Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

The Steadman Clinic

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 476-1100 Fax: (970) 479-5835 181 W Meadow Dr Ste 400, Vail, CO 81657 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Steadman Clinic meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Steadman Clinic include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Steadman Clinic
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 18, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1990 Business incorporated 01/01/1990 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Colorado Medical Board
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
Phone Number: (303) 894-2430
Fax Number: (303) 894-2821

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Gary Peterson, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Peterson, CEO
Business Category

Orthopedic Surgeons and Physicians Physicians & Surgeons - Medical-M.D.

Additional Locations

  • 181 W Meadow Dr Ste 400

    Vail, CO 81657 (970) 476-1100

  • 360 Peak One Rd #340

    Frisco, CO 80443


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had foot ******* in 2013. Dr. *******, my doctor & surgeon, who previously lived in *******, had moved to ****, ********. I traveled from ***** to ******** so that Dr. ******* would do the surgery. At the time of admission, I paid my copay and all fees for the facility and the Dr. that were not covered. Several months later I received a bill for more than $700. I made several calls to find out what the extra charges were for. I first thought they were charges for Dr. *******'s services. I called Dr. ******* and spoke with him personally. I explained to him that on the phone I told the office manager what ******* I wanted, and was told that it would be done, but then on the operating table something different was done. He agreed to zero out my account and said that I would have no further bills from them. I feel that I was sold a service that I didn't receive. I went there thinking I was getting one service and I got another that has done me no good. It was a lot of expense and pain and time off work for nothing. When I applied for a mortgage, I found out that I had been turned over to a collection agency called ********* *****. I called and found out that the balance had never been written off, and that it was the facility fees that I am charged for. They told me that I was told at admission that this was just an estimate. I was never told that, and I remember asking if I would have any other expenses and was told no that that was everything. I have been scammed.

Desired Settlement: I want this off my credit report and my balance zeroed out.

Business Response: Dear Ms. ***** ******/patient:

The ******** Clinic just received this message/complaint from this patient. We like to make sure that all out patients are treated in the best way possible that is appropriate to their situation. We apologize for any inconvenience this may caused the patient.

After reading the complaint, it appears that this patient account was turned over to collections by **** (**** ****** ******* ******), one of the facilities where our physicians perform their surgical treatment. We will ask the facility to adjust the charges because of their concern that they may have received treatment they did not think was according to the plan. It is fairly common for the surgeon to change the course of treatment when they are in ******* to adjust the course of treatment to best treat the symptoms the patient is having. With respect to our billing with the clinic we will make sure that any outstanding charges are adjusted appropriately.

Unfortunately we do not control this entity(**** ****** ****** ******) with respect to their billing and can not insure they will make the necessary modifications but we will contact them and request that **** handles this matter expediently so as rectify the patient's issues with their credit report.

Thanks for your understanding,

** **** ********, COO, CFO
The Steadman Clinic, PLLC

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


****** ****

12/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable