the burner assembly.
 
2.    BFP will provide you with a full 5 year warranty for parts and labor from the date of installation. This warranty will cover parts and labor.
 
3.    BFP will provide a refund to you in the amount of $802.00. You will receive your refund within 30 working days following your written approval of these items.
 
4.    BFP will complete our portion of the **** ****** **** water Heater Rebate paperwork and return it to Dr. **** in a timely manner.
 
5.    BFP will reimburse Dr. **** the difference for the tax rebate should it be denied and proof of denial is presented to BFP in writing with copies of the denial attached.
 
 
Dr. ****, we appreciate your business and look forward to a long and happy relationship between you and Benjamin Franklin Plumbing.
 
 
**** ******
Service Manager

Dr. **** responded:

 
Dear **,
 
Thank you for your letter dated 2/25/2014 and attached to your original email below.  This is acceptable.  Would you please send me a copy of the warranty registration with ******?
 
Thank you very much for your assistance.
 
Sincerely,
 
* * ****


We submitted the registration to ****** last week.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

 The proposed settlement of this complaint outlines what will be performed by Benjamin Franklin Plumbing, and I appreciate their working to resolve the issues.  I will accept this response once I have received payment as specified in the letter, received a copy of the registration with ******, and received the filled out paperwork for the tax rebate.

Regards,

** ****

Business Response: On Mon, Mar 24, 2014 at 10:50 AM, **** ****** <************************> wrote:
Dr. ****,
 
Here is the information on your registration through ******. We registered and filed this information electronically so I've included it below. Your check was mailed to you last week per our General Manager. Please review all information as I believe we have addressed all of the concerns that you had.
 
Thank you,
 
**** ******
 
Your Warranty Registration


Your installation unit application has been approved!

Please email PROCard@******.com if you have additional questions and/or comments.

We appreciate your support and dedication to the sales and installation of ****** system.

Installer information:
******* ******* ********
Installer Name: ***** ******
Homeowner information:
First Name: *****
Last Name: ****
Address: **** ***** ***
City: **** *******

Warranty information:
********** ** **************
****** America

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

** ****

3/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Defrauding senior citizens regarding free, routine flushing of 2110 hot water heater. Company calls and re-calls customer offering free flushing service. Customer says "I won't be rooked out of any money then? No, sir, the service is free and a part of your warranty." Company plumber comes to perform service and miraculously finds a valve that must be replaced. "How much?' says customer? "For 2.09, says plumber. Customer believes this is $2.09. Plumber leaves site to go get a special valve not with him, gives customer "no written estimate" beforehand,then when job complete, plumbers says "How do you plan on taking care of this?" And then presents customer with a $209.00 itemized bill. And remember, this so-called service was not solicited by me to begin with.

Desired Settlement: Money should be refunded because fraud occurred and/or no written estimate given to customer given beforehand.

Business Response: Our Service Manager, ** ******, contacted Mr. ****** to get more information from him in order to resolve this complaint. In talking with him, he discovered that our technician did not follow our procedures in offering him options for repairs and straight forward pricing upfront. He went ahead and performed the work without prior approval. We are refunding $199.00 which is the full amount that he was originally charged for this service call. We have also reviewed our procedures with our technician. We advised Mr. ****** that we were sending him a check in the amount of $199.00

Consumer Response: My first contact was by phone the week of January 13-17
where I was told my MasterCard account would be credited $199.00 in 3-5
business days.  The second notice I read
in your email to me whereby a **** ****** claimed a check in the amount of
$199.00 would be sent to me.  The third
contact was a call I made to the business last Friday, January 31, and ****
****** informed me “it was being processed,” and that I would be contacted
mid-week this week as to whether it would be a check sent to me or a credit to
my MasterCard.  Today is Thursday,
February 6, and I have received no check, no credit, or a phone call.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

Roland Madore

12/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In August my water heater's pilot refused to stay lit. By removing the burner I determined the it was the thermocouple. I couldn't find the specific part to replace so I called Benjamin Franklin Plumbing to repair. When the plumber showed up I explained exactly what was wrong with the thermocouple and exactly what was needed to repair. In spite of the information provided he attempted to light the pilot light. It lit, but I knew it would go out as I had been doing the same thing for about a week. I insisted that I needed a new thermocouple and he rather indignantly told me that the bill was already at $126 (service fee plus charge for lighting the pilot) and it was my call on what he did next. I challenged the price for lighting the pilot (roughly $86) and he said "You have a Master Plumber in your house." Right about that time a small (tablespoon size) bit of water appeared from below the heater. I pointed it out and without missing a beat he jumped into scheduling a replacement water heater to the tune of over $1500. I, not knowing any better, scheduled for the work to be done next day. Once he left I did some research and discovered it was only condensation stemming from the heater having been off for a day. I promptly canceled the replacement and was charged the $126 for the service fee and pilot lighting. Shortly after he left the pilot went out again. I have since replaced the entire burner of the water heater for LESS than Benjamin Franklin charged me for lighting my pilot light. I feel that Benjamin Franklin Plumbing is guilty of price gouging and taking advantage of customers. Since I replaced the part I have not had ANY problems with my water heater

Desired Settlement: I request a refund for the total amount of $126.00 for the service fee and pilot lighting.

Business Response: This is to advise you that on November 22, 2013, **** ****, Operations Manager called Mr. ******* to apologize that our service was less than satisfactory for him and advised him that we would send him a refund check in the amount of $126.00. 

On November 22, 2013, check #**** was cut in the amount of $126.00. It will be mailed out on November 25'. 

Please let us know if you need any other information regarding this matter. 

***** ****** : 
Executive Assistant