Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Rocky Mountain Fence & Decks

Phone: (970) 402-1000 Fax: (970) 461-3508 View Additional Phone Numbers 3167 Hudson Ct, Loveland, CO 80538 http://www.rockymountainfence.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rocky Mountain Fence & Decks meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Rocky Mountain Fence & Decks include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rocky Mountain Fence & Decks
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 24, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1992 in CO Business incorporated 04/01/2008 in CO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Travis Kerns, President Mr. Rick Spadaro
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Travis Kerns, President
Business Category

Patio & Deck Builders Roof Deck Companies Remodelers Ornamental Metal Work Companies Fence Contractors Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors Fences - Vinyl Chain Link Fence Sales, Service & Contractors Gazebo Suppliers

Alternate Business Names
Rocky Mt Fence Inc
Industry Tips
BBB Tips for Finding Trustworthy Fence Builders

Additional Locations

  • 3167 Hudson Ct

    Loveland, CO 80538 (970) 402-1000 (970) 402-4950

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/5/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The cedar fence was installed with two interfacing gates to create a larger entryway when needed. However, from the start they would bind and not open. I contacted their sales person (**** *******) who said that someone would fix it. That was two months ago and no one responded so it was necessary to fix it myself. Two weeks ago I followed this company's protocol for contacting them via their e-mail system to report that one of the gates was sagging/creaking and one of the hinge pins continued to work its way out of the top of the hinge. The reason was that their installers had installed only one single lag bolt in the hinge to post connection whereas the hinge takes two fasteners. However, no one responded. The day afterward, I called this company again (**** *******)' explained the failure to complete an adequate installation and he said that he could take care of it himself although I offered to install the hardware if he could get the lag bolt hardware to me. Now, the hinge pin has shown significant wear and this company appears not to have any regard for their warranty agreement or quality of either their product or of their customer relationship process after my repeated attempts to ask them to honor their workmanship.

Desired Settlement: Replace the top hinge on this gate and install the proper number of lag fasteners on all the hinges on these two gates which are also missing - which total five in number on both gates combined. Additionally, I would like an apology for their unresponsiveness especially considering that I recommended them to a neighbor and they won the work.

Business Response: ****** *********

  We send someone out in the next 24 t0 48 hours to fix the problem

Thanks

****** *****
Rocky Mountain Fence & Decks

Consumer Response: ***** *********** *** ******* ********** ************************ ********* ******************* *** ********************** ***** **** *** ** **** ** **** ** ******** **** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** ********* ********* ********* 

This issue has NOT been resolved by the contractor and I have forwarded him a second notice using his web site contact form indicating such as of the end of last week. The contractor sent two employees to repair the gate toward the middle of last week which is a warranty issue. However, all they did was replace some lag screws and not address the original complaint of hinge pins becoming loose and the gate groaning when opened because the gate hinges were not installed plum. The hinges are still not plum and one of the hinge pins has now had its plating worn off as they pin works its way out of the hinge each time the gate is opened. All they had to do before they added the additional lag screws was to tap the hinge pins back into place then add the additional lag screws as they straightened the hinges and made them plum. However, but they apparently failed to notice that the hinge pins were not seated before they added the lag screws. I'm pretty frustrated because this fix could've been completed with eyes closed, but the issue remains.
 
Thank you,
*** *********

Business Response: ***** ******************** *** ********************** ***** **** *** ** **** ** **** ** ******** *** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** ********* ********* *********
 
***
 
If your matter is not resolve, please contact me directly ****** ***** { owner} @ ************
 
****** *****
 
Rocky Mountain Fence & Decks

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I am working directly with the business owner to resolve the issue and am satisfied with his response.

Regards,

****** *********

4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My fence, which was installed about 8 years ago by Rocky Mountain Fence and Decks, was damaged and needs repair parts. I have been unsuccessful in getting repair parts, a quote to repair or interest in providing the parts. There are two other fences, which need repair parts and none of the owners have been successful, either. The company who damaged my fence asked who I wanted to repair my fence and I was told, "Oh them. Look elsewhere, because we have never been successful getting any work done with ******."I called and mailed the supplier of the fence, ****** ***********, ***., ** *** **** ****** ** *****. They were asked by me to assist, and or supply the necessary parts for two jobs which need repairs and they have not responded in a way which I would consider good customer service or product support, either. They keep referring me to ******, who tells me that he can't make enough money, even though all cost will be borne by the company which damaged my fence.

Desired Settlement: I want the parts, an invoice with shipping and handling added, so I can get my fence repaired.

Business Response: BBB & *******

I have reviewed the BBB complaint sent in by *******. All of *******'s allegations and claims are unwarranted, without merit and unsubstantiated by evidence, fact, and documentation that support his allegations.
 
I received a phone call from ****** *********** 2 months ago and was advised to call ******* as he wanted to order parts and had been unsuccessful in his attempts to contact myself and my company. I find it hard to believe that ******* could not contact me as I am listed online, by a web page with an e mail provided and I am in the phone book. My company is my lifeline and I do not have my voicemail full as I am dependent on phone calls as a form of contact to run my business. ****** *********** was able to get a hold of me, but ******* was not??? Within 10 minutes of receiving the phone call from ****** ***********, I contacted *******. I indicated to ******* to e mail me a list of the parts he needed as well as an address and I would order the needed parts for ******* and have ****** *********** drop ship the parts to ******* as a COD order. I never received an e mail of the parts needed by *******. Both myself and ****** *********** provided ******* with my direct cell number. I never received any correspondence by phone or e mail from ******* s***e the initial call I placed to him. *******'s allegation in his complaint that I made a statement that the job is too small and I would not make any money on the job is completely false.
 
I believe that ******* was trying to order parts direct from the manufacturer and was told to go to a dealer. ******* then went to ****** ***********. My company keeps records for three years. I have no indication or record that ******* was even a customer. He is not listed as a customer in my records which is why I did not have his address.
 
******* is making false accusations about my company as well as myself as a company owner. I have been in business 14 years with only two misunderstandings filed through the BBB that were resolved with happy customers. I find it insulting that ******* is able to make unsubstantiated allegations that are without merit or evidence. ******* has no supporting documentation to substantiate his claims. For these reasons as well and for the way ******* has handled the situation , I ask the BBB handles this complaint with ******* direct and this complaint be removed my record. I feel that ******* is not a reputable or truthful source and I would find it hard to work with a person like *******. I would like to be contacted by the BBB and advised my rights as a business owner against a person like ******* who is trying to ruin my reputation and smear my name with unsubstantiated claims. I also feel that ******* should not be able to respond and further damage my reputation as well as my business reputation with unsupported claims.
 
****** *****
 
Rocky Mountain Fence & Decks

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

In response to the
rebuttal by Mr. *****:

The reason I was able to
contact ****** *********** is I have ALL the records of the original fence
installation, which included a Lifetime Warranty (which doesn’t apply in this
case).

I DO NOT record telephone conversations, but I do take notes.

I have records of ALL the e-mails with ****** *********** and,
in my opinion; they have been trying their best to honor all their agreements
with Rocky Mountain Fence and Decks.

I provided my phone numbers for cell and home to **** ***** of
****** *********** on 3/19/14 so I could get a call from Rocky Mountain Fence
and Decks after repeated failed attempts to contact directly. I received a
phone call from ****** when he explained that Verizon Wireless had limited his
voice mail messages to 20 messages and he had recently changed service
carriers.  We discussed repairing the
fence and parts that I needed.  He said
he would stop by the next day.  NO SHOW.

He also said he wasn’t doing much business with ******
*********** because he wasn’t making much money with their having to ship from
*******.  He specifically said the job
was too small.

Rocky Mountain Fence and Decks web site has ****** ***********
logo as one of their suppliers.  ******
*********** web site has Rocky Mountain Fence and Decks as their representative
in NoCo.

When ****** called my home in response to my complaint with
the BBB, he said he was no longer doing business with ****** ***********.  Who am I to believe and what am I to
believe?  That is why I am documenting
all transactions.  I suggested that
****** call ****** *********** to resolve their problems.

The veiled threats of ****** **** to a former customer do not
intimidate me.  I keep my records at
least 7 years, some longer.   If I were in business, I would keep all
records of my customers for repeat business opportunities.  Being ***orporated, as Rocky Mountain Fence
and Decks claims to be, I would have thought that record keeping times would be
longer.

Business Response: Here we go again,  more lies based on emotion and that cannot be supported. We are still no closer to resolution because I still do not have a parts list to ship the needed parts to ******* nor a form of payment. *******'s response ,once again, is another attempt of smear, insult and to personally attack me. This does not sit well with me nor get ******* his parts needed.  Please have ******* communicate what parts he needs and the shipping address as well as his form of payment. I would appreciate resolution be handled by ******* in a professional manner. Also,  please understand parts that are damaged by another company are not included in a lifetime warranty. My direct e mail is ********************

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

**** was very nice and polite, even when I informed him that I will not be doing business with Rocky Mountain Fence and Decks based on the responses made by ******.  I am getting my parts from another source and they will be installed maintaining the original warranty coverage. 

I will pray that ****** is successful in the future. 

To the BBB:  If you have any further questions, please contact me.  Thank you for your assistance.

Regards,

******* ********

2/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Rocky Mountain Fence & Decks
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)