BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Miramont Family Medicine?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Miramont Family Medicine

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 482-0213 Fax: (970) 482-9646 4674 Snow Mesa Dr Ste 140, Fort Collins, CO 80528 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.miramont.us

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This medical group offers health care for the whole family.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Miramont Family Medicine meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Miramont Family Medicine include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Miramont Family Medicine
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 05, 2007 Business started: 09/01/1998 Business started locally: 09/01/1998 Business incorporated: 09/26/2001 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Colorado Medical Board
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/medical/
Phone Number: (303) 894-2430
Fax Number: (303) 894-2821
DORA_MedicalBoard@state.co.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. John Bender, CEO Ms. Angie Baldivia, Bookkeeping Teresa Bender, Clinic Administrator Ms. Julie DeSaire Doug DeYoung, DO Kelly Lowther, MD Juan Rodriguez, DO Ms. Tina Smith, Complaints
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. John Bender, CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Julie DeSaire
Business Category

Physicians and Surgeons Physicians & Surgeons - Family Practice Osteopathic-D.O. Practices Obgyn Physicians Physicians & Surgeons - Allergy Physical Therapists Psychologists Skin Care Suppliers General Health Medical Companies Medical Testing Facilities Laser Therapy Laser Cosmetic Services Physicians & Surgeons - Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism Pain Management Services Acupuncturists Clinics Laser Hair Removal Companies Health & Wellness

Alternate Business Names
Bender Medical Group Inc
Products & Services

physicians, family physicians, diabetic care, child care


Additional Locations

  • 1014 Centre Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80526

  • 4674 Snow Mesa Dr Ste 140

    Fort Collins, CO 80528 (970) 482-0213

  • 7950 6th Street

    Wellington, CO 80549

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 11th, 2014, I brought my 5 year old son into the Miramont **** **** ***** location to see a physician for a pain in his leg that he had woken up with. I thought perhaps he had pulled a muscle or bruised it somehow playing, as he had not done anything serious to warrant any real concern. They wanted to take an x-ray of his hip to rule out anything that might be serious. After the xray was taken, the xray technician immediately called the P.A. ***** ****** (the physicans asst. we had the office visit with) back into her office. I was informed by Ms. ****** that my son had a fractured pelvis, and they did not want to move him, and that he must be taken to the hospital from the medical clinic by ambulance immediately. At no time was I given any other option, even though I could not understand why or how my son could have fractured his pelvis for no apparent reason! No other physician was called to the xray lab for a 2nd opinion, nor was a radiologist consulted at that point. We were taken by ambulance to ****** ****** Hospital, and after a few hours, another xray was taken, only to find out that the technician as well as Ms. ****** had errored in their reading of the first xray, and what they had said was a fracture was actually my son's growth plate. The ER Doctor's actual words were "they were either inexperienced in reading children's xrays, or they were very hasty in coming to that conclusion." Because my son's leg had been immobilized all day at that point (from still being wrapped up on the stabilizing board from the ambulance so his legs couldn't move), he was still feeling the pain in his leg when they finally let him move it. So the hospital decided to do bloodwork to rule out infection as well as admit him for the night to monitor the leg. He woke up the next morning and was completely fine. They ended up diagnosing him with a "deep bruise" even though there was no mark or bruise on his leg. I still feel it was probably a pulled muscle. But because of Miramont Family Medicine's error in not being able to differentiate a fracture from a child's growth plate (which is not difficult to see- there is one on each side of the hip), my out of pocket medical bills have totaled over $4000.00. The ambulance ride alone was $1700.00. I have contacted Miramont at least 10 times to try to get someone to listen to my issues, but no one has returned my phone call. The billing office has been sympathetic, but say I must talk to the Administrator ****** ****** to clear this up. Ms. ****** has never called me back, even after I have left several messages, with the billing office, the receptionist's office (which on her voicemail I was directed to), and on her voicemail. I am tired of trying to deal with them as they do not care whatsoever about listening to any complaint or concern from their patients.

Desired Settlement: I would like Miramont to reimburse me for the out of pocket medical bills that we have paid due to their error. We have already paid $1700, and still owe another $2100.00 to ****** ****** Hospital. These charges are AFTER our deductible, and do not include any additional bills from Miramont or lab that I have not received yet.

Business Response: In repsonse to the complaint from ******* *******:

***** ******, F-NP, contacted the patient directly on  05/15/2014 and the following is a compilation of the items discussed:

******* thanked ***** for calling as she was the "first person to call her to discuss her son's case."

*****'s goal for the discussion was to encourage ******* to talk and share her feelings about what happened:

1. She was upset that she was approached in the ER by a social worker because her child was there with a pelvic fracture - Suggesting negligance, etc on her part?

2. They waited in the ER for several hours before additional x-rays were even taken; the MD did NOT even examine the patient prior to the xrays and made the comment, "whoever told you your son had a pelvic fracture doesn't know how to read children x-rays."  The ER was able to obtain a full set of pelvic xrays, Miramont was not able to do this due to the pain the patient to move into the posititon needed for "frog-leg" view.  Our Radiology Tech's are trained to NOT force this type of xray due to the possibility of femoral artery rupture.  This was explained to *******.  ***** told her that she only had a 1 limited view for her son's right femur with some right pelvis and there was reason to suspect (based also on clinical assessment) that he had some type of traumatic injury.

3. The ER MD's agreed that the patient needed to be admitted for observation and to rule out infection based on the child's history of a head cold 2 weeks prior to this incident.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The response does nothing to resolve my complaint. Ms. ****** called to try to help me try to understand why she made the mistake she made in my son's care. She admitted it was a mistake, and she admitted that she did not seek a secondary "set of eyes" by another physician at the clinic (even though there were numerous physicians and nurses at the clinic that day) to help her evaluate the xray. She admitted she normally does get a 2nd opinion, and she was not sure why she did not that day. The resolution to the complaint is not for me to be able to "discuss my feelings" regarding my son's care, the resolution would be for Miramont to take care of the thousands of dollars of medical bills incurred because of their mistake. When a business makes an error, the proper solution is for the business to make it right. A medical business should be no different, in fact, in my opinion a medical services company should go out of their way to do everything possible to make sure their customer service is impeccable. I was eventually contacted by ****** ******, the clinic administrator, and asked to provide them copies of my medical bills, which I immediately did that same day. I was assured by Ms. ****** that they would do something to help us out. Now it is another 2 months later, and I have not been contacted again by Ms. ****** or anyone else, despite my leaving messages for her to contact me. Again, this negligent occurrence of care originally happened on February 11th, and it is now July 15th. In 5 months, nothing has happened to help to resolve the issue. It is unacceptable that I should be the one again having to seek them out to get an update on a complaint that should be a priority in them clearing up.

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response: August 11, 2014 

********** 
Better Business Bureau RE: ******* ******* Complaint: ******** 

Dear Ms. *****, 

I apologize for my delay in getting back to you. I have been waiting for a response 
from ****** ****** Hospital as to any relief that they would be able to provide to Ms. ******* and her family in reference to her billings. At this time, they are not offering to reduce the amount due from the family. 

After reviewing all of the notes in the patient's medical record and documentation of the telephone calls between ******* ******* and ***** ******, Miramont Family 
Medicine is prepared to do the following: We will absorb the remaining balance on Ms. *******'s account and no further amounts will be due to Miramont Family 
Medicine. 

We will continue to work with ****** ****** Hospital in an attempt to gain a reduction in the amount due to them. 

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you should have any qtiestions or comments. I can be reached at my direct number ************ or by email at 
**********************

Sincerely, 
*********** 
Director of Clinical Quality Miramont Family Medicine 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought the laser hair removal package for $360, 5 sessions plus unlimited sessions of hair removal for armpits and navel region if the hair didn't disappear. First, we started with lower back and navel, but after two sessions on the highest laser hair removal setting of the lower back there were no results. At the same time, I was getting the navel done- no results. After that we switched the treatment to navel and armpits because no results were shown. *** (******************), the hair removal specialist, used the highest setting for 5 sessions on the navel and armpits. The hair still kept growing in thick, no changes. I told her that I wanted to try again, but I got pregnant and didn't want to take any risks using a laser. We agreed after that that we would start the cycle over again after the baby was born to see if it would be effective. She recommended I come in 4-8 weeks apart for each session, as I did before. At the time I thought I would be staying in CO. I decided in September after we talked that I am moving back to CA to have my baby (due in March). After that, I tried to get ahold of her personally about 8 times up until recently by phone and drop by office visits, to see if I could get the service transfered to a branch in Santa Rosa, CA or if I could get a refund. The last 6 times up until late November, I didn't recieve a call back. The 7th and 8th time I was transfered to the billing department. I explained my situation and they wrote me a check for $86 without calling me back to discuss the amount they'd refund. It was frustrating because I had to drive 15 minutes to get to their office to open that check and find out that it wasn't the total amount. I told them I never got a call back from Kim, asked if she'd call. I left the check. After that, today Dec. 4th, I finally got received a rude message from *** on my cell phone stating that I didn't deserve a refund because I went behind her back to billing, when the past 3 months I tried to contact her. The service never worked

Desired Settlement: I would like the $360 I paid for the services that never worked. After this I am completely disappointed in her lack of communication and treatment of me as a customer. There is no excuse for her to say I don't get my refund if the service wasn't successful and she said before I knew I was moving that we could try again with no added charges, but changed her mind. Not professional!

Business Response: In reference to the complaint issued by ******* *******.

Miramont Family Medicine and our Aesthetic Department offer the following:  When ******* purchased the laser hair removal package, she was told that she has light hair in the areas that wished to have the hair removed and it may take more than 5 sessions she purchased for the laser therapy to completely remove the hair.

Ms. ******* completed only 3 treatments of laser therapy and she complains the laser therapy did not work.  Ms. ******* did not complete the recommended therapy as described by *** ****.  Ms ******* also did not visit the clinic for 2 scheduled appointments.  After one "no show" the patient is charged for additional "no shows".

Miramont Family Medicine's policy is not to refund clients for discounted therapy purchases.  However, we did refund Ms. ******* $86.00, $60.00 for her last laser therapy session and 2 copays that she had paid at time of service that her insurance paid on her behalf.


 



 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

In their records I received at least 5 sessions. Originally, they never said I would need more treatments because my hair was light, however the package I purchased was for 6 treatments at $350 (but I moved so I asked for either a refund or transfer credit to a clinic in CA). *** said my hair was average and it was unlikely I would need more than 6 treatments, it wasn't until 3 treatments into the back hair specifically that she said it might be too light for the laser to detect. My hair is as hairy, thick, and dark as other patients' that she claimed to help (in before/after photos).
I missed two scheduled appointments with in the time span of my services, one I called about in advance. However, they said that payment and treatments would not be deducted until I missed three services, I also wasn't told this until after missing the second appointment. I never signed an agreement, read anything, or had a verbal warning given about policy until that happened. After that I had one more treatment- without results- and didn't miss another appointment after the warning. I found I was pregnant at that point.

I called several times after that to talk about the next step. I decided to get everything sorted out and *** would not return my calls, so after a couple calls I was transferred to talk to billing. They said they had to talk to their supervisors and *** about giving me a refund, but it shouldn't be a problem. A couple weeks after the follow up, I was told by the billing department a refund was waiting for me to pick up at the front desk. I came to pick it up, expecting the full amount because they never discussed the decision, and it was a check for $98. At that point, I told them I needed to talk to billing and I wouldn't except the check until we talked about everything. The front desk said they would have someone contact me. I left it at their office. A week or so after I received a very nasty phone message from *** stating I don't deserve a refund and that she was displeased I went to billing over the issue (even though she was unavailable every time I called and this was the first time I got a call back from her). She said I could forget the refund and she was happy I never took the check. I don't know how they figured they refunded me, they should check their accounting, because I never took that check out of the office let alone cash it.

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response:

I did call the bank to see if the check had cleared, it had not, so I am happy to reissue the payment of $84.00 back to ******* at this time.

Again, Miramont Family Medicine does not normally refund discounted aesthetic purchases; however, in light of the fact that she moved, we are willing to refund the final visit of $60.00, plus 2 copays of $12.00 each that she paid at time of service for medical claims that were paid in full by her insurance carrier.  She will need to submit her current address for payment.

Thank you,
Julie 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
9/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues