Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Colortrends Painting LLC

Phone: (970) 308-2135 661 Hanna St, Fort Collins, CO 80521 http://www.colortrendsco.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers painting, cabinet and wallpaper services. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Colortrends Painting LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Colortrends Painting LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Colortrends Painting LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 19, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1998 in CO Business incorporated 02/14/2011 in CO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Steve Binger, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Binger, Owner
Business Category

Painters Faux Finishing Painters Commercial Painting Contractor Painters - Commercial or Residential Wallpaper Removing Companies Cabinet Refinishers Painting and Wall Covering Contractors (NAICS: 238320)

Industry Tips
Tips for Getting a Professional Paint Job Watch Out for These Red Flags

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Colortrends Painting LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 661 Hanna St

    Fort Collins, CO 80521 (970) 308-2135

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Painter showed up unprepared and did a poor job painting a bedroom - his excuse is that we "get what we pay for" because it was a groupon deal. Here are the details: 1) When ****** ****** bid the job, he said the nail holes we had in our walls were "no big deal", because he had dealt with them in the past. He did an extremely poor job on these holes. He now says he offered drywall repair for $50, but he never did make the offer - just said it was no big deal. 2) He showed up to the job without a ladder (needed to use ours) and he also needed to use our caulk gun. 3) He says he put on two layers of paint, but the room looks awful. We bought the high-quality paint he recommended, yet his work did not get the job done. 4) He says that the scope of the job changed back to "just the Groupon deal" since we did not plan to have him paint our other rooms at this point (we wanted to see what kind of work he did first). He has now left us with a room that is going to need to be professionally painted (since he did not do a professional job). Very disappointed in his work - please use caution in the future with this company. I believe when someone offers a deal on Groupon, they should still deliver a professional service - this was not done. It seems like he was more interested in getting other business out of the Groupon deal instead of actually doing the job correctly. His comments to me when I called him back after he just hung up on me were: "I have waited in line for 25 minutes to be seated at a restaurant, and now you are disturbing my lunch" and "you get what you pay for". Lesson learned.

Desired Settlement: This type of poor service needs to be stopped. If you make a deal at a reduced rate, you need to honor what it says. Don't tell us you will do something in addition, because it is "no big deal". Best settlement would be to make sure other people in the area know that this type of poor work is being done, so they won't be suckered by this type of poor work. We have also advised Groupon about this poor service.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2012/11/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@gmail.com I have guidelines written in the fine print of what the Groupon Vouchers covers and doesn't cover. Drywall repairs are clearly stated as a extra charge and I was never asked to perform drywall services. The customer called me to let me know just how unhappy he was and after trying to explain to him what he paid for and what he didnt pay for he became very angry and his langauge and tone towards me was unexceptable so I ended the call. I had asked his wife which whom I mainly dealt with until the job was finished if it was a problem to use their ladder and caulk gun due to my employees taking them from my truck. I also added it would not be a big deal to run back to the shop to grab mine, she insisted it was not a problem and that I could use the one she had. I applied 2 coats of paint, cleaned up and asked the wife if she wanted to go inspect the room as I finished cleaning up and taking stuff out to the truck. Upon finishing clean up I asked if there was anything else they needed, the mother in law who was there thought I did a great job and asked for a bid for her house too. I ended the job by shaking hands with both the wife and mother in law and received my voucher ID number assuming the job was completed and the customer was happy. When I first looked at the job the wife did ask if I knew how to fix drywall damage and I did say yes I've done them before they're not a problem to fix but we never made a agreement to repair them. I am very sorry that the husband who wrote the complaint did not read the fine print and wasnt there to ask questions or go over the details with me. I am always up front and honest, I do good business but sometimes theres misunderstandings between people and i believe this misunderstanding comes from the customer not reading what his voucher stated. After ending his call to me I followed up with a email that I will gladly send over to the agent in charge of this case, in the email i tried to explain my side of things and apologized and offered to return the $45 i get from groupon but have not heard back from him. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2012/11/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mr. ****** is delusional, and his response proves it. The following points need to be clarified, since Mr. ****** appears to have 1) a poor memory or 2) a problem with the truth: 1. We agree that there are terms about drywall repair in his offer, but when asked about these, ****** said that the repairs on our walls were "no big deal". We did not change any terms - he did. He never acknowledged his own fine print, so he misled us that it was "no big deal" 2. His implication that I used some sort of adverse language towards him during our phone conversation is preposterous. Again, he appears to have a problem with the truth. I spoke to him on the phone with my wife present, and she can confirm that at no point did I ever use any "unexceptable" (unacceptable) language. I was not happy when I was told that he had waited for 25 minutes for a seat in a nice restaurant, and I was now ruining his lunch, so my tone did change, but I never spoke any course language at all. 3. The ladder and caulk gun thing speaks for itself - there is nothing more to be said on this, except that it was highly unprofessional. 4. At no point were my wife or mother-in-law afforded an opportunity to look over the work. He came down stairs and said that he needed a place to clean up. He washed his equipment in our kitchen sink and only took the Groupon # after my wife offered it to him, saying: "oh yeah, that would be a good idea". 5. My mother-in-law never said he did a great job (she did not inspect it until after he left). Her only communication was to ask if he ever gave bids in Greeley in the event that she might ever need work done. This was only for information and not a reflection of his work - she had not even seen it yet. Additionally, she never asked for a bid - if this really happened as he indicated, maybe ****** can produce the contact information she would have obviously given if she wanted a bid. 6. Why would we have a conversation about drywall repair and then Mr. ****** actually proceed to make some lame attempts at fixing them before painting over them? It seems highly unprofessional for him to not have resolved this issue before painting over the damaged areas. This was not a misunderstanding - it was shoddy work - who in their right mind pays to have holes in their wall sparsely filled with caulk and painted over? See attached picture. ****** only followed up with an apology and his offer after he realized that I meant business by filing a complaint with Groupon and with the BBB. This complaint needs to be made public to prevent others from having to go through this type of miserable customer service. We now have to pay a professional to come in and do the job correctly - that is what we thought ****** was planning when we bought the Groupon offer. Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2012/11/19) */ The customer has been offered a refund and given an apology. All previous statements I have made are accurate. I did the work that they paid for and completed my job by industry standards, it is not my responsibility to make sure the client reads over the fine print. I did make a attempt to give them a head start on the repair and by no means did I consider the drywall repair complete nor did I ask for any sort of payment. The attempt to get a head start on the repair was done out of kindness. If any documentation of the fine print is needed I will gladly supply a copy. I feel that the customers only resolution to the complaint is inappropriate for a solution and the complaint should be disregarded, I've done all I can as a professional I have offered a refund, given a apology. There's no other resolution I can offer and to have the complaint posted so others can read it is not acceptable Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2012/11/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mr. ****** continues to avoid the truth about the following points: 1. He changed his own fine print by saying that the holes in the wall were "no big deal". The fact that he even filled the holes indicates that he was aware that the work needed to be done. There is no such thing as a "head start" on fixing holes in drywall. You either do it or you don't and you NEVER just paint over it (even beginning painters know this). It is unbelievable that he even wrote in his most recent statement that he did not even consider it complete, yet he painted over his shoddy work and took payment. Somehow he calls this "industry standard" as well. Maybe we should ask a professional painter if this is "industry standard". 2. He says that he stands by everything in his statement about how I treated him (including the adverse language). This is a lie and he knows it. Yes, I was upset, but I used no foul language (not even close) that would cause him to hang up - he has stepped over the line on this accusation. This alone should cause any person caution in dealing with him. 3. The claim that he has apologized is also inaccurate - he has apologized about what he says was miscommunication. The apology that needs to be made here is that he did poor work and since then he has worked hard to justify not only his misrepresentation of his services but also his poor performance on the job. Mr. ****** continues to bury himself deeper and deeper in this issue and it has moved well beyond $45 and a "miscommunication" of services. He has now called both me and my wife liars by not admitting the inaccuracies of his own statement. It looks like it is time for the BBB to publish this complaint and allow the public to judge for themselves. Poor work is one thing, but calling another person's character into question by defending poor work is another. Interestingly, Mr. ****** is not even following the rules of the BBB regarding only truthful accounts. There are enough companies out there doing good work and admitting their mistakes if they make them instead of turning it back on a customer--I suggest working with another company. Regarding the last line of ******'s most recent reply about there being no possible resolution - there actually is, but it starts with ****** telling the truth. His only chance for any resolution is to tell the truth in this situation, as he should have in the first place.