BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Mac's Frame Shop?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mac's Frame Shop

Phone: (970) 493-9393 Fax: (970) 494-4617 1634 S College Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80525 http://www.macsframeshop.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mac's Frame Shop meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mac's Frame Shop include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mac's Frame Shop
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 11, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1978 Business started locally: 01/01/1978
Business Management
Ms. Brenda Moote, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Brenda Moote, Owner
Business Category

Picture Frame Dealers Art Galleries, Dealers & Consultants Poster Designers Mirror Suppliers


Additional Locations

  • 1634 S College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 493-9393

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid 50% down & balance due when merchandise picked up. They charged our credit card without authorization two weeks later citing invoice error. Visited store 12/1/12 to purchase 3 mirrors - one large mirror & two matching small mirrors. Original bid was > $900. We said that was too much & prepared to leave. Sales person ****** said she could give us a better price for the 3 mirrors by using stock inventory instead of special orders & quoted $677.41. We accepted bid & paid their required 50% down - $338.71. Picked up 3 mirrors on 12/17/12; paid balance due of $338.70. Received voice mail while out of town Christmas week stating the original invoice was incorrect. We were told we owed them almost $300. Returned ******'s call 12/28. Told her we will not pay more money. Gave her a choice - we would return all 3 mirrors or she could leave things as is. She chose to leave things as is. ****** left another voice mail on 12/29 asking for more money. Received January credit card statement. Saw unauthorized charge for $270.39; transaction date was 12/31/12. We did not authorize this charge.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the unauthorized $270.39 as a final settlement of this issue.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/02/19) */ I admit I made a mistake and I did not realize that until I did my daily receipts the next morning. I called **** ***** (who placed the order) when I got to work to let him know what had happened. I left a message to call me. I called them again on 12/28/12 and left a message to call me. I spoke with ******, who said they'd gotten home the night before and she would talk it over with **** and be in touch. ****** called me back, said they had looked at their receipt and we charged them for (2) mirrors. She then said to me "I will tell you right now - We will not pay for that mirror, it was your mistake". I said you can't keep something you didn't pay for, that's not right. If you don't want to pay for the mirror, then bring it back so I can at least try to sell it. ****** said that I could either eat my mistake or they would bring back all (3) mirrors and I could refund the whole order. When she called me back, I was busy (Christmas is our busiest time of year) and that conversation rattled me, and I said "Whatever and I disconnected". I was so upset by the conversation, that I called her back on 12/28 at 1:25 p.m., and got their machine. I left a message and said that there was no way I could afford to absorb 270.39, could we meet in the middle and I would go half with them and their portion would be 135.19, and I asked them to call me back later or better yet, stop by the store and we could talk in person. They never returned my call. I spoke with my credit card processor (****) and discussed in length what had happened and they said if I had paperwork and invoices to back up my claim, that I could charge them for the remaining amount. They informed me that I might incur a "Chargeback" and I said okay and **** charged their card. That was on 12/31/12. On***n. 5, 2013, I received a letter from **** *****. I will send this to you along with copies of the invoice(s). I truly am sorry for the mistake, and I offered (in Dec when I called back "asking for more money") to split the difference for the mirror (270.39) with them and I would still be willing (now) to split the difference and give them a refund for 135.19, but I am not sure they are open to that. It was suggested (in the letter) that I manipulated the work order so I could charge them more money. I can prove that that did not happen and it can not happen with my POS software or it would print on the receipt that I had "Modified" the order. Also, they continue to reference that there were 3 people all the time, as I work solo most of the time. My son works part-time when he isn't going to school or working his other job. It was an honest mistake and if I hadn't went back and forth between choices and screens so many times, I would have caught the fact that I missed checking (2) on the "Quantity' button (software automatically defaults to quantity of (1). I am surprised that they didn't bring it to my attention when they looked at their "deposit" receipt, that I had not charged them for 3 mirrors. Mac's Frame Shop has been in business a long time and we don't treat folks that way. I would still be open to splitting the difference with them and giving them a "refund" for 135.19. Also, I have it posted in (2) visible areas that we "Do Not" allow returns on "Special Order" items, that is why I would not refund the entire order. And that is the "ONLY" way they would bring back the mirror to me, was if I would "Refund" the entire purchase. I can't return length moulding when it's been chopped and built. My desired resolution: I would be willing to refund half the cost of the third mirror; a refund of $135.19 and request that ****** ****** and **** ***** refrain from derogatory comments to others regarding Mac's Frame Shop and that our record remain clean. Business Response /* (-10, 6, 2013/02/19) */ I will be sending paperwork, invoice(s), etc., to you tomorrow regarding this matter. Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/03/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Thank you for your offer that we split the difference between our agreed-upon price and your follow up request for more money. You may have forgotten that your first bid was $900 and we prepared to leave your shop. You then said you could do the work for $660 and we agreed. Paying more now would be only slightly less than that first bid which we felt was too high. We would not have ordered mirrors from you at that price. Please consider: 1. You admitted your first mistake in pricing our order. You gave us a price and terms. We paid your 50% down, we paid your 50% balance when picking up the mirrors, and that should have been the end of it. We cannot imagine a supermarket calling a week after you have eaten your groceries to request more money because the cashier pressed the wrong button. 2. A second mistake is that one employee priced the order, apparently another employee performed the requested work, and yet a third employee took our final payment, displayed the products, and loaded them into our car. Not one of those three at any stage noticed there was a pricing error. 3. The third mistake was charging our credit card without authorization. Our credit card company reversed the charge and then cancelled that card due to what they told us was a "security breach." We are now inconvenienced because they will be mailing us another card which, of course, we do not yet have. When it arrives, they said their Fraud Department would investigate further. Requesting further payment after your price was paid in full, the merchandise was delivered, and it was put into use, certainly is an unusual way to do business. It seems inappropriate, therefore, that you should again suggest that we pay more money. Our opinion is this matter now needs simply to be dropped. Business Response /* (-10, 14, 2013/03/14) */ March 14, 2013 To: ***** ***** -VP/Dispute Resolution and Operations Case # XXXXXXXX Good Morning, In response to my case # XXXXXXXX, this matter is in review also with my credit card processor and ****** ******'s credit card company. As of 3/11/13 the amount of $270.39 has been taken out of my account until they reach a decision. At this time, I am out the mirror and the money for it. Therefore, at this time, I am now asking for the full payment of $270.39 from ****** ******. As efforts to resolve this issue have failed and we have come to an impasse, I am asking for full compensation for the third mirror that my client received and would not return despite my request to do so. I have enclosed a duplicate copy of the original invoice and also for the third mirror that I charged my client for. If you need additional copies of the material(s) invoices, I can and will provide those as well. If I can be of further assistance, please let me know. Thank you for your cooperation of this matter. Sincerely, ****** ******, owner Mac's Frame Shop Consumer Response /* (-5, 15, 2013/03/19) */ From: ******,****** (mailto:*****@*************) Sent: Monday, March 18, 2013 9:59 AM To: Better Business Bureau Cc: ******,****** Subject: RE: BBB Complaint Case#XXXXXXXX(Ref#REDACT36*****@*************35*****@*************37REDACT) Dear *****, Thank you for your understanding regarding my silly question concerning verification to send all to you. Attached is the documentation my husband and I would like to provide concerning the complaint. Sincerely, ****** ***** ********* ******,**** ***************************************** ********************************** ************************* ******************** **************** XXXXX-XXXX *****@*************

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.